Exploring Architecture

 

Wednesday 11 October 2017, 7.30pm

Auditorium

Event organised in conjunction with the exhibition "Being Modern: MoMA in Paris"

On the opening day of the exhibition "Being Modern: MoMA in Paris”, Glenn D. Lowry, Director of The Museum of Modern Art, speaks with Jean Nouvel. The architect of 53W53, the MoMA expansion tower housing new museum galleries, will be completing the Abu Dhabi Louvre building in a few weeks.

 

This talk is moderated by Jean-Louis Cohen, historian, architect, visiting professor at the Collège de France and Sheldon H. Solow Professor in the History of Architecture at the Institute of Fine Art/New York University.

 

 

Animation depicting the renovation and new construction at The Museum of Modern Art. © 2017 Diller Scofidio + Renfro

 

Note: Elizabeth Diller, initially scheduled to take part in the debate, will be unable to attend.

Prices

Glenn D. Lowry

Director of The Museum of Modern Art

 

Glenn D. Lowry became the sixth director of The Museum of Modern Art in 1995. He leads a staff of over 750 people and directs an active program of exhibitions, acquisitions, and publications.

A strong advocate of contemporary art, he has lectured and written extensively in support of contemporary art and artists and the role of museums in society, among other topics.

He is a member of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation's Board of Trustees, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a resident member of the American Philosophical Society. He also serves on the advisory council of the Department of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University and is a Trustee of the Association of Art Museum Directors (AAMD). In 2004, the French government honored Mr. Lowry with the title of Officier de L'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres.

Born in 1954 in New York City and raised in Williamstown, Massachusetts, Mr. Lowry received a B.A. degree (1976) magna cum laude from Williams College, Williamstown, and M.A. (1978) and Ph.D. (1982) degrees in history of art from Harvard University.

image

© Glenn D. Lowry

Jean Nouvel

Architect

 

After studying at the École des Beaux-Arts in Bordeaux, Jean Nouvel was admitted first to the entrance examination for the École Nationale Supéieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris in 1966 and graduated in 1972. After initially working as an assistant to architect Claude Parent, and inspired by urbanist and essayist Paul Virilio, he opened his first agency in 1970. Shortly thereafter, he co-founded the “Mars 1976” movement, which fought the corporatism of architects, then the Syndicat de l’Architecture. His staunch positions on the integration of architecture into the urban context and the unrelenting originality of his projects worldwide have helped forge his international reputation.

His original approach, defying stylistic considerations, is guided exclusively by context – the moment, the site, its history, its environment. In 2001, he received three of the highest international honours: the Royal Gold Medal of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), the Praemium Imperiale awarded by the Japan Art Association, and the Borromini Prize for the Lucerne Culture and Convention Center. He was named Doctor Honoris Causa of the Royal College of Art in London in 2002. Three years later, in Israel, he received the annual Wolf Foundation Prize “for providing a new model of contextualism and redefining the dialectic between the two salient characteristics of contemporary architecture: concreteness and ephemerality”. In Frankfurt the following year, ​​he received the International Highrise Award for the Torre Agbar in Barcelona, “as it makes an outstanding contribution to the current debate on high-rises at several different levels”. In 2008, he received the prestigious Pritzker Prize. In France, he has been awarded numerous honours, including the French Academy of Architecture Gold Medal, two Équerres d’Argent and the French Grand Prix National for Architecture.

image

© Gaston Bergeret

Jean-Louis Cohen

Historian and architect

 

 

Jean-Louis Cohen is an architect and historian, the author of many works on architecture and cities from the 19th century to present day. In 1994, he was named the Sheldon H. Solow Professor in the History of Architecture at the New York University Institute of Fine Arts, and is also a Visiting Professor at the Collège de France. In 1997, France’s Ministry of Culture charged him with creating La Cité de l'architecture et du patrimoine (City of Architecture and Heritage), where he managed two departments: the Institut français d'architecture (French Architectural Institute) until 2004, and Le Musée des Monuments français (French Monuments Museum) until 2003.

 

Jean-Louis Cohen has designed and overseen many exhibitions, including The Lost Vanguard at the Museum of Modern Art in New York City (2007). At the Centre Georges Pompidou, he was responsible for the architecture of Paris-Moscow (1979) and served as Scientific Advisor for L'aventure le Corbusier (1987).

image

© Jean-Louis Cohen

Débat autour de l'architecture

Glenn D. Lowry et Jean Nouvel

 

Mercredi 11 octobre 2017, 19h30

Auditorium

Rencontre organisée dans le cadre de l'exposition « Etre moderne : le MoMA à Paris »

 

À l’occasion de l’ouverture de l’exposition « Etre Moderne : le MoMA à Paris », Glenn D. Lowry, directeur du MoMA s’entretient avec Jean Nouvel. Architecte de la tour 53w53 qui accueille une partie des nouveaux espaces du MoMA, ce dernier s’apprête à achever dans quelques semaines le Louvre Abou Dhabi.

 

Cette discussion autour des musées et de l’architecture sera menée avec le concours de Jean-Louis Cohen, historien et architecte, professeur invité au Collège de France et depuis 1994 Sheldon H. Solow Professor.

 

 

Animation représentant la rénovation et la nouvelle construction du Museum of Modern Art. © 2017 Diller Scofidio + Renfro

 

NB: Initialement prévue au débat, Elizabeth Diller ne sera pas présente.

Traduction simultanée en français.

Glenn D. Lowry

Directeur du MoMA

 

Glenn D. Lowry est devenu le sixième directeur du MoMA (Museum of Modern Art) en 1995. À la tête d’une équipe de plus de 750 personnes, il dirige un vaste programme d’expositions, d’acquisitions et de publications.

Ce fervent défenseur de l’art contemporain donne de nombreuses conférences et écrit beaucoup sur le sujet, ainsi que sur les artistes et le rôle des musées dans la société entre autres.

Il est membre du conseil d’administration de la fondation Andrew W. Mellon, de l’American Academy of Arts and Sciences, et membre résident de l’American Philosophical Society. Il siège également au conseil consultatif du département d’histoire de l’art et d’archéologie de l’université Columbia, ainsi qu’au conseil d’administration de l’Association of Art Museum Directors (AAMD). En 2004, le gouvernement français lui a décerné le titre d’Officier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres.

Né en 1954 à New York, M. Lowry a grandi à Williamstown, Massachusetts, où il a obtenu une licence avec mention bien au Williams College (1976). Il est également titulaire d’une maîtrise de lettres (1978) et d’un doctorat en histoire de l’art (1982) de l’université Harvard.

image

© Glenn D. Lowry

Jean Nouvel

Architecte

 

Après des études à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Bordeaux, Jean Nouvel est admis premier au concours d’entrée de l’École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris en 1966 et obtient son diplôme en 1972. D’abord assistant de l’architecte Claude Parent, inspiré par l’urbaniste et essayiste Paul Virilio, il ouvre sa première agence en 1970. Peu après, il est cofondateur du mouvement « Mars 1976 » qui a pour objet de lutter contre le corporatisme des architectes, puis du Syndicat de l’architecture. Ses prises de position engagées sur l’insertion de l’architecture dans le contexte urbain et l’originalité sans cesse renouvelée de ses projets dans le monde entier ont contribué à forger son image internationale.

Son approche originale, qui se défie des considérations de style, est seulement guidée par le contexte – le moment, le site, son histoire et son environnement. En 2001, il reçoit trois des plus hautes distinctions internationales : la Royal Gold Medal du Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), le Praemium Imperiale de l’Association japonaise des Beaux-Arts et le prix Borromini pour le Centre de culture et des congrès de Lucerne. Il est nommé Docteur Honoris Causa du Royal College of Art de Londres en 2002. Trois ans plus tard, il reçoit en Israël le prix annuel de la Fondation Wolf pour « sa conception d’un nouveau modèle de contextualité et la redéfinition de la dialectique entre deux caractéristiques de l’architecture contemporaine : le concret et l’éphémère ». L’année suivante, pour la Tour Agbar de Barcelone, il reçoit à Francfort l’International Highrise Award en raison de « sa contribution exceptionnelle dans le débat sur la grande hauteur ». En 2008, il reçoit le prestigieux Pritzker Prize. En France, il a été distingué par de nombreuses récompenses dont la médaille d’or de l’Académie française d’architecture, deux Équerres d’argent et le Grand prix national de France pour l’architecture.

image

© Gaston Bergeret

Jean-Louis Cohen

Historien et architecte

 

 

Jean-Louis Cohen est architecte et historien, auteur de multiples travaux sur l'architecture et les villes du XIXe siècle à aujourd'hui. En 1994, il a été nommé Sheldon H. Solow Professor in the History of Architecture à l'Institute of Fine Arts de New York University, et est aussi professeur invité au Collège de France. Le Ministère de la Culture lui a confié en 1997 la création de la Cité de l'architecture et du patrimoine, où il a dirigé deux départements, l'Institut français d'architecture jusqu’en 2004 et le Musée des monuments français jusqu'en 2003.

 

Jean-Louis Cohen a conçu et réalisé de nombreuses expositions, parmi lesquelles The Lost Vanguard, au Museum of Modern Art de New York (2007). Au Centre Georges Pompidou, il a été responsable de l'architecture pour Paris-Moscou (1979) et conseiller scientifique pour L'aventure le Corbusier (1987).

image

© Jean-Louis Cohen