Yundi recital, piano

17 JUNE 2016, 8.30 PM

image

In 2000, at just eighteen, Chinese pianist Yundi won the prestigious International Chopin Piano Competition, Warsaw, and embarked on a brilliant career.

 

A major star in China, he also enjoys widespread popularity in the West, and performs equally impressively in recitals as he does with the world's finest orchestras, such as the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Wiener Philharmoniker, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra of Amsterdam, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Philadelphia Orchestra, and the Marinsky Orchestra.

 

His passionate temperament and the introspective side to his character make Yundi the ideal performer of Frédéric Chopin's music. A guest of the Fondation Louis Vuitton as part of the Bentu exhibition, he will star as a soloist in this concert of works by his favourite composer.

 

The 24 Preludes, a series of subtle musical miniatures, will be followed by the four Ballades, described by Baudelaire as "melodies as light and passionate as a splendid bird swooping over the horrors of an abyss".

Length: 90 minutes without intermission (short break)

 

Frédéric Chopin

 

24 Preludes, Op. 28 (40 min)

 

1. in C major. Agitato

2. in A minor. Lento

3. in G major. Vivace

4. in E minor. Largo

5. in D major. Molto allegro

6. in B minor. Lento assai

7. in A major. Andantino

8. in F-sharp minor. Molto agitato

9. in E major. Largo

10. in C-sharp minor. Molto allegro

11. in B major. Vivace

12. in G-sharp minor. Presto

13. in F-sharp major. Lento

14. in E-flat minor. Allegro

15. in D-flat major. Sostenuto "The raindrop"

16. in B-flat minor. Presto con fuoco

17. in A-flat major. Allegretto

18. in F minor. Molto allegro

19. in E-flat major. Vivace

20. in C minor. Largo

21. in B-flat major. Cantabile

22. in G minor. Molto agitato

23. in F major. Moderato

24. in D minor. Allegro appassionato

 

                                                               ------ Short break (5/10 min) ------

Ballade No. 1, Op. 23

Ballade No. 2, Op. 38

Ballade No. 3 , Op. 47

Ballade No. 4, Op. 52

Ticket: 60€

 

Fondation Member ticket: 35€

 

YUNDI

 

Yundi was propelled onto the international stage when he won first prize at the 14th International Chopin Piano Competition at the age of 18, becoming the youngest and first Chinese winner in the history of the renowned competition. Since then, he has been regarded as a leading exponent of Chopin’s music. In recognition of his contribution to Polish culture, the Government of Poland presented a Gold Medal for Merit to Culture ‘Gloria Artis’ to Yundi in 2010. He maintains a strong connection with Poland and will sit on the jury of the 17th Chopin Competition in 2015.

 

On his regular recital tours, Yundi performs at such prestigious venues as Carnegie Hall (New York), Royal Festival Hall (London), Berliner Philharmoniker, Alte Oper (Frankfurt), Herkulessaal (Munich), Gewandhaus Leipzig, Salle Pleyel (Paris), Moscow International House of Music, Mariinsky Concert Hall (St Petersburg), National Centre for the Performing Arts (Beijing), Seoul Arts Center and Suntory Hall (Tokyo). Orchestras and conductors with whom he has collaborated include the Berliner Philharmoniker and Seiji Ozawa, Leipzig Gewandhausorchester and Riccardo Chailly, Mahler Chamber Orchestra and Daniel Harding, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Philharmonia Orchestra and Andrew Davis, Mariinsky Orchestra and Valery Gergiev, and the Israel Philharmonic and Gustavo Dudamel. He has also performed with the Vienna Philharmonic, National Symphony Orchestra (Washington), Philadelphia Orchestra, Toronto Symphony Orchestra and NHK Symphony Orchestra.

 

Yundi is a household name and has a huge following in his native China. In the 2013/14 season, he embarked on a 35-city recital tour of the country, bringing classical music to provincial capitals as well as second- and third-tier cities. In addition to his activities on the concert platform, Yundi is also passionate about humanitarian work. He is an ambassador of the Red Cross Society of China and Environmental and City Image Ambassador for his hometown of Chongqing. Equally committed to promoting classical music in an educational context, Yundi is one of the pioneers of musical education in China, where his success story has inspired millions of children learning the piano. He has also given masterclasses at the Royal College of Music, University of Cambridge and Qinghua University in Beijing. In Autumn 2012, he was appointed Associate Dean and Professor of the Piano Faculty at the Sichuan Conservatory of Music, the youngest member of the faculty to achieve the status.

 

Yundi has an extensive discography on Deutsche Grammophon and EMI Classics. In 2007, he became the first Chinese pianist to record live with the Berliner Philharmoniker and Seiji Ozawa. This Deutsche Grammophon disc met with rave reviews and was named ‘Editor’s Choice’ by Gramophone magazine. For EMI Classics, he recorded the complete Chopin Nocturnes, Live in Beijing and Red Piano, an album celebrating piano music written by Chinese composers. Yundi’s most recent CD on Deutsche Grammophon pairs Beethoven’s ‘Emperor’ concerto (Berliner Philharmoniker / Daniel Harding) with Schumann’s Fantasie in C; this follows a disc of three of Beethoven’s piano sonatas. Future recording plans include further discs of Chopin.

 

Born in Chongqing, Yundi began piano studies at age seven. He subsequently trained at the Shenzhen Arts School and Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover.

Récital Yundi, Piano

17 JUIN 2016, 20H30

image

Vainqueur en 2000 du légendaire Concours Chopin de Varsovie, le pianiste chinois Yundi débute à l’âge de dix-huit ans seulement une carrière des plus brillantes dans le sillage de cette distinction.

 

Véritable star en Chine, il bénéficie également en Occident d’une large popularité, et se produit aussi bien en récital qu’avec les plus prestigieux orchestres de la planète tels que le Berliner Philharmoniker, le Wiener Philharmoniker, le Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam, le London Symphony Orchestra, le Philadelphia Orchestra, ou encore l’orchestre du Mariinsky.

 

Son tempérament passionné et son côté introspectif font de Yundi l’interprète idéal de Frédéric Chopin. Invité à la Fondation Louis Vuitton dans le cadre de l’exposition Bentu,  c’est en soliste qu’il sert à l’occasion de ce concert les œuvres de son compositeur de prédilection.

 

Aux 24 Préludes, sortes d’instantanés musicaux où règne le demi-mot, feront suite les quatre Ballades, dont la musique « légère et passionnée - selon les termes de Baudelaire, ressemble à un brillant oiseau voltigeant sur les horreurs d’un gouffre ».

Durée : 1h30 sans entracte (courte pause)

 

Frédéric Chopin

 

24 Preludes, Op. 28 (40’)

 

1. en ut majeur. Agitato

2. en la mineur. Lento

3. en sol majeur. Vivace

4. en mi mineur. Largo

5. en ré majeur. Allegro molto

6. en si mineur. Lento assai

7. en la majeur. Andantino

8. en fa dièse mineur. Molto agitato

9. en mi majeur. Largo

10. en ut dièse mineur. Allegro molto

11. en si majeur. Vivace

12. en sol dièse mineur. Presto

13. en fa dièse majeur. Lento

14. en mi bémol mineur. Allegro

15. en ré bémol majeur. Sostenuto « La goutte d'eau »

16. en si bémol mineur. Presto con fuoco

17. en la bémol majeur. Allegretto

18. en fa mineur. Allegro molto

19. en mi bémol majeur. Vivace

20. en ut mineur. Largo

21. en si bémol majeur. Cantabile

22. en sol mineur. Molto agitato

23. en fa majeur. Moderato

24. en ré mineur. Allegro appassionato

 

                                                               ------ Courte pause (5/10min) ------

Ballade No. 1, Op. 23

Ballade No. 2, Op. 38

Ballade No. 3 , Op. 47

Ballade No. 4, Op. 52

 

Tarif concert : 60 €

 

Tarif concert membre Fondation : 35€

 

YUNDI

 

Né à Chongqing, YUNDI commence le piano à sept ans. Par la suite il se forme à l’Institut d’Art de Shenzhen et à Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hannover.

 

A l’âge de 18 ans, Yundi se fait connaître sur la scène internationale, étant à la fois le premier Chinois et la plus jeune personne dans l’histoire de cette fameuse compétition à remporter le 1er prix au 14ème Concours International de piano Chopin. Depuis, il est considéré une figure centrale sur la musique de Chopin. En reconnaissance à sa contribution à la culture Polonaise, le gouvernement Polonais a remis à YUNDI la médaille d’or du Mérite Culturel ‘Gloria Artis’ en 2010. Il entretient un lien important avec la Pologne et fera partie du jury pour la 17ème Compétition Chopin en 2015.

 

Lors de ses tournées régulières de récitals, YUNDI joue dans de prestigieuses salles telles que Carnegie Hall (New York), Royal Festival Hall (Londres), Philharmonie de Berlin, Vieil Opéra de Francfort, Herkulessaal (Munich), Gewandhaus zu Leipzig, Salle Pleyel (Paris), Maison Internationale de Musique de Moscou, Théâtre Mariinsky (St. Pétersbourg), Centre National des Arts du Spectacle (Pékin), Centre des Arts de Seoul and Suntory Hall (Tokyo). Il a collaboré avec des orchestres et des chefs d’orchestres dont Berliner Philharmoniker et Seiji Ozawa, Leipzig Gewandhausorchester et Riccardo Chailly, Mahler Chamber Orchestra et Daniel Harding, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Rotterdam et Yannick Nézet-Séguin, l’Orchestre Philharmonia et Andrew Davis, l’Orchestre Mariinsky et Valery Gergiev, et l’Orchestre philharmonique d'Israël et Gustavo Dudamel. Il a aussi joué avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Vienne, le National Symphony Orchestra (Washington), l’Orchestre de la Philadelphie, l’orchestre symphonique de Toronto et l’orchestre Symphonique de la NHK.

 

YUNDI est très connu et suscite beaucoup d’enthousiasme dans son pays natal, la Chine. Dans la saison 2013/14, il a entrepris une tournée de récitals dans 35 villes Chinoises, apportant de la musique classique à des capitales provinciales ainsi qu’à des villes de deuxièmes et troisièmes rangs. En outre de sa présence sur scène, YUNDI est aussi passionné de travail humanitaire. Il est ambassadeur de la Croix-Rouge Chinoise et ambassadeur d’Environnement et Image pour sa ville natale Chongqing. Egalement engagé à promouvoir la musique classique dans un contexte pédagogique, YUNDI est un innovateur de l’éducation musicale en Chine, où sa réussite a inspiré des millions d’enfants à apprendre le piano. Il a aussi donné des Masterclasses au Royal College of Musique (Université de Cambridge) et à l’Université de Qinghua à Pékin. En automne 2012, il a été nommé Doyen Adjoint et Professeur de la Faculté de Piano au Conservatoire de Musique de Sischuan. Il fut le plus jeune membre de la faculté à recevoir ce statut.

 

YUNDI a une discographie impressionnante sur Deutsche Grammophon et EMI Classics. Il est devenu le premier pianiste Chinois à enregistrer en direct avec la Philharmonie de Berlin et Seiji Ozawa en 2007. Ce disque de Deutsche Grammophon a reçu de grands éloges et fut nommé ‘Choix de l’Editeur’ par le magazine ‘Gramophone’. Pour EMI Classics, il a enregistré l’oeuvre intégrale des Nocturnes de Chopin, Live in Beijing et Red Piano, un album qui célèbre la musique pour piano de compositeurs Chinois. Son CD le plus récent avec Deutsche Grammophon paire le concerto ‘Emperor’ de Beethoven (Berliner Philharmoniker / Daniel Harding) avec Fantasie de Schumann en C ; ce disque vient à la suite d’un disque de trois sonates de piano de Beethoven. Il envisage enregistrer davantage de disques consacrés à Chopin.