Seven Intellectuals in Bamboo Forest, Part I, 2003
  • © Yang Fudong, courtesy Marian

    Goodman Gallery - Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton /

    Sarah Jean-Ortiz

  • © Yang Fudong, courtesy Marian

    Goodman Gallery - Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton /

    Sarah Jean-Ortiz

  • © Yang Fudong, courtesy Marian

    Goodman Gallery - Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton /

    Sarah Jean-Ortiz

A cycle of five black and white films, "Seven Intellectuals in Bamboo Forest" refers to a Chinese legend in which seven philosophers, poets, musicians and writers decided to distance themselves from the chaos of the Warring States Period (third to fourth centuries) so they could live and think freely.

In Yang Fudong’s version, seven young men and women explore different settings in search of their identities and an ideal life. From the misty slopes of the Yellow Mountain to the tower blocks of Shanghai as well as rural and coastal landscapes, explorations of love and surrealist scenes unfold in a series of contemplative tableaux. Alternating between a vision of nature and one of timeless modernity, the cycle highlights the aspirations and doubts of a generation living through the urban, economic and ideological upheavals of China today.
Interview of the Artist
Yang Fudong presents his 5 films composing the cycle "Seven Intellectuals in a Bamboo Forest"
03:18

Yang Fudong

Born in 1971, in Beijing (China)
 

A major figure in Chinese contemporary art and cinema, Yang Fudong has been examining the complexities of contemporary Chinese society since the end of the 1990s, from a symbolic, detached perspective. 

Learn more about the artist
Related content
Interview of the Artist

Yang Fudong talks about his life, and the use of video media in his work

Seven Intellectuals in Bamboo Forest, Part I, 2003
  • © Yang Fudong, courtesy Marian

    Goodman Gallery - Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton /

    Sarah Jean-Ortiz

  • © Yang Fudong, courtesy Marian

    Goodman Gallery - Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton /

    Sarah Jean-Ortiz

  • © Yang Fudong, courtesy Marian

    Goodman Gallery - Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton /

    Sarah Jean-Ortiz

Cycle de cinq films en noir et blanc, "Seven intellectuals in Bamboo Forest" se réfère à une légende chinoise selon laquelle sept philosophes, poètes, musiciens et écrivains auraient choisi de s’éloigner des tumultes des Royaumes Combattants (entre le IIIe et IVe siècles) pour vivre et réfléchir librement. 

Dans la version de Yang Fudong, sept jeunes hommes et femmes parcourent différents lieux à la recherche de leur identité et d’une vie idéale. Des brumes et reliefs de la Montagne jaune aux immeubles de Shanghai, en passant par des paysages de campagne et de bord de mer, échanges amoureux et scènes surréalistes se succèdent en tableaux contemplatifs. Oscillant entre vision de la nature et d’une modernité sans âge, ce cycle dessine les aspirations et les doutes d’une génération face aux mutations urbaines, économiques et idéologiques de la Chine actuelle.
Interview de l'artiste Yang Fudong
L'artiste présente les cinq films du cycle Seven Intellectuals in a Bamboo Forest (2003–2007) diffusés simultanément à la Fondation Louis Vuitton en 2016.
03:18

Yang Fudong

Né en 1971, à Pékin (Chine)
Vit et travaille à Shanghaï (Chine)

Figure majeure de l’art contemporain et du cinéma d’auteur chinois, Yang Fudong aborde depuis la fin des années 1990, de manière symbolique et distanciée, les complexités de la société chinoise contemporaine. 

En savoir plus sur l'artiste
Contenus liés
Interview

L'artiste Yang Fudong parle de sa vie, de son oeuvre et de son rapport au médium vidéographique.