DANIEL BUREN, "Observatory of light", Work in situ

 

May 2016 to April 2017

Daniel Buren, "Observatory of light", Work in situ

 

In line with Fondation Louis Vuitton’s commitment to contemporary creation and encouragement of innovative encounters with its architecture, the Fondation Louis Vuitton is presenting from 11 May 2016 a temporary work by Daniel Buren. Developed in close dialogue with the building by Frank Gehry – whose architecture serves as an inspiration to artists - “Observatory of Light” is installed across the glass ‘sails’, the emblematic feature of the building.

 

The twelve ‘sails’, formed of 3,600 pieces of glass, are covered by a staggering array of coloured filters that are in turn punctuated, at equal distances from one another, by alternating white and blank stripes perpendicular to the ground. The thirteen selected colours is making coloured forms appear and disappear, ever-changing with the time of day and the season. Through a play of colours, projections, reflections, transparencies and contrasts, both inside and outside, Daniel Buren is showing this building in a new light.

 

Major international artist Daniel Buren (1938-FR) has been developing a radical oeuvre characterised by the use of his “visual tool” (8.7 cm-wide alternating white and coloured vertical stripes), since the 1960s. He moved from working with paint (1965-1967) to working with space and its context. All his works are now conceived specifically for the space, context and features of the host venue and are created in situ, be that in a public space or in a museum or art gallery.

 

“Daniel Buren has designed a grandiose project, pertinent and enchanting, the result of a real dialogue with Frank Gehry and his building. His work responds magnificently to the architecture, in line with his approach, going back to the 1970s, that sees a coming together of colours, transparency and light.” Bernard Arnault, President of the Fondation Louis Vuitton.

image

Photo-souvenir : Daniel Buren at Fondation Louis Vuitton, 25 March 2016 

 

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / Martin Argyroglo

© DB-ADAGP, Paris 2016

Marking this occasion, a catalogue – designed with the artist – is bringing together, for the first time, a considerable body of works based around intersecting themes – colour, transparency, light, translucency, projection – created between the 1970s and today.

Co-edited with publishers Xavier Barral.

 

Children’s Workshops

 

Children aged 6 – 10 will be able to enjoy the artist’s work thanks to “The light trap”, a workshop that will enable them to experience the multiple coloured facets of the Fondation Louis Vuitton, which will become a giant kaleidoscope. Tracking the projections and reflections during their discovery process, they will then have a chance to experiment in the workshop with how the play of transparency, opacity and colour modifies one’s perception of space.

More information

 

 

image

Photo-souvenir : Daniel Buren, L'Observatoire de la lumière, travail in situ, Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, 2016. Détail. © DB-ADAGP Paris / Fondation Louis Vuitton / Photo : Iwan Baan

image

Photo-souvenir : Daniel Buren, L'Observatoire de la lumière, travail in situ, Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, 2016. Détail. © DB-ADAGP Paris / Fondation Louis Vuitton / Photo : Iwan Baan

#BurenFLV on Instagram : post your best pictures!

DANIEL BUREN, "L'Observatoire de la lumière", Travail in situ

 

Mai 2016 à Avril 2017

Daniel Buren, « L’Observatoire de la lumière », Travail in situ

 

Poursuivant son engagement en faveur de la création contemporaine et suscitant des rencontres inédites avec son architecture, la Fondation Louis Vuitton présente à partir du 11 mai 2016 une oeuvre temporaire de Daniel Buren. Conçue en dialogue étroit avec le bâtiment de Frank Gehry - dont l’architecture appelle l’inspiration des artistes - « L’Observatoire de la lumière »  se déploie sur l’ensemble des verrières, élément emblématique de l’édifice.

 

Les douze voiles, constituées de 3600 verres, sont recouvertes en quinconce de filtres colorés qui sont à leur tour, ponctués à distances égales les uns des autres par des bandes alternativement blanches et vides, axées perpendiculairement au sol. Les treize couleurs retenues font apparaître et disparaître des formes colorées toujours changeantes selon les heures et les saisons. À travers un jeu de couleurs, de projections, de reflets, de transparences et de contrastes, à la fois intérieur et extérieur, Daniel Buren offre un nouveau regard sur le bâtiment.

 

Artiste majeur de la scène internationale, Daniel Buren (1938-FR) développe depuis les années 1960 une oeuvre radicale, caractérisée par l’utilisation de son « outil visuel » (des bandes verticales alternativement blanches et colorées de 8,7 cm de large). Il est passé d’un travail sur la peinture (1965-1967) à un travail sur l’espace et son contexte. Toutes ses oeuvres sont désormais conçues en fonction des particularités de leur lieu d’accueil et sont réalisées in situ, aussi bien dans l'espace public que dans les musées et les galeries d’art.

 

« Daniel Buren a conçu un projet grandiose, pertinent et enchanteur, fruit d’un dialogue véritable avec Frank Gehry et son bâtiment. Son oeuvre répond magnifiquement à l’architecture dans la continuité d’un travail, initié dès les années 1970, où se croisent couleurs, transparence et lumière. »  Bernard Arnault, Président de la Fondation Louis Vuitton.

image

Photo-souvenir : Daniel Buren à la Fondation Vuitton, 25 mars 2016 

 

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / Martin Argyroglo

© DB-ADAGP, Paris 2016

A l’occasion de cette intervention, un catalogue - conçu avec l’artiste - réunit pour la première fois un important corpus d’oeuvres autour de thématiques croisées – la couleur, la transparence, la lumière, la translucidité, la projection - réalisées depuis les années 1970 jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

Réalisé en co-édition avec les éditions Xavier Barral.

 

Ateliers pour enfants

 

Les enfants de 6 à 10 ans pourront eux aussi s’approprier l’intervention de l’artiste grâce à « L’attrape-lumière », un atelier qui leur proposera de traverser les multiples facettes colorées de la Fondation Louis Vuitton, devenu un kaléidoscope géant. Traquant les projections et les reflets lors de leur découverte, ils expérimenteront ensuite en atelier comment les jeux de transparence, d’opacité, de couleur modifient la perception de l’espace.

En savoir plus

 

 

image

Photo-souvenir : Daniel Buren, L'Observatoire de la lumière, travail in situ, Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, 2016. Détail. © DB-ADAGP Paris / Fondation Louis Vuitton / Photo : Iwan Baan

image

Photo-souvenir : Daniel Buren, L'Observatoire de la lumière, travail in situ, Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, 2016. Détail. © DB-ADAGP Paris / Fondation Louis Vuitton / Photo : Iwan Baan

#BurenFLV sur Instagram : postez vos plus beaux clichés !