Keys to a Passion

From 1st april to 6th July 2015

image

Henri Matisse, La Danse, 1910 © Succession H. Matisse. Photo credit : Hermitage Museum, Saint Petersburg, 2016

"These works offer the visitor the potential for a genuine intellectual, sensory, and emotional encounter." Suzanne Pagé

- The first sequence of the exhibition, Subjective Expressionism, evoked the questions each of us has about life, death, anguish and solitude : Kazimir Malevich, Edvard Munch, Francis Bacon, Alberto Giacometti, Otto Dix and Helene Schjerfbeck.


- The development of the second sequence reflected the importance of the Contemplative line in our collection. It ranges from meditations on nature – Claude Monet, Piet Mondrian, Akseli Gallen-Kallela, Ferdinand Hodler and Emil Nolde – to the radicalism of abstraction, with Kazimir Malevich, Piet Mondrian, Constantin Brancusi and Mark Rothko. Quite another direction leads to a vision of more embodied hedonism : Pierre Bonnard and Pablo Picasso.


- The third sequence, Popist, was resolutely engaged with the vitality, energy and progress of modern life, represented through its most contemporary expressions – the city, sport, advertising and the media – in works by Robert Delaunay, Fernand Léger and Francis Picabia.


- The fourth sequence centers on Music, the close relationship between artists and music, which plays a decisive role – both explicitly and implicitly – through an emblematic selection of works by Henri Matisse, Wassily Kandinsky, František Kupka and Gino Severini.

 

List of exposed artworks:

To see the list of all the exposed artworks of the exhibition, please click here.

Catalogue of the exhibition

Exhibition "Keys to a Passion" held from 1st April to 6 July 2015 at Fondation Louis Vuitton gathered many an iconic piece, lent by the greatest museums and private collections in the world, so bold and daring at the time they were created they marked a turning point in the history of art in the early 20th century : from Monet, Mondrian and Hodler to Malevitch and Rothko, from Bonnard to Picasso, from Munch to Giacometti and Bacon, from Delaunay and Léger to Picabia, from Matisse and Kupka to Kandinsky...

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE CATALOGUE

Album of the exhibition

62 iconic artworks of the 20th century from Monet to Mondrian, from Picasso to Munch and from Kandinsky to Giacometti.

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE ALBUM

Exhibition views

  • Edvard Munch, The Scream [Skrik], 1893 ? 1910 ? Oil and Tempera on cardboard. Oslo, Munch Museum.

    Photo © Munch Museum

  • Fernand Léger, Three women (Le Grand Déjeuner), 1921-1922. Oil on canvas. New York, Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), Mrs. Simon Guggenheim Fund. 189.1942 © Adagp, Paris 2015 - Photo © 2015 Digital Image, the Museum of modern Art, New York/Scala, Florence

  • Constantin Brancusi, Mark Rothko, view of installation, exhibition "Keys to a Passion" © ADAGP, Paris, 2015 for work of C. Brancusi © 1998 Kate Rothko Prizel & Christopher Rothko - ADGP, 2015, for work of Mark Rothko. Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton / Martin Argyroglo

  • Francis Bacon, view of installation, exhibition "Keys to a Passion" © The Estate of Francis Bacon / All rights reserved / ADAGP, Paris 2015 for work of Francis Bacon. Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton / Martin Argyroglo

  • Wassily Kandinsky, view of installation, exhibition "Keys to a Passion"  © Photo Louis Vuitton /  Marc Domage

  • img
  • img
  • img
  • img
  • img

Share this page

Keys to a passion

Follow the visitor's way

Keys to a passion

Presentation of exhibition by Suzanne Pagé

Les Clefs d'une passion

Du 1er avril au 6 juillet 2015

image

Henri Matisse, La Danse, 1910 © Succession H. Matisse. Crédit Photo : Musée d'État de l'Ermitage, Saint-Pétersbourg, 2016

"Offrir aux visiteurs, et à chacun en particulier, l’expérience d’une vraie rencontre, intellectuelle, sensible et émotionnelle." Suzanne Pagé

L’exposition Les Clefs d'une passion s’articulait en quatre séquences qui entraient en résonance avec les quatre « lignes » qui structuraient la collection contemporaine de la Fondation : les lignes expressionnisme subjectif, contemplative, popiste  et musique, destinées à conférer à cette collection, au travers de parti-pris « passionnels », une identité propre ; à rappeler aussi que l’art s’inscrit dans l’histoire.

Dans chaque séquence les œuvres présentées ont été précisément choisies en fonction de leur caractère significatif, voire emblématique. Ont été privilégiées des séries. A côté d’œuvres iconiques, d’autres, hors du             « canon », apportaient leur singularité neuve.

La première séquence de l’exposition, expressionnisme subjectif, renvoyait  aux questionnements de tout un chacun quant à la vie, la mort, l’angoisse, la solitude : Kazimir Malévitch, Edvard Munch, Francis Bacon, Alberto Giacometti, Otto Dix, Helene Schjerfbeck.

Le développement de la seconde séquence répondait à l’importance de la ligne contemplative  de notre collection. Elle évoluait de la méditation devant la nature : Claude Monet, Piet Mondrian, Akseli Gallen-Kallela, Ferdinand Hodler, Emil Nolde, à la radicalité de l’abstraction : Kazimir Malévitch, Piet Mondrian, Constantin Brancusi, Mark Rothko. Une tout autre voie conduisait à une vision hédoniste plus incarnée : Pierre Bonnard, Pablo Picasso.

La troisième séquence, popiste, était résolument engagée dans la vitalité, la dynamique et le progrès de la vie moderne à travers ses expressions les plus contemporaines du moment que sont la ville, le sport, la publicité, les médias : Robert Delaunay, Fernand Léger, Francis Picabia.


La quatrième séquence concernait la musique  dans le rapport étroit que les artistes entretiennent avec elle, jouant alors un rôle déterminant, évident ou implicite, à travers un choix emblématique d’oeuvres d’Henri Matisse, Wassily Kandinsky, František Kupka, Gino Severini.

 

Liste des oeuvres exposées :

Pour voir la liste de l'ensemble des oeuvres de l'exposition, cliquez ici.

Catalogue de l'exposition

L'exposition « Les Clefs d'une passion » qui s'est tenue à la Fondation Louis Vuitton du 1er avril au 6 juillet 2015 réunissait un ensemble d'œuvres exceptionnelles, voire iconiques, prêtées par les plus grands musées et collections privées, dont l'audace a bouleversé le cours de l'histoire de l'art du début du XXe siècle : de Monet, Mondrian et Hodler à Malevitch et Rothko, de Bonnard à Picasso, de Munch à Giacometti et Bacon, de Delaunay et Léger à Picabia, de Matisse et Kupka à Kandinsky...

EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR LE CATALOGUE

Album de l'exposition

62 œuvres du XXe siècle sélectionnées pour leur caractère iconique ou emblématique, de Monet à Mondrian et de Picasso à Munch en passant par Kandinsky et Giacometti.

EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR L'ALBUM

Vues de l'exposition

  • Edvard Munch, Le Cri, 1893 ? 1910 ? Tempera et huile sur carton non apprêté. Oslo, Musée Munch. Photo © Munch Museum

  • Fernand Léger, Trois femmes (Le Grand Déjeuner), 1921-1922 Huile sur toile. New York, Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), Mrs. Simon Guggenheim Fund. 189.1942 © Adagp, Paris 2015 - Photo © 2015 Digital Image, the Museum of modern Art, New York/Scala, Florence

  • Constantin Brancusi, Mark Rothko, vue de l'installation, exposition "Les Clefs d'une Passion" © ADAGP, Paris, 2015 pour l'oeuvre de C. Brancusi © 1998 Kate Rothko Prizel & Christopher Rothko - ADGP, 2015, pour l'oeuvre de Mark Rothko. Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton / Martin Argyroglo

  • Francis Bacon, vue de l'installation, exposition "Les Clefs d'une passion" © The Estate of Francis Bacon / All rights reserved / ADAGP, Paris 2015 pour l'oeuvre de Francis Bacon. Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton / Martin Argyroglo

  • Wassily Kandinsky, vue de l'installation, exposition "Les Clefs d'une passion" © Photo Louis Vuitton /  Marc Domage

Partager cet accrochage

Les Clefs d'une passion

Suivez le parcours des visites

Les Clefs d'une passion

Présentation de l'exposition par Suzanne Pagé

Colloque international du 12 au 13/06/2015

Quels sont les enjeux d'une collection muséale ? 1ère partie

Colloque international du 12 au 13/06/2015

Quels sont les enjeux d'une collection muséale ? 2de partie

Colloque international du 12 au 13/06/2015

Qui fait désormais l'histoire de l'art ? 1ère partie

Colloque international du 12 au 13/06/2015

Qui fait désormais l'histoire de l'art ? 2de partie

Colloque international du 12 au 13/06/2015

Quel est l'impact de l'intrusion du marché ? 1ère partie

Colloque international du 12 au 13/06/2015

Quel est l'impact de l'intrusion du marché ? 2de partie