Close

Paper Music

 

A film concert by William Kentridge and Philip Miller

 

 

WEDNESDAY, 26 APRIL 2017, 8:30 P.M.

THURSDAY, 27 APRIL 2017, 8:30 P.M.

Event scheduled in relation with the exhibition "Art/Afrique, le nouvel atelier"

 

As part of the exhibition "Art / Africa, the new workshop"
As part of the exhibition "Art / Africa, the new workshop"

Being presented for the first time in Paris, Paper Music is a cross-genre performance (opera, theatre, film concert) designed by artist William Kentridge and composer Philip Miller. This film concert combines images from various animated films, both old and new, created by William Kentridge from his charcoal-and-ink drawings, accompanied by live music composed by Philip Miller. Paper Music is performed by two operatic vocalists, Ann Masina (South Africa) and Joanna Dudley (Australia), accompanied on the piano by Vincenzo Pasquariello (Italy). This burlesque, poetic work takes the audience on a truly unique, immersive journey.

 

Artists

William Kentridge, video

Philip Miller, composition and LP

Ann Masina, vocals

Joanna Dudley, vocals

Vincenzo Pasquariello, piano

 

Performance schedule

Wednesday, 26 April 2017, 8:30 p.m.

Thursday, 27 April 2017, 8:30 p.m. 

 

PRICES

William Kentridge

video

 

William Kentridge is one of South Africa’s pre-eminent artists, internationally acclaimed for his drawings, films, theatre and opera productions.

 

Born in Johannesburg, the son of two anti-apartheid lawyers, he studied Politics and African Studies at the University of Witwatersrand in the 1970s, and later co-founded the Junction Avenue Theatre Company. He went on to study Mime and Theatre at the Ecole Jacques Lecoq in Paris. Back in Johannesburg he worked in various areas of television, film and theatre and collaborated on projects with the Handspring Puppet Company.

 

Kentridge’s work draws on varied sources, including philosophy, literature, early cinema, theatre and opera to create a complex universe where good and evil are complementary and inseparable forces. Although he moves back and forth between media, his primary activity remains drawing and he sometimes conceives of his films, theatre and opera productions as an expanded form of drawing.

 

The artist has spent much of his career intensively exploring themes that resonate with his own life experience as well as with the political issues that most concern him. "I am interested in a political art," he has stated, "that is to say an art of ambiguity, contradiction, uncompleted gestures and uncertain endings." His work transforms sobering political events into powerful poetic allegories and it has continually evolved as his subject matter has departed from a specifically South African context to confront more general concerns of social injustice, revolutionary politics and the power of creative expression.

 

In 2010 Kentridge received the Kyoto Prize in recognition of his contributions in the field of arts and philosophy. In 2011 he was elected a Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and awarded the degree of Doctor of Literature honoris causa by the University of London. In 2012 he delivered the prestigious Norton Lectures at Harvard University.

 

Recently his work has been seen at Tate Modern in London, Jeu de Paume and Louvre in Paris, La Scala in Milan, Albertina in Vienna, Metropolitan Opera and Museum of Modern Art in New York, and the Pinacoteca do Estado de São Paulo.

image

© Marc Shoul

Philip  Miller 

composition and LP

 

Philip Miller is a composer and sound artist from South Africa who works in many different media from live performance to film, video  and  sound  installations. After making a leap from a career in law into the world of  music, he completed a  postgraduate degree in electro-acoustic music composition in England at Bournemouth University and then returned to South Africa to begin working full time in music. His long time collaboration with the artist, William Kentridge composing music for many of his films and installations, has gained him international recognition, especially for recent projects including Five Themes at the Tate Modern,  London, the lectureM opera production: Refuse the Hour, which is currently on tour in theatres across Europe  as  well  as  the  multimedia  installation Refusal of Time at Dokumenta 13, Kassel and at The Metropolitan  Museum of Art, New York.

 

His own sound works have been exhibited at The Venice Bienale (2013) Spier Contemporary (2011).(South  Africa)  and  The  Kaunas  Biennial  (2009)  (  Lithuania).    His  live  performance  of  the  award  –winning,  choral  composition,  Rewind,  a  cantata  for  voice,  tape  and  testimony  has  been  performed  in  London,  at  the Royal Festival Hall, Celebrate Brooklyn, New York, The 62 Centre Williams College, Massachusetts, as  well as The Baxter and Market theatres in South Africa. He has scored numerous soundtracks to film and  television  programs  including  more  recently  his  Emmy  nominated  soundtrack  to  HBO’s  The  Girl.    Other  more  recent  scores  include:  Miner’s  Shotdown,  The  Bang  Bang  Club,  Black  Butterflies  and  Mary  and  Martha directed by Philip Noyce.

 

Miller is currently an honorary fellow at ARC (The Research Initiative in Archive and Public Culture) at the  University of Cape Town. He is currently completing  his  new  opera,  Extracts  from  the  Underground,  exploring the subterranean sound world of miners in South Africa. 

image

© Ellen Elmendorp

Ann Masina

vocals

 

Ann Masina was born in the late 70’s in Witbank, Mpumalanga and started singing in Africa Sings Choral Society in 1994 as a Soloist. She participated in numerous choir competitions such as the Old Mutual/ Telkom Competition and the Ikwekwezi Choral Competition.

 

In 1999, she joined the Nico Malan Opera House, which is known as Cape Town Opera House presently under Professor Angelo Gobbato. She performed operas such as Carmen and Aida with great acclaim. Masina did her vocal training under the tutelage of Pierre du Toit from the Pretoria Technikon OperaSchool. She is a coMfounder of JOAT Opera Group, a selfM supporting Company performing extracts from different operas and musical at various social and official evens. In 2002, she perfomed in a musical called Sauer Street at the Wits Theatre. Performing with the likes of the late Lindelani Buthelezi and the late Ramolao Makhene with the JMI Ochestra.

 

In 2003 she performed with the Black tie Ensemble. In 2004 she was a Soloist at the Sowetan Nation Building Mass Choir Festival. In 2008 she did a Europen Tour with the 2 Grammy Award Winners Soweto Gospel Choir (SGC). She did the 46664 Concert at Hyde Park in London with the Ambassadors (SGC) for the late former South African President Nelson Mandela. In 2008 and 2009, she did the Robyn Orlin procutions called "Dressed to kill, killed to dress" and "Walking next to our shoes" with an extensive France Tour.

 

In 2009 she performed with the Bala Brothers at Gold Reef City, did the Tokyo/ Japan/Singerpore Tour with the Soweto Gospel Choir (SGC) and performed at the FIFA FINAL DRAW in Cape Town. In 2011 she renews her collaboration with Robyn Orlin in the production « Venus/ have u hugged, kissed and respected your brown venus today". Since 2012, she was part of the William Kentridge "Refusal of Time" workshop and "Refuse The Hour" performance as singer which toured Europe (Festival Avignon, RomaEuropa, Holland Festival...).

 

Masina is a versatile, talented and formidably large woman with an even bigger voice who handles opera, classical, gospel, jazz and pop with great aplomb.

image

© Caroline Naphegyi

Joanna  Dudley 

vocals

 

Joanna Dudley works internationally as a director, performer and singer creating music theatre, choreography and installation.

 

Joanna studied early and contemporary music at the Adelaide Conservatorium, Australia and the Sweelinck Conservatorium, The Netherlands. On scholarships she has also studied traditional Japanese music in Tokyo and traditional dance and music in Java.

In Berlin, Joanna worked as a guest director and performer at the Schaubuehne. Works created there include "My Dearest, My Fairest" with Juan Kruz Diaz de Garaio Esnaola and colours may fade with Esnaola and Rufus Didwiszus. Other works in collaboration with Didwiszus include the solo music theatre piece, "The Scorpionfish", "Who Killed Cock Robin?" with the Flemish vocal ensemble Capilla Flamenca and most recently "LOUIS & BEBE" with the electronic noise musician SchneiderTM. Her work has toured extensively throughout the world.

 

In collaboration with William Kentridge and Philip Miller, Joanna features as a singer and performer in "Refuse the Hour" (Avignon Festival and Holland Festival) and "Paper Music" (Carnegie Hall). Opera work includes the coMdirection and choreography of "Eugene Onegin" conducted by Seiji Ozawa and directed by Falk Richter for the Vienna State Opera and Tokyo Opera Nomori. Other collaborators include Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Sasha Waltz, Heiner Goebbels and Thomas Ostermeier. Joanna is appearing in the next two feature films of the Indonesian director, Garin Nugroho.

 

Joanna’s sound installation "Tom’s Song" for 32 music boxes and 16 LP players has given regular appearances at major international art festivals.

 

She has lectured in performance at the ECAV Academy for Arts Sierre and the F+F School for Art and Media Design Zurich Switzerland, the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, LASALLE College of the Arts Singapore, Adelaide University, Australia and the Academy for Arts in Berlin.

image

© Rufus Didwiszus

Vincenzo Pasquariello

piano

 

Born in Mailand, Vincenzo began his musical studies at an early age under the guidance of his father, then at the Giuseppe Verdi Conservatory in Milan, where he graduated with M° Bruno Canino, recently attended the Master’s degree with Mo Mario Borciani.

He played in Italy and abroad both as a solist and in various chamber music ensembles in major theaters and museums, performing his own compositions, among other things, a longMtime part of the theater company Moni Ovadia where he participated as a musician as well as developing music scene also as an actor.

Paper Music

Un ciné-concert de William Kentridge et Philip Miller

 

 

Mercredi 26 avril 2017, 20h30

Jeudi 27 avril 2017, 20h30

Évènement programmé dans le cadre de l'exposition "Art/Afrique, le nouvel atelier"

 

Présenté pour la première fois à Paris, Paper Music est un spectacle à la croisée des genres (opéra, théâtre, ciné-concert) imaginé par l’artiste William Kentridge et le compositeur Philip Miller. Ce ciné-concert mélange des images extraites de différents films d’animation - récents ou anciens - que William Kentridge a réalisé à partir de ses dessins au fusain et à l’encre, avec la musique composée par Philip Miller. Paper Music est interprété par les deux chanteuses lyriques Ann Masina (Afrique du Sud) et Joanna Dudley (Australie) qui sont accompagnées au piano par Vincenzo Pasquariello (Italie). Cette œuvre burlesque et poétique propose au spectateur une expérience immersive unique.

 

Artistes

William Kentridge, vidéo

Philip Miller, composition et LP

Ann Masina, chant lyrique 

Joanna Dudley, chant lyrique

Vincenzo Pasquariello, piano

 

Calendrier

Mercredi 26 avril 2017, 20h30

Jeudi 27 avril 2017, 20h30  

 

tarifs

William Kentridge

vidéo

 

William Kentridge est l’un des artistes les plus célèbres d’Afrique du Sud, reconnu dans le monde entier pour ses dessins, ses films, ses mises en scènes théâtrales et opératiques.

 

Fils d’un père et d’une mère tous les deux avocats anti-apartheid, ce natif de Johannesburg a suivi dans les années 1970 les cours d’études africaines et de politique à l’université du Witwatersrand, puis cofondé la compagnie Junction Avenue Theatre Company. Il a ensuite appris le mime et le théâtre à l’École Jacques Lecoq à Paris. De retour à Johannesburg, il a travaillé dans la télévision, le cinéma et le théâtre et collaboré sur des projets avec la Handspring Puppet Company.

 

Kentridge puise dans des sources multiples dont la philosophie, la littérature, les premiers films et l’opéra pour créer un univers complexe où le bien et le mal sont des forces inséparables et complémentaires. S’il exploite les ressources qu’offrent les médias, son activité fondamentale reste le dessin. Il met aussi parfois en scène des films, des pièces de théâtre et des opéras qu’ils considèrent comme des prolongements du dessin.

 

L’artiste a passé une grande partie de sa carrière à se passionner pour des thèmes qui reflètent sa propre expérience de l’existence ainsi que les questions politiques qui le préoccupent le plus. « Je m’intéresse à l’art de la politique », a-t-il déclaré, « c’est à dire l’art de l’ambiguïté, de la contradiction, des gestes inachevés et des conclusions incertaines. » Son travail transforme des événements politiques chargés de sens en allégories poétiques puissantes et il n’a cessé d‘évoluer depuis que le sujet de réflexion s’est éloigné d’un contexte spécifiquement sud-africain pour s’élargir à des questions plus générales touchant à la justice sociale, à la politique révolutionnaire et à la puissance de l’expression créatrice.

 

En 2010, Kentridge a reçu le Prix de Kyoto pour ses contributions dans les domaines de l’art et de la philosophie. En 2011, il a été élu membre honoraire de l’American Academy of Arts and Letters et élevé au titre de Docteur honoris causa en littérature par l’Université de Londres. En 2012, il a participé aux célèbres conférences Norton à l’université de Harvard.

 

Son œuvre a récemment été exposée à Londres à la Tate Modern, à Paris au Jeu de Paume et au Louvre, à Milan à la Scala, à Vienne au palais Albertina, à New York au Metropolitan Opera et au Museum of Modern Art, et à Sao Paulo à la Pinacoteca.

image

© Marc Shoul

Philip  Miller 

composition et LP

 

Philip Miller est un compositeur et artiste sonore d’Afrique du Sud. Il utilise de nombreux moyens d’expression allant de la scène au cinéma en passant par la vidéo et les installations sonores. Après avoir abandonné le droit pour la musique, il a terminé ses études universitaires en composition musicale électro-acoustique à l’université de Bournemouth en Angleterre. De retour en Afrique du Sud, il s’est consacré entièrement à la musique. Sa collaboration de longue date avec William Kentridge pour qui il a écrit de nombreuses musiques de films et illustrations sonores d’installations lui a valu une reconnaissance internationale, notamment pour les projets récents Five Themes présenté à la Tate Modern de Londres, l’opéra Refuse the Hour, qui est en tournée en Europe, sans oublier l’installation multimédia Refusal of Time exposée à Dokumenta 13 à Kassel et au Metropolitan Museum of Art à New York.

 

Ses œuvres ont été exposées à la Biennale de Venise (2013), à l’exposition Spier Contemporary (2011) en Afrique du Sud et à la Biennale de Kaunas (2009) en Lituanie. Sa cantate pour voix, bande magnétique et témoignage Rewind a été jouée en concert à Londres au Royal Festival Hall, à New York, au Celebrate Brooklyn Festival, dans le Massachusetts au The ‘62 Centre Williams College et en Afrique du Sud au Baxter Theatre Centre et au Market. Il a écrit des musiques pour le cinéma et la télévision, notamment la bande originale du film The Girl produit par HBO nommée aux Emmy Awards. Ses partitions plus récentes sont Miner’s Shotdown, The Bang Bang Club, Black Butterflies et Mary and Martha mis en scène par Philip Noyce.

 

Miller est membre honoraire de l’ARC (The Research Initiative in Archive and Public Culture) de l’université du Cap. Il met actuellement la dernière touche à son opéra Extracts from the Underground, qui plonge dans le monde souterrain des mines d ‘Afrique du Sud. 

image

© Ellen Elmendorp

Ann Masina

voix

 

Ann Masina est née à la fin des années 1970 à Witbank dans la province du Mpumalanga. Elle a commencé à chanter en soliste à l’Africa Sings Choral Society en 1994 et a participé à de nombreux concours de chant choral notamment la Old Mutual/ Telkom Competition et la Ikwekwezi Choral Competition.

 

En 1999, elle entre au Nico Malan Opera House, l’opéra de la ville du Cap que dirige actuellement le Professeur Angelo Gobbato. Elle y joue dans Carmen et Aïda où elle reçoit les acclamations du public. Masina poursuit ses études de chant sous la houlette de Pierre du Toit à la Pretoria Technikon Opera School. Elle est co-fondatrice du JOAT Opera Group, compagnie indépendante qui interprète des extraits d’opéras et de comédies musicales pour divers événements sociaux et officiels. En 2002, elle joue dans la comédie musicale Sauer Street au Wits Theatre auprès des regrettés Lindelani Buthelezi et Ramolao Makhene et avec le JMI Ochestra.

 

En 2003, elle joue avec le Black Tie Ensemble. En 2004 elle est soliste au Sowetan Nation Building Mass Choir Festival. En 2008, elle accomplit une tournée européenne avec deux lauréats des Grammy Awards du Soweto Gospel Choir (SGC). Elle est sur scène lors du Concert 46664 en hommage au Président sud-africain Nelson Mandela à Hyde Park à Londres avec les Ambassadors (SGC). En 2008 et 2009, elle joue dans les productions de Robyn Orlin Dressed to kill, killed to dress et Walking next to our shoes présentées dans de nombreuses villes en France.

 

En 2009 elle joue avec les Bala Brothers à Gold Reef City, participe à la tournée du Soweto Gospel Choir (SGC) à Tokyo et Singapour et au tirage de la FIFA au Cap. En 2011 elle renouvelle sa collaboration avec Robyn Orlin dans la production de Venus have you hugged, kissed and respected your brown Venus today. Depuis 2012, elle fait partie de l’atelier de William Kentridge Refusal of Time et chante dans Refuse the Hour en tournée européenne (Festival d’Avignon, festival RomaEuropa, Holland Festival...).

 

Masina est une femme d’exception qui en impose à la fois par son physique impressionnant, ses multiples talents et une voix encore plus confondante. Elle est aussi à l’aide dans l’opéra que dans le classique, le gospel, le jazz et la pop avec un aplomb sidérant.

image

© Caroline Naphegyi

Joanna  Dudley 

voix

 

Créatrice d’œuvres musicales, théâtrales, chorégraphiques et d’installations, Joanna Dudley mène une carrière internationale comme metteur en scène, interprète et chanteuse.

 

Joanna a étudié très jeune la musique ancienne et contemporaine au conservatoire d’Adelaide en Australie et au conservatoire Sweelinck aux Pays-Bas. Bénéficiant de bourses d’études, elle a aussi étudié la musique traditionnelle japonaise à Tokyo et la danse et la musique traditionnelles de Java.

 

À Berlin, Joanna a travaillé comme metteur en scène et interprète invitée à la Schaubuehne à Berlin. Elle y a créé My Dearest, My Fairest avec Juan Kruz Diaz de Garaio Esnaola et Colours may fade avec Esnaola et Rufus Didwiszus. Les autres œuvres montées en collaboration avec Didwiszus sont la pièce musicale en solo, The Scorpionfish et Who Killed Cock Robin ? avec l’ensemble vocal flamand Capilla Flamenca. Plus récemment, on lui doit Louis & Bebe avec le compositeur de musique électronique Schneider TM. Elle présente ses spectacles dans le monde entier.

 

En collaboration avec William Kentridge et Philip Miller, Joanna chante et joue dans « Refuse the Hour » (Festival d’Avignon et Holland Festival) et « Paper Music » (Carnegie Hall). Pour l’opéra, elle a co-mis en scène et chorégraphié Eugène Onéguine avec Seiji Ozawa à la baguette, mis en scène par Falk Richter pour l’Opéra de Vienne et le Tokyo Opera Nomori. Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Sasha Waltz, Heiner Goebbels et Thomas Ostermeier comptent parmi ses autres collaborateurs. Joanna apparaît dans les deux prochains longs métrages du metteur en scène indonésien, Garin Nugroho.

 

L’installation sonore de Joanna Tom’s Song pour 32 boîtes à musique et 16 platines tourne-disque a été exposée dans les plus grands festivals d’art internationaux.

 

Joanna a prononcé des conférences sur l’interprétation à l’École cantonale d’art du Valais de Sierre et à l’École F+F d’art et de design de Zurich en Suisse, à l’Académie des arts du spectacle de Hong Kong, au Lasalle College of the Arts de Singapour, à l’université d’Adelaide en Australie et à l’Académie des Arts à Berlin. 

image

© Rufus Didwiszus

Vincenzo Pasquariello

piano

 

Né à Milan, Vincenzo a débuté ses études musicales très jeunes sous la conduite de son père, d’abord au conservatoire Giuseppe Verdi de Milan, où il obtint son diplôme auprès du compositeur et pianiste Bruno Canino. Il suit aussi les cours de maîtrise du pianiste et compositeur Mario Borciani.

 

Il a joué en Italie et à l’étranger comme soliste ou membre de formations de musique de chambre dans les grandes salles de concert et musées renommés, interprétant, entre autres, ses propres œuvres. Il a fait partie pendant longtemps de la compagnie théâtrale Moni Ovadia où il a participé comme musicien, compositeur de musique de scène et acteur.