image

© Adrien Bernard / Fondation Louis Vuitton

Xu Zhen

Born in 1977, in Shanghai (China)

Lives and works in Shanghai (China)

As curator, gallerist and head of a company, Xu Zhen is one of the most inventive artists of his generation.

After studying at the Shanghai Arts & Crafts Institute, he began making performance videos and installations in the late 1990s, applying his ironic vision to products of consumer society and the art world. In Shouting (1998) we see a crowd from the back, who turn round automatically when they hear the artist shouting. ShangART Supermarket (2007) is a replica of a Chinese shop, filled with empty packaging. Alongside his artistic work, in 1998 Zhen founded BizArt, the first non-profit arts centre in Shanghai, and helped launch Art-Ba-Ba, an online forum about Chinese contemporary art. In 2009, Zhen brought his own artistic identity to an end when he created MadeIn Company, set up to produce art, carry out research, stage exhibitions and publish catalogues. It also has a website and gallery. Playing on the phrase “made in China” but also on the Chinese expression “society without borders”, the company questions the limits of art and merchandise, the principles of the art market and the unicity of the oeuvre, assimilating his creations into "products" so that the name of Xu Zhen also becomes a brand.

Selected Bibliography

Suzanne Pagé,  Philip Tinari, Laurence Bossé ... [et al.]. Bentu : des artistes dans la turbulence des mutations : [exposition, Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, 27 janvier - 2 mai 2016]. Paris : Hazan, 2016. 

Bucher Trantow, Katrin ; Pakesch, Peter. Corporate : Xu Zhen (produced by MadeIn Compagny) : [exhibition, Kunsthaus Graz, 27th september 2015 - 10th january 2016]. Vienna : Verlag für Moderne Kunst, 2015. 

Tinari, Philip, « Xu Zhen & Philip Tinari », Parkett, n° 96, p. 156-163, 2015, 4 p.

Moore, Chris ; Elliot, David ; Pirotte, Philippe... [et al.]. Xu Zhen. Berlin : Distanz, 2014.

Luard, Honey ; Feaver, Dorothy ; Chinnery, Colin. MadeIn Company : [exhibition, WhiteCube, 9 march - 12 may 2012]. London : White Cube, 2012. (Inside the White Cube ; n°6). 

***   All materials available at the Documentation Centre of the Fondation  ***

Share this Page

image

© Adrien Bernard / Fondation Louis Vuitton

Xu Zhen

Né en 1977, à Shanghai (Chine)

Vit et travaille à Shanghai (Chine)

À la fois commissaire d’exposition, galeriste et chef d’entreprise, Xu Zhen est l’un des artistes les plus inventifs de sa génération. 

Après une formation au Shanghai Arts & Crafts Institute, il réalise à partir de la fin des années 1990 des vidéos performatives et des installations où il exerce son ironie sur les produits de la société de consommation et du monde de l’art. Ainsi, dans Shouting (1998), montre une foule de dos se retourner mécaniquement à l’appel de cris lancés par l’artiste. ShangART Supermarket (2007) est la reproduction d’un magasin chinois rempli de paquets d’emballages vidés de leurs contenus. Parallèlement à ses activités artistiques, Xu Zhen fonde en 1998 BizArt, premier centre d’art non-lucratif à Shanghai, et contribue au lancement de Art-Ba-Ba, un forum en ligne sur l’art contemporain chinois. En 2009, Xu Zhen dissout sa propre identité artistique en créant MadeIn Company, une entreprise destinée à la production et à la recherche artistiques, mais aussi à l’organisation d’expositions et à la publication de catalogues, possédant également un site Internet et une galerie. Faisant référence au « made in China », mais également à l’expression chinoise : « société sans frontières », cette compagnie interroge les limites de l’art et de la marchandise, les codes du marché de l’art et de l’unicité de l’« œuvre », assimilant ses réalisations à des « produits », le nom de Xu Zhen lui-même devenant une marque.

Sélection bibliographique

Suzanne Pagé,  Philip Tinari, Laurence Bossé ... [et al.]. Bentu : des artistes dans la turbulence des mutations : [exposition, Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, 27 janvier - 2 mai 2016]. Paris : Hazan, 2016. 

Bucher Trantow, Katrin ; Pakesch, Peter. Corporate : Xu Zhen (produced by MadeIn Compagny) : [exhibition, Kunsthaus Graz, 27th september 2015 - 10th january 2016]. Vienna : Verlag für Moderne Kunst, 2015. 

Tinari, Philip, « Xu Zhen & Philip Tinari », Parkett, n° 96, p. 156-163, 2015, 4 p.

Moore, Chris ; Elliot, David ; Pirotte, Philippe... [et al.]. Xu Zhen. Berlin : Distanz, 2014.

Luard, Honey ; Feaver, Dorothy ; Chinnery, Colin. MadeIn Company : [exhibition, WhiteCube, 9 march - 12 may 2012]. London : White Cube, 2012. (Inside the White Cube ; n°6). 

***   Ouvrages disponibles au Centre de Ressources   ***

Partager cet artiste