Concert

Wasis Diop & Wally Badarou

 

Saturday 13 May 2017, 8:00 p.m

Auditorium

Even scheduled in relation with the exhibition "Art/Afrique, le nouvel atelier"

 

 

 

 

As part of the film series Afrique, du visible à l’invisible : un hommage aux cinéastes d’Afrique (“Africa, from the visible to the invisible: a tribute to Africa’s filmmakers”), a special concert by Wally Badarou and Wasis Diop will close the session dedicated to African cinema icon Djibril Diop Mambety. These two famous figures of the music and film-score world, at once composers, authors and performers, will put on a unique concert accompanied by their musicians. This will be Wally Badarou’s first ever live performance in Paris and France.

Wally Badarou (1955-Benin). Lives in Paris.

 

Self-taught to musician Wally Badarou is an electronic music composer. His international career began at a very early age, both solo and in high profile collaborations with Massive Attack, Level 42, Grace Jones, Mick Jagger, Marianne Faithfull, Talking Heads, Foreigner, Manu Dibango, Miriam Makeba and many others. He wrote and arranged the music for the French Revolution Bicentenary parade devised and organised by Jean-Paul Goude, and has composed many film soundtracks. As a producer, he has also produced albums for Fela Kuti, Salif Keita, Trilok Gurtu and Carlinhos Brown. He has been a board member of SACEM, the French society of authors, composers and publishers of music.

image

© Waly Badarou

Wasis Diop (1950-Senegal). Lives between Paris and Dakar.

 

Composer, songwriter and performer Wasis Diop has many film scores to his credit, including the soundtracks of films by his brother Djibril Diop Mambety. He works alone and collaborates with an enormous range of artists from extremely diverse backgrounds. His eclectic music draws on multiple sources of inspiration and calls for a large diversity of instruments. A true musical explorer, Diop fuses African traditions with Celtic and Arabic influences, as well as sophisticated pop and electronica.

image

© Wasis Diop

Close

Concert inédit 

Wasis Diop et Wally Badarou

 

Samedi 13 Mai 2017, 20h

Auditorium

Évènement programmé dans le cadre de l'exposition "Art/Afrique, le nouvel atelier"

 

 

 

 

Dans le cadre du cycle cinéma « Afrique, du visible à l’invisible : un hommage aux cinéastes d’Afrique », aura lieu, en clôture de la session consacrée à Djibril Diop Mambety, icône du cinéma africain, un concert exceptionnel imaginé par Wally Badarou et Wasis Diop. Compositeurs, auteurs et interprètes, ces deux figures incontournables de la musique, et notamment de la musique de film, livrent un concert inédit accompagnés de leurs musiciens. C’est la première fois que Wally Badarou se produit en live à Paris et en France.

Wally Badarou (1955-Bénin). Vit à Paris.

 

Autodidacte, Wally Badarou est un compositeur de musique électronique. Il développe une carrière internationale très jeune, en solo ou dans le cadre de collaborations avec notamment Massive Attack, Level 42, Grace Jones, Mick Jagger, Marianne Faithfull, Talking Heads, Foreigner, Manu Dibango, Miriam Makeba et bien d'autres. Il a écrit et organisé la musique de la parade de Jean-Paul Goude pour le Bicentenaire de la Révolution et composé de nombreuses musiques de films. En tant que producteur, il a notamment produit des albums de Fela Kuti, Salif Keita, Trilok Gurtu, Carlinhos Brown... Depuis 2012, il est membre du Conseil d'administration de la Sacem.

image

© Waly Badarou

Wasis Diop (1950-Sénégal). Vit entre Paris et Dakar.

 

Compositeur, auteur et interprète, Wasis Diop a signé de nombreuses bandes originales de films, notamment pour ceux de son frère Djibril Diop Mambety. Il travaille seul et collabore avec une grande variété d'artistes aux origines très diverses. Eclectique, sa musique se caractérise par des inspirations multiples et l’utilisation d’instruments différents. En véritable explorateur musical, Diop mélange traditions africaines avec tout ce qui touche à la musique celte et arabe, en passant par la pop sophistiquée et les supports électroniques.

image

© Wasis Diop