New Generation Piano Recital 

Seong-Jin Cho 

 

Friday 27 October 2017, 8.30 p.m.

A bridge between South Korea, his place of birth, and France, where he has trained at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris. That description serves as an outline for the career of Seong-Jin Cho. The portrait is completed with the myriad prizes, won at the most important competitions in the world: the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, and the International Chopin Competition in Warsaw, which awarded him First Prize in 2015! 

For this first appearance at Fondation Louis Vuitton, Seong-Jin Cho will bring together two of his favourite composers: Beethoven, the tormented composer of Sonata No. 8 op. 13, composed in 1799, and the assuaged composer of Sonata Op. 109, composed nearly twenty years later; and Chopin, and his Four Ballades. Lyrical, untamed or heart-rending, each of these pieces embodies an outpouring of romanticism.

 

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata n°8 op.13 ‘Sonata Pathétique’

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata n°30 op.109

 

----- pause -----

 

Frédéric Chopin

Ballades

 

prices

image

Seong-Jin Cho

Piano

 

Seong-Jin Cho garnered international acclaim in October 2015 by winning First Prize at the highly prestigious Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw, following in the footsteps of Martha Argerich, Krystian Zimerman, Maurizio Pollini, Rafa³ Blechacz and Li Yundi. In 2011, when he was barely 17, Seong-Jin won Third Prize at the International Tchaikovsky Competititon in Moscow.

 

Early 2016, Seong-Jin Cho signed an exclusive contract with the esteemed Deutsche Grammophon. Later that year, he released his interpretation of Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 1, with the London Symphony Orchestra directed by Gianandrea Noseda, and the Four Ballades. A second album devoted to Debussy is planned for 2017.

 

His playing is deeply poetic, subtle, tender, and expressive, with a technical mastery that is astonishing but never fulsome, his authoritative and natural sense of balance making him a great pianist. He has been invited as soloist by orchestras such as Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Liverpool Philharmonic, Mariinsky St. Petersburg, the Munich Philharmonic, Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra, Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra,  Czech Philharmonie, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Russian National Orchestra, Orchestra of Paris, NHK Symphony Orchestra, National Orchestra of Lyon, Santa Cecilia National Academy Orchestra, led by conductors such as Myung-Whun Chung, Gianandrea Noseda, Antonio Pappano, Marek Janowski, Mikhail Pletnev, Valery Gergiev, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Esa-Pekka Salonen and Yuri Temirkanov.

 

During the 2016/2017 season, Seong-Jin performed recitals at the main hall of Carnegie Hall and at Suntory Hall, Munich Herkulessaal, Birmingham Town Hall, KKL Luzern, and at the illustrious Piano Masters series hosted by the Royal Concertgebouw in Amsterdam.  He was one of the very first guest performers in recital at the new hall La Seine Musicale in Paris. He toured with the Russian National Orchestra and Mikhail Pletnev, and with the Philharmonia Orchestra and Esa-Pekka Salonen. 

 

During the 2017/2018 and 2018/2019 season, Seong-Jin Cho will be reunited with the London Symphony Orchestra and Gianandrea Noseda, perform for the first time in Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg alongside the NDR Orchestra directed by Krzysztof Urbañski, and play with Frankfurt Radio Symphony and its music director Andrés Orozco-Estrada, the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra and Gustavo Gimeno, the Detroit Symphony Orchestra and Leonard Slatkin, the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, the WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne, the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Kremerata Baltica, and Rotterdam Philharmonic. He will also perform at the Rencontres musicales d'Evian, tour with the Mariinsky and Valery Gergiev, and make his recital debuts at the Vienna Konzerthaus, Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris, the Kissinger Sommer music festival, the Rheingau Musik Festival, the Edinburgh International Festival, the Gstaad Menuhin Festival, and the Verbier Festival, before returning to Concertgebouw and the Festival de la Roque-d’Anthéron, among other venues across the globe.

 

Moving to Paris in 2012 to study with Michel Béroff, Seong-Jin previously studied in Seoul with S.R. Park and S.J. Shin. He began playing the piano at age six, and gave his first recital five years later. As a young pianist, he performed regularly in South Korea and Japan before taking to the world stage.

image

© Harald Hoffmann

Récital Piano nouvelle génération

Seong-Jin Cho 

 

Vendredi 27 octobre 2017, 20h30

Un pont entre la Corée du Sud – son pays d’origine – et la France, où il s’est formé au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris… Ainsi pourrait-on de prime abord décrire Seong-Jin Cho. Ce serait oublier une mosaïque de prix, remportés dans les plus grandes compétitions du monde : Tchaïkovski à Moscou, Frédéric-Chopin, qui le voit couronné en 2015, enfin ! 

Pour cette découverte à la Fondation Louis-Vuitton, Seong-Jin Cho a rapproché deux de ses musiciens d’élection : le Beethoven tourmenté de la Sonate n° 8 op. 13 (composée en 1799) et celui apaisé de la Sonate op. 109, composée près de vingt ans plus tard : le musicien allemand dialogue avec les quatre Ballades de Chopin. Lyrique, sauvage ou déchirante, chacune des pièces incarne l’épanchement romantique.

 

 

 

PROGRAMME

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonate n°8 op.13 « Pathétique »

 

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonate n°30 op.109

 

----- pause -----

 

Frédéric Chopin

Ballades

 

tarifs

image

Seong-Jin Cho

Piano

 

Seong-Jin Cho est révélé sur la scène internationale en octobre 2015 en remportant le Premier Prix du très prestigieux Concours Chopin de Varsovie qui avant lui avait consacré Martha Argerich, Krystian Zimerman, Maurizio Pollini, Rafal Blechacz ou Yundi Li. En 2011, alors qu’il a à peine 17 ans, il remporte un troisième prix au Concours Tchaïkovsky de Moscou.

 

En 2016, Seong-Jin Cho signe un contrat d’exclusivité avec le prestigieux label Deutsche Grammophon, et enregistre le 1er concerto de Chopin avec le London Symphony Orchestra dirigé par Gianandrea Noseda, et les 4 Ballades, pour une sortie fin 2016. Un deuxième disque consacré à Debussy sortira en novembre 2017.

 

Son jeu profondément empreint de poésie, à la fois sobre, tendre, et expressif, sa maîtrise technique époustouflante mais jamais démonstrative, son sens magistral et naturel de l’équilibre font déjà de lui un grand. Il est invité comme soliste par des orchestres comme le Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, le Philharmonia Orchestra, le London Symphony Orchestra, le Liverpool Philharmonic, le Mariinsky de St Petersbourg, le Münchner Philharmoniker, l’Orchestre Symphonique de la Radio de Berlin, le Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, la Philharmonie Tchèque, le Budapest Festival Orchestra, le Danish National Symphony Orchestra, l’Orchestre National de Russie, l’Orchestre de Paris, la NHK de Tokyo, l’Orchestre National de Lyon, la Santa Cecilia de Rome, dirigés par des chefs tels que Myung-Whun Chung, Gianandrea Noseda, Antonio Pappano, Marek Janowski, Mikhail Pletnev, Valery Gergiev, Yannick Nézet-Seguin, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Esa-Pekka Salonen ou Youri Temirkanov.

 

Lors de la saison 2016/2017, Seong-Jin se produit en récital dans la grande salle du Carnegie Hall ainsi qu’à Suntory Hall, à la Herkulessaal de Munich, au Town Hall de Birmingham, au KKL de Lucerne ou dans la très prestigieuse série Piano Masters du Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam. Il est l’un des tout premiers invités en récital de la nouvelle salle ‘La Seine Musicale” à Paris. Il part en tournée avec l’Orchestre National de Russie et Mikhail Pletnev ainsi qu’avec le Philharmonia Orchestra et Esa-Pekka Salonen. 

 

Lors de la saison 2017/2018 et 2018/2019, Seong-Jin Cho retrouvera le London Symphony Orchestra et Gianandrea Noseda, découvrira la grande salle de la Elbphilharmonie de Hambourg aux côtés de l’Orchestre de la NDR dirigé par Krszysztof Urbanski, jouera avec l’Orchestre de la Radio de Francfort et son directeur musical Andrés Orozco-Estrada, avec l’Orchestre de la Radio Finlandaise et Gustavo Gimeno, le Detroit Symphony Orchestra et Leonard Slatkin, le St Louis Symphony Orchestra, l’Orchestre de la WDR de Cologne, le Philadelphia Orchestra, la Kremerata Baltica, le Rotterdam Philharmonic. Il jouera également aux Rencontres Musicales d’Evian, partira en tournée avec le Mariinsky et Valéry Gergiev, fera ses débuts en récital au Konzerthaus de Vienne, à la Fondation Louis Vuitton à Paris, au festival de Bad Kissingen, au festival de Rheingau, au Festival international d’Edimbourg, au Festival Menuhin de Gstaad, ou au Festival de Verbier, il retournera au Concertgebouw ainsi qu’au Festival de la Roque d’Anthéron, parmi d’autres nombreux lieux à travers le monde.

 

Installé à Paris depuis 2012 où il étudie auprès de Michel Béroff ,Seong-Jin a étudié à Séoul auprès de. S.R. Park et S.J. Shin. Il commence la piano à l’âge de 6 ans et donne son premier récital 5 ans plus tard. Depuis lors, il s’est régulièrement produit en Corée et au Japon avant que sa carrière ne prenne une dimension internationale.

image

© Harald Hoffmann