New Generation Piano Recital - Sélim Mazari

 

Friday 8 June 2018, 8.30 p.m.

French piano is currently experiencing a new golden age, which has seen the birth of a new generation of adventurous performers. One such performer is Sélim Mazari. 

Recognised by ADAMI as Best New Classical Music Performer, trained at the Paris Conservatory, the French pianist, a musical prodigy, has asserted his natural talent.  He is keen on the frenetic pace of Scarlatti’s Sonatas, which he wisely brings together with Debussy’s Images.  While the French composer was fascinated by the Orient (Descent of the moon upon the temple which used to be), he also drew inspiration from the Baroque reparatory, giving us Tribute to Rameau. Sélim Mazari will present a dual interpretation of Beethoven – with Sonata op. 31 No. 1, composed when he was nearly deaf, and with his penultimate sonata for piano, Sonata op. 110, composed some twenty years later – illustrating clearly the German composer’s progression towards a painful inner struggle.

 

 

PROGRAMMATION

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata n° 16, op.31 n°1 

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonate N°31 op.110 

 

-----entracte-----

 

Domenico Scarlatti

6 sonates

 

Claude Debussy

Images - Book I

Book II

 

prices

image

Sélim Mazari

Piano

 

 

Sélim Mazari studied with Brigitte Engerer at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris, receiving his degree in 2008. He then studied with Claire Désert, obtaining his Master’s degree in June 2013 with honours.

 

He also received precious guidance from professors and concert artists such as Rena Shereshevskaya, Jean-Claude Pennetier and Avedis Kouyoumdjian during master classes.

 

He has won numerous competitions, including the Concours International de Piano d'Île de France, the Flame Competition, Piano Campus 2013 (2nd Prize, prizes for Best Performance of a Contemporary Piece and Audience Choice). He won the Jury and Audience prizes from the Geneva Société des Arts in 2014.

 

Sélim has performed at numerous festivals, both in France and abroad, as a soloist and for concertos for orchestra. A lover of chamber music, he has participated in numerous projects with distinguished musicians such as Yo-Yo Ma, Henri Demarquette and Olivier Charlier, as well as with Juliette Hurel and Joséphine Olech, with whom he recorded the album Souvenirs de Hongrie.

 

In 2012, he was recognized as Best New Classical Musician by ADAMI, an award that allowed him to perform at Festival Pablo Casals in Prades, the Chorégies d’Orange and Bouffes du Nord Theatre.

 

He continued to train for two years with Dmitri Alexeev at the Royal College of Music in London and won the first Alain Marinaro Grand Prize at the Collioure International Piano Competition in June 2014. Sélim also won the Safran Prize in October 2014 and has been a laureate of Fondation Banque Populaire since May 2015.

 

He has continued his training at the University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna since 2015 with Avedis Kouyoumdjian.

image

© Thomas Bartel

Récital Piano Nouvelle Génération - Sélim Mazari

 

Vendredi 8 juin 2018, 20h30

Le piano français connaît actuellement un nouvel âge d’or, d’où émerge une jeune génération d’interprètes aventureux, parmi lesquels Selim Mazari. 

Révélation classique de l’ADAMI, formé au Conservatoire de Paris, le pianiste français, ancien enfant prodige, a su imposer son naturel confondant. Le rythme trépidant des Sonates de Scarlatti lui est cher, qu’il rapproche judicieusement des Images de Debussy : si le compositeur français fut fasciné par l’Orient (Et la lune descend sur le temple qui fut), il puisa aussi son inspiration dans le répertoire baroque, comme dans l’Hommage à Rameau. Entre un Beethoven marqué par la surdité lorsqu’il compose sa Sonate op. 31 n° 1 et la fulgurance, vingt ans plus tard, de son avant-dernière sonate pour le piano (Sonate op. 110), c’est à un autre type de trajet qu’invite Selim Mazari, où l’évolution grandissante du compositeur allemand vers une intériorité douloureuse se mesure avec évidence.

 

 

PROGRAMMATION

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonate n° 16, op.31 n°1 

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonate N°31 op.110 

 

-----entracte-----

 

Domenico Scarlatti

6 sonates

 

Claude Debussy

Images - Livre 1er

Livre II

 

tarifs

image

Sélim Mazari

Piano

 

 

Diplômé du Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris en 2008 dans la classe de Brigitte Engerer, Sélim Mazari obtient un Master en juin 2013 avec mention très bien, avec Claire  Désert...

 

Il reçoit également de précieux conseils de professeurs, concertistes, tels que Rena Shereshevskaya, Jean-Claude Pennetier, ou Avedis Kouyoumdjian lors de master-classes.

 

Il a été lauréat de nombreux compétitions, le Concours International de Piano d'ïle de  France,  le  concours FLAME,  Piano Campus 2013 (2nd prix, prix de la meilleure intreprétation de l'œuvre contemporaine et prix du public). Il est également en 2014 le choix du Jury et du Public  de la Société des Arts de Genève.

 

Il s’est déjà produit dans de nombreux festivals aussi bien en France qu’à l’étranger en soliste et pour des concertos avec orchestre. Amoureux de la musique de chambre, il a notamment participé à de nombreux projets avec de prestigieux musiciens tels que Yo-yo Ma, Henri Demarquette, Olivier Charlier, ainsi que Juliette Hurel et Joséphine Olech avec qui il a enregistré le disque Souvenirs de Hongrie.

 

En 2012, il est nommé Révélation classique de l'ADAMI, récompense lui permettant de jouer au Festival Pablo Casals à Prades, au Chorégies d'Orange et au Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord.

 

Il s’est perfectionné pendant deux ans auprès de Dmitri Alexeev au Royal College of Music de Londres et a remporté en juin 2014 le 1er Grand Prix Alain Marinaro au Concours International de Piano de Collioure. Il a également obtenu le Prix Safran en octobre 2014 et est lauréat de la Fondation Banque Populaire depuis mai 2015.

 

Depuis la rentrée 2015, il continue son perfectionnement à l’University of Music and Performing Arts de Vienne auprès d’Avedis Kouyoumdjian.

image

© Thomas Bartel