New Generation Piano Recital – Lukas Geniušas

thursday 3 November 2016, 8.30 p.m.

Programme

Frédéric Chopin

Etudes Op. 10 No. 1 à 12

Etudes Op. 25 No. 1 à 12

 

 

Lukas Geniušas

 

Born in Moscow in 1990, Lukas Geniušas began his studies of the piano at the age of five in the preparatory department of the Chopin Music College in Moscow, graduating with top honours in 2008.He was born into a family of musicians, a fact which played a major role in Lukas’ musical education, particularly through the mentorship of his grandmother, Vera Gornostaeva, a prominent teacher and professor at the Moscow Conservatory. This early development helped Lukas to win major competitions such as the Gina Bachauer Piano Competition in Utah, and Silver Medal at the Chopin International Piano Competition in 2010. Two years later he received the German Piano Award in Frankfurt am Main. A recent victory, and one of his most important, was Silver Medal at the XV Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow in 2015.

 

Lukas has performed with numerous orchestras including the Hamburg Symphony, Duisburg Symphony, BBC Scottish Symphony, St Petersburg Philharmonic, Kremerata Baltica, Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra in Katowice, Warsaw Philharmonic, and Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, under the batons of conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Yuri Temirkanov, Andrey Boreyko, Saulius Sondeckis, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Antoni Wit, Rafael Payare, Roman Kofman and Dmitry Liss to name but a few.

 

His international career has taken Lukas to prestigious venues and festivals throughout the world including the Rheingau, Ruhr and Lockenhaus Music Festivals, the Auditorium du Louvre and Wigmore Hall, as well as to Russia and South America.

 

Outstanding events from the 2015/2016 season included recitals at the Salle Gaveau and the London International Piano Series, as well as concerts with the NHK Symphony Orchestra — conducted by Tugan Sokhiev — and the Russian National Orchestra with Mikhaïl Pletnev. He recently played at the International Piano Festival of La Roque d'Anthéron and made his début at the Verbier Festival.

 

image

© DR

During the 2016/2017 season, he will return to the Sala Verdi in Milan and to the Mariinsky, and will perform in France at the Fondation Louis Vuitton, the Maison de la Radio and the Grands Interprètes in Lyon. Lukas is also slated to make his début with internationally renowned conductors and orchestras, including the Singapore Symphony Orchestra and Charles Dutoit, the Japan Philharmonic Orchestra and Alexander Lazarev, as well as the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France with Andrey Boreyko.

 

Lukas Geniušas explores a vast repertoire that spans from Baroque to contemporary music. His repertoire runs from Beethoven’s complete piano concerti to Hindemith’s Ludus Tonalis cycle. He also has a keen interest in Russian compositions by Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov and Prokofiev. This enthusiastic chamber music player also enjoys working on new pieces by modern composers, as well as reviving rarely performed repertoire. His tastes are reflected in his critically acclaimed discography, which includes the most recent recordings of all of Rachmaninov's preludes (Piano Classics), Emancipation of Consonance (works by Desyatnikov, Arzumanov and Ryuabov) and a CD of works for violin and piano with Aylen Pritchin (Melodiya). He has also previously recorded Etudes opus 20 and 25 by Chopin, works by Brahms, and Beethoven sonatas.

 

At the age of 15, Lukas Geniušas was awarded a Young Talents federal grant from the Russian Federation and two years later received the Gifted Youth of the 21st century grant. Since then he has received much recognition and a string of prizes for his talent, especially in his native Lithuania, where he regularly gives concerts. Since 2015, Lukas has taken part in a Canadian sponsorship programme called "Looking at the stars", which aims to bring classical music into places where people cannot attend concerts (prisons, hospitals, etc.).

 

For further information please contact:

 

Alison Phillips alison.phillips@kajimotomusic.com

 

KAJIMOTO Paris Liaison Office

5 Rue Barbette, 75003 Paris, France

tel: +33(0)1.42.19.92.65  fax: +33(0)1.42.19.92.12

Récital Piano nouvelle génération - Lukas Geniušas

jeudi 3 novembre 2016, 20h30

Programme

Frédéric Chopin

Etudes op. 10 n°1 à 12

Etudes op. 25 n°1 à 12

 

 

Lukas Geniušas

 

Né à Moscou en 1990, Lukas Geniušas commence ses études de piano à l’âge de 5 ans à l’école préparatoire du Chopin Music College de Moscou, d’où il sort diplômé avec les félicitations en 2008. Grandir dans une famille de musiciens a joué un grand rôle dans son éducation musicale, notamment sous la tutelle de sa grand-mère, Vera Gornostaeva, éminent  au Conservatoire de Moscou. Ce développement précoce lui permet de devenir le lauréat de plusieurs compétitions majeures, notamment le Concours Gina Bachauer en Utah, ainsi que la médaille d’argent au Concours Chopin en 2010. Deux ans plus tard, il devient lauréat du German Piano Award à Francfort-sur-le-Main. Sa victoire la plus récente, et l’une des plus importantes, est sa médaille d’argent au XVème Concours Tchaïkovski à Moscou en 2015.

 

Lukas Geniušas s’est produit avec de nombreux orchestres parmi lesquels les orchestres symphoniques de Hambourg, de Duisburg, de Birmingham et du BBC Scottish, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Saint-Pétersbourg, l’Orchestre du Théâtre Mariinsky, le Kremerata Baltica, l’Orchestre symphonique de la Radio polonaise à Katowice, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Varsovie et l’Orchestre symphonique de Trondheim. Il a collaboré avec Valery Gergiev, Yuri Temirkanov, Mikhaïl Pletnev, Andrey Boreyko, Saulius Sondeckis, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Antoni Wit, Rafael Payare, Roman Kofman, Dmitry Liss…

 

Suivant une carrière internationale, il a été invité dans des lieux et festivals prestigieux à travers le monde, ainsi aux festivals de Rheingau, de la Ruhr ou à Lockenhaus, à Piano aux Jacobins à Toulouse, à l’Auditorium du Louvre et au Wigmore Hall, ainsi qu’en Russie et en Amérique du Sud.

 

Parmi les grands moments de la saison 2015/2016, citons des récitals à la salle Gaveau et aux London International Piano Series, ainsi que des concerts avec le NHK Symphony Orchestra sous la direction de Tugan Sokhiev et l’Orchestre national de Russie avec Mikhaïl Pletnev. Il a récemment joué au Festival International de Piano de La Roque d’Anthéron et a fait ses débuts au Verbier Festival.

 

image

© DR

TARIFS

Au cours de la saison 2016/2017, il fera ses retours à la Sala Verdi de Milan et au Mariinsky et se produira en France à la Fondation Louis Vuitton, à la Maison de la Radio et aux Grands Interprètes à Lyon. Lukas fera aussi ses débuts avec des chefs et orchestres de renommée internationale dont l’Orchestre symphonique de Singapour et Charles Dutoit,  l’Orchestre philharmonique du Japon et Alexander Lazarev, ou encore l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto ou l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France avec Andrey Boreyko.

 

Lukas Geniušas explore un large éventail de répertoires, du baroque au contemporain. Son répertoire va des concertos pour piano de Beethoven au cycle Ludus Tonalis de Hindemith, en passant par le répertoire russe de Tchaïkovski, Rachmaninov et Prokofiev. Musicien de chambre passionné, il apprécie autant de travailler sur des œuvres nouvelles de compositeurs modernes que de raviver un répertoire rarement joué. Ses goûts se retrouvent dans une discographie acclamée par la critique dont les plus récents enregistrements sont l’intégrale des préludes de Rachmaninov (Piano Classics), « Emancipation of Consonance » (œuvres de Desyatnikov, Arzumanov et Ryuabov) et un CD d’œuvres pour violon et piano avec Aylen Pritchin (Melodiya). Auparavant, il avait déjà enregistré lesEtudes opus 20 et 25 de Chopin, des œuvres de Brahms et des sonates de Beethoven.

 

Lukas Geniušas a remporté à l’âge de 15 ans une subvention fédérale « Jeunes Talents » de la part de la Fédération Russe et bénéficié deux ans plus tard d’une subvention « Jeunesse Surdouée du 21ème siècle ». Il a depuis reçu beaucoup d’hommages et de prix en reconnaissance de son talent, notamment dans sa Lituanie natale, où il donne régulièrement des concerts. Depuis 2015, Lukas appartient au projet de mécénat canadien « Looking at the stars »  qui a pour vocation d’apporter la musique classique dans des lieux (prisons, hôpitaux, etc.) où les gens n’ont pas la possibilité de se rendre aux concerts.

 

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez contacter :

Alison Phillips alison.phillips@kajimotomusic.com

 

KAJIMOTO      Paris Liaison Office

5 Rue Barbette, 75003 Paris, France

tel: +33(0)1.42.19.92.65  fax: +33(0)1.42.19.92.12