1876 Brancusi is born in the village of Hobitza, commune of Pestisani, in the Gorj region of Romania.

1887-1898 He takes up various trades before entering the Technical School at Craiova in 1894, entering the sculpture studio in 1895 after passing

the competitive exam.

1898-1903 Registers at the National School of Fine Arts in Bucharest. Obtains many medals for his work after the antique and nature. Graduating in 1902, his request for a grant to study in Italy is rejected.

1904-1907 Brancusi leaves Romania for Paris. (Legend has it he undertakes part of the journey on foot). Admitted to the École Nationale des Beaux-Arts and remains there from

1905-1907. His work is remarked at the Salon d’Automne in 1906 by Rodin, but he refuses the latter’s offer of work. Practises direct carving for the first time (The Kiss).

1908-1910 Meets Modigliani, Léger, and Le Douanier Rousseau. Baroness Frachon poses for him (The Sleeping Muse). He travels back to Romania, where he exhibits regularly, and goes to Italy with Modigliani.

1910-1911 Meets Margit Pogany, the inspiration for several sculptures. A version of The Kiss is set up as a tombstone for Tatiana Rachevskaya in the cemetery at Montparnasse.

1912-1918 In 1912 he visits an ‘ aerial locomotion’ fair held in the Grand Palais with Duchamp and Léger. Takes part in the Armory Show of 1913 in New York and Chicago. The photographer Edward Steichen buys the Bird in Space (Maiastra), installing it in his garden at Voulangis. First solo exhibition in the Photo-Secession Gallery run by Alfred Stieglitz in New York, 1914. John Quinn becomes his main collector. In 1916, moves to 8 impasse Ronsin. Sculpts wooden carvings influenced by African art.

1918-1926 First Endless Column (1918), purchased by John Quinn in 1922. Princess X sparks a scandal at the 1920 Salon des Indépendants.

Man Ray offers his advice for the purchase of photographic material. He dispatches 21 sculptures to the show organised by Quinn at the Sculptors’ Gallery in New York (1922). In between two trips to the United States for a couple of one-man shows, including one at the Brummer Gallery, New York (15 November-17 December 1926), Brancusi erects an Endless Column in Steichen’s garden in Voulangis.

1927-1933 Files a lawsuit (1927-1929) against US Customs that results in the Bird in Space that belongs to Steichen being recognised as an artwork (and thus not subject to duties). Moves to 11 impasse Ronsin in 1928. Travels to Romania to arrange an initial project for a monument in

Bucharest (1930). Henri-Pierre Roché introduces him to the Maharajah of Indore, who will purchase three Birds in Space for his project for a ‘Temple of Deliverance’.

1933-1938 Unveils 57 sculptures at a second show at the Brummer Gallery(13 November-17 January 1934). Commission for a

memorial at Târgu-Jiu (Romania) in homage to the victims of WWI (1935). Travels to Romania for the creation and installation of the Endless Column as well as The Gate of the Kiss and The Table of Silence in Târgu-Jiu (1937-1938). His journey to India proves fruitless; the ‘Temple’ will be never carried out.

1939-1957 In 1939, travels to the United States where he embarks on plans for an Endless Column in Chicago, made of stainless steel the height of a skyscraper; re-launched in about 1955, this project has still not been built. In 1946, the Musée National d’Art Moderne in Paris purchases three sculptures. Obtaining French nationality in 1952, his first retrospective is organized in 1955 at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, and Philadelphia. The authorities having threatened him with eviction from his studio in impasse Ronsin due to

questions of insalubrity, he bequeaths his studio, complete with its contents, to the French State in 1956.

1957 Constantin Brancusi dies in Paris on March 16 and is buried in Montparnasse cemetery.

1876 Naissance de Constantin Brancusi dans le village d’Hobitza, commune de Pestisani, département de Gorj en Roumanie.

1887-1898 Exerce différents petits métiers avant d’entrer, en 1894, à l’École des arts et métiers de Craïova, où il est admis sur concours dans l’atelier de sculpture en 1895.

1898-1903 Entre à l’École nationale des beaux-arts de Bucarest. Obtient de nombreuses médailles pour ses travaux d’après l’antique et d’après nature. Diplômé en 1902, sa demande de bourse pour des études en Italie lui est refusée.

1904-1907 Brancusi quitte la Roumanie pour Paris, souvent à pied selon la légende. Admis à l’École nationale des beaux-arts en 1905, il y restera jusqu’en 1907. Remarqué au Salon d’automne de 1906 par Rodin, il refusera de travailler pour lui. Pratique la taille directe pour la première fois (Le Baiser).

1908-1910 Rencontre Modigliani, Léger et le Douanier Rousseau. La baronne Frachon pose pour lui (La Muse endormie). Voyage en Roumanie, où il expose régulièrement, et en Italie avec Modigliani.

1910-1911 Rencontre Margit Pogany qui lui inspirera plusieurs sculptures. Installation du Baiser pour le monument funéraire de Tatiana Rachewskaïa au cimetière du Montparnasse.

1912-1918 Visite en 1912 le Salonde la locomotion aérienne au Grand Palais avec Duchamp et Léger. Participe à l’Armory Show de 1913, New York et Chicago. Le photographe Edward Steichen achète L’Oiseau dans l’espace (Maïastra) qu’il installera dans son jardin à Voulangis. Première exposition personnelle à laPhoto-SecessionGallery d’Alfred Stieglitz, New York, 1914. John Quinn devient son principal collectionneur. S’installe au 8, impasse Ronsin en 1916. Réalise des sculptures en bois d’influence africaine.

1918-1926 Première Colonne sans fin (1918), achetée par John Quinn en 1922. Scandale de la Princesse X au Salon des indépendants de 1920. Man Ray le conseille pour l’achat de matériel photographique. Participe avec vingt et une sculptures à l’exposition de la Sculptors’ Gallery organisée par Quinn à New York (1922). Entre deux séjours aux États-Unis – pour deux expositions personnelles dont celle de la Brummer Gallery à New York (17 novembre- 15 décembre 1926) –, installe une Colonne sans fin dans le jardin de Steichen à Voulangis.

1927-1933 Procès de Brancusi contre les douanes américaines, qui reconnaîtront le statut d’oeuvre d’art – non soumis à taxation – à L’Oiseau dans l’espace appartenant à Steichen (1927-1929). S’installe en 1928 au 11, impasse Ronsin. Voyage en Roumaniepour un premier projet monumental à Bucarest (1930). Henri-Pierre Roché lui présente le maharajah d’Indore, qui lui achètera trois Oiseaux dans l’espace, destinés au projet du Temple de la Délivrance.

1933-1938 Présente cinquante-sept sculptures lors d’une deuxième exposition de la Brummer Gallery en 1934. Commande du mémorial de Târgu-Jiu en hommage aux victimes de la Première Guerre mondiale en 1935. Voyages en Roumanie pour la réalisationet l’installation de La Colonne sans fin, La Porte du Baiser et la Table du silence à Târgu-Jiu (1937-1938). Ce séjour en Inde restera sans suite : le Temple ne sera jamais réalisé.

1939-1957 En 1939, Brancusi voyage aux États-Unis où il lance le projet pour Chicago d’une Colonne sans fin en acier inoxydable de la hauteur d’un gratte-ciel – projet réitéré vers 1955 mais jamais réalisé. Le Musée national d’art moderne de Paris lui achète trois sculptures en 1946. Il obtient la nationalité française en 1952. Première rétrospective organisée en 1955 parle Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York et Philadelphie. Menacé d’expulsion de l’impasse Ronsin par l’Assistance publique,il lègue en 1956 son atelier avec tout son contenu à l’État français.

1957 Il meurt à Paris le 16 mars ; enterrement au cimetière du Montparnasse.