SEIJI OZAWA INTERNATIONAL ACADEMY SWITZERLAND

in residence at the Fondation Louis Vuitton

 

Teachers of the Academy

image

© Nicolas Lieber

Sadao Harada

 

As the founder and mentor of the Tokyo String Quartet, with which he played for 30 years, he led it to world prominence. During this time the quartet won many awards for its exceptional technical command and dynamic performance style. Harada began studying music under his father, and at the age of 11 continued his musical training with Hideo Saito. He was the youngest principal cellist of the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra prior to moving to the United States, where he attended the Juilliard School, and in 1969 he founded the Tokyo String Quartet. Since 1999 Harada has maintained a busy international career as an acclaimed soloist, teacher and chamber musician. Sadao Harada is currently a professor at the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik in Trossingen, Germany.

image

© Nicolas Lieber

Nobuko Imai

 

 

Nobuko Imai is considered to be one of the most outstanding violists of our time. After finishing her studies at the Toho School of Music, Yale University and the Juilliard School, she won the highest prizes at both the prestigious international competitions in Geneva and Munich.

Imai, formerly a member of the esteemed Vermeer Quartet, combines a distinguished international solo career with various teaching commitments. She has appeared with many of the world's most prestigious orchestras including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Royal Concertgebow, the London Symphony and Chicago Symphony. As a keen chamber musician, Imai has performed with prominent artists such as Gidon Kremer, Midori, Isaac Stern, Mischa Maisky and Martha Argerich. In 2003 she formed the Michelangelo Quartet, which quickly gained an international reputation and is now recognised as one of the finest quartets in the world. Nobuko Imai has dedicated a large portion of her artistic activities to exploring the vast potential of the viola.

Imai returns to Japan several times a year to perform as a soloist and for the annual Viola Space project. In 1995/96 she was artistic director of three Hindemith Festivals, at London’s Wigmore Hall, Columbia University in New York, and at the Casals Hall in Tokyo. In 2009 she founded the Tokyo International Viola Competition, the first international competition in Japan exclusively for viola. From 1983 to 2003 Imai taught at the Detmold Academy of Music, and is currently professor at the Geneva University of Music and at the Amsterdam Conservatory, as well as Kronberg International Academy and Ueno Gakuen University in Tokyo.

image

© Nicolas Lieber

Pamela Frank

 

 

Pamela Frank was introduced to music at an early age by her parents, both professional pianists. She took up the violin at the age of five. After studying with Shirley Givens, she continued her musical education with Szymon Goldberg and Jaime Laredo. In 1989 she graduated from the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia. Frank has gained a remarkable international reputation across an increasingly varied range of performing activity. As a soloist, she has appeared with countless leading orchestras around the world. She made her debut with a recital at Carnegie Hall in 1995, and triumphed in a cycle of Beethoven sonatas, performed with her father, Claude Frank, at London’s Wigmore Hall in 1997. Frank is particularly passionate about chamber music and has played with musicians such as Yo-Yo Ma, Tabea Zimmermann and Peter Serkin.

She has been a guest at major festivals including Marlboro, Salzburg and Edinburgh. Frank has also participated in several of the Isaac Stern chamber music seminars at Carnegie Hall. In 1999 she received the Avery Fisher Prize, the highest award for US musicians.

SEIJI OZAWA INTERNATIONAL ACADEMY SWITZERLAND

en résidence à la Fondation Louis Vuitton

 

Les professeurs de l’Académie

image

© Nicolas Lieber

Sadao Harada

 

En tant que fondateur et mentor du Tokyo String Quartet qu’il a animé pendant 30 ans, il a acquis une réputation mondiale et a récolté de nombreuses récompenses tant pour sa maîtrise technique exceptionnelle que pour le dynamisme de ses interprétations. Il étudie tout d’abord la musique avec son père et, à l’âge de onze ans, suit une formation musicale chez le maître Hideo Saito. Il devient ainsi le plus jeune violoncelliste de l’Orchestre symphonique de Tokyo. Il rejoindra ensuite la Juilliard School aux États-Unis et fondera en 1969 le Tokyo String Quartet. Depuis 1999, il poursuit une carrière internationale très intense, comme soliste ovationné, pédagogue sollicité et chambriste renommé. Il enseigne à la Staatliche Hochschule für Musik de Trossingen en Allemagne.

image

© Nicolas Lieber

Nobuko Imai

 

Nobuko Imai est considérée comme l’une des altistes contemporaines les plus remarquables. Après avoir achevé ses études à la Toho School of Music, à l’université de Yale et à la Juilliard School, elle a remporté les premiers prix des concours internationaux de Genève et de Munich.

Nobuko Imai, qui a été membre du célèbre Vermeer Quartet conjugue une carrière solo internationale et plusieurs postes d’enseignement. Elle s’est produite avec de nombreux orchestres prestigieux dont le Philarmonique de Berlin, le Royal Concertgebow, le London Symphony et le Chicago Symphony. Chambriste renommée, elle a joué avec divers artistes de premier plan tels que Gidon Kremer, Midori, Isaac Stern, Mischa Maisky et Martha Argerich. En 2003, elle crée le Michelangelo Quartet qui a très vite acquis une réputation internationale et qui fait maintenant partie des plus célèbres quatuors au monde. Nobuko Imai a consacré une grande partie de ses activités artistiques à l’exploration du vaste potentiel de l’alto.

Nobuko Imai retourne au Japon plusieurs fois par an pour se produire comme soliste, notamment dans le cadre du projet ‘Viola Space’. En 1995/1996, elle fut directrice artistique de trois festivals Hindemith, au Wigmore Hall (Londres) à l’université de Columbia (New York) et au Casals Hall (Tokyo). En 2009, elle a créé le premier concours international du Japon exclusivement dédié à l’alto, le Tokyo International Viola Competition. De 1983 à 2003, elle a enseigné à la Detmold Academy of Music et est aujourd’hui professeur dans les conservatoires de Genève et d’Amsterdam ainsi qu’à la Kronberg International Academy et à l’université Ueno Gakuen (Tokyo).

image

© Nicolas Lieber

Pamela Frank

 

Dès sa plus tendre enfance, Pamela Frank a baigné dans la musique, grâce à ses parents, pianistes professionnels. Elle a commencé ses études de violon à l’âge de cinq ans. Après avoir été l’élève de Shirley Givens, elle a poursuivi sa formation avec Szymon Goldberg et Jaime Laredo. En 1989, elle est diplômée du Curtis Institute of Music de Philadelphie. Elle a acquis une réputation internationale remarquable, en développant sa carrière d’interprète toujours plus largement. Comme soliste, elle ne compte plus ses engagements avec les plus grands orchestres du monde. Elle a fait ses débuts au Carnegie Hall lors d’un récital en 1995 et a triomphé dans un cycle de sonates de Beethoven avec son père, Claude Frank, au Wigmore Hall de Londres en 1997. Elle cultive une passion particulière pour la musique de chambre, partagée avec des musiciens comme Yo-Yo Ma, Tabea Zimmermann, Peter Serkin.

Elle a été l’hôte des grands festivals que sont Marlboro, Salzbourg ou Edinburgh. Elle a également participé à plusieurs des séminaires de musique de chambre d’Isaac Stern à Carnegie Hall. En 1999, elle a reçu le Avery Fisher Prize, plus haute distinction accordée à des interprètes américains.