New Generation Piano Recital

Giuseppe Guarrera

 

Friday 9 March 2018, 8.30 p.m.

Auditorium

Today’s Italian stages are witnessing the emergence of a new generation of soloists, artists who are earning renown in major international competitions and on iconic stages. Sicily’s Giuseppe Guarrera, who gained recognition at the Montreal and Manchester competitions, is one of these rising stars and has already played alongside performers such as Daniel Barenboim.

 

image

For his first Fondation recital, this young musician, now age 26, has chosen lyricism as his theme: the impassioned torment of Beethoven in the famed “Appassionata” Sonata No. 23 (1805), the Iberian exoticism of Liszt in his Rhapsodie espagnole (1863), and the intensity of Rachmaninoff in the Études-Tableaux (1917). There is no lack of daring in this choice to bring Beethoven, Liszt and Rachmaninoff together for one performance: each of these three composers pushed the modern piano to untried boundaries and redefined virtuosity, without ever forsaking melodic depth.

 

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonate n°23 op.57, Appassionata

 

Frédéric Chopin

Polonaise-fantaisie op.61

 

----- entracte -----

 

Sergei Rachmaninov

Études Tableaux op.39

 

Claude Debussy

Estampes

 

Franz Liszt

Rhapsodie espagnole

 

Prices

image

Giuseppe Guarrera

Piano

 

Born in Sicily in 1991, Giuseppe Guarrera is currently one of the first students of the Barenboim-Said Akademie in Berlin, where he is studying under the guidance of Nelson Goerner. He also studied with Giuseppe Cultrera, Siavush Gadjiev and Eldar Nebolsin at the “Hochschule fur Musik Hanns Eisler” in Berlin where he completed his Masters in 2016.

 

Mr. Guarrera has won prizes at international and national competitions including Second prize at the James Mottram International Piano Competition in Manchester in 2015 and First prize at the Concorso Pianistico Nazionale Premio Venezia in 2010. And most recently, Mr. Guarrera won six prizes & awards at the 2017 Concours musical international de Montréal including Second prize, People’s Choice Award, André Bachand Award for the compulsory Canadian work, Best Semifinal recital award, Bach and Chopin awards. As a soloist, he performed in numerous venues namely the Auditorio Sony in Madrid, Fenice Theater in Venice, Bob Boas Foundation in London, Giuseppe Verdi Theater in Trieste, Studio Flagey in Brussels, University Hall in Leeds, Northern College of Music In Manchester, Bologna Festival in Italy, Palazzo Ricci in Montepulciano, Pierre Boulez Saal in Berlin, Verbier Festival (Vendome prize) and Maison symphonique de Montréal, with major orchestras including Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Royal Philarmonic, Liverpool Philarmonic and Orchestra del Teatro la Fenice. In september 2017, Mr. Guarrera will perform with Daniel Barenboim and the Pierre Boulez Ensemble a world premiere, a new piano concerto written by Benjamin Attahir.

image

Récital Piano nouvelle génération

Giuseppe Guarrera

 

Vendredi 9 Mars 2018, 20h30

Auditorium

Les scènes italiennes voient aujourd’hui l’éclosion d’une nouvelle génération de solistes, qui s’illustrent dans les concours internationaux et sur les plus grandes scènes. Remarqué lors des compétitions de Montréal et de Manchester, le sicilien Giuseppe Guarrera est de ceux-là, lui qui a déjà pu jouer aux côtés d’interprètes tels que Daniel Barenboïm.



image

Pour son premier récital à la Fondation, le jeune musicien aujourd’hui âgé de 26 ans place son récital sous le sceau du lyrisme : tourments passionnés de Beethoven dans sa fameuse Sonate « Appassionata » (1805), exotisme ibérique de Liszt dans sa Rhapsodie espagnole (1863), emportement de Rachmaninov dans ses Études tableaux (1917). Rapprocher Beethoven, Liszt et Rachmaninov ne manque pas d’audace : chacun de ces trois compositeurs repoussa les limites du piano moderne et le seuil de la virtuosité, sans jamais délaisser la profondeur du chant.

 

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonate n°23 op.57, Appassionata

 

Frédéric Chopin

Polonaise-fantaisie op.61

 

----- entracte -----

 

Sergei Rachmaninov

Études Tableaux op.39

 

Claude Debussy

Estampes

 

Franz Liszt

Rhapsodie espagnole

 

TARIFS

image

Giuseppe Guarrera

Piano

 

Né en Sicile en 1991, Giuseppe Guarrera est actuellement l’un des premiers étudiants de la Barenboim-Said Akademie à Berlin, où il travaille sous la direction de Nelson Goerner. Il a également étudié avec Giuseppe Cultrera, Siavush Gadjiev et Eldar Nebolsin, à la Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler à Berlin, où il a obtenu son Master en 2016.

 

Giuseppe Guarrera a remporté de nombreux prix à des concours nationaux et internationaux, dont le Deuxième Prix du Concours International de piano James Mottram à Manchester en 2015, et le Premier Prix du Concorso Pianistico Nazionale Premio Venezia en 2010. Plus récemment, Giuseppe Guarrera s’est vu décerner six prix et récompenses au Concours Musical international de Montréal en 2017, dont le Deuxième Prix, le Prix du Public, le Prix André Bachand pour l’exercice canadien imposé, le prix du Meilleur Récital de demi-finale et les Prix Bach et Chopin. En tant que soliste, il a joué dans de nombreuses salles, comme l’Auditorio Sony à Madrid, le Théâtre Fenice à Venise, la Foundation Bob Boas à Londres, le Théâtre Giuseppe Verdi à Trieste, le Studio Flagey à Bruxelles, l’University Hall à Leeds, le Northern College of Music à Manchester, le Festival de Bologne en Italie, le Palazzo Ricci à Montepulciano, la salle Pierre Boulez à Berlin, le Festival de Verbier (Prix Vendôme) et la Maison symphonique de Montréal, avec de prestigieux orchestres dont l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, le Philarmonique Royal de Liverpool et l’Orchestre du Théâtre de la Fenice. En septembre 2017, Giuseppe Guarrera joue avec Daniel Barenboim et l’Ensemble Pierre Boulez, en première mondiale, un nouveau concerto pour piano écrit par Benjamin Attahir.

image