Cello recital

29 june 2016, 8:30p.m.

AUDITORIUM

Stéphane Tétreault (Canada) and Joona Pulkkinen (Finland) are both graduates of the second season of Gautier Capuçon's Cello Masterclass at the Fondation Louis Vuitton. With piano accompaniment provided by Samuel Parent, they have been invited to perform a recital at the Fondation's Auditorium, with a programme that features major works from the cello repertoire by Brahms, Tchaikovsky, Sibelius and Shostakovich.

 

Stéphane Tétreault, 23, was named Révélation Radio-Canada 2011-2012 in classical music. He is now the first ever soloist in residence of the Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal, conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

 

Joona Pulkkinen, a 26-year old Finn, won the Turku National Cello Competition. Since 2014 he has been the cello soloist with the Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra.

 

Samuel Parent, in addition to the many international prizes he has won and an international chamber music career, is the official pianist for Gautier Capuçon's Cello Masterclass.

 

PRICES

Stéphane Tétreault and Joona Pulkkinen, cellos / Samuel Parent, piano

Detailed programme:

Duration: 1 hr 15 min

 

- Stéphane Tétreault

Piotr Illitch Tchaïkovsky - Pezzo Capriccioso op. 62

 

- Joona Pulkkinen

Johannes Brahms - Sonata No.1 in E minor for Cello and Piano

Allegro non troppo

Allegretto quasi minuetto

Allegro

 

---- 5-10 min interval -----

 

- Joona Pulkkinen

Jean Sibelius - Malinconia, Op.20 for Cello and Piano

 

- Stéphane Tétrault

Dmitri Shostakovich - Sonata Op.40 in D minor

Allegro non troppo

Allegro

Largo

 

Stéphane Tétreault

cello

 

Cello prodigy Stéphane Tétreault plays the 1707 "Countess of Stainlein, Ex-Paganini" Stradivarius, on generous loan to him by Mrs Jacqueline Desmarais.

 

In addition to countless prizes and accolades, Stéphane was the very first recipient of the  Fernand-Lindsay Career Award and the Choquette-Symcox Award laureate in 2013. First Prize winner at the Montreal Symphony Orchestra Standard Life-OSM competition in 2007, he was named Révélation Radio-Canada 2011-2012 in classical music. For the last three years, he has been one of CBC Radio's 30 hot classical musicians under 30.

 

Stéphane has been invited to take part in many prestigious competitions, including the 63rd Geneva International Music Competition, the Rostropovich Cello Competition in Paris and the Tchaikovsky International Competition in Moscow, and has twice shared the stage with the famous violinist and conductor Maxim Vengerov.   Chosen as the first ever soloist in residence of the Orchestre Métropolitain  for the 2014-2015 season, he performed with Yannick Nézet-Séguin and others, and made his début at the Auditorium of the Louvre in Paris in March 2015.

His first album, recorded with the Orchestre symphonique de Québec and conductor Fabien Gabel, was nominated as the Best Classical Album of the Year at the 2013 ADISQ Gala. A second album, recorded with pianist Marie-Ève Scarfone, was released in September 2015.

 

Stéphane, 22, studied for more than 10 years under the late cellist and conductor Yuli Turovsky.  He holds a Master's Degree in Music Performance from Université de Montréal.

image

Stephane Tetreault

Samuel Parent

piano

 

Samuel Parent was born in the Vaucluse department of France in 1982. After studying with Michel Bourdoncle in Aix-en-Provence, and then Olivier Gardon in Paris, in 2000 he was admitted to the class of Brigitte Engerer at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, graduating with an advanced studies diploma (with distinction) four years later.

 

In 1998, he founded the Trio con Fuoco, an ensemble that has won many international competitions and with which he performs regularly at festivals (Aix-en-Provence, la Roque d'Anthéron, Flâneries musicales de Reims) and on the world stage, including concerts at the Auditorium of the Louvre, BOZAR in Brussels, the Auditorium in Dijon, and in Morocco, Spain, the Netherlands, India and Central America.

In 2008 he won second prize at the Rina Sala Gallo International Piano Competition in Monza, Italy. In that same year, he joined the chamber music class of the Artemis Quartet at the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel in Belgium.

 

A highly sought-after chamber musician, he has performed with many artists such as the Quatuor

 

Ébène, Hugues Borsarello, Henri Demarquette, Olivier Patey, Erik Berchot, Ami Flammer, Emmanuel Christien. He plays regularly with violinist Mathilde Borsarello-Herrmann, a prize-winner at the Long-Thibaud International Violin Competition. The two musicians have given recitals together at several festivals including Pianoscope in Beauvais, the Colmar Festival, Musique en Côte Basque, Les Musicales de Caillebotte, and at the Salle Gaveau and the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris.

 

Samuel Parent is also an outstanding accompanist: since January 2014 he has been the pianist for Yanowski, who he accompanies on his "La Passe Interdit" concert tour.  He is regularly invited to various summer academies to provide support for numerous students. Since 2015 he has been the official accompanist for Gautier Capuçon's prestigious Cello Masterclass at the Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris.

image

Samuel Parent

Joona Pulkkinen

cello

 

Born in 1990, Finnish cellist Joona Pulkkinen started studying cello at the age of five. After studies in Junior Department of Sibelius-Academy with Marko Ylönen and Royal Northern College of Music with Hannah Roberts, he was accepted at the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel in Belgium, in the cello section under the direction of Gary Hoffman.

 

He has appeared as a soloist with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Sibelius Academy’s Symphony Orchestra, Aurora Symphony Orchestra, Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Chamber Orchestra of Wallonia, La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique de Liege and Turku Philharmonic Orchestra. In 2010 he won third prize at the National Turku Cello Competition and was the youngest participant in the final. Joona has been a competitor in the International Paulo Cello Competition in 2013 and International ARD Competition in 2014.

 

Joona has featured at a number of highly regarded festivals in Scandinavia and performed across many countries of Europe. He has played together with some of the world’s leading artists such as Vladimir Mendelssohn, Midori, Peter Frankl, Viktoria Mullova, Vilde Frang, Hagai Shaham, Pavel Vernikov, Gary Hoffman and Augustin Dumay In September 2014 he began his new job as first principal cellist with Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra, youngest ever in the orchestra’s history.

 

Joona plays a Giovanni Grancino cello from 1698, kindly loaned to him by the Pohjola Bank Art Foundation.

 

The most relaxing thing Joona knows is listening birds singing and watching silent lake after nice, hot sauna in the summertime of Finland!

 

image

Joona Pulkkinen

Récital de violoncelle

29 juin 2016, 20h30

Auditorium

Stéphane Tétreault (Canada) et Joona Pulkkinen (Finlande) sont tous deux issus de la 2ème promotion de la Classe d’excellence de violoncelle de Gautier Capuçon de la Fondation Louis Vuitton. Accompagnés au piano par Samuel Parent, ils sont invités à se produire en récital à l'Auditorium de la Fondation dans un programme qui nous offre quelques grandes pages du répertoire pour violoncelle, avec Brahms, Tchaïkovsky, Sibelius et Chostakovitch.

 

Stéphane Tétreault, âgé de 23 ans, a été révélation Radio-Canada 2011-2012 en musique classique. Il est aujourd'hui premier soliste en résidence de l'Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal sous la direction de Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

 

Joona Pulkkinen, finlandais âgé de 26 ans, est lauréat du concours national de violoncelle de Turku. Depuis 2014 il est violoncelle solo du Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra.

 

Samuel Parent, au delà de multiples prix internationaux et d'une carrière internationale de musique de chambre, est le pianiste référent de la classe d'Excellence de violoncelle de Gautier Capuçon.

Tarifs

Stéphane Tétreault et Joona Pulkkinen, violoncelles / Samuel Parent, piano

 

Programme détaillé pour le programme de salle :

Durée : 1h15

 

- Stéphane Tétreault

Piotr Illitch Tchaïkovsky - Pezzo Capriccioso op. 62

 

- Joona Pulkkinen

Johannes Brahms - Sonate pour violoncelle et piano n°1 en mi mineur

Allegro non troppo

Allegretto quasi minuetto

Allegro

 

---- Pause 5-10min -----

 

- Joona Pulkkinen

Jean Sibelius - Malinconia pour violoncelle et piano op.20

 

- Stéphane Tétrault

Dimitri Chostakovitch - Sonate en ré mineur op.40

Allegro non troppo

Allegro

Largo

 

Stéphane Tétreault

violoncelle

 

Véritable prodige, Stéphane Tétreault joue sur le violoncelle Stradivarius « Comtesse de Stainlein, Ex-Paganini » de 1707 qui lui est généreusement prêté par Madame Jacqueline Desmarais.

 

Détenteur d’innombrables prix et distinctions, Stéphane est lauréat de la toute première Bourse de carrière Fernand-Lindsay et du Prix Choquette-Symcox en 2013. Premier prix au Concours de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal Standard Life-OSM 2007, il a été nommé Révélation Radio-Canada 2011-2012 en musique classique. Depuis 3 ans, il fait partie du palmarès des 30 musiciens de l’heure de moins de 30 ans de la CBC Radio.

 

Sélectionné par de prestigieux concours, dont le 63e Concours de musique de Genève, le Concours de violoncelle Rostropovitch à Paris et le Concours International Tchaïkovski à Moscou, il a partagé la scène à deux reprises avec le célèbre violoniste et chef d’orchestre Maxim Vengerov. Nommé premier soliste en résidence de l’Orchestre Métropolitain pour la saison 2014-2015, il s’est produit entre autres avec Yannick Nézet-Séguin et il a fait ses débuts à l’Auditorium du Musée du Louvre à Paris en mars 2015.

Son premier album, enregistré avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec sous la direction de Fabien Gabel, a été nommé dans la catégorie Album classique de l’année au Gala de l’ADISQ 2013. Un deuxième album, enregistré avec la pianiste Marie-Ève Scarfone, est paru en septembre 2015.

 

Stéphane, 22 ans, a étudié pendant plus de 10 ans sous la tutelle du regretté violoncelliste et chef d’orchestre Yuli Turovsky. Il est titulaire d’une maîtrise en interprétation à l’Université de Montréal.

image

Stephane Tetreault

Samuel Parent

piano

 

Samuel Parent est né en 1982 dans le Vaucluse. Après avoir étudié avec Michel Bourdoncle à Aix-en-Provence, puis Olivier Gardon à Paris, il est admis en 2000 dans la classe de Brigitte Engerer au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, dont il sort quatre ans plus tard avec un diplôme de Formation Supérieure, mention très bien.

 

En 1998, il fonde le Trio con Fuoco, ensemble récompensé dans de nombreux concours internationaux et au sein duquel il se produit régulièrement dans des festivals (Aix-en-Provence, la Roque d'Anthéron, Flâneries musicales de Reims) et sur la scène mondiale : concerts à l'Auditorium du Louvre, au Bozar de Bruxelles, à l'Auditorium de Dijon, au Maroc, en Espagne, aux Pays-Bas, en Inde, en Amérique Centrale.

En 2008, il remporte le deuxième prix au concours international Rina Sala Gallo de Monza, Italie. Cette même année, il intègre la classe de musique de chambre du quatuor Artemis à la Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth de Belgique.

 

Chambriste recherché, il se produit avec de nombreux artistes tels que le quatuor

 

Ebène, Hugues Borsarello, Henri Demarquette, Olivier Patey, Erik Berchot, Ami Flammer, Emmanuel Christien... Il joue régulièrement avec la violoniste Mathilde Borsarello-Herrmann, artiste primée au concours Long-Thibaud. Les deux musiciens ont donné ensemble des récitals dans divers festivals comme le Pianoscope à Beauvais, le Festival de Colmar, Musique en Côte Basque, les Musicales de Caillebotte, à la salle Gaveau et au théâtre du Châtelet à Paris.

 

Samuel Parent se distingue également pour ses talents d'accompagnateur : depuis janvier 2014, il est le pianiste de Yanowski qu'il accompagne dans son tour de chant « la Passe Interdite ». Il est régulièrement invité dans diverses académies estivales pour apporter son soutien à de nombreux étudiants. Depuis 2015, il est l'accompagnateur officiel de la prestigieuse classe d'Excellence de Violoncelle de Gautier Capuçon à la Fondation Louis Vuitton à Paris.

image

Samuel Parent

Joona Pulkkinen

violoncelle

 

Né en 1990, le violoncelliste Finlandais Joona Pulkkinen commence à apprendre le violoncelle à l’age de cinq ans. Il étudie à l’Académie Sibelius dans le Junior Department avec Marko Ylönen et au Collège Royal de musique du Nord avec Hannah Roberts avant d’être admis à la Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth en Belgique, dans la section violoncelle sous la direction de Gary Hoffman.

 

Comme soliste, Joona s’est produit avec l’Orchestre symphonique de la radio finlandaise, l’Orchestre symphonique de l'Académie Sibelius, l’Orchestre symphonique d’Aurora, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Tampere, l'Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie, l’Orchestre de La Monnaie, l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Liège et l’Orchestre philharmonique de Turku. En 2010 il a remporté le troisième prix à la Compétition de Violoncelle Nationale Turku et était le plus jeune finaliste. Joona a été concurrent dans la Compétition de Violoncelle Internationale Paulo en 2013 et dans la Compétition International ARD en 2014.

 

Joona a pris part dans de nombreux festivals tenus en haute estime en Scandinavie et s’est produit dans de nombreux pays d’Europe. Il a joué avec des artistes de renommée mondiale tels que Vladimir Mendelssohn, Midori, Peter Frankl, Viktoria Mullova, Vilde Frang, Hagai Shaham, Pavel Vernikov, Gary Hoffman et Augustin Dumay. En Septembre 2014, il a commencé un nouvel emploi en tant que premier violoncelle de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Tampere, le plus jeune dans l’histoire de l’Orchestre à obtenir ce titre.

 

Joona joue sur un violoncelle Giovanni Grancino de 1698, qui lui a été prêté par Pohjola Bank Art Foundation.

 

La chose la plus relaxante pour Joona est d’écouter le chant des oiseaux et d’observer le lac silencieux après un sauna, pendant l’été en Finlande !

 

image

Joona Pulkkinen