Lang Lang International Music Foundation

Masterclasses and concerts

20 & 21 february 2016

image

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / Renaud Cambuzat

PRICES

Overview

 

Seven young pianists aged from 12 to 17 years old.

Two teachers (Lang Lang will teach on 20 February 2016).

 

Young musical prodigies from the Lang Lang Music Foundation will hone their talents over a special weekend-long residency of masterclasses in the Auditorium of the Fondation Louis Vuitton. Internationally renowned pianist Lang Lang created the Lang Lang Music Foundation to train, inspire and nurture a new generation of musicians and classical music lovers.

 

Seven pianists aged 12 to 17, specially selected for the residency at Fondation Louis Vuitton, will attend masterclasses taught by Lang Lang and his former teacher Gary Graffman as an audience looks on.

 

The masterclasses will culminate in two concerts showcasing the students’ hard work and progress thanks to the residency.

 

Admission to the audience is free upon presentation of an entrance ticket to the Fondation Louis Vuitton.

 

Calendar:

Masterclasses with an audience

Saturday 20 February 2016, 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. -  Masterclass with an audience by Lang Lang

Sunday 21 February 2016, 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. -  Masterclass with an audience by Gary Graffman

 

Pupils' Concerts

Saturday 20 February 2016, 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.

Saturday 21 February 2016, 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.

Lang Lang International Music Foundation

The mission of the Lang Lang International Music Foundation™ is to educate, inspire and motivate the next generation of music lovers and performers. We encourage music performance at all levels as a means of social development for youth, building self-confidence and a drive for excellence. With unique programs that are sustainable and meaningful, we create a spirit of collaboration in which participants contribute to a cultural conversation that will, over time, translate into a greater awareness of humanity.

 

For over 15, years, Lang Lang has dedicated his time to furthering music education. Since the founding of the Lang Lang International Music Foundation™ in 2008, he has taken his commitment to music education to the next level by developing sustainable, impactful and unique charitable activities, as well as establishing partnerships with dedicated organizations. We strive to ignite a passion for music in youth so that they can be leaders in bridging cultural gaps, helping to unite local and global communities. We believe that by encouraging music study and expression, we are laying the groundwork for a brighter tomorrow.

Lang Lang - Founder and President

image

“I have taken on a second career!” said Lang Lang at the Fondation launch event.

 

If one word applies to Lang Lang, to the musician, to the man, to his worldview, to those who come into contact with him, it is “inspiration”. It resounds like a musical motif through his life and career.

He inspires millions with his open-hearted, emotive playing, whether it be in intimate recitals or on the grandest of stages – such as the 2014 World Cup concert in Rio, with Placido Domingo, to celebrate the final game; the 56th GRAMMY awards, where he performed with Metallica; the Opening Ceremony of the 2008 Beijing Olympics, where more than four billion people around the world viewed his performance; the Last Night of the Proms at London’s Royal Albert Hall, or the Liszt 200th birthday concert with the Philadelphia Orchestra and Charles Dutoit which was broadcast live in more than 300 movie theaters around the United States and 200 cinemas across Europe (the first classical music cinemacast to be headlined by a solo artist). He forms enduring musical partnerships with the world’s greatest artists, from conductors such as Daniel Barenboim, Gustavo Dudamel and Sir Simon Rattle, to artists from outside of classical music – among them dubstep dancer Marquese “nonstop” Scott, king of the crooners Julio Inglesias and jazz titan Herbie Hancock. He even builds relationships with corporations who will help him get classical music to ever-more people – thanks to his Sony ambassadorship, for instance, he brought Prokofiev’s 7th Piano Sonata to the soundtrack of the multi-million-selling computer game Gran Turismo 5and 6! And he builds cultural bridges between East and West, frequently introducing Chinese music to Western audiences, and vice versa.

 

Yet he never forgets what first inspired, and continues to inspire him. Great artists, above all the great composers – Liszt, Chopin and the others – whose music he now delights in bringing to others. Even that famous old Tom and Jerry cartoon “The Cat Concerto” which introduced him, as a delighted child, to the music of Liszt – and that childlike excitement at the discovery of music now surely stays with him and propels him to what he calls “his second career”, bringing music into the lives of children around the world, both through his work for the United Nations and through his own Lang Lang International Music Foundation. As he inspires, he is inspired. As he is inspired, he inspires others. It is this quality, perhaps, that led the New Yorker to call him “the world’s ambassador of the keyboard”.

 

It takes a special kind of dedication to come from a small Chinese town, Shenyang, to travel to the big city as a small child and to win the attention of the country’s finest music professors. And then to leave behind your home country altogether to join the world-famous Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia, USA. Lang Lang achieved all of these early on – he started playing piano at age three, won the Shenyang Competition and gave his first public recital by the time he was five, entered Beijing’s Central Music Conservatory aged nine, won first prize at the Tchaikovsky International Young Musicians’ Competition and was playing the complete Chopin Etudes at the Beijing Concert Hall at 13. He left for America, Curtis and the great piano teacher Gary Graffman and when his moment came, he was ready. That moment happened when, aged 17, he was called upon to make a dramatic last-minute substitution for the famous Andre Watts to perform in the “Gala Of The Century”, playing a Tchaikovsky concerto with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. It made him what journalists like to call an “overnight star” and the world’s finest concert halls quickly beckoned.

Gary Graffman - piano and teacher at LLIMF

image

The celebrated pianist Gary Graffman has been a major figure in the music world since winning the prestigious Leventritt Award in 1949.

 

For the next three decades he toured almost continuously, playing the most demanding works in piano literature both in recital and with the world’s great orchestras. He also made a series of highly acclaimed recordings for Columbia (CBS) and RCA, including concertos by Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff, Prokofiev, Brahms, Chopin and Beethoven with the orchestras of New York, Philadelphia, Cleveland, Chicago and Boston, and with such conductors as Leonard Bernstein, Zubin Mehta, Eugene Ormandy and George Szell.

In 1979, however, Mr. Graffman’s performing career was curtailed by an injury to his right hand. His performances are now limited to the small but brilliant repertoire of concertos written for the left hand alone, most of them commissioned early in the century by Paul Wittgenstein, who lost his right arm in World War I. In addition to the famous Ravel Concerto, these include major works by Prokofiev, Britten, Richard Strauss, Franz Schmidt and Erich Wolfgang Korngold. Mr. Graffman played the North American premiere of the latter concerto, written in 1924, with Zubin Mehta and the New York Philharmonic in 1985 and has recorded the Strauss “Parergon” for Deutsche Grammophon with the Vienna Philharmonic led by André Previn.

 

The reduction in Mr. Graffman’s concert activity has provided him with a remarkable opportunity to expand his horizons beyond the stage. Most notable has been his leadership of the renowned Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia. He first joined its piano faculty in 1980 and became Director of the all-scholarship conservatory in 1986, following such illustrious predecessors as Josef Hofmann, Efrem Zimbalist and Rudolf Serkin. He was appointed President of The Curtis Institute in 1995, a position he served until May 2006.

 

Gary Graffman’s performing career was auspiciously linked to his academic life in 1993, when he joined conductor André Previn and the Symphony Orchestra of the Curtis Institute of Music for the world-premiere performances of Ned Rorem’s Piano Concerto No. 4 (for the Left Hand). Dedicated to Mr. Graffman by the Pulitzer Prize-winning composer — who is also a Curtis alumnus and faculty member — the concerto was performed at Philadelphia’s Academy of Music and, a day later, at Carnegie Hall. A compact disc recording of the premiere is available on New World Records. He went on to perform this work with the San Francisco Symphony and Zurich’s Tonhalle Orchestra.

 

In April 1996 Mr. Graffman performed the world premiere of William Bolcom’s “Gaea” Concerto for Piano and Two Left Hands with his friend and colleague Leon Fleisher. The work, commissioned jointly by the Baltimore, St. Louis and Pacific symphonies, was given its premiere by the two soloists and David Zinman and the Baltimore Symphony, first in Baltimore and then at Carnegie Hall. It was subsequently heard with the Saint Louis and Pacific symphonies and, in November 1998, with the Philadelphia Orchestra, again with David Zinman conducting.

 

In continuing his championing of new works for piano left hand and orchestra, in 2001-02 Mr. Graffman gave world premiere performances of three concertos, all of which were written for him: Daron Hagen’s “Seven Last Words” with the New Mexico Symphony and Buffalo Philharmonic; Richard Danielpour’s “Zodiac” Variations with the National Symphony in Washington, D.C.; and Luis Prado’s Concerto for Left Hand with the Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia. In March 2003 he premiered another concerto written for him, this one by Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, with the Minnesota Orchestra. This work was recorded by Reference Recordings.

 

In the summer of 2005, Gary Graffman received an invitation to head the piano department at the new Canton International Summer Music Academy in Guangdong, China, giving him an opportunity to explore his love of education, chamber music, and Chinese culture. He has also participated in the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, Chamber Music Northwest and the 10th Anniversary of Morningside Music Bridge held in Shanghai.

 

Gary Graffman is the author of the highly praised memoir, “I Really Should Be Practicing,” published by Doubleday in 1981 and issued in paperback by Avon the following year. In 2011, a Chinese translation was released in Taiwan.  He has also written popular articles on non-musical subjects and found time to pursue a scholarly interest in Asian Art (which he collects) and photography. He has received honorary doctorates from the University of Pennsylvania and The Juilliard School, among others. He has received honours from the City of New York with its Handel Medallion, the City of Philadelphia on its Walk of Fame, and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania as recipient of the Governor’s Arts Award, recognizing him for his varied accomplishments, including his “leadership of Curtis.”

 

Gary Graffman, whose parents are Russian, was born in New York and began to play the piano at age three. His father, a violinist, gave him a small fiddle, but when the instrument proved too cumbersome, he began piano lessons, though a return to the violin was planned. The young Graffman’s affinity for the piano soon became evident, however, and at seven the Curtis Institute accepted him to study with the renowned Isabelle Vengerova — exactly 50 years before he would become the school’s director, a position he held through May 2006. After graduation from Curtis, he worked intensively for several years with Vladimir Horowitz and, during the summers, at the Marlboro Music Festival with Rudolf Serkin.

 

Students selected for the residency

Avery Lin Gagliano, 14 years old, American

Clayton Stephenson, 16 years old, American

Janice Carissa, 17 years old, Indonesian

Elliot Wuu, 16 years old, American

Matthew Chan, 14 years old, Chinese

Maxim Lando, 13 years old, American

Sherri Lun, 12 years old, Chinese

Lang Lang International Music Foundation

Masterclasses et concerts

20 & 21 février 2016

image

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / Renaud Cambuzat

TARIFS

Présentation

 

7 jeunes pianistes de 12 à 17 ans.

2 professeurs : Lang Lang (masterclasse du 20 février) et Gary Graffman (masterclasse du 21 février).

 

L’Auditorium de la Fondation Louis Vuitton sera le temps de quelque jours l’écrin d’une résidence exceptionnelle des jeunes prodiges de la Lang Lang International Music Foundation. Créée par le pianiste mondialement célèbre Lang Lang, cette Fondation s’est donnée pour mission de former, d’inspirer et d’encourager une nouvelle génération de musiciens et d’amoureux de la musique classique.

 

Agés de 12 à 17 ans, les sept pianistes sélectionnés pour la résidence à la Fondation Louis Vuitton, suivront les cours dispensés par 2 professeurs : Lang Lang et son propre ancien professeur Gary Graffman qui dirigeront les masterclasses publiques données dans le cadre de cette résidence.

 

Deux concerts publics seront donnés dans le cadre de cette résidence. Ouverts à tous sous présentation d'un billet d'entrée à la Fondation Louis Vuitton, ces concerts présenteront au public le fruit du travail effectué au cours de la résidence.

 

Calendrier :

Classes d'excellence publiques

Samedi 20 février 2016 de 11h30 à 13h30 - Classe d'excellence publique de Lang Lang

Dimanche 21 février 2016 de 11h30 à 13h30 - Classe d'excellence publique de Gary Graffman

 

Concerts des élèves

Samedi 20 février 2016  de 17h à 18h30

Dimanche 21 février 2016  de 17h à 18h30

Lang Lang International Music Foundation

La mission de la Lang Lang International Music Foundation™ est d'instruire, d'inspirer et de motiver la future génération d'amateurs de musique et de musiciens. Nous encourageons la pratique de la musique à tous les niveaux pour son rôle dans le développement social des plus jeunes, de la confiance en soi et dans la recherche de l'excellence. Avec des programmes uniques, durables et éloquents, nous créons un esprit de collaboration dans lequel les participants contribuent à un échange culturel qui, au fil du temps, se traduit par une plus grande sensibilité à l'humanité.

 

Depuis plus de 15 ans, Lang Lang a consacré son temps à encourager l'éducation musicale. Depuis la création de la Lang Lang International Music Foundation™ en 2008, il a renforcé son engagement dans l'éducation musicale en développant des activités caritatives marquantes et durables ainsi qu'en établissant des partenariats avec des organismes spécialisés. Nous cherchons à faire naître la passion de la musique chez les jeunes afin que ceux-ci puissent avoir un rôle clef dans les relations interculturelles et favoriser l'unité des communautés locales et internationales. Nous pensons qu'en encourageant l'étude de la musique et l'expression musicale, nous bâtissons les fondations d'un avenir meilleur.

Lang Lang - Fondateur et Président

image

« J'ai entrepris une nouvelle carrière ! » a déclaré Lang Lang lors de l'évènement de lancement de la Fondation.

 

Si un mot devait décrire le musicien et l'homme qu'est Lang Lang, ainsi que sa vision du monde à tous ceux qui le rencontrent, ce mot serait « inspiration ». Ce mot résonne dans sa vie et sa carrière comme un thème musical.

Artiste à cœur ouvert et au jeu rempli d'émotions, il inspire des millions de gens, que ce soit dans des récitals intimistes ou sur de grandes scènes telles que celle du concert du match de clôture de la Coupe du monde 2014 à Rio, en compagnie de Placido Domingo ; celle de la 56e cérémonie des Grammy Awards où il a joué en compagnie de Metallica ; celle de l'ouverture des Jeux olympiques de 2008 à Pékin où sa performance fut regardée par quatre milliards de personnes ; celle de la Last Night of the Proms au Royal Albert Hall de Londres ; ou encore celle du concert du 200e anniversaire de Liszt, accompagné de l'Orchestre de Philadelphie et de Charles Dutoit, diffusé en direct dans plus de 300 cinémas à travers les États-Unis et 200 cinémas à travers l'Europe (la première diffusion en salle à avoir en tête d'affiche un artiste soliste). Il a établi de solides partenariats musicaux avec les plus grands artistes du monde : les chefs d'orchestre Daniel Barenboim, Gustavo Dudamel et Sir Simon Rattle, mais aussi avec des artistes extérieurs au monde de la musique classique, tels le danseur de dubstep Marquese « nonstop » Scott, le roi des crooners Julio Iglesias et le maître du jazz, Herbie Hancock. Il a également bâti des liens avec des corporations qui l'aideront à faire découvrir la musique classique à toujours plus de monde. Par exemple, grâce à son rôle d'ambassadeur Sony, il a introduit la 7e sonate pour piano de Prokofiev dans la bande originale du jeu Gran Turismo 5 et 6, vendu à des millions d'exemplaires ! Il a tissé des liens culturels entre l'orient et l'occident en initiant le public occidental à la musique chinoise et vice versa.

 

Cependant, il n'a jamais oublié son inspiration de toujours. Celle-ci est incarnée par les grands artistes, et surtout par les grands compositeurs tels que Liszt, Chopin et bien d'autres, dont il adore faire découvrir la musique et la partager. D'ailleurs, c'est avec le célèbre « Concerto du chat » dans le vieux dessin animé Tom & Jerry que ses oreilles d'enfant ravi ont découvert la musique de Liszt. C'est cet enthousiasme enfantin qu'il a conservé et qui l'a amené à ce qu'il appelle sa « deuxième carrière » : apporter la musique dans la vie des enfants à travers le monde, que ce soit par le biais de son travail pour les Nations unies ou par celui de la Lang Lang International Music Foundation. En inspirant les autres, il est inspiré. En étant inspiré, il inspire les autres. C'est sans doute cette qualité qui a amené le New Yorker à le surnommer « ambassadeur mondial du clavier ».

 

Il faut une volonté unique pour se rendre, enfant, de la petite ville chinoise de Shenyang à la grande ville, pour attirer l'attention des meilleurs professeurs de musique du pays et pour ensuite quitter son pays natal et rejoindre le mondialement célèbre Curtis Institute of Music, à Philadelphie, aux États-Unis. Très tôt, Lang Lang est parvenu à accomplir tout cela : il a commencé le piano à l'âge de trois ans, a remporté la Shenyang Competition, a donné son premier récital public à l'âge de cinq ans et a rejoint le Conservatoire central de musique de Pékin à l'âge de 9 ans. Il a ensuite remporté le premier prix à la Tchaikovsky International Young Musicians’ Competition et a joué l'ensemble des Études de Chopin au Concert Hall de Pékin à l'âge de 13 ans. Il est ensuite parti pour les États-Unis, et c'est au Curtis Institut of Music, qu'il fait la rencontre du grand professeur de piano, Gary Graffman. Lorsque son moment est venu, il était prêt. Ce moment est arrivé lorsqu'il avait 17 ans et qu'on lui a demandé de remplacer au pied levé le célèbre André Watts et d'interpréter le concerto de Tchaïkovski avec l'Orchestre symphonique de Chicago, lors du « Gala of the Century ». Il est devenu ce que les journalistes ont appelé « une star née du jour au lendemain » et les plus grandes salles de concert l'ont réclamé.

Gary Graffman - piano et professeur à la LLIMF

image

Depuis sa victoire au prestigieux Leventritt Award en 1949, le célèbre pianiste Gary Graffman est devenu une figure majeure du monde de la musique.

 

Pendant les trois décennies qui suivirent, il fut presque continuellement en tournée pour jouer les œuvres les plus exigeantes du répertoire pour piano, aussi bien en récitals qu'accompagné des plus grands orchestres du monde. Il a également réalisé plusieurs enregistrements acclamés pour Columbia (CBS) et RCA, y compris des concertos de Tchaïkovski, Rachmaninov, Prokofiev, Brahms, Chopin et Beethoven avec les orchestres de New York, Philadelphie, Cleveland, Chicago et Boston et des chefs d'orchestre tels que Leonard Bernstein, Zubin Mehta, Eugene Ormandy et George Szell.

Cependant, en 1979, une blessure à la main droite écourta sa carrière de musicien. À présent, il limite ses performances à un petit, néanmoins brillant, répertoire de concertos écrits pour la main gauche uniquement, la plupart commissionnés par Paul Wittgenstein qui avait perdu son bras droit durant la Première Guerre mondiale. En plus du célèbre Concerto de Ravel, on trouve dans ce répertoire des œuvres majeures de Prokofiev, Britten, Richard Strauss, Franz Schmidt et Erich Wolfgang Korngold. Accompagné de l'Orchestre philharmonique de New York dirigé par Zubin Mehta, Gary Graffman a joué la première nord-américaine de ce dernier concerto écrit en 1924 et a enregistré le « Parergon » de Strauss pour le Deutsche Grammophon, accompagné par l'Orchestre philharmonique de Vienne dirigé par André Previn.

 

Les représentations moins nombreuses de Gary Graffman lui ont donné la chance incroyable d'ouvrir ses horizons au-delà de la scène. Parmi ces opportunités, l'une des plus remarquables a été celle de diriger le célèbre Curtis Institute of Music à Philadelphie. Il a d'abord rejoint la faculté de piano en 1980 pour devenir ensuite directeur de l'ensemble du conservatoire en 1986 et marcher dans les pas de prédécesseurs illustres tels que Josef Hofmann, Efrem Zimbalist et Rudolf Serkin. Il fut nommé président du Curtis Institute en 1995 et occupa ce poste jusqu'en mai 2006.

 

La carrière de concertiste de Gary Graffman et sa carrière académique ont eu la chance de se rejoindre en 1993, lorsqu'il rejoint le chef d'orchestre André Previn et l'Orchestre symphonique du Curtis Institute of Music pour les premières représentations mondiales du Concerto pour piano N° 4 (pour la main gauche) de Ned Rorem. Le concerto, dédié à Gary Graffman par le compositeur récompensé du prix Pulitzer, lui aussi ancien élève du Curtis Institute et membre de la faculté, fut joué à l'Academy of Music de Chicago et, le lendemain, au Carnegie Hall. Un disque compact de l'enregistrement de cette première est disponible chez New World Records. Il a continué à jouer cette œuvre avec l'Orchestre philharmonique de San Francisco ainsi qu'avec l'Orchestre Tonhalle de Zurich.

 

En avril 1996, Gary Graffman joua avec son ami et collègue, Leon Fleisher, la première mondiale du Concerto « Gaea » pour piano et deux mains gauches, écrit par William Bolcom. La première de l'œuvre commissionnée conjointement par les orchestres symphoniques de Baltimore, St Louis et Pacific fut jouée par les deux solistes et la Baltimore Symphony orchestrée par David Zinman, d'abord à Baltimore et ensuite au Carnegie Hall. L'œuvre fut ensuite jouée avec les orchestres symphoniques de Saint Louis et de Pacific, et en novembre 1998 avec l'Orchestre de Philadelphie, également dirigé par David Zinman.

 

Soutenant toujours les nouvelles œuvres pour piano à la main gauche et orchestre, Garry Graffman interpréta, en 2001-2002, les premières mondiales de trois concertos écrits pour lui :

« Seven Last Words » de Daron Hagen avec la New Mexico Symphony et le Buffalo Philharmonic ; les Variations « Zodiac » de Richard Daniel pour avec la National Symphony à Washington, D.C. et le Concerto pour la main gauche de Luis Prado, avec l'Orchestre de chambre de Philadelphie.

 

En mars 2003, il joua avec le Minnesota Orchestra la première d'un autre concerto écrit pour lui, cette fois par Stanisław Skrowaczewski. Cette œuvre a été enregistrée par Reference Recordings.

L'été 2005, Gary Graffman fut invité à diriger le département de piano de la nouvelle Canton International Summer Music Academy, à Guangdong, en Chine. Cette invitation lui donna la chance d'explorer sa passion pour l'éducation, la musique de chambre et la culture chinoise. Il a également participé au Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, au Chamber Music Northwest et au 10th Anniversary of Morningside Music Bridge organisé à Shanghai.

 

Gary Graffman est aussi l'auteur de « I Really Should be Practicing », une biographie publiée par Doubleday en 1981, qui reçut des éloges et qui sortit en livre de poche chez Avon l'année suivante. En 2011, une traduction en chinois fut publiée à Taïwan. Il a également écrit des articles populaires sans lien à la musique et a trouvé le temps de développer une connaissance académique de l'Art asiatique (qu'il collectionne) et la photographie. Il a reçu des doctorats honorifiques, entre autres de la University of Pennsylvania et de The Juilliard School. Il a été récompensé par la ville de New York avec le Handel Medallion, par la ville de Philadelphie sur son Walk of Fame et par le Commonwealth de Pennsylvanie qui lui a décerné le Governor’s Arts Award pour ses nombreux accomplissements, y compris « sa direction du Curtis Institute ».

 

Gary Graffman est né à New York de parents russes. Il a commencé le piano à l'âge de trois ans. Son père, violoniste, lui avait donné un petit violon, mais comme l'instrument était trop encombrant, le jeune Gary Graffman commença des cours de piano, un retour au violon était cependant prévu. Dès son jeune âge, son affinité pour le piano devint évidente. À l'âge de sept ans, il fut accepté au Curtis Institute pour étudier avec la célèbre Isabelle Vengerova, exactement 50 ans avant de devenir directeur de l'école, un poste qu'il a occupé jusqu'en mai 2006. Une fois diplômé du Curtis Institute, il a travaillé pendant plusieurs années au côté de Vladimir Horowitz, et durant l'été, avec Rudolf Serkin au Marlboro Music Festival.

 

Etudiants sélectionnés pour la résidence

Avery Lin Gagliano, 14 ans, américaine

Clayton Stephenson, 16 ans, américain

Janice Carissa, 17 ans, indonésienne

Elliot Wuu, 16 ans, américain

Matthew Chan, 14 ans, chinois

Maxim Lando, 13 ans, américain

Sherri Lun, 12 ans, chinoise