Classe d'Excellence de Violoncelle

Gautier Capuçon

 

Season V - 2018/2019

For its fifth season the Classe d'Excellence de Violoncelle selects on the basis of application files then live audition 6 young talented cellists from around the world.

They will be invited every month from October 2018 to June 2019 to a series of three day sessions with Gautier Capuçon in the Auditorium of the Fondation Louis Vuitton.

Each session will include two public masterclasses and will end with a concert of the 6 cellists.

image

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / Martin Raphaël Martiq

 

To impart, share and accompany, these are the words, which have inspired us to create the “Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle” in this exceptional new venue, the Fondation Louis Vuiltton.  My hope is to bring together talented young cellists and to accompany them through the transition from the end of their studies to the beginning of their professional careers by not only tending to their various musical and instrumental queries but also by exploring, together as a class, different facets of our common universe.  Based on his or her individual needs, I would like to offer each participant the possibility to meet leading figures and professionals in the field of classical music.  I also wish to impart on these young cellists the counsel I myself had the great fortune to acquire from some of the great masters of our generation and share with them my experiences as a professional cellist. This “Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle” will give these young musicians the tremendous opportunity to work and perform in this magical and inspiring auditorium, which the Fondation Louis Vuitton is graciously making available to us today.

 

Gautier Capuçon

 

 

The “Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle”, under the direction of Gautier Capuçon, is geared towards six young cellists at the end of their studies or who have recently graduated from a “conservatoire national supérieur” (or its international equi-valent). These musicians, selected on the basis of an application dossier and live audition, will be given the privilege to work on a musical program with Gautier Capuçon and other occasional guests of the project.

 

The aim of this “Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle” is to give six participants the chance to deepen their musical training and explore various issues concerning today’s professional musician. The class will meet on a monthly basis at the Fondation Louis Vuitton, for a series of three-day sessions from October to June.

 

Each monthly session is made of daily lessons with Gautier Capuçon, and includes two public masterclasses. It closes with a one and a half hour long public concert during which time participants will have the opportunity to present their work.

 

The “Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle,” made up of a series of artistic and professional coaching sessions, offers participants a comprehensive training opportunity intended to complement participants’ formal musical education.  Bathed in the atmosphere of intense creativity generated by this singular venue, the project aims to be a source of inspiration and stimulation.  Gautier Capuçon, as mediator and mentor, will encourage exchange and innovation, and will accompany each participant in his or her personal artistic journey.



As part of the Fondation Louis Vuitton’s mission to promote artistic creation in all its different forms and media, the “Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle” aims to expose its participants to a wide array of genres; to encourage dialogue and encounters with guest speakers from different cultures and nationalities; and to bring awareness to a wide range of different styles and projects.  During their time at the Fondation, spent alongside great artists and talented professionals, participants will have the singular opportunity to develop their individual projects, to explore and appreciate the subtleties of a career as a performing artist, and to be exposed to new musical and otherwise artistic perspectives.

 

Samuel Parent is the the "Classe d'Excellence de Violoncelle's" official pianist.

 

Selection process

Upon receipt of the application files (deadline: September 24th,2018), 20 candidates will be selected to participate in live auditions, which first round will take place at the Fondation Louis Vuitton on October 18th, 2018.  The 8 candidates selected for the second round will have one hour masterclass with Gautier Capuçon on October 19th, 2018.

The  6 finalists selected to take part in the project will be informed at the end of that day.

 

 

Schedule for the Selection Process

24th September 2018 Application form deadline (via e-mail only)
6 p.m. (French time)

1st October 2018 Final auditions announcement

18th October 2018 Live auditions in Paris – 1st round

19th October 2018 Live auditions in Paris – 2nd round
Results announced

image

Classe d'Excellence de Violoncelle

Gautier Capuçon

 

Promotion V – Saison 2018/2019

Pour sa cinquième saison, la Classe d'Excellence de Violoncelle de Gautier Capuçon sélectionne sur dossier puis sur audition 6 jeunes violoncellistes de toutes nationalités.

Au sein de la Fondation Louis Vuitton ils participeront à des sessions de travail mensuelles avec Gautier Capuçon, d'octobre 2018 à juin 2019.

Chaque session donnera lieu, entre autres, à deux masterclasses ouvertes au public en journée, et s'achèvera par un concert des 6 lauréats.

image

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / Martin Raphaël Martiq

 

Transmission, partage et accompagnement, ce sont les mots que m’inspire cette Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle que nous avons créée dans ce lieu d’exception de la Fondation Louis Vuitton.  Nous réunissons sur une saison de jeunes et talentueux violoncellistes en les accompagnant dans la transition de fin d’études et début de vie professionnelle, en répondant à leurs besoins sur le plan instrumental et musical bien entendu, mais également en explorant avec eux d’autres facettes de cet univers. Je veux leur donner la possibilité de rencontrer des personnalités du monde musical et professionnel à différentes étapes de leur vie de musicien et en fonction de leurs besoins.  Je souhaite à mon tour transmettre à ces jeunes violoncellistes ce que j’ai eu la chance d’acquérir auprès de mes Maitres et partager avec eux mon expérience de la scène. Cette Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle leur donne également l’opportunité de travailler et de se produire en publique dans cet auditorium magique et inspirant que la Fondation Louis Vuitton nous offre.

Gautier Capuçon

 

 

La Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle, sous la direction de Gautier Capuçon, est destinée à six jeunes violoncellistes en fin de cursus ou récemment diplômés d’un conservatoire national supérieur (ou son équivalent à l’international), et en cours de professionnalisation. Ces jeunes, sélectionnés sur la base d’un dossier et d’une audition, ont le privilège de travailler un programme musical avec Gautier Capuçon et d’autres intervenants professionnels occasionnels.

 

Le but de cette Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle est de donner la possibilité aux six participants d'approfondir leur connaissance du travail musical et des enjeux d’une carrière de musicien professionnel.  Elle se déroule à la Fondation Louis Vuitton, à raison d’une séance de trois ou quatre jours chaque mois de novembre à juin.

 

La  Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle, sous la direction de Gautier Capuçon, est destinée à six jeunes violoncellistes en fin de cursus ou récemment diplômés d’un conservatoire national supérieur (ou son équivalent à l’international), et en cours de professionnalisation. Ces jeunes, sélectionnés sur la base d’un dossier et d’une audition, ont le privilège de travailler un programme musical avec Gautier Capuçon et d’autres intervenants professionnels occasionnels.

 

Le but de cette Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle est de donner la possibilité aux six participants d'approfondir leur connaissance du travail musical et des enjeux d’une carrière de musicien professionnel.  Elle se déroule à la Fondation Louis Vuitton, à raison d’une séance de trois ou quatre jours chaque mois de novembre à juin.

 

Chaque séance mensuelle donne lieu à des cours particuliers quotidiens avec Gautier Capuçon, ainsi qu’à deux masterclasses publiques et un concert de clôture d’une heure et demi ouvert au public, où les participants ont l’opportunité de présenter leur travail.

 

La Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle, sous forme de séances de coaching artistique et professionnel, propose aux participants une formation plus globale, en complément de la formation musicale de haut niveau qu’ils ont déjà reçue. L’immersion de ces jeunes dans un lieu d’exception porté vers la création, se veut une source d’ouverture, d’émulation et d’inspiration. Gautier Capuçon y est un apporteur d’échanges et d’innovation, afin d’accompagner les participants dans leur projet personnel et artistique.

 

 

Inscrite dans la démarche de la Fondation Louis Vuitton de diffusion et promotion de la création artistique sous toutes ses formes, cette Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle vise à apporter aux participants une ouverture sur les genres, des possibilités de dialogue et de rencontre avec des intervenants de cultures et de nationalités très variées, et une sensibilisation au mélange des styles et des projets. Le temps passé au cœur de ce lieu d’inspiration, aux côtés de grands artistes et de professionnels talentueux doit permettre à chacun des jeunes d’avancer dans la réalisation de ses projets, la compréhension des enjeux de sa carrière, et l’ouverture à de nouvelles perspectives musicales et de manière plus générale, artistiques.

 

La Classe d’Excellence de Violoncelle est accompagnée au piano par Samuel Parent.

 

 

 

Sélection

À réception des dossiers de candidature (par mail avant le 24 septembre 2018), 20 candidats seront retenus pour participer aux auditions live, dont le premier tour aura lieu à la Fondation Louis Vuitton le 18 octobre 2018.

8 candidats seront sélectionnés pour le second tour, qui se présentera sous forme de 45 minutes de masterclasse publique avec Gautier Capuçon le 19 octobre 2018.

Les 6 finalistes sélectionnés seront avertis en fin de journée à l’issue du second tour.

La première session suivra directement les auditions, du 20 au 22 octobre.

 

Calendrier des sélections

24 septembre 2018 Date limite de réception des dossiers de candidature par mail – 18h heure française

1er octobre 2018 Envoi des convocations aux auditions

18 octobre 2018 Auditions live à Paris – 1er tour

19 octobre 2018 Auditions live à Paris – 2nd tour & Annonce des résultats

image