"Africa, from the visible to the invisible:

a tribute to the film makers of Africa"

Cinema Cycle

 

Friday 12 May 2017, 7 P.M

Saturday 13 May 2017, 4.30

Sunday 14 May 2017, 4.30 P.M

 

Auditorium

 

Event scheduled in relation with the exhibition "Art/Afrique, le nouvel atelier

 

This truly exceptional weekend envisioned in collaboration with Catherine Ruelle is dedicated to African cinema seen through the eyes of some of its major figures and their cult films.

Each session will be accompanied by a conversation with the film makers concerned and other cinema luminaries.

 

Screenings of feature-length and short films, encounters and unique ciné-concert events will transport us through time and space from the 1970s to the present, and from Bamako to Dakar via Kinshasa.

 

From different backgrounds and generations, these film makers offer a uniquely personal perspective on Africa past and present, through a visual and sound portrait of a city, opening the doors to the reality of the continent, from the visible and real to its hidden dimensions, the invisible and the spiritual. Playing with the traditions of cinema and poetry, the films selected share common interests, such as urban existence - daily life in a major African city, the omnipresent female figure and music - an integral part of the screenplays through the characters of singers (Mélé in Bamako and Félicité in the film of the same name) or griottes (singer Aminata Fall in Touki Bouki).

The music of the movies will also be celebrated with an amazing concert by Wasis Diop and Wally Badarou, which will close the session on 13 May.  

 

This Cinema Cycle benefited from the participation of the Cinémathèque Afrique of the French Institute.

 

PROGRAMME

Cycle of films and encounters

 

SESSION I: Alain Gomis

Film Félicité (2017), 2 hours, 3 minutes

The screening will be followed by a discussion with Alain Gomis, chaired by Catherine Ruelle. 

Friday 12 May 2017, 7 P.M

Auditorium

 

SESSION II: Djibril Diop Mambety 

Films Touki-bouki (1972), 1 hour, 35 minutes - Mille Soleils (2013), 45 minutes

These screenings will be followed by a discussion with Mati Diop, chaired by Catherine Ruelle.

Closing concert with Wasis Diop and Wally Badarou

Saturday 13 May 2017, 4.30 P.M

Auditorium

 

SESSION III: Abderrahmane Sissako

Films Bamako (2006), 1 hour 58 minutes - Aïcha  (2004), 35 minutes

The screenings will be followed by a discussion between Abderrahmane Sissako (subject to confirmation) and Newton Aduaka, chaired by Catherine Ruelle. 

Sunday 14 May 2017, 4.30 P.M

Auditorium

Catherine Ruelle

 

Eminent cinema reporter and critic, and specialist on African cinema Catherine Ruelle has devoted a large part of her career to Radio France Internationale (Cinema today, cinemas without borders 1982-2012). Author of many books devoted to African cinema, including Afrique 50 singularities of a pluralist cinema, she has organised a number of African film festivals, and featured on many festival judging panels, including FESPACO, the Panafrican Film and Television Festival of Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso). She also chairs the Jean Rouch 2017 Centenary Association.

SESSION I: Alain GOMIS

 

Félicité (2017) is the story of a singer in a bar in the tumultuous city of Kinshasa, whose colourful nocturnal soundscape echoes the night pictures of Congolese painter Moke, a selection of which hang in the Les Initiés exhibition. Félicité's life turns upside down when her 14-year-old son is seriously injured in a motorcycle accident. To pay for the operation needed to save his leg from amputation, she throws herself into a desperate quest through the streets of an electric Kinshasa; a world of music, pain and dreams. 

 

The screening will be followed by a discussion with Alain Gomis, chaired by Catherine Ruelle. 

 

Alain Gomis is a Franco-Senegalese scriptwriter and director born in 1972. His latest film Félicité recently won the Silver Bear at the 2017 Berlinale Festival and the top Yennenga Gold Stallion prize at FESPACO in Ouagadougou.

image

© Andolfi

opening hours : session I

Projection : Félicité 7 p.m.

SESSION II: Djibril DIOP MAMBETY

 

Touki-bouki  (1972)

Icon of African cinema Djibril Diop Mambety (1945-1998) was a Senegalese actor, screenwriter and director. The legendary Touki Bouki was his first feature length film, and is now seen as the gold standard by many African film makers.

Set against the background of Dakar, Touki-bouki tells the journey of the charismatic cowherd Mory and Anta, a student trying to raise money so that she can leave Senegal and Africa. But when the time comes to leave, Anta boards the boat for Europe and Mory stays behind to return to his roots.

 

Mille Soleils  (2013)

Daughter of Wasis Diop and niece of Djibril Diop Mambety, Mati Diop is a Franco-Senegalese actress and director born in 1982 and now living in Paris. She joined the Pavillon artistic research laboratory at the Palais de Tokyo in 2006, followed by the Fresnoy National Studio for Contemporary Arts in 2007. Mille Soleils (A Thousand Suns) is her second mid-length film.

Forty years afterTouki BoukiMille Soleils catches up with its main actor Magaye Niang, who is still a cowherd in Dakar. At a tribute screening to which he is invited, Magaye is gripped by regret… It's time to search for the love of his life who he parted from at the end of the film.

 

First-ever concert from Wasis Diop and Wally Badarou

 

Self-taught to musician Wally Badarou is an electronic music composer. His international career began at a very early age, both solo and in high profile collaborations with Massive Attack, Level 42, Grace Jones, Mick Jagger, Marianne Faithfull, Talking Heads, Foreigner, Manu Dibango, Miriam Makeba and many others. He wrote and arranged the music for the French Revolution Bicentenary parade devised and organised by Jean-Paul Goude, and has composed many film soundtracks. As a producer, he has also produced albums for Fela Kuti, Salif Keita, Trilok Gurtu and Carlinhos Brown. He has been a board member of SACEM, the French society of authors, composers and publishers of music.

Composer, songwriter and performer Wasis Diop has many film scores to his credit, including the soundtracks of films by his brother Djibril Diop Mambety. He works alone and collaborates with an enormous range of artists from extremely diverse backgrounds. His eclectic music draws on multiple sources of inspiration and calls for a large diversity of instruments. A true musical explorer, Diop fuses African traditions with Celtic and Arabic influences, as well as sophisticated pop and electronica.

 

More about this event

image

© Courtesy of Teemour D. Mambety & Maag Daan Crossmedia

opening hours : session II

Projection : Touki-bouki / Mille Soleils 4:30 p.m.

Concert : Wasis Diop et Wally Badarou 8 p.m.

SESSION III: Abderrahmane SISSAKO

 

Aïcha  (2004)

Newton Aduaka is a Nigerian film maker born in 1966, who studied film in London and built a career there before moving to Paris. Ezra is his second feature-length film, and won the Yennenga Gold Stallion prize at FESPACO 2007 in Ouagadougou.

Aïcha takes the Senegalese capital of Dakar as its backdrop. Fifty year-old Moussa decides to go out at nightfall. Without as much as a glance at his wife and child, he walks out of the house dressed to kill. He prowls the streets of Dakar in search of a one-night stand. He eventually resorts to a nightclub, where he meets a beautiful and mysterious young woman called Aïcha. After spending a magical moonlit night on the beach with her, Moussa takes Aïcha home. And that's where he discovers her true nature.

 

Bamako  (2006)

Abderrahmane Sissako is a Mauritanian film maker and producer born in 1961. The key thread running through the body of his work is one of exile and displacement. He paints Africa using autobiographical strokes. In 2015, he became the first African film maker to receive a César for best director for his fourth feature-length filmTimbuktu.

Bamako (2006) is the story of Melé, a bar singer, and her unemployed husband Chaka. A courtroom has been set up in the courtyard of the house they share with other families. Representatives of African civil society are suing the World Bank and the IMF, blaming both organisations for Africa's woes. But amidst the pleas and evidence, life goes on in the courtyard. Chaka seems indifferent to this new desire of Africa to demand its rights...

 

image

© Droits Réservés

opening hours : session III

Projection : Aïcha / Bamako 4:30 p.m.

Close

« Afrique, du visible à l’invisible :

un hommage aux cinéastes d’Afrique »

Cycle cinéma

 

Vendredi 12 mai 2017, 19h

Samedi 13 mai 2017, 16h30

Dimanche 14 mai 2017, 16h30

 

auditorium

 

Évènement organisé dans le cadre de l'exposition "Art/Afrique, le nouvel atelier"  

 

Un week-end exceptionnel, imaginé en collaboration avec Catherine Ruelle, est dédié au cinéma d’Afrique à travers quelques-unes de ses figures majeures et de leurs films culte.

Chaque session sera accompagnée d’une conversation avec les cinéastes et des personnalités du cinéma.

 

Projections de longs et de courts métrages, rencontres et ciné-concert inédits nous transporteront à travers le temps et l’espace, des années 1970 à nos jours, de Bamako à Dakar en passant par Kinshasa.

 

D’origines et de générations différentes, chacun des cinéastes propose à travers le portrait visuel et sonore d’une ville, un regard singulier sur l’Afrique d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, en ouvrant des portes sur la réalité du continent -le visible, le réel- et ses dimensions cachées -l’invisible, le spirituel-. Jouant avec les codes du cinéma et de la poésie, les films sélectionnés partagent des intérêts communs telles que l’urbanité -la vie quotidienne dans une grande métropole africaine-, la figure féminine omniprésente et la musique -partie intégrante des scénarii à travers des personnages de chanteuses (Mélé dans Bamako et Félicité dans le film éponyme) ou de griottes (la cantatrice Aminata fall dans Touki-bouki).

La musique de film sera d’ailleurs mise à l’honneur avec un concert exceptionnel de Wasis Diop et de Wally Badarou, qui aura lieu en clôture de la session du 13 mai 2017.  

 

Ce cycle cinéma a bénéficié de la participation de la Cinémathèque Afrique de l’Institut Français.

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

Cycle cinéma

 

SESSION I : Alain GOMIS

Film Félicité (2017), 2h03

La projection sera suivie d’une discussion avec Alain Gomis

Vendredi 12 mai 2017, 19h

Auditorium

 

SESSION II : Djibril DIOP MAMBETY 

Films Touki-bouki (1972), 1h35 - Mille Soleils (2013), 45 min.

Ces projections seront suivies d'une discussion avec Mati Diop

Concert de clôture par Wasis Diop et Wally Badarou

Samedi 13 mai 2017, 16h30

Auditorium

 

SESSION III : Abderrahmane SISSAKO

Films Bamako (2006), 1h58 - Aïcha  (2004), 35 min.

Les projections seront suivie d’une discussion entre Abderrahmane Sissako (sous réserve), Newton Aduaka et Aïssa Maïga

Dimanche 14 mai 2017, 16h30

Auditorium

 

Catherine Ruelle

 

Grand reporter et critique de cinéma, spécialiste des cinémas d’Afrique, Catherine Ruelle a fait une grande partie de sa carrière à Radio France Internationale (Cinéma d’aujourd’hui, cinémas sans frontières 1982-2012). Auteur de plusieurs ouvrages consacrés aux cinémas africains, dont Afrique 50 singularités d’un cinéma pluriel, elle a organisé des festivals consacrés au cinémas du Monde Noir et participé à de nombreux jurys dont celui du Fespaco, Festival de cinéma de Ouagadougou (Burkina Fasso). Elle est également Présidente de l’association centenaire Jean Rouch 2017.

SESSION I : Alain GOMIS

 

Félicité (2017) est le récit de la vie d’une chanteuse de bar qui prend pour décors la ville tumultueuse de Kinshasa, dont l’ambiance nocturne, sonore et colorée, fait écho aux scènes de nuit du peintre congolais Moke, dont un choix est présenté dans l’exposition Les Initiés. La vie de Félicité bascule lorsque son fils de 14 ans est victime d’un accident de moto. Pour le sauver, elle se lance dans une course effrénée à travers les rues d’une Kinshasa électrique, un monde de musique, de douleurs et de rêves. 

 

La projection sera suivie d’une discussion avec Alain Gomis. 

 

Alain Gomis est un scénariste et réalisateur franco-sénégalais né en 1972. Son dernier film Félicité vient d’être primé Ours d’argent à la Berlinale 2017 et Étalon d’or de Yennenga, le grand prix du Fespaco à Ouagadougou.

image

© Andolfi

horaires : session I

Projection : Félicité 19h

SESSION II : Djibril DIOP MAMBETY

 

Touki-bouki  (1972)

Icône du cinéma africain, Djibril Diop Mambety (1945-1998) était un comédien, un scénariste et un réalisateur sénégalais. Film mythique, Touki Bouki est son premier long métrage et constitue aujourd’hui une référence majeure pour de nombreux cinéastes africains.

Prenant pour décors la ville de Dakar, Touki-bouki raconte le périple de Mory, un berger, et Anta, une étudiante qui cherchent de l’argent pour pouvoir quitter le Sénégal et l’Afrique. Mais au moment de partir, Anta prend le bateau pour l'Europe et Mory reste, et retourne à ses racines.

 

Mille Soleils  (2013)

Fille de Wasis Diop et nièce de Djibril Diop Mambety, Mati Diop est une actrice et réalisatrice franco-sénégalaise née en 1982 qui vit à Paris. Elle intègre le Pavillon, laboratoire de recherche artistique du Palais de Tokyo en 2006, puis le Studio national des arts contemporains du Fresnoy en 2007. Mille Soleils est son deuxième moyen métrage.

Quarante après Touki-bouki, Mille Soleils part à la rencontre du héros, Magaye Niang toujours berger à Dakar. Lors d'une projection hommage où il est invité, Magaye est pris de regrets… Il est temps de retrouver l'amour qu'il quittait à la fin du film.

 

 

Concert inédit de Wasis Diop et de Wally Badarou

 

Autodidacte, Wally Badarou est un compositeur de musique électronique. Il développe une carrière internationale très jeune, en solo ou dans le cadre de collaborations avec notamment Massive Attack, Level 42, Grace Jones, Mick Jagger, Marianne Faithfull, Talking Heads, Foreigner, Manu Dibango, Miriam Makeba et bien d'autres. Il a écrit et organisé la musique de la parade de Jean-Paul Goude pour le Bicentenaire de la Révolution et composé de nombreuses musiques de films. En tant que producteur, il a notamment produit des albums de Fela Kuti, Salif Keita, Trilok Gurtu, Carlinhos Brown... Depuis 2012, il est membre du Conseil d'administration de la Sacem.

Compositeur, auteur et interprète, Wasis Diop a signé de nombreuses bandes originales de films, notamment pour ceux de son frère Djibril Diop Mambety. Il travaille seul et collabore avec une grande variété d'artistes aux origines très diverses. Eclectique, sa musique se caractérise par des inspirations multiples et l’utilisation d’instruments différents. En véritable explorateur musical, Diop mélange traditions africaines avec tout ce qui touche à la musique celte et arabe, en passant par la pop sophistiquée et les supports électroniques.

 

En savoir plus sur cet évènement

image

© Courtesy of Teemour D. Mambety & Maag Daan Crossmedia

horaires : session II

Projection : Touki-bouki / Mille Soleils 16h30

Concert inédit de Wasis Diop et Wally Badarou 20h

SESSION III : Abderrahmane SISSAKO

 

Aïcha  (2004)

Newton Aduaka est un cinéaste nigérian né en 1966 qui a fait ses études de cinéma et une grande partie de sa carrière à Londres avant de venir s’installer à Paris. Ezra, son deuxième long métrage, a été primé Étalon d’or de Yennenga, le grand prix du Fespaco à Ouagadougou en 2007.

Aïcha se déroule à Dakar (Sénégal). Moussa, un homme âgé d’une cinquantaine d’années, décide de sortir à la nuit tombée. Il quitte sa maison, tiré à quatre épingle sans même un regard pour son enfant et sa femme. Il maraude dans les rues de Dakar, en quête d’une rencontre d’un soir. Il atterrit dans une boîte de nuit. Il y rencontre une très belle et mystérieuse jeune femme, Aïcha. Après une nuit magique sur la plage et au clair de lune à ses côtés, Moussa raccompagne Aïcha chez elle. C’est là qu’il va découvrir sa véritable nature.

 

Bamako  (2006)

Abderrahmane Sissako est un cinéaste et producteur mauritanien, né en 1961, le thème principal de son œuvre est l'exil et le déplacement. Il peint l'Afrique avec des touches autobiographiques. En 2015, il devient le premier cinéaste africain à obtenir le César du meilleur réalisateur pour Timbuktu, son quatrième long métrage.

Bamako (2006) narre la vie de Melé, chanteuse dans un bar et de son mari Chaka, sans travail. Dans la cour de la maison qu'ils partagent avec d'autres familles, un tribunal a été installé. Des représentants de la société civile africaine ont engagé une procédure judiciaire contre la Banque Mondiale et le FMI qu'ils jugent responsables du drame qui secoue l'Afrique. Entre plaidoiries et témoignages, la vie continue dans la cour. Chaka semble indifférent à cette volonté inédite de l'Afrique de réclamer ses droits...

 

image

© Droits Réservés

horaires : session III

Projection : Aïcha / Bamako 16h30