New Generation Piano Recital  - Behzod Abduraimov

 

Thursday 7 December 2017, 8.30 p.m.

‘Fingers of fire’. That is how critics described the young Behzod Abduraimov. With training combining Russian, German and American traditions, the young Uzbek pianist won the 2009 London International Piano Competition. 

Drawing attention for his phenomenal presence and his jubilatory rhythmic energy, he is today an ambassador for piano and orchestra pieces, such as those of Liszt, including the monumental Sonata in B minor, and of Prokofiev. Reuniting these two rhythmicists in a single evening is not an easy exercise. Between the metaphysical examinations of Liszt’s Sonata in B minor, with its portrait of Goethe’s Faust and Mephistopheles, and the burning energy of Prokofiev’s Sonata No. 6, a serious challenge awaits Behzod Abduraimov.

 

PROGRAMME

 

Richard Wagner / arr. Franz Liszt

Isolde's Liebestod

 

Franz Liszt

Sonata in B minor S.178

 

----- entracte ------

 

Franz Schubert

Moment musical D. 780 n°2

 

Franz Schubert / arr. Franz Liszt

Valse Caprice n°6

 

Serge Prokofiev

Sonata n°6 op.82

image

Behzod Abduraimov

Piano

 

Described by The Times as the “master of all he surveys” and with The Washington Post noting to “keep your ear on this one”, Behzod’s captivating performances continue to receive international praise.

 

Recent seasons have seen Behzod work with leading orchestras worldwide, such as the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Boston Symphony, NHK Symphony and Leipzig Gewandhaus orchestras, and prestigious conductors including Valery Gergiev, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Manfred Honeck, Vasily Petrenko, James Gaffigan, Jakub Hrusa, Thomas Dausgaard and Vladimir Jurowski. Last season he made his debut with the Münchner Philharmoniker under Gergiev featuring in their new 360 degree Festival and subsequently made his BBC Proms debut with them.

 

Upcoming European highlights include the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, London Symphony, Munich Philharmonic, Frankfurt Radio, Philharmonia, Czech Philharmonic and earlier this season he appeared with NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester as part of the Elbphilharmonie opening. In recital he is one of the featured artists for the Junge Wilde series at the Konzerthaus Dortmund and will be presented in recital at the main halls of the Barbican, London and Concertgebouw, Amsterdam.

 

In North America this season’s recitals have included the Stern Auditorium following his debut success at Carnegie Hall in 2015, and for the Cliburn Concerts, Carolina Performing Arts, the Vancouver Recital series. He has appeared in concerts with the Houston Symphony and Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre symphonique de Montréal and Minnesota Orchestra, among others. This summer he will appear at the Hollywood Bowl, Blossom and Ravinia Festivals.  Forthcoming engagements include San Francisco Symphony and returns to Dallas and Atlanta Symphony Orchestras.

 

In 2017 Behzod will tour to Asia for performances with Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra, National Centre for the Performing Arts Orchestra, Beijing and Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra and also embark upon a recital tour of Australia.

 

An award-winning recording artist – his debut recital CD won both the Choc de Classica and the Diapason Découverte – Behzod released his first concerto disc in 2014 on Decca Classics which features Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No.3 and Tchaikovsky’s Concerto No.1 with the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della Rai under Juraj Valčuha.

 

Born in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, in 1990, Behzod began to play the piano at the age of five as a pupil of Tamara Popovich at Uspensky State Central Lyceum in Tashkent. He is an alumnus of Park University’s International Center for Music where he studied with Stanislav Ioudenitch, and now serves as the ICM’s artist-in-residence.

image

© Nissor Abdurazakov

Récital Piano Nouvelle Génération

Behzod Abduraimov

 

Jeudi 7 décembre 2017, 20h30

« Des doigts de feu » : Ainsi la presse spécialisée décrit-elle le jeune Behzod Abduraimov. Après une formation au croisement des traditions russe, allemande, américaine, le jeune pianiste ouzbèke a remporté le concours de Londres en 2009. 

Remarqué pour sa présence phénoménale et pour son énergie rythmique jubilatoire, il est aujourd’hui l’un des ambassadeurs d’un piano-orchestre, celui de Liszt – dont la monumentale Sonate en si mineur est au programme – et de Prokofiev. Réunir en une même soirée ces deux rythmiciens n’est pas exercice aisé. Entre les questionnements métaphysiques de la Sonate en si mineur placée sous le signe méphistophélique du Faust de Goethe, et l’énergie brûlante de la Sonate n° 6 de Prokofiev, deux défis d’envergure attendent Behzod Abduraïmov.

 

PROGRAMME

 

Richard Wagner / arr. Franz Liszt

Isolde's Liebestod

 

Franz Liszt

Sonate pour piano en si mineur S.178

 

----- entracte ------

 

Franz Schubert

Moment musical D. 780 n°2

 

Franz Schubert / arr. Franz Liszt

Valse Caprice n°6

 

Serge Prokofiev

Sonate n°6 op.82

image

Behzod Abduraimov

Piano

 

Les performances captivantes de Behzod Abduraimov, décrit par The Times comme le « maître absolu de tout ce qu’il entreprend » et au sujet duquel The Washington Post recommande de « garder une oreille attentive », continuent d’être acclamées à travers le monde.

 

Ces dernières saisons, Behzod a travaillé avec les plus grands orchestres au monde, tels que le Los Angeles Philharmonic, le Boston Symphony, le NHK Symphony et le Gewandhaus de Leipzig, ainsi que des chefs d’orchestre prestigieux dont Valery Gergiev, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Manfred Honeck, Vasily Petrenko, James Gaffigan, Jakub Hrusa, Thomas Dausgaard et Vladimir Jurowski. Au cours de la dernière saison, il joue pour la première fois avec le Münchner Philharmoniker sous la baguette de Valery Gergiev à l’occasion de leur nouveau festival 360°. L’orchestre l’accompagne ensuite pour ses débuts aux BBC proms. 

 

Parmi les temps forts à venir en Europe, Behzod travaillera avec le Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, le London Symphony, le Philharmonique de Munich, Frankfurt Radio, le Philharmonia et le Philharmonique tchèque. Il est apparu en début de saison aux côtés du NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester lors du concert d’ouverture de l’Elbphilharmonie. Il a participé à la série de récitals Junge Wilde au Konzerthaus de Dortmund et se produira en récital dans les grandes salles du Barbican à Londres et du Concertgebouw à Amsterdam.

 

Cette saison, en Amérique du Nord, il s’est produit en récital au Stern Auditorium après un début fructueux au Carnegie Hall en 2015, puis aux Cliburn Concerts, au centre Carolina Performing Arts, et à la série de récitals de Vancouver. Il a joué aux côtés du Houston Symphony et du Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal et du Minnesota Orchestra, entre autres. Cet été, il sera présent aux festivals de Hollywood Bowl, Blossom et Ravinia. Parmi ses engagements à venir figurent le San Francisco Symphony ainsi que les orchestres symphoniques de Dallas et d’Atlanta, aux côtés desquels il s’est déjà produit.

 

En 2017, Behzod sera en tournée en Asie avec l’orchestre symphonique Yomiuri du Japon, le National Centre for the Performing Arts Orchestra, ainsi que les orchestres philharmoniques de Pékin et de Séoul. Il se rendra également en Australie pour une tournée de récitals.

 

Artiste récompensé pour ses enregistrements (son premier CD de récitals a remporté à la fois le Choc de Classica et le Diapason Découverte), Behzod a sorti son premier disque de concertos en 2014 chez Decca Classics, avec au programme le Concerto pour piano n° 3 de Prokofiev et le Concerto n° 1 de Tchaïkovski, joués avec l’Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della Rai sous la direction de Juraj Valčuha.

 

Né à Tachkent en Ouzbékistan en 1990, Behzod a commencé le piano à l’âge de cinq ans avec Tamara Popovich à l’Uspensky State Central Lyceum, dans sa ville natale. Ancien élève de Stanislav Ioudenitch à l’International Center for Music de Park University, il est désormais artiste résident de l’ICM.

image

© Nissor Abdourazakov