Lucas Debargue Trio Recital

 

Friday 29 September 2017

After a brilliant debut at the International Tchaikovsky Competition, Lucas Debargue returns to the stage accompanied by two of his conservatory classmates, David and Alexandre Castro-Balbi, who give this new star of French piano the chance to explore the immeasurable terrain of chamber music. 



The concert will be preceded by the preview screening of the documentary "Lucas Debargue - Tout à la musique." at 6 p.m. in the auditorium of the Fondation (free entrance with the "Lucas Debargue Trio Recital " ticket).

 

The concert will be preceded by the screening of the documentary

Lucas Debargue first invokes the maturity and anguish of Schubert’s Sonatas nos. 13 and 14, which were completed between 1819 and 1825 by the Viennese composer. Then, he presents the rewards of an unexpected course on his own musical journey: a Trio for strings and piano that he recently composed. Performer, chamber musician, composer. Or how this musician takes pleasure in pushing back the limits of musical categories. 

 

 

ARTISTES

Lucas Debargue, piano

Alexandre Castro-Balbi, cello

David Castro-Balbi, violin

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

Franz Schubert

Sonata n°13 for piano in C major D.664

 

Franz Schubert

Sonata n°14 for piano in A minor D.784

 

----- entracte -----

 

Lucas Debargue

Trio for piano and strings

image

Lucas Debargue

Piano

 

"Not since the arrival of Glenn Gould in Moscow and the victory of Van Cliburn at the Tchaikovsky Competition during the height of the Cold War has a foreign pianist elicited such excitement."

Olivier Bellamy, Le Huffington Post

 

Though placed ‘only’ fourth at the 15th International Tchaikovsky Competition in 2015, Lucas Debargue was the only musician across all disciplines who was awarded the coveted Moscow Music Critic’s Prize as a pianist ‘whose incredible gift, artistic vision and creative freedom impressed the critics as well as the audience’.

 

Straight after this incredible breakthrough Lucas Debargue was invited to play solo and with leading orchestras in the most prestigious concert halls in Russia, France, Italy, the United Kingdom, Germany, the United States, Canada, Mexico, Japan, China, South Korea and with such famous conductors as Valery Gergiev, Vladimir Fedoseyev, Vladimir Jurowski, Andrey Boreyko, Gidon Kremer, Vladimir Spivakov and Vasily Petrenko.

 

In March 2016, he released his first album under the Sony Classical label, with works by Scarlatti, Chopin, Liszt and Ravel. His second album, a dialogue between Bach, Beethoven and Medtner was released in September 2016, also with Sony Classical.

 

Born in 1990, Lucas Debargue was 11 years old when he took his first piano lessons at the Compiègne Conservatory in the class of Christine Muenier. He was fascinated by the virtuoso repertoire, yet it was not until 10 years later, after graduating from Paris Diderot University with a Licence degree in arts and letters, that he decided to return to studying piano at the professional level.

 

After a year of study at the Beauvais Conservatory in the class of Philippe Tamborini, he was introduced in 2011 to his current mentor, the celebrated Russian professor Rena Shereshevskaya at the Rueil-Malmaison Conservatory. This encounter was decisive for Lucas: she quickly recognized in him a performer with a bright future and accepted him in her class at the Alfred Cortot Paris Superior Music School to prepare him for the major international competitions. During his studies he was supported by the Cortot School, the Zaleski Foundation as well as by the Massy Opera Orchestra (led by Dominique Rouits) and the orchestral ensemble Les Voyages Extraordinaires (led by Joachim Jousse). In 2014, he won 1st prize at the 9th Gaillard International Piano Competition (France) before becoming one of the prize winners at the 15th International Tchaikovsky Competition, when the world instantly took note of this rising pianist. Concurrent with his studies at Cortot School, he obtained a Licence degree at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris  (CNSM).

 

Inspired by literature, painting, film and jazz, deeply committed to a creative approach, Lucas Debargue is keen to present works by lesser-known composers such as Medtner, Roslavetz, Maykapar, and to develop highly personal and incredibly thoughtful interpretations from a carefully selected repertoire. He also composes his own music, and some of his works have already been premiered in Russia as well as in France.

 

In April 2016, he obtained a Diplôme Supérieur de Concertiste and a Special Cortot Prize at the Cortot School. At present he continues to do post-graduate work with Rena Shereshevskaya.

image

© Felix Broede / Sony Music Entertainment

Alexandre Castro-Balbi

Cello

 

Alexandre Castro-Balbi was born in 1991 in Besançon, France. With roots in South America, he was raised in a musical family, beginning his study of the cello at the age of seven at Le Conservatoire du Rayonnement régional (CRR) of Besançon in the class of György Adam, obtaining his Diplôme d’Études Musicales in 2004. He continued his training at the CRR of Paris in the class of Marc Coppey, then at the Superior National Conservatory of Music (CNSM) of Paris in the class of Philippe Muller.

 

He continued to hone his skills in Berlin, Salzburg and Weimar in the classes of Claudio Bohórquez, Clemens Hagen and Wolfgang Schmidt.

 

Alexandre has won several international competitions as a solo musician and as a chamber musician, notably Second Prize at the Franz Schubert Competition in Austria, First Prize at the International Chamber Music Competition in Lødz, Poland, Second Prize at the ‘Villa de Llanes’ International Cello Competition in Spain, Second Prize and Best Performance of a Contemporary Piece Prize at the ‘Carlos Prieto’ International Cello Competition in Morelia, Mexico, and was a finalist in the ARD International Music Competition in Munich in 2010. He was also won scholarships from Fondation Villecroze, Yamaha Young Performing Artist and the Liszt Foundation in Germany.

 

Alexandre has performed solo with the Munich Chamber Orchestra, the Brandenburg-Berlin Sinfonieorchester, the Budapest Chamber Orchestra, the Royal Orchestra of Morocco, the Jenaer Philharmonie, the National Symphony Orchestra of Panama, the Peruvian Youth Orchestra and the Collegium Musicum Weimar. He is also interested in pedagogy and orchestral conducting.

 

Since June 2015, he has been the soloist of the Weimar Opera and Staatskapelle Orchestra.

 

He plays a cello made by an 18th century Italian master.

image

David Castro-Balbi

Violin

 

David was born to a family with a long musical tradition. He began playing the violin at the age of five at the Conservatory of Besançon in the class of Bernard Mauppin, later obtaining his Diplôme d'Études Musicales (DEM) at the age of 13. In 2007, he was accepted to Le Conservatoire du Rayonnement regional (CRR) of Paris in the class of Larissa Kolos. Two years later, he was the unanimous winner of First Prize. He then continued studying at the Superior National Conservatory of Music (CNSM) in Paris in the class of Svetlin Roussev.

 

At the age of 15, David was selected for the International Academy of Music under the direction of Seiji Ozawa. The Academy’s concerts took place in June to July 2009 at Victoria Hall in Geneva and at the Champs Elysées Theatre in Paris.

 

He has won several national and international competitions for violin and chamber music. He won First Prize at the Young Artist Competition in Colorado (USA) and First Prize at the Mirecourt International Violin Competition (France) where he performed Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in D major with the National Orchestra of Lorraine directed by Jacques Mercier. He also won the Audience Prize at the International Jeunesses Musicales Competition Belgrade where he performed Shostakovich’s Concerto no.1 with the Radio-Television Belgrade Symphony Orchestra. In 2012, he performed Saint-Saëns’ Violin Concerto No.1 Op.20 and La Havanaise with the Bordeaux string ensemble, directed by Jean-Jacques Kantorow. In 2013, he won First Prize and four special prizes including the EMCY Prize at the International Louis Spohr Competition for Young Violinists in Weimar (Germany).

 

The Suryana Trio, created by David when he was studying at the CNSM won First Prize at the Bacewicz International Composer Competition (Poland), and Second Prize and the special prize for Best Performance of a Contemporary Piece at the Franz Schubert and Modern Music International Competition in Graz (Austria).

 

He continued his training at the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin with Kolja Blacher and is currently studying at the University of Music Franz Liszt Weimar with Friedemann Eichhorn.

 

From 2015 to 2016, David was First Violinist of the Philharmonic Orchestra and the Philharmonic Orchestra of the Theatre Altenburg-Gera (Germany).

 

David plays a 1690 G.B. Guadanini ex-Louis Spohr loaned from the University of Music Franz Liszt Weimar.

image

Récital Lucas Debargue en trio

 

vendredi 29 septembre 2017, 20h30

Après des débuts tonitruants au Concours Tchaïkovski, Lucas Debargue revient en bonne compagnie : deux de ses condisciples, David et Alexandre Castro-Balbi permettent à la nouvelle étoile du piano français d’explorer les territoires incommensurables de la musique de chambre. 

 

Le concert sera précédé en avant première de la projection du documentaire « Lucas Debargue - Tout à la musique. » à 18h dans l’auditorium de la Fondation Louis Vuitton (entrée libre sur présentation du billet « Récital Lucas Debargue »).

Lucas Debargue entrecroise la figure de Franz Schubert – achevées entre 1819 et 1825, les Sonates n° 13 et n° 14 témoignent de la maturité nouvelle, angoissée du compositeur viennois – et une facette inattendue de sa propre quête musicale : un Trio pour cordes et piano composé ces derniers mois. Interprète, chambriste, compositeur… Le musicien s’amuse ainsi à repousser les frontières et les catégories musicales. 

 

 

ARTISTES

Lucas Debargue, piano

Alexandre Castro-Balbi, violoncelle

David Castro-Balbi, violon

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

Franz Schubert

Sonate pour piano n°13 en la majeur, D. 664

 

Franz Schubert

Sonate pour piano n°14 en la mineur, D. 784

 

----- entracte -----

 

Lucas Debargue

Trio pour piano et cordes

image

Lucas Debargue

Piano

 

« Depuis le passage de Glenn Gould à Moscou et la victoire de Van Cliburn au Concours Tchaïkovski en pleine guerre froide, un pianiste étranger n’avait jamais suscité pareille effervescence. »

Olivier Bellamy, Le Huffington Post

 

S’il a « seulement » été récompensé par un 4e Prix au 15e Concours International Tchaïkovski en 2015, Lucas Debargue fut le seul candidat toutes disciplines confondues à recevoir le prestigieux Prix de l’Association de la Critique Musicale de Moscou, qui l’a distingué comme le pianiste « dont le talent unique, la liberté créative et la beauté des interprétations ont impressionné le public comme la critique ».

 

Dès le lendemain de cette percée fulgurante, Lucas Debargue est invité à jouer dans les salles les plus prestigieuses du monde entier (Russie, France, Italie, Royaume-Uni, Allemagne, États-Unis, Canada, Mexique, Japon, Chine, Corée du Sud), en solo, mais aussi avec les meilleurs orchestres, sous la baguette de chefs aussi admirés que Valery Gergiev, Vladimir Fedosseev, Vladimir Jurowsky, Andrey Boreyko, Gidon Kremer, Vladimir Spivakov ou encore Vasily Petrenko.

 

En mars 2016, le label SONY CLASSICAL publie son premier disque, qui rassemble des œuvres de Scarlatti, Chopin, Liszt et Ravel. Son deuxième album, faisant dialoguer Bach, Beethoven et Medtner, est sorti en septembre 2016, toujours chez SONY CLASSICAL.

 

Né en 1990, Lucas Debargue commence le piano à 11 ans au Conservatoire de Compiègne, dans la classe de Christine Muenier. S’il se passionne rapidement pour le répertoire virtuose, ce n’est que dix ans plus tard, titulaire d’une licence « Lettres et Arts » (Université Paris 7 Diderot), qu’il décide d’envisager l’étude du piano sous l’angle professionnel.

 

Après un an d’études aux côtés de Philippe Tamborini au Conservatoire de Beauvais, sa rencontre, en 2011, au Conservatoire de Rueil-Malmaison avec la célèbre professeure Rena Shereshevskaïa est déterminante : le sentant rapidement promis à un grand avenir de pianiste-interprète, elle l’accepte dans sa classe à l’École Normale de Musique de Paris Alfred Cortot, afin de le préparer aux grands concours internationaux. Il est alors soutenu par l’École Cortot, la Fondation Zaleski, ainsi que par l’Orchestre de l’Opéra de Massy (direction Dominique Rouits) et l’ensemble orchestral « Les voyages extraordinaires » (direction Joachim Jousse). En 2014, il remporte le 1er Prix au 9e Concours International de Gaillard (France), avant de devenir l’un des lauréats du 15e Concours Tchaïkovski, qui le propulse sur le devant de la scène internationale. Parallèlement à ses études à l’École Cortot, il obtient sa licence au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris (CNSM).

 

Passionné de littérature, de peinture, de cinéma et de jazz, engagé dans une démarche résolument créatrice, Lucas Debargue s’attache également à faire découvrir des compositeurs rarement joués (Medtner, Roslavetz, Maykapar), et à développer des interprétations très personnelles, profondément muries, tirées d’un répertoire méticuleusement choisi. Il est aussi compositeur, et certaines de ses œuvres ont déjà été créées, aussi bien en France qu’en Russie.

 

En avril 2016, il clôt sa formation à l’École Cortot en obtenant le « Diplôme Supérieur de Concertiste », ainsi que le Prix spécial Alfred Cortot. Aujourd’hui, il continue à travailler aux côtés de Rena Shereshevskaïa, en cycle de perfectionnement.

image

© Felix Broede / Sony Music Entertainment

Alexandre Castro-Balbi

Violoncelle

 

Alexandre Castro-Balbi est né en 1991 à Besançon. D'origine sud-américaine, il baigne depuis tout petit dans une tradition musicale familiale et débute ses études de violoncelle à l’âge de 7 ans au CRR de Besançon dans la classe de György Adam où il obtient son Diplôme d'Etudes Musicales en 2004. Il poursuivit sa formation  au CRR de Paris dans la classe de Marc Coppey puis au CNSM de Paris dans la classe de Philippe Muller.

 

Il décide ensuite de se perfectionner à Berlin, Salzbourg et Weimar dans les classes de Claudio Bohorquez, Clemens Hagen et Wolfgang Schmidt.

 

Alexandre a remporté les prix de plusieurs concours internationaux en solo et en musique de chambre, notamment le 2ème  Prix au Concours Franz Schubert en Autriche, 1er Prix au « Concours de Lødz » en Pologne, 2ème Prix du Concours International de violoncelle « Villa de Llanes » en Espagne, 2ème prix et le Prix de la meilleure interprétation de l'œuvre contemporaine au Concours International « Carlos Prieto » à Morelia au Mexique et devenuun demi finaliste de « L'ARD de Munich » en 2010. Il a été également boursier de la fondation Villecroze, Yamaha Young Artist et Franz Liszt Stiftung en Allemagne.

 

Alexandre s'est produit en soliste avec l'Orchestre de chambre de Munich, le Brandenburg-Berlin Sinfonieorchester, Orchestre de chambre de Budapest, Orchestre Royal du Maroc, l'Orchestre Philharmonique de Jena, Orchestre National du Panama, Orchestre Péruvien des  jeunes ainsi que le « Kolegium de Weimar ». Il est passionné également par la pédagogie et la direction d'orchestre.

 

Depuis juin 2015 il est le soliste de l’orchestre de l'Opéra et Staatskapelle de Weimar.

 

Il joue le violoncelle d’un maître italien de la fin du XVIII.

image

David Castro-Balbi

Violon

 

David est né dans une famille de longue tradition musicale. Il débuta le violon à l’âge de 5 ans au conservatoire de Besançon dans la classe de Bernard Mauppin, où il obtint son diplôme d’études musicales (DEM) à l’âge de 13 ans. En 2007, il est accepté au CRR de Paris dans la classe de Larissa Koloss. Deux ans plus tard Il obtient le 1er Prix à l’unanimité et continue ses études au CNSM de Paris dans la classe de Svetlin Roussev.

 

A l’âge de 15 ans David a été sélectionné pour l’Académie Internationale de Musique sous la direction de Seiji Ozawa. Les concerts de cette Académie ont passé en juin - juillet 2009 au Victoria Hall à Genève et au Théâtre des Champs Elysées à Paris.

 

Il est lauréat de plusieurs concours nationaux et internationaux de violon et de musique de chambre. Ila gagné le 1er Prix au « Young Artist Competition » in Colorado (USA) et le 1er Prix au Concours International de violon de Mirecourt (France) où il interpréta le concerto de Mendelssohn en ré majeur avec l’Orchestre National de Lorraine sous la direction de Jacques Mercier. Il a également gagné le prix du public au Concours International « Jeunesses Musicales » à Belgrade où il interpréta le Concerto n°1 de Chostakovitch avec l’Orchestre de la Radio &Télévision de Belgrade. En 2012, il interprète le Concerto de Saint-Saëns op.20 pour violon et orchestre et la Havanaise avec l’ensemble à cordes de Bordeaux sous la direction de Jean-Jacques Kantorow. En 2013 il remporte le 1er Prix et quatre prix spéciaux parmi lesquels le « Prix EMCY » au « Concours International pour Jeunes violonistes Louis Spohr » à Weimar (Allemagne).

 

Le « Trio Suryana » créé par David quand il faisait ses études au CNSM a gagné le 1er Prix au Concours International « Bacewic de Lodz » (Pologne) et le 2ème Prix et le prix spécial pour la meilleure interprétation d’un’œuvre contemporaine au Concours International « Franz Schubert et la Musique Moderne » à Graz (Autriche).

 

Il continuait sa formation à la Hanns Eisler Musikhochschule à Berlin auprès de Kolja Blacher et actuellement à  Hfm Franz Lizst à Weimar avec Friedemann Eichhorn.

 

Pendant  2015- 2016 David a été le 1er violon   de l’orchestre philharmonique et de l’orchestre du théâtre de Gera-Altenburg ( Allemagne).

 

David joue un G.B Guadanini ex-Louis Spohr de 1690 prêté par la HfM Franz Lizst de Weimar.

image