Concerts with pianist Yuja Wang and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra

 

Saturday 21 October 2017, 8.30 p.m.

Sunday 22 October 2017, 5.00 p.m.

Accompanied by the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Yuja Wang invites the audience on a journey through the history of Western music, from Classicism to the last century, over two exceptional evenings during which, for the first time, she will conduct the orchestra from the piano. 

She presents a survey of the musical terrain, creating a conversation between four of Europe’s greatest composers: Mozart and Chopin, on one side, and their anxious lyricism – a revolt against the established rules for Don Giovanni, and a transcendent virtuosity of La Grande Polonaise Brillante –, and on the other, Beethoven and Tchaikovsky and their regal authority. The young pianist brings to life these masters accompanied by one of the best ensembles in Europe.

Her taste and her ability to transcend the monuments of the reparatory are well known. Yuja Wang then reunites Beethoven’s two concertos in the same evening. The pianist delves deep, demonstrating the kinship between Beethoven and Stravinsky; two visionary composers: refusal of political dogmas for Beethoven vs scandal of the Rite of Spring in 1913 then the spectacular reversal to the neoclassical with Pulcinella in 1919 for Stravinsky.

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

Concert on 21 October 2017, 8.00 p.m.

 

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Don Giovanni Overture

 

Igor Stravinsky

The Pulcinella Suite

 

Frédéric Chopin

Andante Spianato and Grande Polonaise Brillante op.22

 

----entracte----

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto for piano n°1 

 

 

_________________________________________

 

Concert on 22 October 2017, 5.00 p.m



Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto for piano n°1 

 

----entracte----

 

Igor Stravinsky

The Pulcinella Suite

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto for piano n°2

image

Yuja Wang

Piano

 

“Hers is a nonchalant, brilliant keyboard virtuosity that would have made ... even thefabled Horowitz jealous”

Los Angeles Times, July 2015

 

Critical superlatives and audience ovations have followed Yuja Wang’s dazzling career. The Beijing-born pianist, celebrated for her charismatic artistry and captivating stage presence, is ready to register fresh achievements during the 2017-18 season which features recitals, concert series, and extensive tours with some of the world’s most venerated ensembles and conductors. She begins the summer of 2017 on tour with the London Symphony Orchestra and Michael Tilson Thomas and a programme featuring Brahms’ Piano Concerto No.2, followed by a performance of the first concerto at the Ravinia Festival with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of Lionel Bringuier. Later engagements include concerts with the Munich Philharmonic and Valery Gergiev, a series of performances at the Verbier Festival, and a three-city German tour with the St. Petersburg Philharmonic. She also embarks on play-conduct tours with two of the best chamber orchestras in the world, Mahler Chamber Orchestra and Chamber Orchestra of Europe, as well as joining the inaugural tour of Jaap van Zweden with the New York Philharmonic and the final tour of Yannick Nézet-Séguin’s directorship with the Rotterdam Philharmonic. Other notable appearances include concerts in Hong Kong, Miami, Washington D.C., Prague, Tel Aviv, and Berlin.

 

Winter of 2017 sees Yuja reunite with violinist and frequent collaborator Leonidas Kavakos for a European chamber tour, whilst in the spring of 2018, Ms. Wang will embark on a vast-reaching recital tour at premiere venues in the US and Europe; New York City, San Francisco, Rome, Vienna, Berlin, Paris, and beyond.

 

Yuja Wang was born into a musical family in Beijing. After childhood piano studies in China, she received advanced training in Canada and at Philadelphia’s Curtis Institute of Music under Gary Graffman. Her international breakthrough came in 2007 when she replaced Martha Argerich as soloist with the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Two years later she signed an exclusive contract with Deutsche Grammophon and has since established her place among the world’s leading artists with a succession of critically acclaimed performances and recordings.

 

Yuja has been named as Musical America’s Artist of the Year for 2017.

image

© Norbert Kniat

The Mahler Chamber Orchestra

 

The Mahler Chamber Orchestra (MCO) was founded in 1997 based on the shared vision of being a free and international ensemble, dedicated to creating and sharing exceptional experiences in classical music. With 45 members spanning 20 different countries at its core, the MCO works as a nomadic collective of passionate musicians uniting for specific tours in Europe and across the world. The orchestra is constantly on the move: it has, to date, performed in 35 countries across five continents. It is governed collectively by its management team and orchestra board; decisions are made democratically with the participation of all musicians.

 

The MCO’s sound is characterized by the chamber music style of ensemble playing among its alert and independent musical personalities. Its core repertoire, ranging from the Viennese classical and early Romantic periods to contemporary works and world premieres, reflects the MCO’s agility in crossing musical boundaries.

 

The orchestra received its most significant artistic impulses from its founding mentor, Claudio Abbado, and from Conductor Laureate Daniel Harding. Pianist Mitsuko Uchida, violinist Isabelle Faust and conductor Teodor Currentzis are current Artistic Partners who inspire and shape the orchestra during long-term collaborations. In 2016, conductor Daniele Gatti was appointed Artistic Advisor of the MCO.

 

MCO musicians all share a strong desire to continually deepen their engagement with audiences. This has inspired a growing number of offstage musical encounters and projects that bring music, learning and creativity to communities across the globe. Feel the Music, the MCO’s flagship education and outreach project, has opened the world of music to deaf and hard of hearing children through interactive workshops in schools and concert halls since 2012. MCO musicians are equally committed to sharing their passion and expertise with the next generation of musicians: since 2009, they have, through the MCO Academy, worked with young musicians to provide them with a high quality orchestral experience and a unique platform for networking and international exchange.

In recent years, the MCO’s major projects have included the award-winning Beethoven Journey with pianist Leif Ove Andsnes, who led the complete Beethoven concerto cycle from the keyboard in international residences over four years, and the opera production Written on Skin, which the MCO premiered at the Festival d’Aix en Provence under the baton of composer George Benjamin, performed at the Mostly Mozart Festival in New York and toured, as a semi-staged concert production, to major European cities. In 2016, the MCO and Mitsuko Uchida embarked on a multiple-season partnership centred on Mozart’s piano concertos. Upon the conclusion of a complete cycle of Beethoven symphonies, the MCO and Daniele Gatti continue their focus on symphonic cycles in the upcoming seasons.

 

The MCO looks ahead to a series of distinguished projects, including outstanding collaborations with its Artistic Partners, in the first months of 2017. The year begins with a residency at the International Music Festival of the Canary Islands under the direction of Jakub Hrůša, while February sees the MCO giving its debut concert in Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie with Mitsuko Uchida. The spring features the MCO’s first collaboration with pianist Daniil Trifonov, performances of Luciano Berio’s Coro under the direction of Teodor Currentzis, two tours with Daniele Gatti and the MCO’s residency at the Festival de Saint-Denis 2017.

 

The Mahler Chamber Orchestra has been awarded the Special Mention Prize of the German Design Award 2017 in recognition of its brand identity.

image

Concerts Yuja Wang, piano et le Mahler Chamber Orchestra 

 

Samedi 21 octobre 2017, 20h30

Dimanche 22 octobre 2017, 17h

Accompagnée du Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Yuja Wang invite à une traversée de l’histoire de la musique occidentale, du classicisme au siècle passé, au fil de deux soirées exceptionnelles durant lesquelles, pour la première fois, elle dirige l’orchestre depuis le piano. 

Une Europe musicienne s’esquisse d’abord, Yuja Wang faisant dialoguer quatre des grands génies européens : d’un côté, le lyrisme inquiet de Mozart et Chopin – révolte face à toutes les ordres établis de Don Giovanni, virtuosité transcendante de la Grande Polonaise brillante –, de l’autre l’autorité souveraine de Beethoven et Tchaïkovski. Autant de maîtres auxquels la virtuosité de la jeune pianiste donne vie, aux côtés de l’un des meilleurs ensembles européens.

On sait son goût et sa capacité à transcender les monuments du répertoire : Yuja Wang réunit ensuite les deux concertos de Beethoven en une même soirée. La pianiste creuse et affirme les parentés qui unissent Beethoven à Stravinsky ; deux compositeurs visionnaires : refus des dogmes politiques pour Beethoven, scandale du Sacre du printemps en 1913 puis spectaculaire revirement néoclassique avec Pulcinella en 1919 dans le cas de Stravinsky.

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

Concert du 21 Octobre 2017, 20h30

 

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Ouverture de Don Giovanni

 

Igor Stravinsky

Suite Pulcinella 

 

Frédéric Chopin

Andante spianato et Grande polonaise brillante op.22

 

----entracte----

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto pour piano n°1 

 

 

_________________________________________

 

Concert du 22 Octobre 2017, 17h



Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto pour piano n°1 

 

----entracte----

 

Igor Stravinsky

Suite Pulcinella 

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto pour piano n°2

image

Yuja Wang

Piano

 

« Sa virtuosité, brillante, tout en étant nonchalante, aurait rendu jaloux… même le légendaire Horowitz »

Los Angeles Times, juillet 2015

 

 

Les critiques dithyrambiques et les ovations se succèdent dans la carrière éblouissante de Yuja Wang. Cette pianiste née à Pékin, saluée pour son talent artistique charismatique et sa présence captivante sur scène, est prête à signer de nouvelles performances au cours d’une saison 2017-18 jalonnée de récitals, de séries de concerts et de vastes tournées aux côtés d’ensembles et de chefs d’orchestre parmi les plus vénérés au monde. L’été 2017 commence par une tournée avec le London Symphony Orchestra et Michael Tilson Thomas et un programme incluant le Concerto pour piano n° 2 de Brahms, suivi du Concerto n° 1 au Ravinia Festival avec l’orchestre symphonique de Chicago, dirigé par Lionel Bringuier. Elle donnera ensuite une série de concerts avec le Philharmonique de Munich et Valery Gergiev, puis se produira au festival de Verbier et en tournée en Allemagne, dans trois villes, avec le Philharmonique de Saint-Pétersbourg. Elle jouera ensuite le rôle de soliste et de chef d’orchestre lors de tournées avec deux des meilleurs orchestres de chambres au monde, le Mahler Chamber Orchestra et le Chamber Orchestra of Europe, et participera à la tournée inaugurale de Jaap van Zweden avec le New York Philharmonic et à la tournée d’adieu de Yannick Nézet-Séguin en tant que chef d’orchestre du Philharmonique de Rotterdam. Elle se produira également à Hong Kong, Miami, Washington D.C., Prague, Tel Aviv et Berlin.

 

Pendant l’hiver 2017, Yuja retrouvera le violoniste Leonidas Kavakos, aux côtés duquel elle s’est déjà produite fréquemment, pour une tournée européenne de musique de chambre. Au printemps 2018, elle se lancera dans une vaste tournée de récitals dans des salles prestigieuses aux États-Unis et en Europe à New York, San Francisco, Rome, Vienne, Berlin, Paris et au-delà.

 

Yuja Wang est née à Pékin dans une famille de musiciens.Après avoir étudié le piano au conservatoire en Chine, elle reçoit un enseignement poussé au Canada et au Curtis Institute of Music à Philadelphia, sous la direction de Gary Graffman. Sa percée internationale advient en 2007, lorsqu’elle remplace au pied levé la soliste Martha Argerich avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Boston. Deux ans plus tard, elle signe un contrat exclusif avec Deutsche Grammophon. Depuis, elle s’est hissée parmi les plus grands artistes au monde grâce à une succession de concerts et d’enregistrements acclamés par la critique.

 

Yuja a été nommée Artiste de l’année 2017 par Musical America.

image

© Norbert Kniat

The Mahler Chamber Orchestra

 

 

Le Mahler Chamber Orchestra (MCO) a été fondé en 1997 à partir d’une volonté commune de former un ensemble libre et international, voué à créer et à partager des expériences exceptionnelles en musique classique. Avec son noyau formé de 45 membres originaires de 20 pays, le MCO est un collectif nomade de musiciens passionnés, qui se réunissent pour des tournées spécifiques en Europe et à travers le monde. L’orchestre est sans cesse en mouvement : à ce jour, il a joué dans 35 pays, sur cinq continents. Il est gouverné collectivement par son équipe de direction et son comité d’orchestre ; les décisions sont prises de façon démocratique, avec la participation de tous les musiciens.

 

La musicalité du MCO se caractérise par une musique de chambre jouée par un ensemble de personnalités fortes et indépendantes. Le cœur de son répertoire, allant de la période viennoise classique et du début du romantisme à des œuvres contemporaines et des avant-premières mondiales, reflète l’agilité avec laquelle le MCO franchit les frontières musicales.

 

Les impulsions artistiques les plus marquantes de l’orchestre ont été données par son fondateur mentor, Claudio Abbado, et par Daniel Harding, qui a reçu le titre honorifique de chef d’orchestre lauréat. La pianiste Mitsuko Uchida, la violoniste Isabelle Faust et le chef d’orchestre Teodor Currentzis sont les partenaires artistiques actuels. Ils inspirent et orientent l’orchestre pendant les collaborations au long cours. En 2016, le chef d’orchestre Daniele Gatti a été nommé Conseiller artistique du MCO.

 

Tous les musiciens du MCO ont en commun un désir fort d’approfondir sans cesse leur engagement auprès de leurs publics. De cette volonté découle un nombre croissant de rencontres musicales et de projets hors scène, pour mieux faire connaître la musique, favoriser son apprentissage et la créativité auprès des populations du monde entier. Depuis 2012, Feel the Music, le projet phare de pédagogie et de sensibilisation du MCO, ouvre l’univers de la musique aux enfants sourds et malentendants au fil d’ateliers interactifs dans des écoles et des salles de concert. Les musiciens du MCO s’engagent tout autant à partager leur passion et leur talent avec les nouvelles générations de musiciens : depuis 2009, à travers la MCO Academy, ils travaillent aux côtés de jeunes musiciens pour leur apporter une expérience de qualité en orchestre et un lieu unique d’échanges internationaux pour cultiver leur réseau.

Parmi les projets majeurs menés par le MCO ces dernières années figurent le Beethoven Journey avec le pianiste Leif Ove Andsnes, qui a dirigé l’ensemble du cycle de concertos de Beethoven pour clavier dans des résidences internationales pendant plus de quatre ans, et l’opéra Written on Skin, que le MCO a présenté en avant-première au Festival d’Aix-en-Provence sous la baguette du compositeur George Benjamin, joué au Mostly Mozart Festival de New York et présenté, en version semi-scénique, lors d’une tournée dans les plus grandes villes d’Europe. En 2016, le MCO et Mitsuko Uchida se sont lancés dans un partenariat sur plusieurs saisons, axé sur les concertos pour piano de Mozart. Après avoir conclu un cycle complet de symphonies de Beethoven, le MCO et Daniele Gatti resteront axés sur les cycles symphoniques pour les saisons à venir.

 

Le MCO prépare une série de projets d’exception, avec notamment des collaborations distinguées avec ses Partenaires Artistiques, dans les premiers mois de 2017. L’année commence par une résidence au Festival international de musique des Canaries, sous la direction de Jakub Hrůša. En février, le MCO a donné son premier concert à l’Elbphilharmonie de Hamburg avec Mitsuko Uchida. Au printemps, le MCO a collaboré pour la première fois avec le pianiste Daniil Trifonov et présentera le Coro de Luciano Berio sous la direction de Teodor Currentzis. Le MCO lancera deux tournées avec Daniele Gatti et sera en résidence au Festival de Saint-Denis 2017.

 

Le Mahler Chamber Orchestra a obtenu la Mention Spéciale du German Design Award 2017, qui salue l’identité de sa marque.

image