Steve Reich Concert Series

 

Saturday 2 and Sunday 3 December 2017

Auditorium

Concert series organised in conjunction with the exhibition "Being Modern: MoMA in Paris"

image

© Jeffrey Herman

Drawing inspiration from Steve Reich’s Drumming, featured in the exhibition “Being Modern, the MoMA in Paris” and which originally premiered at that New York museum in 1971, the auditorium will host the celebrated composer for a weekend of performances.

Considered a pioneer of minimalist music, Steve Reich will join musicians to speak about and present a series of concerts devoted to his major works.  Daytime and evening lecture-cum-performances will showcase this movement in music, which began in the United States.

 

 

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

 

SATURDAY 2 DECEMBER 2017

 

8.30 p.m.: Grand Concert

 

Clapping Music (with Steve Reich)

 

Quartet (2013)

2 vibraphones and 2 pianos

 

INTERLUDE

 

Drumming (1970-71)

     1. Part One

Bongos tuned but stand-mounted and played with drumsticks

    2. Part Two

Three marimbas and a marimbaphone with two female voices

     3. Part Three

Three glockenspiels with a piccolo and whistling

     4. Part Four

All instruments tuned to the Western diatonic scale

Closing speech made by Steve Reich

 

 

 

 

SUNDAY 3 DECEMBER 2017

2 concerts with commentary by Steve Reich

 

3.00 p.m.: Concert commented by Steve Reich

 

Music for Pieces of Wood (1973)

5 claves

 

Mallet Quartet  (2009)

2 marimbas (5 octaves), 2 vibraphones

 

Proverb (1995)          

Ensemble of solo voices (3 solo sopranos, 2 solo tenors), 2 vibraphones, 4 other five-octave keyboards vocals and vibraphones that can be amplified depending on location

 

5.30 p.m.: Concert commented by Steve Reich

Pulse (2015)

2 flutes, 2 clarinets, piano, electric bass guitar, 4 violins, 2 altos

 

Music for Mallet Instruments, Voices and Organ (1973)

2 glockenspiels, 4 marimbas, 1 metallophone, 3 female voices (two sopranos, one alto), and a digital organ

 

 

Artists

Steve Reich, honoured composer (present on 2 and 3 December)

Colin Currie Group (29 musicians)

Synergy Vocals (6 singers)

opening hours

Concert by Steve Reich Saturday 2 Decembre 2017, 8:30 p.m.

Concert series commented by Steve Reich Sunday 3 December 2017, 3 p.m. and 5:30 p.m.

Concert by Steve Reich
2 December 2017 at 8:30 p.m.

Tribute to Steve Reich
3 December 2017
Tickets for 1 concert

Tribute to Steve Reich
3 December 2017
Tickets for 2 concerts

Steve Reich

Composer

 

 

Steve Reich has been called "America’s greatest living composer" (Village Voice), "the most original musical thinker of our time" (The New Yorker), and "among the great composers of the century" (The New York Times).

 

Reich’s musical legacy has been influential on composers and mainstream musicians all over the world. His music is known for steady pulse, repetition, and a fascination with canons; it combines rigorous structures with propulsive rhythms and seductive instrumental color, and also embraces harmonies of non-Western and American vernacular music (especially jazz). His studies have included Balinese gamelan, African drumming (at the University of Ghana), and traditional forms of chanting of the Hebrew scriptures, in addition to his studies at Cornell University, the Juilliard School, and Mills College with Luciano Berio.

 

Different Trains and Music for 18 Musicians, as well as an album of his percussion works, have earned Grammy Awards, and Double Sextet won the Pulitzer Prize in 2009.

 

Reich’s documentary video opera works—The Cave and Three Tales, done in collaboration with video artist Beryl Korot—have pushed the boundaries of the operatic medium and have been presented on four continents.

 

Reich’s music has been performed by major orchestras and ensembles around the world, including the New York and Los Angeles philharmonics; London, Sydney, San Francisco, Boston, and BBC symphony orchestras; London Sinfonietta; Kronos Quartet; Ensemble Modern; Ensemble Intercontemporain; Ensemble Signal; International Contemporary Ensemble; Bang on a Can All-Stars; Alarm Will Sound; and eighth blackbird. Several noted choreographers have created dances to his music, such as Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Jirí Kylián, Jerome Robbins, Justin Peck, Wayne McGregor, Benjamin Millepied, and Christopher Wheeldon.

 

Reich was awarded the Gold Medal in Music by the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2012. He was named Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in France, as well as member in the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts. His honors include the Praemium Imperiale in Tokyo, the Polar Music Prize in Stockholm, the BBVA Award in Madrid, the Golden Lion at the Venice Biennale, the 2016 Nemmers Prize in Music Composition from Northwestern University, as well as the Schuman Award from Columbia University, the Montgomery Fellowship from Dartmouth College, and the Regent’s Lectureship at the University of California at Berkeley. He has been awarded honorary doctorates from the Royal College of Music in London, the Juilliard School, the Liszt Academy in Budapest, and the New England Conservatory of Music, among others.

 

During the 2017–2018 season, Runner—Reich’s new work for large ensemble that debuted at London’s Royal Opera House in November 2016—continues to be championed by Ensemble Signal and Brad Lubman, who perform the East coast premiere at the Library of Congress and the New York premiere at Carnegie Hall in the fall. Additional season highlights include a production of Three Tales at Wuppertaler Bühnen in Germany, as well as major presentations of his music at the Staatsoper and Konzerthaus in Vienna, Southbank Centre in London, Cité de la Musique in Paris, and the Philharmonie in Cologne.

 

Born in New York and raised there and in California, Reich graduated with honors in philosophy from Cornell University in 1957. For the next two years, he studied composition with Hall Overton, and from 1958 to 1961, he studied at the Juilliard School of Music with William Bergsma and Vincent Persichetti. Reich received his master’s degree in music from Mills College in 1963, where he worked with Luciano Berio and Darius Milhaud.

 

"There’s just a handful of living composers who can legitimately claim to have altered the direction of musical history and Steve Reich is one of them" (The Guardian).

 

August 2017

© Reprinted by kind permission of Boosey & Hawkes.

 

 

 

image

© Jay Blakesberg

Colin Currie

Percussion

 

 

Artist in Association, Southbank Centre, London Artist in Residence, Oregon Symphony Orchestra.

 

Hailed as “the world’s finest and most daring percussionist” (Spectator), Colin Currie is a solo and chamber artist at the peak of his powers. Championing new music at the highest level, Currie is the soloist of choice for many of today’s foremost composers and he performs regularly with the world’s leading orchestras and conductors.

 

A dynamic and adventurous soloist, Currie’s commitment to commissioning and creating new music was recognised in 2015 by the Royal Philharmonic Society who awarded him the Instrumentalist Award. From his earliest years Currie forged a pioneering path in creating new music for percussion, winning the Royal Philharmonic Society Young Artist Award in 2000 and receiving a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award in 2005. Currie has premiered works by composers such as Steve Reich, Elliott Carter, Louis Andriessen, HK Gruber, James MacMillan, Anna Clyne, Einojuhani Rautavaara, Jennifer Higdon, Kalevi Aho, Rolf Wallin, Kurt Schwertsik, Alexander Goehr, Andrew Norman, Mark-Anthony Turnage, Julia Wolfe and Nico Muhly. Looking ahead, in the coming seasons Currie will premiere new works by Andy Akiho, Helen Grime and Simon Holt.

 

Currie is Artist in Association at London’s Southbank Centre, where he was the focus of a major percussion festival Metal Wood Skin in 2014 and continues to perform there every season. Currie is also Artist in Residence with Oregon Symphony Orchestra 2015/16 -2017/18. The three season residency includes annual performances with Oregon Symphony Orchestra, extensive education and outreach work, and this season sees the world premiere of Andy Akiho’s Percussion Concerto in April 2018, conducted by Carlos Kalmar.

 

Currie’s 2017/18 season is marked by a number of other premieres including a new work for piano and percussion by Sir Harrison Birtwistle with Nicolas Hodges at the Library of Congress and London’s Southbank Centre. Currie will also premiere new works by Brett Dean and Joe Duddell with Håkan Hardenberger at Malmo Chamber Festival this September and Aldeburgh Music in November 2017, and a new work for percussion and electronics by Dave Maric with the Scottish Ensemble.

 

Other highlights of 2017/18 include the Scandinavian premiere of HK Gruber’s into the open... with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, conducted by HK Gruber, and a series of solo recitals including The Schubert Club, Budapest, Lawrence University and at Sir James MacMillan’s The Cumnock Tryst. Currie’s orchestral engagements include Houston Symphony, Antwerp Symphony, BBC Philharmonic, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Het Gelders Orkest, National Youth Orchestra of Scotland and Brno Contemporary Orchestra.

 

Currie’s dynamic ensemble the Colin Currie Group was formed in 2006 to celebrate the music of Steve Reich and made its five-star debut at the BBC Proms. Since then, with Reich’s personal endorsement Currie and his ensemble have taken on the role of ambassadors of Drumming, which they have performed at many venues and festivals internationally. Highlights of the 2017/18 season include the release of the group’s debut recording of Drumming and performances at King’s Place and Saffron Hall.

 

Currie has recorded many concerto, recital and chamber works including most recently Elliott Carter’s Two Controversies and a Conversation with Pierre-Laurent Aimard and Oliver Knussen (Ondine) and Simon Holt’s a table of noises with The Hallé Orchestra/Collon (NMC). His recording of Rautavaara’s Incantations with the Helsinki Philharmonic/Storgårds (Ondine) was released to critical acclaim and won a 2012 Gramophone Award. Previous releases by Currie include MacMillan’s Veni, Veni, Emmanuel with the Netherlands Radio Chamber Philharmonic/MacMillan on Challenge Classics, Jennifer Higdon’s Percussion Concerto with the London Philharmonic/Alsop, which won a 2010 Grammy Award, and a recital disc Borrowed Time featuring music by Dave Maric (Onyx). Currie recently recorded Steve Reich’s Quartet with Colin Currie Group to be released by Nonesuch Records in the coming season.

www.colincurrie.com

 

 

image

© Marco Borggreve

Colin Currie Group

 

 

“Another performance that knocked my socks off was Colin Currie and his group doing Drumming at the South Bank [in London] this year. It was miked up high, it was expressionist, it was a brand new take. And I thought, Oh, we never could have done it that way.”

 

Steve Reich on the Colin Currie Group, Irish Times, July 2011.

 

Led by British percussionist Colin Currie and comprising the UK’s finest percussionists, the Colin Currie Group is a virtuosic ensemble that specialises in the music of Steve Reich.

 

Colin Currie Group was formed for a performance at the 2006 BBC Proms when Colin Currie was asked to curate a late-night event celebrating the music of Steve Reich, then in his 70th birthday year. Currie assembled a group of outstanding percussionists who gave their five-star debut at the Proms featuring Steve Reich’s Drumming.

 

The Group went on to perform Drumming in a sell-out event at London’s Southbank Centre attended by the composer, who afterwards commented: “I think this man has taken this piece into another generation, yes, but beyond that into a finer level of performance and has opened it up to me as a kind of revelation, and I want to thank him.”

 

With Reich’s endorsement, Currie and his ensemble have taken on the role of ambassadors of Drumming. The ensemble has since performed the work to great acclaim at many major UK venues and festivals, including Cheltenham, Birmingham Town Hall, Bristol, Perth and again at London’s Southbank Centre.

 

Colin Currie Group have gone on to explore many of Steve Reich’s works, including Sextet, Mallet Quartet, Music for Pieces of Wood and Music for 18 Musicians. Their first performance of Music for 18 Musicians in 2013 was at a sold-out Royal Festival Hall in the presence of the composer, lauded as “technically impeccable and musically overwhelming” (Guardian) and “simultaneously static and bursting with event: a joyful conundrum” (Independent).

 

In 2014 the Group gave the premiere of a new work by Steve Reich Quartet for two pianos and two vibraphones at Southbank Centre prior to touring this work throughout Europe. In future seasons Colin Currie Group will continue to add to their repertoire, Powered by TCPDF (www.tcpdf.org) including performances of Tehillim in the UK (Royal Festival Hall) and Tokyo OperaCity Concert Hall for two performances in March 2017.

 

The Group is in demand internationally, having made their international debut with two performances at Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall in 2012 and in August 2013 their European debut at the Concertgebouw, Amsterdam. Recent seasons have included further performances at London’s Southbank Centre, Paris Cité de la Musique, Cologne Philharmonie, Prague Strings of Autumn Festival, Rotterdam De Doelen, Amsterdam Muziekgebouw, Gent, Dublin, Glasgow Minimal Festival, Cardiff and Saffron Hall.

 

2015-16 highlights included the Finnish premiere of Quartet at Helsinki Festival and multiple performances of Music for 18 Musicians including a return to Southbank Centre and two performances in Rotterdam. In 2016-17 Colin Currie Group made their debut at Macau International Music Festival, as well as return to Southbank Centre and Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall for performances of Tehillim and further European performances including at Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg. Following a successful kickstarter campaign, Colin Currie Group will record Drumming in May 2017.

 

 

image

© Chris Gloag

Synergy Vocals

 

 

Synergy Vocals started out as a quartet of female singers who performed Tehillim for Steve Reich’s 60th birthday concert in London in 1996.  Twenty years later, the group comprises an elite pool of singers able to deliver a broad repertoire in a variety of styles.  The group specialises in close-microphone singing and is often associated with the music of Steve Reich, John Adams, Louis Andriessen, Steven Mackey and Luciano Berio, performing regularly with Ensemble Modern, Ictus, Ensemble InterContemporain, London Sinfonietta and the Colin Currie Group.

 

Synergy has given concerts all over the world with orchestras and ensembles including the Boston, Chicago, St Louis, New World and San Francisco Symphony orchestras, the Los Angeles, Brooklyn and New York Philharmonic orchestras, Remix, Nexus, Steve Reich & Musicians, Shanghai Symphony Orchestra, Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Percussion Claviers de Lyon, the Tempo Reale Ensemble, AskoǀSchönberg, the Hebrides Ensemble, the London Symphony Orchestra and all five of the UK’s BBC orchestras.  They have also collaborated with dance companies including the Royal Ballet (London) and Rosas.

 

The group’s world premières include Steve Reich’s Three Tales and Daniel Variations, Steven Mackey’s Dreamhouse, Louis Andriessen’s video opera La Commedia, David Lang’s writing on water and Sir James MacMillan’s Since it was the day of Preparation…, as well as the UK première of Nono’s monumental Prometeo on London’s South Bank.

 

As well as live concerts and recordings, the group has undertaken educational and outreach projects in the UK, The Netherlands, the USA and South America.  Micaela Haslam regularly coaches ensembles for Steve Reich in the preparation of his Music for 18 Musicians (most recently the London Philharmonic Orchestra). She is also in increasing demand as a speaker, giving inspirational talks about Steve’s work.

 

Synergy Vocals is featured on a variety of film soundtracks, including Nanny McPhee, Harry Potter, The Chronicles of Narnia, Severance, Triangle and Jane Eyre, and television signature tunes including the Home Fires series for ITV (UK).  Commercial recordings of the group include the 2011 Grammy winning Dreamhouse by Steven Mackey, Since it was the day of Preparation…. by Sir James MacMillan (with Hebrides Ensemble), De Staat by Louis Andriessen (with London Sinfonietta), Three Tales by Steve Reich (with Steve Reich & Musicians), La Commedia by Louis Andriessen (with AskoǀSchönberg), Kompendium’s Beneath the Waves, These New Puritans’ Field of Reeds, Rob Reed’s Sanctuary, and Steven Wilson’s Grace for Drowning. The group’s most recent release is Berio’s Sinfonia with BBCSO conducted by Josep Pons (Harmonia Mundi), winner of the recent BBC CD Awards (vocal category).

image

Série de concerts consacrés

à l’œuvre de Steve Reich

 

Samedi 2 et dimanche 3 décembre 2017

Auditorium

Événements organisés dans le cadre de l'exposition « Etre moderne : le MoMA à Paris ».

image

© Jeffrey Herman

Prenant comme point de départ la présence d’une édition de Drumming  de Steve Reich dans l’exposition « Être Moderne, le MoMA à Paris », dont la première représentation fut donnée au musée new-yorkais en 1971, l’auditorium accueille le temps d’un week-end son illustre compositeur.

Considéré comme le pionnier de la musique minimaliste, Steve Reich en personne s’associe aux musiciens pour mettre en mots et présenter une série de concerts consacrée à ses œuvres majeures. Des programmes performatifs en journée et en soirée qui mettent en lumière ce courant musical majeur né aux États-Unis.

 

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

 

SAMEDI 2 DECEMBRE 2017

 

20h30 : Grand Concert

 

Clapping Music (avec Steve Reich)

 

Quartet (2013)

2 vibraphones et 2 pianos

 

ENTRACTE

 

Drumming (1970-71)

     1. Première partie 

Bongos accordés mais montés sur support et joués avec des baguettes

     2. Deuxième partie

Trois marimbas et marimbaphone et deux voix de femmes

     3. Troisième partie  

Trois glockenspiels et un piccolo agrémentée de sifflements

     4. Quatrième partie  

Tous les instruments qui sont accordés selon la gamme diatonique tempérée occidentale

Clôture avec prise de parole de Steve Reich

 

 

 

 

DIMANCHE 3 DECEMBRE 2017

2 concerts dans la journée, commentés par Steve Reich

 

15h : Concert commenté par Steve Reich

 

Music for Pieces of Wood (1973)

5 claves

 

Mallet Quartet  (2009)

2 marimbas (à cinq octaves), 2 vibraphones

 

Proverb (1995)          

Ensemble de voix solistes (3 sopranos solo, 2 ténors solo), 2 vibraphones, 4 autres claviers à 5 octaves selon les lieux les voix et les vibraphones peuvent être amplifiés

 

17h30 : Concert commenté par Steve Reich

 

Pulse (2015)

2 flûtes, 2 clarinettes, piano, guitare basse électrique, 4 violons, 2 altos

 

Music for Mallet Instruments, Voices and Organ (1973)

2 glockenspiels, 4 marimbas, 1 métalophone, 3 voix féminines (deux sopranos, une alto), et orgue numérique

 

 

Artistes

Steve Reich, compositeur à l’honneur (présent les 2 et 3 décembre)

Colin Currie Group (29 musiciens)

Synergy Vocals (6 chanteurs)

Horaires

Grand concert avec Steve Reich Samedi 2 décembre 2017, 20h30

Concerts commentés par Steve Reich Dimanche 3 décembre 2017, 15h et 17h30

Concert de Steve Reich
2 décembre 2017 à 20h30

Concerts en hommage à Steve Reich
3 décembre 2017
Billets valables pour un concert

Concerts en hommage à Steve Reich
3 décembre 2017
Billets valables pour les deux concerts

Steve Reich

Compositeur

 

 

Steve Reich a été surnommé « le plus grand compositeur américain vivant » par le Village Voice, « le penseur musical le plus original de notre temps » par le New Yorker et il figure, selon le New York Times, « parmi les grands compositeurs de notre siècle ».

 

L’héritage musical de Reich a influencé des compositeurs et des musiciens du monde entier. Sa musique est connue pour sa rythmique régulière, sa répétitivité et sa fascination pour les canons. Elle combine des structures rigoureuses et une rythmique entraîn    ante, une palette instrumentale captivante et des harmonies de musique traditionnelle non-occidentale et américaine (le jazz, en particulier). Outre ses études à l’université Cornell, à la Juilliard School et au Mills College avec Luciano Berio, Steve Reich a étudié le gamelan balinais, les percussions africaines (à l’université du Ghana), et les formes traditionnelles de cantillation des écritures hébraïques.

 

Different Trains, Music for 18 Musicians, et un album de percussions ont reçu des Grammy Awards, et Double Sextet a été récompensé par le Prix Pulitzer en 2009.

 

Présentés sur quatre continents, son opéra The Cave et sa création multimédia Three Tales, réalisés en collaboration avec la vidéaste Beryl Korot, ont repoussé les frontières de l’opéra.

 

La musique de Steve Reich est interprétée par les plus grands orchestres philharmoniques et ensembles du monde entier dont ceux de New York, Los Angeles, Londres, Sydney, San Francisco, Boston, de la BBC, London Sinfonietta, Kronos Quartet, Ensemble Modern, Ensemble InterContemporain, Ensemble Signal, International Contemporary Ensemble, Bang on Can All-Stars, Alarm Will Sound et Eighth Blackbird. Plusieurs chorégraphes de renom, comme Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Jirí Kylián, Jerome Robbins, Justin Peck, Wayne McGregor, Benjamin Millepied et Christopher Wheeldon ont créé des chorégraphies sur sa musique.

 

En 2012, Steve Reich a reçu la Médaille d’or de Musique de l’Académie américaine des Arts et des Lettres. Il a été nommé Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et Lettres en France et membre de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Bavière. Il a reçu le Praemium Imperiale à Tokyo, le Prix Polar Music à Stockholm, un BBVA Award à Madrid, un Lion d’Or à la Biennale de Venise, le Prix Nemmers 2016 de composition musicale de l’Université Northwestern, le Prix Schuman de la Columbia University, le Montgomery Fellowship du Dartmouth College, et le Prix Lectures Regent’s de l’Université de Californie, à Berkeley. Il a été fait docteur honoris causa du Royal College of Music de Londres, de la Juilliard School, de l’Académie Liszt de Budapest et du New England Conservatory of Music, parmi de nombreuses autres distinctions.

 

Au cours de la saison 2017-2018, Runner, la nouvelle œuvre de Steve Reich pour grand ensemble, présentée au Royal Opera House de Londres en novembre 2016, sera jouée pour la première fois sur la côte Est par l’Ensemble Signal et Brad Lubman à la Bibliothèque du Congrès et au Carnegie Hall de New York à l'automne. Les temps forts de la saison incluent des représentations de Three Tales  par la compagnie Wuppertaler Bühnen en Allemagne, ainsi que des présentations au Staatsoper et au Konzerthaus de Vienne, au Southbank Centre à Londres, à la Cité de la Musique à Paris et à la Philharmonie de Cologne.

 

Né à New York et élevé à New York et en Californie, Steve Reich obtient son diplôme de philosophie, avec mention, à l’Université Cornell en 1957. Pendant deux ans, il étudie la composition avec Hall Overton et, de 1958 à 1961, à la Juilliard School of Music avec William Bergsma et Vincent Persichetti. Steve Reich a obtenu un master de musique au Mills College en 1963, où il a travaillé avec Luciano Berio et Darius Milhaud.

 

« Il n’y a qu’une poignée de compositeurs vivants pouvant légitimement prétendre avoir changé l’histoire de la musique, et Steve Reich en fait partie » (The Guardian).

 

Août 2017

© Reproduit avec l'aimable autorisation de Boosey & Hawkes.

 

 

 

image

© Jay Blakesberg

Colin Currie

Percussion

 

 

Artiste associé, Southbank Centre, Londres

Artiste résident, Orchestre symphonique de l’Oregon .

 

Salué comme « le percussionniste le plus fin et le plus audacieux du monde » par le Spectator, Colin Currie joue en soliste et en formation de chambre au sommet de son art. Héraut des musiques actuelles au plus haut niveau, Colin Currie est le soliste de prédilection de nombreux compositeurs d’aujourd’hui, et il se produit régulièrement avec les meilleurs orchestres et chefs d’orchestre du monde.

 

Soliste dynamique et aventureux, Colin Currie a été distingué en 2015 par la Royal Philharmonic Society, qui lui a décerné le Prix de l’Instrumentiste pour son engagement à créer de nouvelles musiques. Dès ses premières années, Colin Currie a tracé sa voie personnelle, créant de nouvelles musiques pour percussions, remportant le Prix du jeune artiste de la Royal Philharmonic Society en 2000, et recevant le Prix Borletti-Buitoni Trust en 2005. Colin Currie a interprété les œuvres de Steve Reich, Elliott Carter, Louis Andriessen, HK Gruber, James MacMillan, Anna Clyne, Einojuhani Rautavaara, Jennifer Higdon, Kalevi Aho, Rolf Wallin, Kurt Schwertsik, Alexander Goehr, Andrew Norman, Mark-Anthony Turnage, Julia Wolfe et Nico Muhly. Dans les prochaines saisons, il présentera les nouvelles œuvres d’Andy Akiho, d’Helen Grime et de Simon Holt.

 

Colin Currie est artiste associé au Southbank Centre de Londres où il s’est produit au festival Metal Wood Skin en 2014, et continue d’y jouer chaque saison. Currie est également artiste résident de l’Orchestre symphonique de l’Oregon de 2015/16 à 2017/18. Cette résidence, qui dure trois saisons, comprend des représentations annuelles avec l’Orchestre symphonique de l’Oregon, un travail d’enseignement et de sensibilisation, et, cette saison, en avril 2018, la première mondiale du Concerto pour percussions  d’Andy Akiho, dirigé par Carlos Kalmar.

 

La saison 2017/18 sera marquée par plusieurs autres premières, dont une nouvelle œuvre pour piano et percussions de Sir Harrison Birtwistle avec Nicolas Hodges à la Bibliothèque du Congrès et au Southbank Centre de Londres. Colin Currie présentera également de nouvelles œuvres de Brett Dean et Joe Duddell, avec Håkan Hardenberger, au Festival de musique de chambre de Malmö, et à celui d’Aldeburgh en novembre 2017, ainsi qu’une nouvelle œuvre pour percussions et instruments électroniques de Dave Maric, avec le Scottish Ensemble.

 

Ses autres rendez-vous seront la première scandinave de Into The Open  d’HK Gruber, avec l’Orchestre philharmonique royal de Stockholm, dirigé par HK Gruber, et une série de récitals en soliste, notamment au Schubert Club de Budapest, à l’Université Lawrence et au Cumnock Tryst de Sir James MacMillan. Il jouera par ailleurs avec les orchestres de Houston, d’Anvers, de la BBC, l’Orchestre de musique de chambre écossais, le Het Gelders Orkest, le National Youth Orchestra of Scotland et l’Orchestre contemporain de Brno.

 

L’ensemble de Currie, le Colin Currie Group, créé en 2006 pour mettre à l’honneur la musique de Steve Reich, a fait ses débuts aux BBC Proms. Depuis, avec le soutien de Steve Reich en personne, Colin Currie et son groupe sont devenus les ambassadeurs de Drumming, qu’ils ont joué dans de nombreuses salles et dans des festivals internationaux. En 2017-2018 sortira le premier enregistrement de Drumming et des représentations auront lieu au King's Place et au Saffron Hall.

 

Colin Currie a enregistré de nombreux concertos, récitals et œuvres de musique de chambre, dont récemment Two Controversies and a Conversation  d’Elliott Carter, avec Pierre-Laurent Aimard et Oliver Knussen (Ondine) et A Table of Noises  de Simon Holt avec The Hallé Orchestra / Collon (NMC). Son interprétation des Incantations  de Rautavaara avec le Helsinki Philharmonic / Storgårds (Ondine) a été acclamée par la critique et a remporté un Gramophone Award en 2012. Colin Currie a précédemment enregistré Veni, Veni, Emmanuel  de MacMillan avec le Netherlands Philharmonic Chamber / MacMillan pour Challenge Classics, le Percussion Concerto de Jennifer Higdon avec le London Philharmonic / Alsop, qui a remporté un Grammy Award en 2010, et un disque de récital, Borrowed Time, sur une musique de Dave Maric (Onyx). Colin Currie a récemment enregistré le Quartet de Steve Reich avec son groupe. Cet enregistrement sortira sous le label Nonesuch Records dans les prochains mois.

www.colincurrie.com

 

 

image

© Marco Borggreve

Colin Currie Group

 

 

« L’interprétation de Drumming au Southbank [à Londres] cette année par Colin Currie et son groupe m’a vraiment emballé. C’était fort, expressionniste, c’était une toute nouvelle version. Et je me suis dit : oh, on n’aurait jamais pu le jouer comme ça. »

 

Steve Reich à propos du Colin Currie Group, dans le Irish Times, juillet 2011.

 

 

Dirigé par le percussionniste britannique Colin Currie et composé des meilleurs percussionnistes du Royaume-Uni, le Colin Currie Group est un ensemble virtuose spécialisé dans la musique de Steve Reich.

 

Le Colin Currie Group a été formé pour une représentation au BBC Proms, en 2006, quand Colin Currie a été invité à organiser un événement en l’honneur de la musique de Steve Reich, pour son 70e anniversaire. Colin Currie a alors réuni des percussionnistes exceptionnels, qui ont fait leurs débuts aux Proms en interprétant Drumming de Steve Reich.

 

Le groupe a ensuite présenté Drumming  lors d’une représentation à guichets fermés au Southbank Centre de Londres, en présence du compositeur. Celui-ci a déclaré : « Je pense que Colin Currie a fait découvrir cette composition à une nouvelle génération, c’est sûr, mais plus que cela, il l’a élevée à un niveau d’interprétation supérieur ; il me l’a révélée, en quelque sorte, et je tiens à le remercier. »

 

Soutenus par Steve Reich, Colin Currie et son ensemble sont devenus les ambassadeurs de Drumming. L’ensemble a ainsi été acclamé dans de grandes salles et des festivals au Royaume-Uni, notamment à Cheltenham, à l’Hôtel de ville de Birmingham, à Bristol, à Perth et, plusieurs fois, au Southbank Centre de Londres.

 

En 2014, le groupe a joué pour la première fois une nouvelle œuvre de Steve Reich, Quartet pour deux pianos et deux vibraphones, au Southbank Centre, avant de tourner dans toute l’Europe. Au cours des prochaines saisons, le Colin Currie Group continuera d’enrichir son répertoire, avec Tehillim, joué au Royaume-Uni (Royal Festival Hall) et à l’Opéra City Concert Hall de Tokyo, pour deux représentations en mars 2017.

 

Le groupe est aujourd’hui très demandé sur la scène internationale, après des débuts internationaux avec deux représentations à l’Opera City Concert Hall de Tokyo en 2012 et en août 2013, et des débuts européens au Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam. Lors des dernières saisons, il a joué au Southbank Centre de Londres, à la Cité de la Musique de Paris, à la Philharmonie de Cologne, au Festival de Prague, au De Doelen de Rotterdam, au Muziekgebouw d’Amsterdam, à Gand, Dublin, au Minimal Festival de Glasgow, à Cardiff et au Saffron Hall.

 

En 2015-2016, le groupe a joué Quartet  pour la première fois en Finlande, au Festival d’Helsinki, et a présenté plusieurs fois Music for 18 Musicians, dont une fois au Southbank Centre et deux à Rotterdam. En 2016-17, le Colin Currie Group a fait ses débuts au Festival international de musique de Macao, et est retourné au Southbank Centre et à l’Opera City Concert Hall de Tokyo pour des représentations de Tehillim. Il a aussi joué à l’Elbphilharmonie de Hambourg. Grâce à une campagne de financement sur Kickstarter, le Colin Currie Group a enregistré Drumming en mai 2017.

 

 

image

© Chris Gloag

Synergy Vocals

 

 

Le groupe Synergy Vocals a commencé comme un quatuor de chanteuses interprétant Tehillim  pour le 60e anniversaire de Steve Reich à Londres, en 1996. Vingt ans plus tard, il rassemble des chanteurs exceptionnels capables d’offrir un large répertoire, dans une variété de styles. Spécialisé dans le chant proche du micro, le groupe est souvent associé à la musique de Steve Reich, John Adams, Louis Andriessen, Steven Mackey et Luciano Berio, et se produit régulièrement avec Ensemble Modern, Ictus, Ensemble InterContemporain, London Sinfonietta et le Colin Currie Group.

 

Le groupe Synergy s’est produit dans le monde entier avec des orchestres et ensembles, dont les orchestres symphoniques de Boston, Chicago, Saint-Louis, New World et San Francisco, les orchestres philharmoniques de Los Angeles, Brooklyn et New York, Remix, Nexus, Steve Reich & Musicians, l’Orchestre symphonique de Shanghai, l’Orchestre symphonique de Sydney, Percussion Claviers de Lyon, l'Ensemble Tempo Reale, Asko|Schönberg, le Hebrides Ensemble, l’Orchestre symphonique de Londres et les cinq orchestres de la BBC. Il a également collaboré avec des compagnies de danse, dont le Royal Ballet de Londres et Rosas.

 

Le groupe jouera en première mondiale Three Tales  et Daniel Variations  de Steve Reich, Dreamhouse  de Steven Mackey, l’opéra multimédia La Commedia  de Louis Andriessen, Writing on Water  de David Lang et Since it was the day of Preparation  de Sir James MacMillan, ainsi que la première britannique du monumental Prometeo  de Nono, au Southbank de Londres.

 

En plus des concerts et des enregistrements live, le groupe a entrepris des projets éducatifs et de sensibilisation au Royaume-Uni, aux Pays-Bas, aux États-Unis et en Amérique du Sud. Micaela Haslam accompagne régulièrement des ensembles pour l’interprétation de Music for 18 Musicians de Steve Reich (comme récemment l’Orchestre philarmonique de Londres). Elle est également de plus en plus demandée comme conférencière pour parler de l’œuvre de Steve Reich.

 

Synergy Vocals a participé à plusieurs musiques de film, dont Nanny McPhee, Harry Potter, Les Chroniques de Narnia, Severance, Triangle et Jane Eyre , et des bandes originales de séries TV, comme Home Fires pour ITV (Royaume-Uni). Le groupe a enregistré des albums comme Dreamhouse  de Steven Mackey (Grammy Awards en 2011), Since it was the day of Preparation de Sir James MacMillan (avec le Hebrides Ensemble), De Staat de Louis Andriessen (avec le London Sinfonietta), Three Tales de Steve Reich (avec Steve Reich & Musicians), La Commedia de Louis Andriessen (avec Asko|Schönberg), Beneath the Waves  de Kompendium, Field of Reeds de These New Puritans, Sanctuary  de Rob Reed et Grace for Drowning  de Steven Wilson. Le groupe a récemment sorti Sinfonia de Berio avec l’Orchestre symphonique de la BBC, dirigé par Josep Pons (Harmonia Mundi), enregistrement qui a été récompensé aux derniers BBC CD Awards dans la catégorie Voix.

image