Young Performers Series

Joey Alexander

 

Friday 29 June 2018, 8.30 p.m.

Auditorium

image

© Katz

There has long been concern that too many young musical geniuses are pushed too quickly into the spotlight. Joey Alexander, however, has managed to prove that such misgivings can be misplaced: in 2015, when he was barely 12, he released his first album, My Favorite Things, and succeeded in winning over critics and the public with his astounding version of John Coltrane’s theme “Giant Steps” that has become a standard. Born in Bali and raised by jazz-loving parents, Joey and his family moved to New York in 2014. Joey had already caught the attention of many musicians, journalists and jazz aficionados by posting eyebrow-raising videos on YouTube and, upon his arrival in the Big Apple, trumpeter Wynton Marsalis asked to meet him and invited him to play in his Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra. To introduce him to France in a live performance, Marsalis joined him in 2015 at the Jazz in Marciac festival. Joey’s programme for his concert at the Fondation Louis Vuitton includes works by Thelonious Monk, as well as improvisations and his own compositions.

 

Anne Legrand

Prices

Joey Alexander

Piano

 

Born June 25, 2003 on the island of Bali, pianist Joey Alexander originally learned about jazz from his father, who introduced his son to a variety of classic jazz, gospel, classical, rock, and pop albums. Joey’s dad nurtured his gift of swing and improvisation by taking him to jam sessions with professional musicians in Bali, Jakarta, and Odessa, Ukraine. His musicianship and grasp of jazz fundamentals developed at a remarkable pace, and at age eight UNESCO invited him to play solo piano for an elated Herbie Hancock during the piano great’s visit to Indonesia.

 

 

By 10, he was performing at jazz festivals in both Jakarta and Copenhagen. An invitation from Wynton Marsalis led to his U.S. debut appearance at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Rose Hall in 2014, where he amazed the audience with his musicality. This was followed by appearances before the Jazz Foundation of America at the Apollo and the Arthur Ashe Learning Center at Gotham Hall. Realizing God’s gift to Joey and wishing to encourage its continued development, the family relocated to the United States.



In 2015 received an invitation from impresario George Wein to perform on two stages at the prestigious Newport Jazz Festival. Joey took full advantage of the opportunity and brought audiences to their feet with his playful musicality and keen sense of swing. Joey performed twice at the 2016 GRAMMY Awards, including a solo performance of his original tune City Lights during the live broadcast, collaborated with Esperanza Spaulding and Wayne Shorter at the White House for International Jazz Day, performed and recorded My Favorite Things with singer Kelsea Ballerini for the CMA Country Christmas broadcast, and has been featured in numerous programs with Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York.



Over the past four years Joey has been paying his dues and honing his craft: learning what it means to be a bandleader, keeping material fresh after repeated performances, and seeking out sidemen who are also collaborators. Along the way, The Joey Alexander Trio has performed at well-known venues and major festivals across the United States and around the globe.



At the age of 14, Joey has already recorded two GRAMMY-nominated studio albums, 2015’s My Favorite Things and 2016’s Countdown, as well as Joey.Monk.Live!, a critically acclaimed surprise release from late 2017 to honor Thelonious Monk’s centennial. 



His third studio effort Eclipse, recorded over a three-day period beginning on the day of the solar eclipse of 2017, features the pianist with a stellar rhythm section of bassist Reuben Rogers and drummer Eric Harland, and guest appearances by saxophonist Joshua Redman on three tracks. The program ranges from jazz classics penned by John Coltrane and Bill Evans, to the Beatles’ hit “Blackbird”, and a reverent gospel reimagining of the 1875 hymn “Draw Me Nearer.” Most importantly though, Eclipse showcases Alexander’s significant progress as an astute composer, writing six of the eleven tunes.



As a pianist, Alexander is neither flashy nor bombastic. He approaches the instrument with discipline, as heard on the opening track “Bali,” playing subtly and gently in some stretches with delicate harmonies, playful and scampering in others as he displaces rhythms. He also possesses an elemental sense of melody, as heard on the final track, an original titled “Peace,” exhibiting the patience and instinct to get his melodic statements just right. “I’ve learned how to be a good listener,” Alexander says.



Alexander is joined by tenor titan Joshua Redman on the originals “Faithful,” about the sacrifices and challenges he and his family have faced in pursuit of his art, and “Fourteen,” written on his birthday, and a nod to the number’s significance in biblical deliverance. Alexander and Redman also explore a pensive duo take on Ray Nobel’s 1934 timeless ballad, “The Very Thought of You.”



As on his previous studio dates, Alexander returned to the well of Coltrane with his upbeat take on the harmonic twists and turns of “Moment’s Notice” from the master’s 1957 album Blue Train. “I love playing Coltrane because he’s so spiritual to me,” Alexander says. “That to me is what jazz is. There’s an uplifting feel to his songs, and I try to put my own take on it.”



The tour-de-force centerpiece to the album is the 10-minute “Eclipse,” that is a spin through the reflective and the dramatic with the pianist in drive mode. Just after the band took a studio break to view the solar eclipse on August 21, 2017, producer Olaine suggested that the trio play free and see where the music would go. The result ended up as the centerpiece of the album, the 10-minute tour-deforce, ‘Eclipse.’



“It was totally unprepared,” Alexander says. “After we saw the eclipse, we came back to the studio and just started playing without talking. I’m thankful to God that I had the confidence and courage to do this. But it’s also about how much we trust each other. I knew they’d be with me even though you don’t know where you’re going to go on the journey. It’s all about exploring the new.”



Olaine notes, “This was an amazing experience for a young artist to embrace the unknown the way Joey did.”



With the release of Eclipse, Joey Alexander has created an ever more personal and powerful statement of his musical and artistic vision. His work continues to draw from his inspirations of the past, as well as his faith, bandmates, and the people, places and events he encounters, all while putting his own progressive stamp on the music by constantly exploring, both on stage and in the studio.

image

© Katz

"

If the word "genius" still means anything, it applies to this prodigy

"

Technically fluent and harmonically astute

"

Magnificent not only for his virtuosity - plenty of prodigies have outsized chops - but for his maturity and perception

Série jeunes talents en solo

Joey Alexander

 

vendredi 29 juin 2018, 20h30

Auditorium

image

© Katz

On se méfie que trop des jeunes artistes de génie propulsés trop rapidement sur le devant de la scène. Joey Alexander a su repousser ces préjugés : en 2015, à peine âgé de 12 ans, il sort son premier disque « My favorite things » et a su convaincre la critique et conquérir le public avec notamment son étonnante version de « Giant steps », thème de John Coltrane devenu un standard. Originaire de Bali et élevé par des parents passionnés de jazz, la famille décide d'emménager à New York en 2014. Joey avait déjà attiré l'attention de musiciens, de journalistes ou d'amateurs en postant des vidéos surprenantes sur YouTube, et dès son arrivée à la Grosse Pomme, le trompettiste Wynton Marsalis souhaite le rencontrer, et l'invite à jouer dans son Jazz at Lincoln Center. Afin de le présenter à la France en direct, Marsalis vient avec lui en 2015 au festival de Jazz in Marciac. Au programme de son concert à la Fondation Louis Vuitton : des œuvres de Thelonious Monk, mais aussi des compositions de Joey Alexander et des improvisations.

 

Anne Legrand

tarifs

Joey Alexander

Piano

 

Né le 25 juin 2003 sur l’île de Bali, le pianiste Joey Alexander découvre le jazz grâce à son père, qui lui fait écouter une grande variété de genres musicaux, du jazz au gospel, de la musique classique au rock, en passant par la pop. Pour nourrir le don de son fils pour le swing et l’improvisation, son père l’accompagne à des sessions de jam avec des musiciens professionnels à Bali, Jakarta et Odessa, en Ukraine. Son talent musical et sa maîtrise des fondamentaux du jazz se développent à une vitesse telle qu’à 8 ans, il est invité par l’UNESCO à jouer du piano en solo, lors de la visite en Indonésie du grand pianiste Herbie Hancock, qui sera bluffé par sa performance.

 

À 10 ans, il joue dans des festivals de jazz à Jakarta et à Copenhague. Invité par Wynton Marsalis, il fait ses débuts aux États-Unis au Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Rose Hall, où il envoûte le public avec son sens de la musicalité. Il se produit ensuite à l’Apollo devant la Jazz Foundation of America et au Gotham Hall pour le Centre de Formation Arthur Ashe. Prenant la mesure de son talent, et décidée à le soutenir, sa famille décide alors de s’installer aux États-Unis.

 

En 2015, l’impresario George Wein l’invite à se produire sur deux scènes du prestigieux Newport Jazz Festival. Joey en profite pour ravir le cœur des spectateurs avec sa musicalité malicieuse et son sens du swing. En 2016, il joue deux morceaux sur la scène des GRAMMY Awards, dont une interprétation solo de son titre original City Lights en live. Il collabore avec Esperanza Spaulding et Wayne Shorter à la Maison Blanche à l’occasion de la Journée internationale du Jazz, joue et enregistre My Favorite Things avec la chanteuse Kelsea Ballerini pour l’émission CMA Country Christmas, et est invité à se produire à de multiples reprises au Jazz at Lincoln Center, à New York.

 

Ces quatre dernières années, Joey a exercé son talent à sa juste mesure : il a découvert la responsabilité d’être le leader d’un groupe, a appris à conserver toute la fraîcheur de son interprétation, malgré la multitude de concerts. Il a également trouvé des musiciens additionnels qui sont devenus des collaborateurs. Au cours de cette période, le Joey Alexander Trio a joué dans de prestigieuses salles et de grands festivals aux États-Unis et dans le monde entier.

 

À 14 ans, Joey a déjà enregistré deux albums studio nommés aux GRAMMY AWARDS, My Favorite Things (2015) et Countdown (2016), ainsi que Joey.Monk.Live!, un album surprise, encensé par la critique, sorti fin 2017 pour célébrer les 100 ans de Thelonious Monk.

 

Son troisième album studio, Eclipse, a été enregistré en trois jours, à partir du jour de l’éclipse solaire de 2017, avec une fabuleuse section rythmique composée du bassiste Reuben Rogers et du batteur Eric Harland, et comme invité sur trois morceaux, du saxophoniste Joshua Redman. L’album comprend des classiques du jazz de John Coltrane et Bill Evans, le hit des Beatles « Blackbird », et un gospel revisitant l’hymne de 1875 « Draw Me Nearer ». Mais surtout, Eclipse révèle les talents de compositeur de Joey Alexander, qui signe 6 des 11 morceaux.

 

En tant que pianiste, Joey Alexander n’est jamais emphatique, ni grandiloquent. Il aborde son instrument avec discipline, comme sur le morceau d’ouverture, « Bali », avec un jeu tantôt subtil et délicat, tantôt malicieux et sautillant, tout en contretemps. Il possède aussi un sens inné de la mélodie, comme on l’entend sur le dernier titre, la composition originale « Peace », qui dévoile patience et instinct, pour une mélodie d’une grande justesse. « J’ai développé ma qualité d’écoute », a déclaré Joey Alexander.

 

Sur le morceau original « Faithful », qui parle des sacrifices et des défis auxquels le musicien et sa famille ont dû faire face, Joey Alexander est rejoint par l’immense saxophoniste Joshua Redman, tandis que « Fourteen », écrit le jour de son anniversaire, est une allusion à la signification biblique de ce nombre. Joey Alexander et Joshua Redman revisitent aussi, dans un duo pensif, l’intemporelle ballade « The Very Thought of You », composée par Ray Nobel en 1934.

 

Comme sur ses précédents albums, Alexander rend hommage à Coltrane avec une reprise entraînante du complexe « Moment’s Notice », de l’album culte Blue Train (1957). «  J’aime beaucoup jouer Coltrane, je le trouve très spirituel. Pour moi, c’est ça, le jazz. Ses morceaux mettent du baume au cœur, et j’essaie d’y apporter ma touche personnelle ».

 

Le chef-d’œuvre de l’album, un morceau de 10 minutes intitulé « Eclipse », oscille entre réflexion et tension, avec un piano inspiré. Le 21 août 2017, juste après avoir fait une pause pour regarder l’éclipse solaire, le trio retourne en studio et le producteur Jason Olaine leur propose de faire une improvisation pour voir où la musique les mène. Il en résultera cet incroyable tour de force qu’est le titre « Eclipse ».

 

« Nous n’avions rien préparé, a expliqué Joey Alexander. Après avoir admiré l’éclipse, nous sommes retournés dans le studio et nous avons commencé à jouer sans parler. Je remercie Dieu d’avoir eu le courage de le faire. Mais c’est aussi une preuve de notre immense confiance mutuelle. Je savais que les musiciens me suivraient alors même que je ne savais pas où j’allais. L’essentiel, c’est d’explorer la nouveauté. »

 

« C’était une expérience incroyable, pour un si jeune artiste, d’accueillir l’inconnu, comme Joey l’a fait », a souligné Jason Olaine.

 

Avec Eclipse, Joey Alexander a affirmé de façon puissante et personnelle sa vision musicale et artistique. Son travail est toujours inspiré de son histoire, de sa foi, des membres de son groupe, des gens qu’il rencontre et des endroits qu’il visite, tout en faisant avancer l’histoire de la musique, ne cessant jamais d’explorer, aussi bien sur scène qu’en studio.

image

© Katz

"

Si le mot “génie” signifie encore quelque chose, alors il s’applique parfaitement à ce jeune prodige

"

Techniquement fluide et harmoniquement astucieux

"

Magnifique pas seulement pour la virtuosité de cet enfant, de nombreux prodiges ont cette aptitude, mais pour la maturité et la sensibilité qu’il y met