Gidon Kremer & Kremerata Baltica – Homage to Arvo Pärt

thursday 30 and friday 31 March 2017, 8.30 p.m.

Artists

 

Concerts in homage to Arvo Pärt with special guest Arvo Pärt

 

Kremerata Baltica Orchestra

Soloists: Gidon Kremer & Tatiana Grindenko, Violins – Reinut Tepp, Piano

 

Programme

 

Arvo Pärt

Fratres for violin, strings and percussion

 

Franz Schubert-Victor Kissine

Fantasy in C Major for violin and strings

 

Arvo Pärt

Passacaglia for violin, strings and vibraphone

Greater Antiphons for string section, direction Martynas Stakionis (French première)

Tabula rasa for two violins, string section and prepared piano

 

 

image

Gidon Kremer

 

Of all the world’s leading violinists, Gidon Kremer has perhaps had the most unconventional career. Born in Riga, Latvia, he began studying at the age of four with his father and grandfather, who were both distinguished string players. At the age of seven, he entered Riga Music School. At sixteen he was awarded the first Prize of the Latvian Republic and two years later he began his studies with David Oistrakh at the Moscow Conservatory. He went on to win prestigious awards including the 1967 Queen Elizabeth Competition and the first prize in both Paganini and Tchaikovsky International Competitions.

 

This success launched Gidon Kremer’s distinguished career, in the course of which he has established a worldwide reputation as one of the most original and compelling artists of his generation. He has appeared on virtually every major concert stage with the most celebrated orchestras of Europe and America. Also he has collaborated with today’s foremost conductors.

 

Gidon Kremer’s repertoire is unusually extensive, encompassing all of the standard classical and romantic violin works, as well as music by twentieth- and twenty-first century masters such as Henze, Berg and Stockhausen. He also championed the works of living Russian and Eastern European composers and has performed many important new compositions; several of them dedicated to him. He has become associated with such diverse composers as Alfred Schnittke, Arvo Pärt, Giya Kancheli, Sofia Gubaidulina, Valentin Silvestrov, Luigi Nono, Aribert Reimann, Peteris Vasks, John Adams, Victor Kissine, Michael Nyman, Philipp Glass, Leonid Desyatnikov and Astor Piazzolla, bringing their music to audiences in a way that respects tradition yet remains contemporary. It would be fair to say that no other soloist of his international stature has done as much for contemporary composers in the past 30 years.

 

An exceptionally prolific recording artist, Gidon Kremer has made more than 120 albums, many of which brought him prestigious international awards and prizes in recognition of his exceptional interpretative powers. These include the "Grand prix du Disque", "Deutscher Schallplattenpreis", the "Ernst-von-Siemens Musikpreis", the "Bundesverdienstkreuz", the "Premio dell‘ Accademia Musicale Chigiana", the "Triumph Prize 2000" (Moscow), in 2001 the "Unesco Prize", in 2007 the Saeculum-Glashütte Original-Musikfestspielpreis Dresden and in 2008 the Rolf-Schock Prize, Stockholm, in 2010 "life achievement" prize of the Istanbul Music festival, and in 2011 he was awarded "Una Vita Nella Musica - Artur Rubinstein" Prize (Venice) which is considered by many to be the "Nobel Prize" of music, among many others.

 

In February 2002 he and the Kremerata Baltica were awarded with the Grammy for the Nonesuch recording “After Mozart” in the category “Best small Ensemble Performance”. The same recording received in the fall of 2002 an ECHO prize in Germany.

 

The EMI Classics CD The Berlin Recital with Martha Argerich and works by Schumann and Bartók has been recently released as well as an album with all violin concertos of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, a live recording with the label Nonesuch, recorded with Kremerata Baltica at Salzburg Festival 2006. His latest CD De Profundis was published in September 2010 with Nonesuch. Gidon Kremer actively collaborates as well with the ECM label, which released his last recording of all J. S. Bach Sonatas and Partitas. The most recent releases are a Piano trio album with Khatia Buniatishvili and Giedre Dirvanauskaite and a CD set of Lockenhaus Live-recordings celebrating 30 years of this unique festival, where G. Kremer was the final artist of the 2011 performances.

 

In 1981 Mr. Kremer founded Lockenhaus, an intimate chamber music festival that continued to take place every summer in Austria for 30 years until 2011. In 1997, he founded the Kremerata Baltica chamber orchestra to foster outstanding young musicians from the three Baltic States. Since then, Mr. Kremer has been touring extensively with the orchestra appearing at world’s most prestigious festivals and concert halls. He has also recorded almost 20 CDs with the orchestra for Teldec, Nonesuch, DGG and ECM. (From 2002 - 2006 Gidon Kremer was the artistic leader of the new festival "les muséiques" in Basel (Switzerland)).

 

Gidon Kremer plays a Nicola Amati, dated from 1641. He is also the author of three books, published in German and translated into many languages, which reflect his artistic pursuits.

 

image

® Paolo Pellegrini - Magnum Photos

Kremerata Baltica

 

In 1997 Austria’s legendary Lockenhaus Chamber Music Festival was treated to a minor revolution when the violinist Gidon Kremer presented a brand new orchestra: Kremerata Baltica.  The newly-formed ensemble won over a discerning audience, wowing the festival with the exuberance, energy and joyful playing of its 23 talented young members.

 

Kremerata Baltica was Gidon Kremer’s 50th birthday present to himself. His vision is to pass on his wisdom and experience to up-and-coming musicians from the Baltic countries via a long-term educational project.

 

Within a few short years the ensemble had become one of the finest chamber orchestras in the world. It has since cemented its international reputation in major concert venues around the world.

 

In the past 15 years Kremerata Baltica has played more than 1,000 concerts, performing in 600 cities and over 50 countries in Asia, Australia, the US, Latin America, Russia and throughout Europe. The orchestra has been invited to perform in the most prestigious venues, including Konzerthaus in Vienna, Musikverein, Bozar, Carnegie Hall, Rudolfinum, Royal Albert Hall and Suntory Hall.

 

The orchestra has recorded some two dozen CD, and in 2002 it won a Grammy Award and the Echo Award.

It received the Praemium Imperiale Grant for Young Artists in 2009.

 

Kremerata Baltica hosts its own festival in Sigulda in Latvia, and receives state funding from the governments of Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia, the three Baltic states that are home to its members.

 

Among the celebrated soloists with whom Kremerata Baltica has performed are soprano Jessye Norman, pianists Mikhail Pletnev, Evgeny Kissin and Oleg Maisenberg, violinists Thomas Zehetmair and Vadim Repin, and cellists Boris Pergamenshikov, Yo Yo Ma and Mischa Maisky. Guest conductors have included Sir Simon Rattle, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Christoph Eschenbach, Kent Nagano, Heinz Holliger and Vladimir Ashkenazy.

 

Each of these musicians has contributed to shaping the unique spirit of the chamber orchestra.

 

LEssential to Kremerata Baltica’s artistic personality is its creative approach to programming, which often looks beyond the mainstream and has given rise to numerous world premières of works by composers such as Arvo Pärt, Giya Kancheli, Peteris Vasks, Leonid Desyatnikov and Alexander Raskatov..

 

The orchestra’s wide-ranging and carefully chosen repertoire is also showcased in its many CD recordings, such as Eight Seasons (Vivaldi’s concertos and Piazzolla’s Buenos Aires suites), as well as contemporary compositions by Arvo Pärt, Philip Glass and Vladimir Martynov.

 

After Mozart, a 21st-century study of the composer, won a much-coveted Grammy Award. The Complete Violin Concertos was recorded live at the Salzburg Festival in 2006 for the composer’s bicentenary. Also available is a recording of Mozart’s Concertos No. 20 and No. 27 with Evgeny Kissin.

 

Recent releases on the Nonesuch label include De Profundis and Hymns and Prayers with Gidon Kremer. The Art of Instrumentation: Homage to Glenn Gould was released in September 2012 to mark Glenn Gould’s 80th birthday.

 

Mieczyslaw Weinberg was released in January 2014 to great acclaim in professional music circles and nominated for a Grammy Award. Recorded with Gidon Kremer in Neuhardenberg and Lockenhaus in 2012 and 2013, the album confirms Shostakovich’s assessment that Weinberg was one of the greatest composers of his time.

 

In concert, a recent highlight is To Russia with Love, a concert to raise awareness of human rights in Russia held in October 2013 at the Berliner Philharmonie. Eminent performers at the event included Martha Argerich, Daniel Barenboim, Elsbeth Moser, Nicolas Altstaedt, Khatia Buniatishvili, Emmanuel Pahud and Sergey Nakaryakov. Kremerata Baltica performed in the All About Gidon show which set the eminent violinist’s career to a score of music by composers from Haydn to Piazzolla.

 

In a meeting of two 20th-century maestros, Kremerata Baltica and Gidon Kremer recently teamed up with clown Slava Polunin and his Snowshow Symphony to create a highly original show that was a resounding success.

 

Another unique performance this year was a rendition of The American Four Seasons by Philip Glass with a specially created video projection.

 

image

® Paolo Pellegrini - Magnum Photos

Arvo Part

 

Arvo Pärt’s minimalist compositions are deeply religious in nature. His work is performed around the world and has been recorded for more than 80 compact discs. Inspired by Gregorian chant and early polyphony, the Estonian composer has developed his own style known as tintinnabuli.

 

Pärt was born in Estonia in 1935. He studied at the Tallinn Conservatory under Heino Eller. In parallel to his music studies, he worked as a sound engineer and composer for Estonian television and film, as he would continue to do. In 1962 he won first prize in a composers’ competition in Moscow, a prelude to the alternating accolades and censure prompted by the mystical character of his work. At this point his music drew on the aesthetics of serialism and collage. He took a break from composing for several years to devote himself to the study of French and Franco-Flemish choral music of the 14th, 15th and 16th centuries.

 

In 1976 Pärt departed in a new direction, postmodern and timeless, as illustrated by his best-known works, Für Alina, Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten, Fratres. Pärt christened this style tintinnabuli (Latin for “tiny bells”). In the 1980s he emigrated to Vienna, where he took Austrian citizenship, before settling in West Berlin. At this time Pärt began to focus on composing sacred works for voice, setting to music liturgies in German, English and Russian such as St John’s Passion (1982), Miserere (1989) and Missa brevis (2009). He is wont to revise his work, and devised numerous versions and orchestrations of Fratres between 1977 and 2008.

 

Pärt’s compositions are performed by highly renowned ensembles and have been recorded for numerous albums. His work is admired by such diverse artists as violinist Gidon Kremer, pianist Keith Jarrett, composers Steve Reich and Gavin Bryars, and painter Gérard Garouste. He is especially acclaimed in the English speaking world.

 

image

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / photo : Peeter Langovits

Gidon Kremer & la Kremerata Baltica

Hommage à Arvo Pärt

jeudi 30 et vendredi 31 mars 2017, 20h30

Artistes

 

Concerts en hommage et en présence d’Arvo Pärt

 

Orchestre de la Kremerata Baltica

Solistes : Gidon Kremer & Tatiana Grindenko, violons – Reinut Tepp, piano

 

Programme

 

Arvo Pärt

“Fratres” pour violon cordes et percussions

 

Franz Schubert-Victor Kissine

Fantaisie en do majeur pour violon et cordes

 

Arvo Pärt

"Passacaglia" pour violon, cordes et vibraphone

“Greater Antiphons” pour orchestre à cordes, direction Martynas Stakionis (Première française)

“Tabula rasa” pour deux violons, orchestre à cordes et piano préparé 

 

 

 

image

Gidon Kremer

 

Gidon Kremer est l’un des meilleurs violonistes du monde. Sa carrière peu conventionnelle en fait également l’un des plus atypiques. Né à Riga en Lettonie, il commence le violon à l’âge de 4 ans avec son père et son grand-père, deux violonistes de talent, avant d’entrer à 7 ans à l’École de musique de Riga. À 16 ans, il reçoit le premier prix de la République de Lettonie et, deux ans plus tard, poursuit ses études avec David Oistrakh au Conservatoire de Moscou. Il remporte des prix prestigieux, dont le Concours musical international Reine-Élisabeth-de-Belgique en 1967 et le premier prix du Concours Paganini puis du Concours international Tchaïkovski.

 

Ces récompenses lancent la carrière exceptionnelle de Gidon Kremer et lui permettent de se bâtir une solide réputation à travers le monde. Il est rapidement reconnu comme l’un des artistes les plus originaux et les plus captivants de sa génération. Il monte sur presque toutes les scènes du monde aux côtés des plus grands orchestres d’Europe et des Amériques et travaille avec les plus célèbres chefs d’orchestre contemporains.

 

Le répertoire de Gidon Kremer est exceptionnellement varié et comprend aussi bien des œuvres classiques et romantiques au violon que des compositions des maîtres des XXe et XXIe siècles, comme Henze, Berg et Stockhausen. Il interprète également les œuvres de compositeurs contemporains originaires de Russie et d’Europe de l’Est et de nombreuses compositions nouvelles d'importance, dont beaucoup lui sont d’ailleurs dédiées. Il s’associe à des compositeurs aux styles variés, comme Alfred Schnittke, Arvo Pärt, Giya Kancheli, Sofia Goubaïdulina, Valentin Silvestrov, Luigi Nono, Aribert Reimann, Pēteris Vasks, John Adams, Victor Kissine, Michael Nyman, Philip Glass, Leonid Desyatnikov et Astor Piazzolla, faisant ainsi découvrir leur musique au public dans le plus pur respect des traditions, tout en gardant une fraîcheur contemporaine. Il est le seul soliste de niveau international à avoir autant contribué à la diffusion des compositeurs contemporains au cours des 30 dernières années.

 

Artiste remarquablement prolifique, Gidon Kremer a publié plus de 120 albums, dont une grande partie lui a valu de prestigieuses récompenses et distinctions internationales couronnant son immense talent d'interprétation. Il a notamment reçu le Grand prix du disque, le Deutscher Schallplattenpreis, le prix Ernst von Siemens, la croix de l’ordre du Mérite de la République fédérale d'Allemagne, le Premio dell‘ Accademia Musicale Chigiana, le prix Triumph à Moscou en 2000, le prix UNESCO en 2001, le Saeculum-Glashütte Original-Musikfestspiel-Preis à Dresde en 2007, le prix Rolf Schock à Stockholm en 2008, un prix pour l’ensemble de sa carrière au Festival de musique d’Istanbul en 2010, et le prix Una Vita Nella Musica – Artur Rubinstein à Venise en 2011, considéré par beaucoup comme le Prix Nobel de la musique.

 

En février 2002, il reçoit, en association avec l’orchestre Kremerata Baltica, le Grammy Award de la meilleure performance de musique de chambre pour son album After Mozart publié chez Nonesuch. Un album qui est également récompensé par le prix ECHO en Allemagne en automne de la même année.

 

Plus récemment, il publie avec Martha Argerich l’album The Berlin Recital chez EMI Classics, qui regroupe des interprétations d’œuvres de Schumann et Bartók, ainsi qu'un album réunissant tous les concertos pour violon de Mozart, une production live sous le label Nonesuch enregistrée avec le Kremerata Baltica au Festival de Salzbourg en 2006. Son dernier album, De Profundis, paraît en septembre 2010 chez Nonesuch. Gidon Kremer collabore activement avec le label ECM, sur lequel est paru son enregistrement de toutes les sonates et partitas de Bach. Ses enregistrements les plus récents sont un album de piano à trois avec Khatia Buniatishvili et Giedre Dirvanauskaite ainsi qu'un coffret CD d’enregistrements live au Lockenhaus à l’occasion des 30 ans de ce festival unique, que Gidon Kremer a clôturé en 2011.

 

C’est en 1981 que Gidon Kremer fonde le festival de musique de chambre intimiste de Lockenhaus, qui s'est déroulé chaque été en Autriche pendant 30 ans, jusqu’en 2011. En 1997, il crée l'orchestre de chambre Kremerata Baltica destiné à la formation de jeunes musiciens exceptionnels originaires des pays baltes. Depuis, Gidon Kremer et son orchestre partent régulièrement en tournée, participant aux festivals les plus prestigieux et donnant des représentations dans les plus belles salles du monde. Ensemble, ils ont enregistré plus de 20 albums publiés chez Teldec, Nonesuch, DGG et ECM. (Entre 2002 et 2006, Gidon Kremer était le directeur artistique du nouveau festival Les muséiques de Bâle, en Suisse).

 

Le violon de Gidon Kremer est un Nicola Amati de 1641. Il est également l’auteur de trois livres publiés en allemand et traduits dans de nombreuses langues, qui sont le reflet de son évolution artistique.

image

® Paolo Pellegrini - Magnum Photos

Kremerata Baltica

 

En 1997, le légendaire festival autrichien de musique de chambre Lockenhaus est le témoin privilégié d'une petite révolution lorsque le violoniste Gidon Kremer y présente sa nouvelle formation d'orchestre, Kremerata Baltica. Conquérant un public averti, cet ensemble insuffle au festival un vent de renouveau grâce à l’exubérance, à l’énergie et au plaisir des 23 jeunes musiciens talentueux qui le composent.

 

Kremerata Baltica, un projet éducatif avec une vision à long terme, tel est le cadeau que Gidon Kremer s’est offert pour son 50ème anniversaire : une façon de transmettre sa sagesse et son expérience à de jeunes musiciens des Pays Baltes.

 

Ce groupe prend une importance considérable en quelques années seulement, devenant l’un des meilleurs orchestres de chambre au monde, et affirmant sa réputation dans les plus grandes salles de concert internationales.

 

Kremerata Baltica a joué ces 15 dernières années dans plus de 50 pays, se produisant dans 600 villes et donnant plus de 1000 concerts à travers le monde : en Asie, en Australie, aux Etats-Unis, en Amérique Latine, en Russie et dans toute l'Europe. L’orchestre a été invité dans les salles les plus prestigieuses, dont le Konzerthaus de Vienne, le Musikverein, le Bozar, le Carnegie Hall, le Rudolfinum, le Royal albert Hall, le Suntory Hall.

 

L'orchestre a sorti une vingtaine de CD et remporte en 2002 un « Grammy Award », ainsi que le prix ECHO.

Il se voit également décerner en 2009 le « Praemium Imperiale » pour Jeunes Artistes.

 

Kremerata Baltica a fondé son propre festival à Sigulda en Lettonie, et est soutenu par les gouvernements des trois pays baltes, d'où ses musiciens sont originaires - la Lettonie, la Lituanie et l'Estonie.

 

Parmi les célèbres solistes avec lesquels Kremerata Baltica a joué, notons la soprano Jessye Norman, les pianistes Mikhail Pletnev, Evgeny Kissin et Oleg Maisenberg, les violonistes Thomas Zehetmair et Vadim Repin et les violoncellistes Boris Pergamenshikov, Yo Yo Ma et Mischa Maisky. Parmi les chefs invités, citons tout particulièrement Sir Simon Rattle, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Christoph Eschenbach, Kent Nagano, Heinz Holliger and Vladimir Ashkenazy.

 

Chacun de ces musiciens a contribué à façonner cet orchestre de chambre.

 

L'essentiel de la personnalité artistique de Kremerata Baltica réside dans son approche créative de la programmation qui va bien au-delà du courant dominant et qui a donné lieu à de nombreuses premières mondiales d'oeuvres de compositeurs tels que Arvo Pärt, Giya Kancheli, Peteris Vasks, Leonid Desyatnikov et Alexander Raskatov.

 

Leur large répertoire, choisi avec soin, est présenté dans de nombreux enregistrements CD tels que Huit Saisons, quelques concertos de Vivaldi avec les Suites Argentines de Piazzolla ou encore des compositions contemporaines de Arvo Pärt, Philip Glass et Vladimir Martynov.

 

Après Mozart - une étude du 21ème siècle sur le compositeur - a remporté un très convoité Grammy Award, tandis que les Cinq Concertos pour Violon étaient enregistrés en live au Festival de Salzbourg en 2006, pour les 200 ans du compositeur. Un autre enregistrement de Mozart (Concertos n°20 et 27) par Evgeny Kissin est également disponible.

 

Plus récemment sont sortis chez le label Nonesuch De Profundis et Hymnes et Prières avec Gidon Kremer, ou encore L'Art de l'Instrumentation : Hommage à Glenn Gould (sorti en septembre 2012 pour les 80 ans de Glenn Gould).

 

Leur enregistrement “Mieczyslaw Weinberg”, sortit en janvier 2014 a été nominé au Grammy Awards et a été salué par les professionnels de la musique. Enregistré avec Gidon Kremer, à Neuhardenberg et Lockenhaus en 2012 et 2013, cet album confirme les dires de Shostakovich que Weinberg était l’un des plus grands compositeurs de son époque.

 

Des derniers concerts les plus remarquables, notons celui pour les Droits de l’Homme en Russie “To Russia with Love” qui a eu lieu en octobre 2013 à la Philharmonie de Berlin, en présence des plus grandes figures de la musique : Martha Argerich, Daniel Barenboim, Elsbeth Moser, Nicolas Altstaedt, Khatia Buniatishvili, Emmanuel Pahud, Sergey Nakaryakov. Kremerata Baltica a également prit part au projet “ All About Gidon” : une mise en scène de la carrière du Maestro sur les musiques de J. Haydn à A.Piazzolla.

 

Une autre expérience unique ces dernières années, Kremerata Blatica et Gidon Kremer se sont associés au mime Slava Polunin et son groupe Snow Show Symphony. Un spectacle original crée par deux génies du 20e siècle, dont le succès a été retentissant.

 

Egalement à noter cette année, une création unique de The American Four Seasons de Philip Glass avec projection vidéo originale.

 

image

® Paolo Pellegrini - Magnum Photos

Arvo Part

 

Créateur d'une musique épurée, d'inspiration profondément religieuse, Arvo Pärt a composé des œuvres jouées dans le monde entier et reprises dans plus de 80 disques compact. Inspiré par le chant grégorien et la polyphonie ancienne, le compositeur Estonien a développé son propre style appelé tintinnabuli.

 

Né en 1935 en Estonie, Arvo Pärt fait ses études au conservatoire de Talinn avec Heino Eller. En parallèle de ses études musicales, il est ingénieur du son et compositeur de musique pour la télévision et le cinéma estonien, activité qu’il ne cessera pas d’exercer. En 1962, il obtient un premier prix de composition à Moscou, prélude à une alternance d’honneurs officiels et de censures provoquées par le caractère mystique de ses œuvres. Sa musique participe alors de l’esthétique du sérialisme et du collage. Il s’arrête de composer pendant plusieurs années afin de se consacrer à l’étude de la musique chorale française et franco-flamande des XIVè, XVè et XVIè siècles.

 

A partir de 1976, Arvo Pärt inaugure une nouvelle démarche tournée vers l’intemporalité, son écriture devient postmoderne, en témoigne ces œuvres les plus célèbres : Für Alina, Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten, Fratres. Arvo Pärt appelle ce style tintinnabuli (« petites cloches » en latin). Dans les années 80 il part s’installer à Vienne où il prend la nationalité Autrichienne avant de se fixer à Berlin-ouest. A partir de cette période Arvo Pärt privilégiera les œuvres religieuses vocales et met en musique des liturgies en allemand, anglais et russe dont Passion selon Saint Jean, 1982 ; Miserere, 1989 ; Missa brevis, 2009 ; il retravaille souvent ses œuvres, il existe de nombreuses versions et orchestrations de Fratres de 1977 à 2008.

 

Les œuvres d’Arvo Pärt sont jouées par de prestigieux ensembles et font l’objet de nombreuses parutions discographiques, elles suscitent l’admiration d’artistes aussi différents que le violoniste Gidon Kremer, le pianiste Keith Jarrett, les compositeurs Steve Reich et Gavin Bryars ou encore le peintre Gérard Garouste. Sa notoriété est particulièrement forte dans les pays anglo-saxons.

 

image

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / photo : Peeter Langovits