ART/AFRIQUE #1 LATE HOURS

 

FRIDAY 2 JUNE 2017, 7.00 P.M - 11.00 P.M

Every first Friday of the month, Fondation Louis Vuitton holds a special evening event. This fun and festive evening event gives you a chance to see and experience the building, the artworks and the exhibitions in a different way.

image

 

During this late evening event for "Art/Afrique, le nouvel atelier", you can stroll through the exhibition’s three sections and let yourself be surprised by the choreographed performance piece of Ingrid Estarque or by conversations with Rohkaya Diallo on the representations of Afro hair. Have your hair braided, or go on a quick guided tour with one of our cultural guides, or be seduced by the sounds of the Afrobeat band Tout Puissant Orchestre Poly-Rythmo from Benin.

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

 

8 p.m. – 8.30 p.m.

AFRO !, HAIR IN AFROPEAN CULTURE

CONVERSATION WITH ROKHAYA DIALLO

Level -1, Gallery 2

Rokhaya Diallo, journalist, filmmaker and author of Afro!, introduces a conversation about hair in Afro-descendant cultures and its historical and aesthetic developments.

 

7.30 p.m. – 10.30 p.m.

HAIRSTYLING

Terraces

Entrust your locks to Nicole Pembrook and her salon team and have your hair done in the manner of portraits by artist J.D. Okhai Ojeikere.

 

8.30 p.m. – 9.30 p.m

"LISSE" PERFORMANCES BY INGRID ESTARQUE

Three sessions :

8:30 p.m., Level 1 Galery 5

9 p.m. : Level 1, Galery 6

9:30 p.m. : Level 2, Galery 9

They last about 15 min.

Dancer and choreographer Ingrid Estarque gives a dance/performance, a bodily interpretation within the three sections of the exhibition. Drawing upon hip-hop, contemporary and African dance, these choreographed and ephemeral interspersions offer a new way of interacting with the space and the artworks.

With Le Jardin Imparfait.

 

9.45 p.m.

ACOUSTIC CONCERT: LE TOUT PUISSANT ORCHESTRE POLY-RYTHMO

West Terrace

Artisans of a unique and absorbing sound, Le T.P. Orchestre Poly-Rhythmo (the Almighty Poly-Rhythmo Orchestra) is a major African band, for whom polyrhythm is no idle claim. With hundreds of recorded albums, this band is one of the most prolific of the entire continent. During the 1960s and 1970s, the group formed around different strains from traditional Beninese music, American soul and funk, Nigerian Afrobeat, Congolese rumba and Ghanian highlife, but also French pop music and Afro-Cuban rhythms. Now in its fifth decade, Poly-Rhythmo is the oldest African band playing today and will climb onstage at Fondation Louis Vuitton to perform their latest album Madjafalao.

 

7.00 p.m. – 10.00 p.m.

AFRIQUE SHORT-TOURS

Every 30 min. at Level -1, Level 0 and Level 2, signposted with short tour

Choose your destination and learn more about an artwork! The cultural guides take you on a boundary-expanding short tour to discover an African country from the perspective of one of the exhibition artists.

 

7.00 p.m. – 10.00 p.m.

POP UP FRANK

Cocktail and Fingerfood

Terrace

hours

7.30 p.m. – 8.30 p.m. Afro! Hair in Afropean Culture

8 p.m. – 10.30 p.m. HAIRSTYLING

8.30 p.m. – 9.30 p.m. "LISSE" performances by Ingrid Estarque

9.45 p.m. Acoustic Concert: Le Tout Puissant Orchestre Poly-Rythmo

7.00 p.m. – 10.00 p.m. Afrique Short-Tours

7.00 p.m. – 10.30 p.m. Pop Up Frank

Close

LA NOCTURNE ART/AFRIQUE #1

 

VENDREDI 2 JUIN 2017, 19h - 23h

Tous les premiers vendredis du mois, la Fondation Louis Vuitton organise la Nocturne. Festive et aventureuse, cette soirée vous permet de voir et vivre autrement le bâtiment, les œuvres et les expositions.

image

 

À l’occasion de cette Nocturne autour de « Art/Afrique, le nouvel atelier », déambulez au gré des trois volets de l’exposition en vous laissant surprendre par les interventions chorégraphiques de Ingrid Estarque ou en dialoguant avec Rokhaya Diallo sur les représentations de la coiffure Afro. Accordez-vous une pause capillaire, suivez nos médiateurs culturels vers la destination de votre choix au cœur de l’exposition ou laissez-vous emporter par le son du Tout Puissant Orchestre Poly-rythmo en provenance de Cotonou.

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

 

19h30 - 20h30

« AFRO ! », LE CHEVEU DANS LA CULTURE AFROPÉENNE

DIALOGUE AVEC ROKHAYA DIALLO

Niveau -1, Galerie 2

Rokhaya Diallo, journaliste, réalisatrice et auteure du livre « Afro ! » propose un dialogue autour des cheveux dans les cultures afro-descendantes, de ses évolutions historiques et esthétiques.

 

20h - 22h30

HAIRSTYLE

Terrasses

Confiez vos cheveux à Nicole Pembrook et l’équipe de son salon pour vous faire coiffer à la manière des portraits de l’artiste J.D.Okhai Ojeikere.

 

20h30 - 21h30

« LISSE » PERFORMANCES D'INGRID ESTARQUE

Trois sessions :

20h30, niveau 1 Galerie 5

21h : niveau 1, Galerie 6

21h30 : niveau 2, Galerie 9

Durée : environ 15 min.

Danseuse et chorégraphe, Ingrid Estarque propose par ses performances-dansées, un regard corporel au cœur des trois volets de l’exposition. Entre hip-hop, danse contemporaine et africaine, ces ponctuations chorégraphiques et éphémères offrent un nouveau rapport à l’espace et aux œuvres.

En collaboration avec le Jardin Imparfait.

 

21H45

CONCERT ACOUSTIQUE : LE TOUT PUISSANT ORCHESTRE POLY-RYTHMO

Terrasse ouest

Artisan d’un son à la fois unique et fascinant, le Poly-Rythmo est l’un des plus grands orchestres africains, pour lequel la polyrythmie n’est pas un vain mot. Auteur de centaines d’enregistrements, cet orchestre est l’un des plus prolifiques de tout le continent. A la croisée des années 1960 et 1970, la formation se structure autour d’influences venues des musiques traditionnelles béninoises, de la soul et du funk américain, de l’afrobeat nigérian, de la rumba congolaise et du high-life ghanéen, mais aussi de la variété française et des rythmes afro-cubains. Au gré de sa cinquième décennie d’existence, le Poly-Rythmo est aujourd’hui le plus ancien orchestre africain encore en activité et pose ses bagages à la Fondation Louis Vuitton pour nous faire découvrir en live leur nouvel album « Madjafalao ».

 

19h - 22h

MICRO-VISITES AFRIQUE

Toutes les 30 min. au Niveau -1, Niveau 0 et Niveau 2 aux points indiqués « micro-visites »

Choisissez votre destination et découvrez une œuvre ! Les médiateurs culturels vous proposent des micro-visites exotiques, pour aller à la rencontre d’un pays africain à travers le regard d’un artiste de l’exposition.

 

19h - 22h30

POP UP FRANK

Cocktails et fingerfood proposés par le restaurant Le Frank;

Terrasse 

horaires

19h30 - 20h30 « AFRO ! », L'histoire du cheveu dans la culture afropéenne

20h - 22h30 HAIRSTYLE

20h30 - 21h30 "LISSE": performances d'Ingrid Estarque

21h45 Concert acoustique : Le tout puissant orchestre poly-rythmo

19h - 22h Micro-visites Afrique

19h - 22h30 Pop Up Frank