Piano Jazz sessions – Gwilym Simcock / Luca Sestak Duo

 

Wednesday 3 May 2018, 8.30 p.m.

Fondation Louis Vuitton will host several major jazz pianists for its very first Piano Jazz Sessions, a series of five concerts from April to May 2018, in the auditorium. The Sessions will offer a diversity of approaches and styles, and a wide selection of pieces, bringing together improvisation and unique performances for some exciting evenings.

 

 

PROGRAMME

Part 1 – Luca Sestak Duo – piano-drums duo

Part 2 - Gwilym Simcock, solo piano

Auditorium Fondation Louis Vuitton

Prices

Gwilym Simcock

Piano

 

 

Gwilym Simcock is one of the most gifted pianists and imaginative composers on the European scene. He moves effortlessly between jazz and classical music, with a ‘harmonic sophistication and subtle dovetailing of musical traditions’. Gwilym has been hailed as a pianist of ‘exceptional’, ‘brilliant’ and ‘dazzling’ ability, and his music has been widely acclaimed as ‘engaging, exciting, often unexpected, melodically enthralling, complex yet hugely accessible', and above all 'wonderfully optimistic’.

 

Gwilym’s influences are wide ranging, from jazz legends including Keith Jarrett, Chick Corea, Jaco Pastorius and Pat Metheny, to classical composers including Maurice Ravel, Henri Dutilleux, Béla Bartók and Mark-Anthony Turnage. Although principally a jazz artist, Gwilym has composed numerous works for larger Classical ensemble that combine through-composed elements with improvisation, creating a sound that is distinctive and very much his own.

 

In the last few years, Gwilym has become renowned for his solo performances, releasing a critically acclaimed album 'Good Days at Schloss Elmau' in 2011 and touring throughout Europe and to places as far afield as Australia, the USA, Canada, Korea and China to name but a few. Gwilym has toured extensively with the cream of British and international jazz artists including Dave Holland, Kenny Wheeler, Lee Konitz, Bill Bruford’s Earthworks, Bob Mintzer and Bobby McFerrin. He co-leads the Anglo-American Supergroup 'The Impossible Gentlemen' with British Guitar legend Mike Walker, Steve Rodby and Adam Nussbaum. He has toured with Classical virtuoso Nigel Kennedy. He is currently on tour with Pat Metheny, Antonio Sanchez and Linda Oh.

 

Gwilym's career is unique in spanning a huge range of musical settings, and the fact that he was the first BBC New Generation Artist from a Jazz background, and that his album “Good Days at Schloss Elmau” was an album of the year in 2011 at the prestigious British music award the 'Barclaycard Mercury Prize' is testament to this. He has performed with orchestras, choirs, big bands, dancers as well as performing with musicians from diverse backgrounds including the classical, jazz, folk and rock traditions. Gwilym has also written music that has appeared on Television and on stage, most recently composing the music for an adaptation of Edward Albee's classic 'A Delicate Balance' at the Almeida theatre in London. He has frequently appeared on British television and radio and was guest presenter on “Saturday Classics” and guest on “Composer of the Week” on BBC Radio 3, and mentored and accompanied the finalists at the BBC Young Jazz Musician of the Year awards on BBC 4 TV in both 2014 and 2016.

Gwilym has lead and recorded a variety of different projects. His debut album “Perception” was nominated for Best Album in the BBC Jazz Awards 2008 and has been critically acclaimed at home and abroad. Subsequent albums have featured various projects, and have been universally praised with reviews citing his work as « sublime », « flawless », « impressive » « a marker that few others are likely to equal ».

 

Awards include 'Best Band' at the Perrier Award, 'Rising Star' at the BBC Jazz Awards and the British Jazz Awards, and both “Jazz Musician of the Year” and « Best Band » (with The Impossible Gentlemen) at the Parliamentary Jazz Awards. His impressive formal education includes Trinity College of Music (London), Chetham’s School of Music (Manchester) – where he studied classical Piano, French Horn and composition - and the Royal Academy of Music (London) where he graduated from the jazz course with first class honours and the coveted 'Principal's Prize' for outstanding achievement. Gwilym is Professor of Jazz Piano at the Royal Academy of Music, and is very much in demand for his teaching and masterclasses.

image

© James Berry

Luca Sestak Duo

Duo piano-batterie

 

 

This just 21-year old musician and winner of the “German Boogie Woogie Award” enchants his audiences re- peatedly with a musicality and enthusiasKc performance as well as with a breathtaking show. Blues, boogie- woogie, jazz, funk and pop are all mastered and crossed by the young pianist who has performed in concerts and fesKvals all over Europe and the U.S.

 

Luca captures concert audiences over and over again by blending the perfect command of his instrument with humorous showy inserts, a perfect repertoire of thrilling fast boogies with wonderful ballads and blues pieces as well, proving that he is a unique musical personality already. Therefore, his concerts are not to be missed not only by boogie and blues enthusiasts, but a wide range of listeners, including a new generaKon that may be less familiar with the primary genres. Music criKcs celebrate the musician who’s videos have received about ten million hits on YouTube as “The future of blues and boogie-woogie piano.« 

 

One of Germany's largest blues publicaKons, BluesNews magazine, recently reviewed his latest album, NEW WAY, as follows:

 »Sestak plays with joke and humor. No wonder that the young man can already look back on some significant honors. However, that could wear itself out if talent isn't developed into well-founded art. On « NEW WAY », Sestak shows that he leb the status of young talent far behind and that in spite of his youthful age he already has a true unique arKsKc personality.“

 

Together with the young drummer Johannes Niklas they present a unique and capturing show which shall not be missed!

image

Close

Piano Jazz sessions – Gwilym Simcock / Luca Sestak Duo

 

Jeudi 3 mai 2018, 20h30

Ce premier opus des « Piano jazz sessions » de la Fondation Louis Vuitton présente quelques personnalités majeures du clavier, pour autant de propositions et d’univers musicaux singuliers.

 

Une série de 5 concerts de fin avril à mi-mai 2018 qui offre une diversité d’approches pianistiques alliant improvisations et programmes inédits.

 

 

PROGRAMME

1ère partie – Luca Sestak Duo – duo piano-batterie

2ème partie - Gwilym Simcock, piano solo

Auditorium de la Fondation Louis Vuitton

Tarifs

Gwilym Simcock

Piano

 

 

Gwilym Simcock est l’un des pianistes les plus talentueux et des compositeurs les plus imaginatifs de la scène européenne. Il évolue sans effort entre le jazz et la musique classique, faisant preuve d’une « sophistication harmonique et imbriquant avec subtilité les traditions musicales ». Gwilym a été acclamé pour son jeu « exceptionnel », « brillant » et « éblouissant » au piano, et sa musique est largement saluée pour son caractère « captivant, enthousiasmant, souvent inattendu, mélodiquement passionnant, complexe mais largement accessible » et, surtout « merveilleusement optimiste ».

 

Les influences de Gwilym sont des plus vastes, allant des légendes du jazz telles que Keith Jarrett, Chick Corea, Jaco Pastorius et Pat Metheny, aux compositeurs classiques dont Maurice Ravel, Henri Dutilleux, Béla Bartók et Mark-Anthony Turnage. Bien qu’il soit principalement un artiste de jazz, Gwilym a composé de nombreux morceaux pour grands ensembles classiques, qui associent des éléments de composition minutieuse à de l’improvisation, créant un son unique, qui ne ressemble qu’à lui-même.

 

Ces dernières années, Gwilym s’est fait connaître pour ses performances en solo, l’édition d’un album salué par la critique « Good Days at Schloss Elmau » en 2011 et une tournée à travers l’Europe et dans des contrées aussi lointaines que l’Australie, les États-Unis, le Canada, la Corée et la Chine, pour n’en citer que quelques-unes. Gwilym a effectué de nombreuses tournées avec la crème des artistes britanniques et internationaux du jazz, dont Dave Holland, Kenny Wheeler, Lee Konitz, le groupe Earthworks de Bill Bruford, Bob Mintzer et Bobby McFerrin. Il est co-leader du « supergroupe » anglo-américain « The Impossible Gentlemen » aux côtés de la légende britannique de la guitare Mike Walker, de Steve Rodby et d’Adam Nussbaum. Il a également effectué une tournée avec le virtuose du classique Nigel Kennedy. À l’heure actuelle, il est en tournée avec Pat Metheny, Antonio Sanchez et Linda Oh.

 

La carrière de Gwilym est unique à bien des égards : couvrant une vaste palette d’orientations musicales, il a été le premier artiste provenant de l’univers du jazz à être élu New Generation Artist par la BBC. Enfin, son album « Good Days at Schloss Elmau » a obtenu le titre d’album de l’année en 2011 au prestigieux prix britannique de la musique, le « Barclaycard Mercury Prize ». Il s’est produit avec des orchestres, des chœurs, de grands groupes, des danseurs et avec des musiciens émanant de différents horizons musicaux, y compris des traditions classiques, jazz, folk et rock. Gwilym a également composé des morceaux diffusés à la télévision et sur scène, l’illustration la plus récente étant une adaptation du classique d’Edward Albee « Délicate Balance » à l’Almeida Theatre à Londres. Il a fait de fréquentes apparitions à la télévision et à la radio britanniques et a été présentateur invité de l’émission « Saturday Classics » et invité de « Composer of the Week » sur BBC Radio 3. Il a conseillé et accompagné les finalistes au prix du Jeune Musicien Jazz de l’année organisé par la BBC sur BBC 4 TV, en 2014 et en 2016.

Gwilym a mené et enregistré plusieurs projets différents. Son premier album, « Perception », a été nommé dans la catégorie Meilleur Album du Prix Jazz de la BBC en 2008 et été salué par la critique, au Royaume-Uni comme à l’étranger. Les albums suivants, présentant des projets variés, ont été unanimement acclamés par la critique, son œuvre jugée « sublime », « parfaite », « impressionnante », « une référence que peu seraient à même d’égaler ».

 

Gwilym a reçu les prix de la catégorie « Best Band » au Prix Perrier, « Rising Star » au Prix Jazz de la BBC et au Prix britannique du Jazz, et « Musicien Jazz de l’année » et « Meilleur groupe » (avec The Impossible Gentlemen), tous deux aux Parliamentary Jazz Awards. Son parcours est tout aussi impressionnant : Trinity College of Music (Londres), Chetham’s School of Music (Manchester) – où il a étudié le piano classique, le cor et la composition - et une formation en jazz à la Royal Academy of Music (Londres), achevée avec les félicitations du jury et le « prix du proviseur » tant convoité, pour sa réussite exceptionnelle. Gwilym est professeur de piano jazz à la Royal Academy of Music. Ses cours et ses master class sont très demandés.

image

© James Berry

Luca Sestak Duo

Duo piano-batterie

 

 

Ce musicien âgé de 21 ans à peine, lauréat du « German Boogie Woogie Award », ne cesse d’enchanter son public par sa musicalité et ses performances enthousiastes, ainsi que ses spectacles à couper le souffle. Le jeune pianiste, qui s’est produit en concert et dans des festivals à travers l’Europe et les États-Unis, maîtrise le blues, le boogie-woogie, le jazz, le funk et la pop, créant des chemins de traverse entre ces genres.

 

Luca captive sans cesse son auditoire en mêlant une maîtrise parfaite de son instrument à des séquences imprévues teintées d’humour, un répertoire parfait de boogies d’une rapidité vertigineuse et de sublimes ballades et morceaux de blues, prouvant qu’il est d’ores et déjà une personnalité à part entière dans l’univers de la musique. Ses concerts sont donc des événements incontournables, non seulement pour les amateurs de boogie et de blues, mais pour les spectateurs de tous crins, y compris les jeunes générations moins familières des premiers genres évoqués. Les critiques musicaux considèrent ce musicien, dont les vidéos ont été vues près de dix millions de fois sur YouTube, comme « l’avenir du blues et du boogie-woogie au piano ».

 

L’une des plus grandes parutions allemandes consacrée au blues, le magazine BluesNews, a récemment publié l’éloge suivant sur son dernier album, NEW WAY :

« Sestak joue avec malice et humour. Il n’est guère étonnant que ce jeune homme ait déjà remporté plusieurs honneurs d’envergure. Ce succès qui pourrait s’essouffler si son talent ne puisait pas sa racine dans un socle artistique solide. Dans « NEW WAY », Sestak montre qu’il a laissé loin derrière lui son statut de jeune prodige et qu’en dépit de son jeune âge, il a d’ores et déjà une personnalité artistique unique et affirmée. »

 

Avec le jeune batteur Johannes Niklas, il présente un spectacle unique et captivant, à ne pas manquer !

image