Late Hours

Being Modern #1

 

Friday 3 November 2017, 7.00 p.m.-11.00 p.m.

Thank God it’s Friday!

On the first Friday of every month through 2 March, the Fondation Louis Vuitton celebrates American art and culture at its special late-night events, Late Hours. These festive and adventurous evenings are a chance to see and experience the exhibition Being Modern: MoMA in Paris in a whole new way.

image

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / Guillaume Ducongé

 

 

This first Being Modern Late Hours event gives pride of place to The Newsstand  by artist Lele Saveri (photographer, curator and founder of 8-Ball Zines), a newsstand dedicated to the New York independent press.

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

 

7.00 p.m.-11.00 p.m.

CARTE BLANCHE TO LELE SAVERI AT THE NEWSSTAND

Gallery 9, Level 2

For one evening, Lele Saveri, whose work The Newsstand is now featured in the MoMA collection, is being given carte blanche onsite at his creation. Pop-up exhibitions, music, zine distribution and more will keep The Newsstand hopping, just as it did during its first incarnation at the Lorimer Street/Metropolitan Avenue subway stop in Brooklyn.

 

7.15-8.00 p.m.: Concert - ICHON

Ichon, the founder of the “Bon Gamin” collective and label, is a wholly unconventional and utterly essential personality on the French hip-hop scene. In front of The Newsstand, he performs his own lyrics live, backed by two musicians on bass and keyboard.

 

9.00-9.30 p.m.: Concert - Mohamed Lamouri

Mohamed Lamouri, armed with his synthesizer, is a star of the Paris Métro, having been performing his sentimental rai for a decade or more. In front of The Newsstand, he puts on an offbeat concert featuring his classics and other American pop standards.

 

 

 

8.30 p.m.-10.30 p.m.

GRAND BLANC AMERICAN-MUSIC DJ SET

Hall

From moody melodies to energetic American anthems, the group Grand Blanc has not lost sight of the musical influences from across the Atlantic that shaped its artistic destiny. For this Late Hours event, they have developed an original set of made-in-the-USA pop, rock and hip-hop.

 

 

7.00 p.m.-10.00 p.m.

DRAWING MICRO-TOURS

Levels -1, 0 and 1

Every 30 minutes starting at the “Micro-Tours” meeting points

One guide, one work, one drawing! Explore and experience select MoMA works through drawing. With explanations and drawing instructions from a qualified guide, you can create your own artistic keepsakes of the exhibition.

 

7.00 p.m.-10.30 p.m.

BAR AND FOOD

Hall

La Cantine du Marché celebrates the other red-white-and-blue! 

American cocktails, juice, soda and beer – take your taste buds on a journey to the U.S. of A. with help from the Paris Texas steakhouse. This restaurant, the little brother of Paris New York, knows everything there is to know about smokehouse cooking and will serve the traditional American pulled-pork sandwich.

 

LE FRANK - SPECIAL MOMA MENU

Le Frank is serving a distinctly American dinner for patriotic palates. As a starter, enjoy smoked corn with rich barbecue flavour, along with prawns and pickled vegetables. Then savour Coca-Cola chicken (caramelised in the famous beverage) served with potatoes and two glasses of wine. End your meal on a sweet note with black currant-Granny Smith apple cheesecake.

Reservations required: reservation@restaurantlefrank.fr or (+33)(0)1 58 44 25 70

Close

La Nocturne

Etre moderne #1

 

Vendredi 3 novembre 2017, 19h-23h

Thank God it’s Friday !

Tous les premiers vendredis du mois jusqu’au 2 mars, la Fondation Louis Vuitton célèbre l’art et la culture américaine à travers la Nocturne. Festives et aventureuses, ces soirées permettent de voir et vivre autrement l’exposition « Etre moderne : le MoMA à Paris ».

image

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / Guillaume Ducongé

 

 

C’est autour et en l’honneur du Newsstand, kiosque dédié à la presse indépendante new yorkaise réalisé par l’artiste Lele Saveri (photographe, curateur et fondateur de 8 ball zines) que se déroule cette première Nocturne.

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

 

19h-23h

CARTE BLANCHE À LELE SAVERI AUTOUR DE « THE NEWSSTAND »

Galerie 9, Niveau 2

Le temps d’une soirée, carte blanche à Lele Saveri dont l’œuvre Newsstand  est désormais présente dans la collection du MoMA. Exposition temporaire, concerts, distribution de zines rythment le kiosque pour renouer avec l’effervescence de son installation initiale dans la station de métro Lorimer Street à Brooklyn.

 

19h15-20h : Concert – ICHON

Fondateur du collectif et label « Bon Gamin », Ichon est une figure aussi décalée que centrale de la scène hip-hop française. Devant le Newsstand, il donne une interprétation live de ses textes, accompagné de deux musiciens, basse et clavier.

 

21h-21h30 : Concert – Mohamed Lamouri

Étoile du métro parisien, muni de son synthétiseur, Mohamed Lamouri balade depuis une dizaine d’années son raï sentimental. Devant le Newsstand  il se produit pour un concert décalé reprenant ses classiques et autres standards de la pop américaine.  

 

 

20h30-22h30

GRAND BLANC DJ SET US

Hall

Des disques sombres aux disques US, le groupe Grand Blanc a la mémoire vive des influences musicales américaines qui les ont façonnés. Pour cette Nocturne, ils proposent un set original empreint de titres pop, rock et hip-hop made in USA.

 

 

19h-22h

MICRO-VISITES DESSINÉES

Niveau -1, 0 et 1

Toutes les 30 min. aux points indiqués « micro-visites »

Un médiateur, une œuvre, un croquis ! Découvrez et expérimentez une sélection d’œuvres du MoMA par le dessin. Laissez-vous guider par les explications et instructions graphiques d’un médiateur culturel et réalisez votre carnet-souvenirs de l’exposition.

 

 

19h-22h30

BAR ET FOOD

Hall

La Cantine du marché passe à l’heure américaine ! 

Cocktails, jus, sodas et bières US... elle embarque avec elle des saveurs outre-Atlantique et invite le steakhouse Paris Texas. Le petit frère de Paris New York, passé maître en cuisson au fumoir, servira le traditionnel pulled-pork américain.

 

 

LE FRANK - MENU SPECIAL MOMA

Le Frank vous propose un dîner aux influences américaines. En entrée, dégustez un maïs fumé aux saveurs barbecue accompagné de gambas et pickles de légumes. Savourez ensuite une volaille caramélisée au coca accompagnée de potatoes ainsi que de deux verres de vin. Terminez par une touche sucrée avec le cheesecake cassis et pomme Granny.

Réservation obligatoire :  reservation@restaurantlefrank.fr  ou au 01 58 44 25 70