Recital by Khatia Buniatishvili, Piano

monday 10 October 2016, 8.30 p.m.

Programme

 

Modest Mussorgski

Pictures at an Exhibition

 

Franz Liszt

3 études

La leggierezza

Feux follets

La Campanella

 

Franz Liszt - Vladimir Horowitz

Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2

 

Igor Stravinski

Petrushka (extracts)

 

 

Khatia Buniatishvili

piano

 

Khatia Buniatishvili was born in Batumi in 1987. She began studying piano at the age of five and gave her first concert with the Chamber Orchestra in Tbilisi at the age of six. At the age of ten she began to perform internationally. She studied in Vienna under Oleg Maisenberg. She has won the Tbilisi International Piano Competition and Arthur Rubinstein Piano Competition, among others.  

She regularly performs at major festivals: Saratoga (Philadelphia Orchestra), Aspen, Ravinia, Menuhin Festival Gstaad, Verbier, Progetto Martha Argerich in Lugano, Lockenhaus, Salzburg, Kronberg, Ruhr, Bad Kissingen, Rheingau, MDR Leipzig, Tbilisi Autumn Festival, Stresa, St Petersburg, La Roque d’Anthéron, Piano aux Jacobins in Toulouse, Folles Journées Nantes and Tokyo, Saint Denis, Montpellier, Menton, Strasbourg, and the London Proms.

In 2008, she made her Carnegie Hall début with Chopin’s Concerto No. 2. She has performed with the Israel Philharmonic and Kent Nagano and Zubin Mehta; St Petersburg Philharmonic; Russian National Orchestra (V. Petrenko); Gidon Kremer and his Kremerata Baltica (in Japan, Europe and Istanbul); Toulouse Orchestra and Tugan Sokhiev; Bordeaux Orchestra; Radio France Philharmonic in Madrid and Myung-Whun Chung; Orchestre de Paris with A. Boreyko and Paavo Järvi; Orchestre National de France and D. Gatti; Lyon National Orchestra and E. Inbal; London Symphony Orchestra and A. Orozco-Estrada; London Philharmonia Orchestra and Paavo Järvi; BBC Symphony Orchestra with K. Karabits and J. Bělohlávek; RAI Orchestra in Turin and Juraj Valcuha; Maggio Musicale Fiorentino; La Scala in Milan (G. Noseda); Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana (P. Inkinen); Lucerne Symphony; Verbier Festival Orchestra and Neeme Järvi and Charles Dutoit; Zurich Chamber Orchestra; NDR Sinfonie-Orchester Hamburg; Basel Chamber Orchestra (Kristjan Järvi); Frankfurt Radio Orchestra and Paavo Järvi; Munich Philharmonic; Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen; Deutsches Sinfonie Orchester; Munich Philharmonic (S. Bychkov); Sinfonia Varsovia with Maxim Vengerov; Vienna Symphony and P. Jordan and G. Noseda; Rotterdam Philharmonic with Andrey Boreyko; Finnish Radio Symphony; China Philharmonic; Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra; NHK Symphony Orchestra; Shanghai Symphony and Mikhail Pletnev; European Youth Orchestra and Vladimir Ashkenazy; San Francisco Symphony Orchestra with Jaap van Zweden and Vladimir Jurowski; Los Angeles Philharmonic with K. Urbanski; Seattle Symphony Orchestra with L. Morlot; Toronto Symphony Orchestra with D. Zinman, and Philadelphia Orchestra with Larry Foster.

 

Buniatishvili also gives recitals in Amsterdam, Athens, Barcelona, Baden-Baden, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Dortmund, Florence, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Luxembourg, Madrid, Munich, Paris, Prague, Rome, Singapore, Stockholm, Tokyo, Vancouver, Warsaw and Vienna, among other cities.

She plays chamber music with Renaud Capuçon, Truls Mørk, Sol Gabetta, Gidon Kremer, Emmanuel Pahud and Edgar Moreau, and duets on piano with her sister Gvantsa.

 

Buniatishvili won a scholarship from BSI bank. She was named a BBC New Generation Artist and regularly plays with all of the BBC orchestras. She won a BBT Award in London in 2010, was named a Rising Star for the 2011/2012 season by Musikverein and Konzerthaus in Vienna, and won the Echo Award in Berlin in 2012.

 

Discography: in trio with Gidon Kremer and Giedre Dirvanauskaite (ECM); in recital with Renaud Capuçon (Erato). Exclusive to Sony: a Liszt recital; a Chopin album (Concerto No. 2) with the Orchestre de Paris/Paavo Järvi; Motherland recital.  The Kaleidoscope recital is her latest release.

 

 

image

© Gavin Evans

Récital Khatia Buniatishvili, Piano

lundi 10 octobre 2016, 20h30

Programme

 

Modest Moussorgski

Tableaux d'une exposition

 

Franz Liszt

3 études

La leggierezza

Feux follets

La Campanella

 

Franz Liszt - Vladimir Horowitz

Rhapsodie hongroise n°2

 

Igor Stravinski

Petrouchka (extraits)

 

 

Kathia Buniatishvili

piano

 

Née à Batumi en 1987, Khatia Buniatishvili commence le piano à l’âge de 5 ans, donne son premier concert avec l’Orchestre de Chambre de Tbilissi à 6 ans et se produit à l’étranger à 10 ans. Elle se perfectionne par la suite à Vienne avec Oleg Maisenberg. Elle est lauréate de nombreux concours internationaux (Concours International de piano de Tbilissi, Concours Arthur Rubinstein, etc.)

Régulièrement elle est l’invitée des grands festivals : Saratoga (Philadelphia Orchestra), Aspen, Ravinia, Menuhin Festival Gstaad, Verbier, « Progetto Martha Argerich » de Lugano, Lockenhaus, Salzbourg, Kronberg, la Ruhr, Bad Kissingen, Rheingau, MDR Leipzig, Festival d’Automne de Tbilissi, Stresa, Saint-Petersbourg, La Roque d’Anthéron, Piano aux Jacobins à Toulouse, Folles Journées de Nantes et de Tokyo, Saint Denis, Montpellier, Menton, Strasbourg, Proms de Londres…

En 2008, débuts au Carnegie Hall de New-York avec le Concerto  n°2 de Chopin. Depuis, elle se produit avec l’Israel Philharmonic et Kent Nagano et Zubin Mehta, le Philharmonique de Saint-Pétersbourg, l’Orchestre National de Russie (V. Petrenko), Gidon Kremer et sa Kremerata Baltica (Japon, Europe, Istanbul…), les Orchestres de Toulouse et Tugan Sokhiev, Bordeaux, le Philharmonique de Radio France à Madrid et Myung-Whun Chung, l’Orchestre de Paris avec A. Boreyko et Paavo Järvi, l’Orchestre National de France et D. Gatti, l’Orchestre National de Lyon et E. Inbal, le London Symphony Orchestra et A. Orozco-Estrada, le Philharmonia de Londres et Paavo Järvi, le BBC Symphony avec K. Karabits et J. Bělohlávek, l’Orchestre de la RAI de Turin et Juraj Valcuha, le Mai Musical Florentin, la Scala de Milan (G.Noseda),  l’Orchestre de la Radio Suisse Italienne (P.Inkinen), le Symphonique de Lucerne, le Verbier Festival Orchestra et Neeme Järvi et Charles Dutoit, le Zurich Chamber Orchestra, le NDR Sinfonie-Orchester Hamburg, l’Orchestre de Chambre de Bâle (Kristjan Järvi), l’Orchestre de la Radio de Francfort et Paavo Järvi, le Philharmonique de Munich, la Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, le Deutsches Sinfonie Orchester, le Philharmonique de Munich (S. Bychkov), le Sinfonia Varsovia avec Maxim Vengerov, le Symphonique de Vienne et P. Jordan et G.Noseda, le Rotterdam Philharmonic avec Andrey Boreyko, le Finnish Radio Symphony, le China Philharmonic, Guangzhou Symphony, NHK Symphony Orchestra, Shanghai Symphony et Mikhail Pletnev, l’Europeen Youth Orchestra et Vladimir Ashkenazy, le San Francisco  Symphony avec Jaap van Zweden et Vladimir Jurowski, le Los Angeles Philharmonic avec K.Urbanski, le Seattle Symphony avec L. Morlot, le Toronto Symphony avec D. Zinman, le Philadelphia Orchestra avec Larry Foster, etc.

 

Khatia Buniatishvili se produit également en récital à Amsterdam, Athènes, Barcelone, Baden-Baden, Berlin, Bruxelles, Cologne, Dortmund, Florence, Francfort, Hambourg, Londres, Luxembourg, Madrid, Munich, Paris, Prague, Rome, Singapour, Stockholm, Tokyo, Vancouver, Varsovie, Vienne, etc.

En musique de chambre, elle collabore avec Renaud Capuçon, Truls Mørk, Sol Gabetta, Gidon Kremer, Emmanuel Pahud, Edgar Moreau et forme un duo pianos avec sa sœur Gvantsa.

 

Khatia Buniatishvili a bénéficié d’une bourse de la BSI. Elle a été  BBC New Generation Artist et collabore régulièrement avec tous les orchestres de la BBC. Elle est également lauréate des BBT Awards 2010 de Londres, nommée Rising Stars pour la saison 2011/2012 par le Musikverein et le Konzerthaus de Vienne et a reçu le ECHO Price 2012 à Berlin.

 

Discographie : chez ECM, en trio avec Gidon Kremer et Giedre Dirvanauskaite, chez Erato en récital avec Renaud Capuçon. En exclusivité chez Sony : un récital Liszt, un disque Chopin (Concerto n°2) avec l’Orchestre de Paris/Paavo Järvi, le récital Motherland.  Dernière parution : le récital Kaléidoscope.

 

 

image

© Gavin Evans