José Van Dam Masterclass and Concerts

23 & 24 April 2016

The Fondation Louis Vuitton is once again hosting in residence Belgium's Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel.

 

From 23 to 24 April 2016, José Van Dam, professor emeritus of the Music Chapel, will hold his voice class in the auditorium for a series of lessons and public masterclasses, to feature the piano accompaniment of Philippe Riga.

 

Six young singers have been selected for this masterclass. All of them are members of the Music Chapel soloist class.

 

To coincide with the masterclass to be held at the Fondation Louis Vuitton with José Van Dam and the students of the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel, there will be two concerts on the theme of "Love of Music" as part of a repertoire comprising opera arias and French melodies.

 

Public Masterclasses:

Saturday 23 April, 11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.

Sunday 24 April, 11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.

 

Recitals:

Saturday 23 April, 5 p.m. to 6 p.m.

Sunday 24 April, 5 p.m. - 6 p.m.

 

PRICES

(for available discounts, see ticketing service)

Auditorium

The Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel

Under the Honorary Chairmanship of Her Majesty Queen Paola

 

The Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel, a public interest foundation, was founded in 1939. This wonderful project, devised by Eugène Isaÿe and Queen Elisabeth, was completely redesigned in 2004 to focus on two main areas:

 

1. High-level training in six disciplines (singing, violin, piano, cello, viola and chamber music) with the Masters in Residence. Six leading figures from the world of classical music are supervising the Music Chapel and its young musicians in 2015-16: José van Dam, Augustin Dumay, Maria João Pires, Gary Hoffman, Miguel Da Silva, and the Artemis Quartet.

 

2. Professional experience via a network of cultural partners in Belgium (including Bozar, Flagey, La Monnaie, major orchestras and festivals) and around the world. Nearly 300 concerts are being produced, co-produced or organised by the Music Chapel during the 2015-16 season. Every year, the Music Chapel welcomes some sixty talented young musicians in residence, from Belgium and overseas, with 20 nationalities in 2015-16. The Music Chapel is one of the top institutions of its kind in the world.

 

It is unique in that 80% of its budget comes from the private sector (foundations, companies, private sponsors, self-generated revenue) while the remaining 20% is provided by public aid (European Union, Belgian Science Policy Office, Wallonia-Brussels Federation Ministry for Education, and the National Lottery).

 

The opening of new facilities such as the de Launoit Wing in January 2015 marks a new chapter in the Music Chapel's history, providing it with the resources it needs to fully accomplish its mission of passing on music to future generations through a season of Chapel concerts in its new hall overlooking the Sonian Forest. While the Chapel retains strong Belgian roots, its international calling its flourishing more than ever before.

 

Bernard de Launoit, Executive President

José Van Dam

Bass-baritone - master in residence

 

José van Dam was born in Brussels, where he completed all of his musical training. Invited to perform on the world's most prestigious stages (the Scala in Milan, the Metropolitan in New York, Covent Garden in London, the Paris Opera, Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires, and more), his vast repertoire notably includes the title roles of Falstaff and Simon Boccanegra (Verdi), Don Giovanni (Mozart), Figaro (The Marriage of Figaro), Boris Godunov (Mussorgsky), The Flying Dutchman (Wagner), La Damnation de Faust (Berlioz), William Tell (Rossini), Wozzeck (Berg), Gianni Schicchi (Puccini), as well as the world premiere of Saint François d’Assise (Messiaen) at the Paris Opera, a role he successfully reprised at the Salzburg Festival. He has regularly played the roles of Philip II (Don Carlo, Verdi), Hans Sachs (Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg) and Amfortas (Parsifal) by Wagner, Jochanaan (Salome, Strauss), Mephisto (Faust, Gounod), Golaud (Pelléas et Mélisande, Debussy), Selim (Il turco in Italia, Rossini), and Scarpia (Tosca, Puccini).

 

He has also performed in L’Heure espagnole (Ravel), Gianni Schicchi, The Flying Dutchman, La Damnation de Faust, and Elias at the Saito Kinen Festival; La Damnation de Faust in Geneva and Paris; Saint François d’Assise at the Ruhrtriennale Festival and in Paris; Die Meistersinger in Zurich; Don Pasquale (Donizetti) and From the House of the Dead (Janáček) in Madrid; Pelléas et Mélisande in Paris and at the Metropolitan Opera; The Love for Three Oranges (Prokofiev), La Traviata and Louise (Charpentier) in Paris, among others.

 

He has contributed to the success of many opera productions at la Monnaie in Brussels, where he has also given a number of concerts and recitals. He took the title role in Oedipus on the Road (Bartholomée) and Boris Godunov, and the roles of Barak (Die Frau ohne Schatten, Strauss), Giorgio Germont (La Traviata, Verdi) and Don Quixote (Massenet), among others.

 

He has also performed a vast repertoire of concerts, oratorios and Lieder, and has made a number of recordings. On film, he played the title role in The Music Teacher, directed by Gérard Corbiau, a brilliant Leporello in Joseph Losey's Don Giovanni, and starred in Babel Opéra by André Delvaux.

 

He has received a number of awards for his performances and honorary doctorates from the Universities of Montréal and Mons. The City of Berlin awarded him the honorary title of "Kammersänger", and the French government named him Commander of the Order of Arts and Letters as well as Knight of the Legion of Honour. He was ennobled by King Albert II.

 

Since 2004, José van Dam has been Master in Residence at the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel, where he directs the voice section.

 

image

Philippe Riga

image

Pianiste and coach

 

Philippe Riga received the First Prize in Piano and the Advanced Diploma in Piano in Jean-Claude Vanden Eynden's class at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Brussels. He also won a First Prize in Chamber Music with the highest honours, the First Prize in Accompaniment, and the First Prize in harpsichord in Frédéric Haas's class.

 

As an accompanying pianist, he pursued advanced studies under pianist Helmut Deutsch. He has performed in numerous concerts in Belgium and abroad as a soloist with various singers, including José van Dam, Udo Reinemann, Veronica Cangemi, Shadi Torbey and Teodora Gheorghiu. He regularly works with the Radio France Festivals in Montpellier and the Menton Festival. He also collaborates with the Royal Theatre of La Monnaie on musical performances and concerts, and with the Anima Eterna orchestra, conducted by Jos Van Immerseel, on piano and harpsichord.

 

In 2007, he recorded an album of French melodies by Irène Poldowski on an Erard piano, accompanied by soprano Elise Gäbele, and gave his first recital in Japan with soprano Tomoko Taguchi.

 

He has accompanied masterclasses conducted by Helmut Deutsch, Susanna Eken, José van Dam, Andreas Scholl, Tom Krause, Mireille Alcantara, Jard Van Nes, Ulrich Eisenlohr and Daniel Ottevaere.

 

He regularly plays with the winners of the Queen Elisabeth Music Competition and, in particular, the sixth prize winner Gabrielle Philiponet during the 2008 edition. In 2011, he was named official pianist of the Competition. He is currently a faculty member at the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel as a pianist and coach for the voice section directed by José van Dam.

The young singers selected: students of the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel

Julia Szproch, soprano, 26 ans, from Poland

Charlotte Despaux, soprano, 27 ans, from France

Cécile Lastchenko, soprano, 27 ans, from Belgium

Sarah Laulan, alto, 31 ans, from France

Denzil Delaere, ténor, 28 ans, from Belgium

Leon Kosavic, baryton, 24 ans, from Croatia

José Van Dam - Résidence et concerts

23 & 24 avril 2016

La Fondation Louis Vuitton accueille en résidence pour la deuxième année la Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth de Belgique.

 

Du 23 au 24 avril 2016, José Van Dam, professeur émérite de la Chapelle Musicale, délocalise à l’auditorium sa classe de chant pour une série de cours et de masterclasses publiques accompagnés au piano par Philippe Riga.

 

Six jeunes chanteurs sont sélectionnés pour cette masterclasse. Tous sont issus de la promotion de solistes de la Chapelle Musicale.

 

A l’occasion de la masterclasse à la Fondation Louis Vuitton avec José Van Dam et les élèves de la Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth, deux concerts seront proposés autour du thème « Amour et romance », dans un répertoire composé d’airs d’opéra et de mélodies françaises.

 

Masterclasses publiques :

Samedi 23 avril de 11h30 à 13h30

Dimanche 24 avril de 11h30 à 13h30

 

Récitals :

Samedi 23 avril de 17h à 18h

Dimanche 24 avril de 17h à 18h

 

TARIFS

(voir conditions tarifs réduits sur la billetterie)

Auditorium

La Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth

Sous la Présidence d'Honneur de Sa Majesté la Reine Paola

 

La Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth, Fondation d’utilité publique, a été fondée en 1939. Ce beau projet imaginé par Eugène Isaÿe et la Reine Elisabeth a été entièrement repensé  en 2004 et se définit autour de deux axes principaux :

 

1. La formation de haut niveau dans 6 disciplines (chant, violon, piano, violoncelle, alto et musique de chambre) avec la présence de Maîtres en résidence. 6 grands noms de la musique classique accompagnent la Chapelle Musicale et ses jeunes en 2015-2016 José van Dam, Augustin Dumay, Maria João Pires, Gary Hoffman, Miguel Da Silva et le Quatuor Artemis.

 

2. L’insertion professionnelle à travers un réseau de partenaires culturels en Belgique (Les diffuseurs dont Bozar, Flagey, Monnaie, les grands orchestres et festivals) et à travers le monde. Près de 300 concerts  sont produits, coproduits ou initiés par la Chapelle Musicale durant la saison 2015-2016. La Chapelle Musicale accueille chaque année une soixantaine de jeunes talents en résidence, belges et étrangers (20 nationalités en 2015-2016).La Chapelle Musicale  se situe parmi les meilleures institutions du même type dans le monde.

 

Particularité de cette fondation, son  budget opérationnel est financé à 80% par le secteur privé (fondations, entreprises, mécénat privé, recettes propres) et à 20% par des aides publiques (Union Européenne, Politique Scientifique au Fédéral, Ministère de l’Enseignement en Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Loterie Nationale).

 

L’inauguration de nouvelles infrastructures,  l’aile de Launoit en janvier 2015, ouvre une nouvelle page de l’histoire de la Chapelle Musicale, et lui donne aujourd’hui un outil de travail lui permettant d’envisager, dans les meilleures conditions, sa mission de transmission de la musique pour les générations à venir et pour le public, à travers une saison de concerts MuCH dans sa nouvelle salle, face à la forêt de Soignes. Plus que jamais, la vocation internationale de la Chapelle Musicale, ancrée dans son paysage belge, poursuit son essor.

 

Bernard de Launoit, Executive President

José Van Dam

Baryton-basse - maître en résidence

 

José van Dam est né à Bruxelles où il a fait toutes ses études musicales. Invité à se produire sur les scènes internationales les plus prestigieuses (Scala de Milan,Metropolitan de New-York,Covent Garden de Londres,Opéra de Paris,Teatro Colon de Buenos Aires...), son vaste répertoire comprend notamment les rôles-titres de Falstaff et Simon Boccanegra (Verdi), Don Giovanni (Mozart), Figaro ( Nozze di Figaro) Boris Godounov (Moussorgski), Der fliegende Holländer (Wagner), La Damnation de Faust (Berlioz), Guillaume Tell (Rossini), Wozzeck (Berg), Gianni Schicchi (Puccini), ainsi que la création mondiale de Saint François d’Assise (Messiaen) à l’Opéra national de Paris, rôle qu’il a repris avec succès aux Salzburger Festspiele. Il a aussi régulièrement incarné Philippe II (Don Carlo, Verdi) ; Hans Sachs (Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg) et Amfortas (Parsifal) de Wagner ; Jochanaan (Salome, Strauss) ; Mephisto (Faust, Gounod) ; Golaud (Pelléas et Mélisande, Debussy) ; Selim (Il Turco in Italia, Rossini) et Scarpia (Tosca, Puccini).

 

Citons sa participation à L’Heure espagnole (Ravel), Gianni Schicchi,Fliegende Holländer,La Damnation de Faust et Elias au Festival Saito Kinen ; La Damnation de Faust à Genève et Paris ; Saint François d’Assise à la RuhrTriennale et à Paris ; Die Meistersinger à Zurich ; Don Pasquale (Donizetti) et De la maison des morts (Janáček) à Madrid ; Pelléas et Mélisande à Paris et au Metropolitan Opera ; L’Amour des trois oranges (Prokofiev), La Traviata et Louise (Charpentier) à Paris, entre autres.

 

Il a contribué au succès de très nombreuses productions d’opéra de la Monnaie où il s’est également exprimé en concert et en récital. Nous avons pu l’entendre dans le rôle-titre d’Œdipe sur la route (Bartholomée), en Barak (Die Frau ohne Schatten, Strauss), dans le rôle-titre de Boris Godounov, en Giorgio Germont (La Traviata, Verdi), en Don Quichotte (Massenet)...

 

Il interprète également un vaste répertoire de concert, d’oratorio et de lieder et a réalisé de nombreux enregistrements. Au cinéma, il a incarné le Maître de musique dans le film éponyme de Gérard Corbiau, un brillant Leporello dans le Don Giovanni de Joseph Losey et joué dans Babel Opéra de André Delveau.

 

Ses interprétations lui ont valu de nombreux prix. Il est docteur honoris causa de l’Université de Montréal et de Mons ; la Ville de Berlin lui a décerné le titre honorifique de « Kammersänger » ; le gouvernement français l’a fait Commandeur des Arts et Lettres et Chevalier de la Legion d’Honneur. Il a été anobli par le Roi Albert II.

 

Depuis 2004, José van Dam est Maître en Résidence à la Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth ou il dirige la section vocale.

 

image

Philippe Riga

image

Pianiste coach

 

Philippe Riga a obtenu le Premier Prix de Piano ainsi que le Diplôme Supérieur de Piano dans la classe de Jean-Claude Vanden Eynden au Conservatoire Royal de Musique de Bruxelles . Il y a obtenu également avec la plus grande distinction un Premier Prix de Musique de Chambre, le Premier Prix d’Accompagnement, ainsi que le Premier Prix de clavecin dans la classe de Frédéric Haas.

 

En tant que pianiste accompagnateur, il s’est perfectionné avec le pianiste Helmut Deutsch. Il a participé à de nombreux concerts en Belgique et à l’étranger en tant que soliste et avec de nombreux chanteurs dont, notamment, José van Dam, Udo Reinemann, Veronica Cangemi, Shadi Torbey et Teodora Gheorghiu. Il collabore régulièrement avec les Festivals de Radio-France à Montpellier et le Festival de Menton. Il collabore aussi avec le Théâtre Royal de La Monnaie lors de rencontres musicales et concerts ainsi qu’avec l’orchestre Anima Eterna sous la direction de Jos Van Immerseel, au pianoforte et au clavecin.

 

En 2007, il a enregistré sur piano Erard un disque de mélodies françaises d’Irène Poldowski en compagnie de la soprano Elise Gäbele et a donné son premier récital au Japon avec la soprano Tomoko Taguchi.

 

Il a accompagné de nombreuses master-classes, sous la direction de Helmut Deutsch, Susanna Eken, José van dam, Andreas Scholl, Tom Krause, Mireille Alcantara, Jard Van Nes, Ulrich Eisenlohr et Daniel Ottevaere.

 

Il joue régulièrement avec des lauréats du Concours Musical Reine Elisabeth et particulièrement, lors de l’édition 2008, la sixième lauréate, Gabrielle Philiponet. En 2011, il est nommé pianiste officiel du Concours. Il est actuellement membre du corps professoral à la Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth en tant que pianiste coach pour la section chant sous la direction de José van Dam.

Les jeunes chanteurs sélectionnés : élèves de la Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth

Julia Szproch, soprano, 26 ans, polonaise

Charlotte Despaux, soprano, 27 ans, française

Cécile Lastchenko, soprano, 27 ans, belge

Sarah Laulan, alto, 31 ans, française

Denzil Delaere, ténor, 28 ans, belge

Leon Kosavic, baryton, 24 ans, croate