Recital Gautier Capuçon, cello - Frank Braley, piano

 

friday 17 March 2017, 8.30 p.m.

Artists

 

Gautier Capuçon, Cello

Frank Braley, Piano

 

Programme

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Variations on a theme from Handel's Judas Maccabeus

Sonata No. 1 Op. 5

Variations on Ein Mädchen oder Weibchen from The Magic Flute

Sonata No. 3 Op. 69 

 

 

This concert is filmed and will be broadcast on Mezzo channel.

To keep you informed of upcoming broadcasts, please visit www.mezzo.tv

 

image

Gautier Capuçon & Frank Braley

© Fabien Monthubert

image

Gautier Capuçon

 

Gautier Capuçon was born in 1981 in Chambéry and began playing the cello at age 4 1/2. He has studied under Annie Cochet-Zakine and Philippe Muller, and later under Heinrich Schiff in Vienna. He has received first prizes at several international competitions, including First Grand Prize at the International André Navarra Cello Competition in Toulouse. In 2001, he was named New Talent of the Year at the French awards ceremony Victoires de la Musique. He is the winner of the Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award and several Echo Classic Awards, the most recent of which recognised a recording he made with Gergiev for a compilation of Fauré’s chamber music in October 2012. He honed his talents in the European Union Youth Orchestra conducted by Bernard Haitink, and later the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester conducted by Kent Nagano, Daniele Gatti, Pierre Boulez, Seiji Ozawa and Claudio Abbado.

 

He plays with the world’s top orchestras and regularly works with leading conductors including Lionel Bringuier, Semyon Bychkov, Myung-Whun Chung, Gustavo Dudamel, Charles Dutoit, Christoph Eschenbach, Valery Gergiev, Bernard Haitink, Paavo Järvi, Andris Nelsons, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Leonard Slatkin and Tugan Sokhiev.

 

Recently Capuçon has performed with the Berlin Philharmonic conducted by Gustavo Dudamel for the Europakonzert; Concertgebouw Orchestra/Haitink and Bychkov; Dresden Staatskapelle Orchestra/Eschenbach, in Dresden and as a guest soloist at the Easter Festival in Salzburg; Vienna Philharmonic/Orozco-Esdrada; Leipzig Gewandhaus/Krivine; Munich Philharmonic/Bychkov; Chamber Orchestra of Europe/Haitink in Paris, Amsterdam and at the Lucerne Festival; London Symphony/Gergiev at the Konzerthaus in Vienna; Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra/Bringuier, St Petersburg Mariinsky Orchestra/Gergiev in Paris (Pleyel); Orchestre de Paris/Zinman; French National Orchestra/Gatti, and Swiss-French Orchestra/N. Jarvi. He has toured Europe with the London Symphony Orchestra/Sir John Eliot Gardiner, the Oslo Philharmonic/Petrenko and the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich/Bringuier.

 

In the US he has performed with the Chicago, Philadelphia and Boston Symphony Orchestras/Dutoit; New York Philharmonic/Boreyko and Bychkov; Los Angeles Philharmonic/Dudamel; Cleveland Orchestra/Bringuier; San Francisco Symphony/Dutoit, and Boston Symphony/Nelsons. He has also played with the Sydney Symphony/Bringuier in Australia and the Seoul Philharmonic/Hrusa.

 

Gautier has given recitals in Paris, London, Amsterdam, Brussels, Moscow, Madrid, Vienna, New York, Washington, Tokyo and Seoul, with Yuja Wang and Frank Braley.

He performs recitals and chamber music at Europe’s leading festivals, and appears annually at the Verbier Festival and the Progetto Martha Argerich in Lugano. His partners include Nicholas Angelich, Martha Argerich, Daniel Barenboïm, Yuri Bashmet, Lisa Batiashvili, Frank Braley, Gérard Caussé, Sarah Chang, Myung Whun Chung, Michel Dalberto, Jérôme Ducros, Hélène Grimaud, Katia and Marielle Labèque, Angelika Kirchschlager, Gabriela Montero, Viktoria Mullova, Mikhail Pletnev, Leonidas Kavakos, Stephen Kovacevitch, Menahem Pressler, Vadim Repin, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Maxim Vengerov, Yuja Wang, Nikolaj Znaider, the Artemis Quartet, the Ebène Quartet, and his brother Renaud.

 

Discography: On Warner, the Trios of Haydn and Mendelssohn with Martha Argerich and Renaud Capuçon, and Shostakovich's Trio No. 2 with Martha Argerich and Maxim Vengerov. He is signed exclusively to Erato, where he has recorded Ravel with Renaud Capuçon and Frank Braley; Haydn’s concertos with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra and Daniel Harding (awarded the Diapason d’Or and Choc awards by  Monde de la musique magazine); the chamber music of Saint-Saëns and Schubert; Brahms’ Trios with Renaud Capuçon and Nicholas Angelich (Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik – Diapason d’OrChoc/Monde de la Musique); a recital with Gabriela Montero (Mendelssohn/Prokofiev/Rachmaninoff); Dvorak’s concerto with the Radio Frankfurt orchestra and Paavo Järvi, and the Brahms Double Concerto with the GMJO and Myung-Whun Chung. He has also recorded a DVD of Beethoven’s Triple Concerto live at the Salzburg Festival (Martha Argerich, Renaud Capuçon, Simon Bolivar Orchestra and Gustavo Dudamel); a DVD live in concert with the Berliner Philharmoniker (Haydn’s Concerto No. 1) conducted by Gustavo Dudamel (Deutsche Grammophon); Tchaikovsky’s Rococo Variations with the Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra and Valery Gergiev (a co-production with Colas); the Complete Works of Fauré with N. Angelich, G. Capuçon, M. Dalberto, G. Caussé and the Ebène Quartet; a Schubert/Debussy/Britten/Schumann recital with Frank Braley, and Saint-Saëns (Concerto No. 1 and La Muse et le Poète) with the Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra and Lionel Bringuier.

 

Recent releases include Shostakovich with the Mariinsky Orchestra and Gergiev, Beethoven’s Complete Sonatas with Frank Braley, and Schubert’s String Quintet with the Ebène Quartet. Since 2007 Capuçon has been an ambassador of Zegna & Music Project, a philanthropic initiative founded in 1997 to promote the culture and values of music. In October 2014 he created his Cello Masterclass at the Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris, in the new Frank Gehry-designed Auditorium.

 

 

He plays a Matteo Goffriller that dates from 1701.

 

image

© M.Tammaro - Virgin Classics 

Frank Braley

 

Torn for a long time between science and music, Frank Braley quit university to devote himself fully to his musical career. At the Paris Conservatory he studied under Pascal Devoyon, Christian Ivaldi and Jacques Rouvier and was unanimously awarded First Prize for Piano and for Chamber Music. In 1991 he won First Prize and the Audience Prize in Belgium's prestigious Queen Elisabeth Competition. He was acclaimed by the public and critics alike as an outstanding laureate of exceptional musical talent and poetry.

 

Braley performs regularly in Japan, the US and Canada, and throughout Europe. He has played with the top orchestras, including Orchestre de Paris, Orchestre National de France, Radio France Philharmonic, Ensemble Orchestral de Paris, the Orchestras of Bordeaux, Lille, Montpellier and Toulouse, National Orchestra of Belgium, Liège Philharmonic, Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipzig, Gürzenich Orchestra in Cologne, London Philharmonic, BBC Wales Orchestra, Royal National Scottish Orchestra, Bournemouth Symphony Bournemouth Orchestra, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande and Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana, Berlin Radio Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Royal Copenhagen Orchestra, Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Seattle Symphony Orchestra and Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra. He has worked with conductors such as J-C Casadesus, Stéphane Denève, Charles Dutoit, Armin Jordan, Hans Graf, Gunther Herbig, Christopher Hogwood, Eliahu Inbal, Marek Janowski, Kiril Karabits, Emmanuel Krivine, Louis Langrée, Kurt Masur, Ludovic Morlot, Paul McCreesh, Sir Yehudi Menuhin, John Nelson, Michel Plasson, Yutaka Sado, Michael Schonwandt, Antonio Pappano and Walter Weller.

 

Braley has toured the four corners of the globe, performing in China with the Orchestre National de France, in Japan and China with Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, and in Italy with Orchestre Français des Jeunes and Orchestra di Padova e del Veneto. In the US he has played at the Tanglewood Festival with the Boston Symphony Orchestra conducted by Hans Graf, and at the opening of Carnegie Hall’s new Zankel Hall, with the Ensemble Intercontemporain.

He stood in for Martha Argerich at the 2011 BBC Proms with the Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Myung-Whung. He performs in Amsterdam and Paris with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and Bernard Haitink. Recent appearances include Pleyel Hall in Paris with the Lausanne Chamber Orchestra (Bach) and with Orchestre National d’Ile de France (Mozart), the Folles Journées festival in Nantes, and in Japan with the Seattle Symphony Orchestra and Ludovic Morlot (Mozart), and this season with the Orchestre National de France and the Sao Paulo Symphony conducted by Stéphane Denève (Poulenc), Hong Kong Sinfonietta, Seoul Philharmonic and Hans Graf, New Japan Philharmonic, and on tour with his Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie.

 

He has given recitals in Paris, London, Vienna, Amsterdam, Brussels, Hanover and Ferrara, and performed as a duo with Renaud Capuçon in Amsterdam, Athens, Birmingham, Bonn, Brussels, Rome, Florence, Trieste, New York, Washington, Paris and Vienna. He plays chamber music with, among others, Renaud and Gautier Capuçon, Maria Joao Pires, Gérard Causse, Eric Le Sage, Paul Meyer and Emmanuel Pahud.

 

Beyond his career as a soloist, he has a passion for original projects; he has performed Beethoven’s Complete Sonatas for Piano at the La Roque d’Anthéron festival, and in Rome, Bilbao, Lisbon, Tokyo and Brazil. He has performed Beethoven’s Complete Sonatas for Violin and Piano with Renaud Capuçon in Paris (Théâtre des Champs-Elysées), Bordeaux, Grenoble, Chambéry, Lyon, London (Wigmore Hall), Luxembourg, Singapore and Hong Kong.

image

© DR

Récital Gautier Capuçon, violoncelle - Frank Braley, piano

 

vendredi 17 mars 2017, 20h30

Artistes

 

Gautier Capuçon, violoncelle

Frank Braley, piano

 

 

Programme

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Variations sur un thème de "Judas Maccabée" de Haendel

Sonate n°1 op.5

Variations sur "Ein Mädchen oder Weibchen" de "La Flûte enchantée"

Sonate n°3 op.69 

 

 

 

 

Ce concert est filmé et sera retransmis la chaîne Mezzo.

Pour vous tenir informés des prochaines diffusions, consultez www.mezzo.tv

image

Gautier Capuçon & Frank Braley

© Fabien Monthubert

image

Gautier Capuçon

 

Gautier Capuçon, né en 1981 à Chambéry, commence le violoncelle à 4 ans et demi et étudie avec Annie Cochet-Zakine, Philippe Muller, puis à Vienne avec Heinrich Schiff. Il reçoit des premiers prix dans plusieurs concours internationaux, y compris le Premier Grand Prix du Concours International André Navarra à Toulouse. En 2001 il est « Nouveau Talent  de l’année » aux Victoires de la musique. Il reçoit le « Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award » et plusieurs fois le « Echo Preis », récemment pour son enregistrement avec Gergiev et pour le Coffret de la musique de chambre de Fauré (en octobre 2012). Parallèlement, il parfait son expérience au sein de l’Orchestre des Jeunes de la Communauté Européenne avec Bernard Haitink, puis du Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester avec Kent Nagano, Daniele Gatti, Pierre Boulez, Seiji Ozawa et Claudio Abbado.

 

Il joue sous la direction de plus grands orchestres dans le monde et collabore régulièrement avec les plus grands chefs comme Lionel Bringuier, Semyon Bychkov, Myung-Whun Chung, Gustavo Dudamel, Charles Dutoit, Christoph Eschenbach, Valery Gergiev, Bernard Haitink, Paavo Järvi, Andris Nelsons, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Leonard Slatkin, Tugan Sokhiev…

 

Récemment Gautier Capuçon s’est produit avec  le Philharmonique de Berlin sous la direction de Gustavo Dudamel pour l’Europa Konzert, l’Orchestre de Concertgebouw/Haitink et Bychkov, l’Orchestre de la Staatskapelle de Dresde/Eschenbach, à Dresde et en tant que soliste invité au Festival de Pâques de Salzburg, le Philharmonique de Vienne/Orozco-Esdrada, le Leipzig Gewandhaus/Krivine, Munich Philharmonique/Bychkov, le Chamber Orchestra of Europe/Haitink à Paris, Amsterdam et au Festival de Lucerne, le London Symphony/Gergiev au Konzerthaus à Vienne, l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France/Bringuier, l’Orchestre Mariinsky St Petersburg/Gergiev à Paris (Pleyel), l’Orchestre de Paris/Zinman, l’Orchestre National de France/Gatti, l’Orchestre de la Suisse Normande/N. Jarvi et effectue une tournée européenne avec le London Symphony Orchestra/Sir John Eliot Gardiner, le Oslo Philharmonic/Petrenko et le Tonhalle de Zurich/Bringuier.

 

Aux Etats-Unis il joue avec le Chicago, Philadelphia et Boston Symphony/Dutoit, New York Philharmonic/Boreyko et Bychkov, Los Angeles Philharmonic/Dudamel, Cleveland Orchestra/Bringuier, San Francisco Symphony/Dutoit, Boston Symphony/Nelsons, ainsi que le Sidney Symphony/Bringuier en  Australie et le Séoul Philharmonic/Hrusa.

 

Gautier joue en récital à Paris, Londres, Amsterdam, Bruxelles, Moscou, Madrid, Vienne, New York, Washington, Tokyo, Séoul avec récital Yuja Wang et Frank Braley.

Il se produit également en récital et musique de chambre dans les festivals majeurs en Europe, comme chaque année au festival de Verbier et au Progetto Martha Argerich a Lugano. Il a pour partenaires Nicholas Angelich, Martha Argerich, Daniel Barenboïm, Yuri Bashmet, Lisa Batiashvili, Frank Braley, Gérard Caussé, Sarah Chang, Myung Whun Chung, Michel Dalberto, Jérôme Ducros, Hélène Grimaud, Katia et Marielle Labèque, Angelika Kirchschlager, Gabriela Montero, Viktoria Mullova, Mikhail Pletnev, Leonidas Kavakos, Stephen Kovacevitch, Menahem Pressler, Vadim Repin, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Maxim Vengerov, Yuja Wang, Nikolaj Znaider, les quatuors Artemis et Ebène, ainsi que son frère Renaud.

 

Discographie : Chez Warner, les Trios de Haydn et Mendelssohn avec Martha Argerich et Renaud Capuçon, le Trio n°2 de Chostakovitch avec Martha Argerich et Maxim Vengerov. Chez Erato, dont il est artiste exclusif : Ravel avec Renaud Capuçon et Frank Braley, les concertos de Haydn avec le Mahler Chamber Orchestra et Daniel Harding (« Diapason d’Or » et « Choc » du Monde de la musique), la musique de chambre de Saint-Saëns, de Schubert, les trios de Brahms avec Renaud Capuçon et Nicholas Angelich (Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik – Diapason d’Or – Choc/Monde de la Musique), un récital avec Gabriela Montero (Mendelssohn/Prokofiev/Rachmaninov), le concerto de Dvorak avec l’orchestre de la Radio de Francfort et Paavo Järvi, le Double de Brahms avec GMJO et Myung-Whun Chung. Après un DVD live Festival de Salzbourg Triple de Beethoven (Martha Argerich, Renaud Capuçon, l’Orchestre Simon Bolivar et Gustavo Dudamel) et un DVD – Concert live avec le Berliner Philharmoniker (Haydn Concerto N°1) sous la direction de Gustavo Dudamel (Deutsche Gramophone), les Variations Rococo de Tchaikovsky avec le Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra et Valery Gergiev (coproduction Colas), l’intégrale Fauré avec N. Angelich, G. Capuçon, M. Dalberto, G. Caussé et le Quatuor Ebène, un récital Schubert/Debussy/Britten/Schumann avec Frank Braley et Saint-Saëns (Concerto N°1 et Muse et le Poète) avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France et Lionel Bringuier.

 

Dernières parutions : Chostakovitch avec l’Orchestre Mariinsky et Gergiev, l’Intégrale des Sonates de Beethoven avec Frank Braley et le Quintette de Schubert avec le Quatuor Ebène. Depuis 2007 Gautier Capuçon est l’ambassadeur de « Zegna & Music Project », fondé en 1997 comme activité philanthropique pour promouvoir la musique et ses valeurs. En octobre 2014 il crée la « Classe d’excellence de violoncelle » à la Fondation Louis Vuitton à Paris, dans le nouvel Auditorium conçu par Frank Gehry.

 

Il joue un Matteo Goffriler de 1701.

 

image

© M.Tammaro - Virgin Classics 

Frank Braley

 

Après avoir longtemps hésité entre études scientifiques et musicales, Frank BRALEY décide de quitter l’Université pour se consacrer entièrement à la musique. Au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris il suit les cours de Pascal DEVOYON, Christian IVALDI et Jacques ROUVIER, avant d’y obtenir, à l’unanimité, ses Premiers Prix de Piano et de Musique de Chambre. En 1991 il remporte le Premier Grand Prix et le Prix du Public du prestigieux Concours Reine Elisabeth de Belgique. Le public et la presse s’accordent à reconnaître en lui un « grand » lauréat, aux qualités musicales et poétiques exceptionnelles.

 

Régulièrement invité au Japon, aux U.S.A., au Canada et dans toute l’Europe, Frank BRALEY est partenaire de plus grands orchestres tel que l’Orchestre de Paris, l’Orchestre National de France, le Philharmonique de Radio-France, l’Ensemble orchestral de Paris, les Orchestres de Bordeaux, Lille, Montpellier et Toulouse, l’Orchestre National de Belgique, le Philharmonique de Liège, l’Orchestre du Gewandhaus de Leipzig, le Gürzenich Orchester de Cologne, le London Philharmonic, le BBC Wales Orchestra, le Royal National Scottish Orchestra, le Bournemouth Symphony, les Orchestres de la Suisse Romande et de la Suisse Italienne, l’Orchestre de la Radio de Berlin, le Rotterdam Philharmonic, le Göteborg Symphony, l’Orchestre Royal de Copenhague, le Göteborg Symphony Orchestra, le Tokyo Philharmonic, le Boston Symphony, le Baltimore Sympony, le Seattle Symphony, le Los Angeles Philharmonic… Il a joué sous la baguette de chefs comme J-C CASADESUS, Stéphane DENEVE, Charles DUTOIT, Armin JORDAN, Hans GRAF, Gunther HERBIG, Christopher HOGWOOD, Eliahu INBAL, Marek JANOWSKI, Kiril KARABITS, Emmanuel KRIVINE, Louis LANGREE, Kurt MASUR, Ludovic MORLOT, Paul Mc CREESH, Sir Yehudi MENUHIN, John NELSON, Michel PLASSON, Yutaka SADO, Michael SCHONWANDT, Antonio PAPPANO, Walter WELLER…

 

Frank BRALEY a effectué des tournées dans le monde entier : en Chine avec l’Orchestre National de France, au Japon et en Chine avec l’Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, en Italie avec l’Orchestre Français des Jeunes et l’Orchestra di Padova e del Veneto. Il a joué au Festival de Tanglewood (USA) avec le Boston Symphony dirigé par Hans GRAF et a participé à l’inauguration de la nouvelle salle de Carnegie Hall, le Zankel Hall, à New York avec l’Ensemble Intercontemporain.

Il remplace Martha Argerich au Proms à Londres avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France dirigé par Myung-Whung et se produit à Amsterdam et Paris avec le Chamber Orchestra of Europe et Bernard Haitink. Récemment il a joué à Paris, Pleyel avec l’Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne (Bach) et avec l’Orchestre National d’Ile de France (Mozart), aux Folles Journées à Nantes et au Japon, avec le Seattle Symphony et Ludovic Morlot (Mozart), puis cette saison avec l’Orchestre National de France et le Sao Paulo Symphonie dirigés par Stéphane Denève (Poulenc), avec le Hong-Kong Sinfonietta, le Séoul Philharmonic et Hans Graf, le New Japan Philharmonic, ainsi qu’avec son Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie en tournée.

 

En récital, il a joué à Paris, Londres, Vienne, Amsterdam, Bruxelles, Hanovre, Ferrare, et en duo avec Renaud CAPUÇON à Amsterdam, Athènes, Birmingham, Bonn, Bruxelles, Rome, Florence, Trieste, New York, Washington, Paris, Vienne… En musique de chambre il a pour partenaires Renaud et Gautier CAPUÇON, Maria Joao PIRES, Gérard CAUSSE, Eric LE SAGE, Paul MEYER, Emmanuel PAHUD…

 

Outre son activité régulière de soliste, il se passionne pour des projets originaux : il participe à une intégrale des Sonates pour piano de Beethoven, donnée au festival de La Roque d’Anthéron ainsi qu’à Rome, Bilbao, Lisbonne, Tokyo et au Brésil. Il donne l’Intégrale des Sonates pour violon et piano avec Renaud Capuçon à Paris (Théâtre des Champs-Elysées), Bordeaux, Grenoble, Chambéry, Lyon, ainsi qu’à Londres (Wigmore Hall), Luxembourg, Singapour, Hong-Kong…

image

© DR