Seiji Ozawa International Academy Switzerland

 

Masterclasses

 

16 april 2016

image

 

 

 

 

AUDITORIUM

On 16 April 2016, the Fondation Louis Vuitton will be again playing host to the Seiji Ozawa International Academy Switzerland. On the agenda is a masterclass open to the public featuring a string quartet directed by Sadao Harada and an open orchestra rehearsal conducted by Seiji Ozawa.

 

Calendar

 

Saturday 16 April 2016 - Public Masterclasses

- 4 pm-6 pm, Conducted by Sadao Harada: String quartet

Brahms, Mendelssohn, Tchaïkovsky

 

- 6.30-7 pm, Conducted by Seiji Ozawa: Chamber Orchestra

Bach, slow movement from the Concerto for Two Violins

Seiji Ozawa International Academy Switzerland

 

"It is fascinating to see how young artists progress in such little time.”

Seiji Ozawa

 

Seiji Ozawa's passion for teaching inspired him to found the International Music Academy – Switzerland in 2004, in Rolle, near Geneva. Since 2011 it has been known as the Seiji Ozawa International Academy Switzerland.

 

image

Seiji Ozawa's approach

Seiji Ozawa believes that playing chamber music, particularly in a string quartet, is essential. He sees the string quartet as the very essence of music. Composers give the best of themselves, with nothing superfluous or florid. Working with a string quartet means going into the finest details of the style and intentions of the music's composer. This learning process is an essential step for young virtuosos who wish to become high profile artists.

 

Selection

There is a very strict selection process for these musicians, who are called upon to practice their art at the highest level. Under the stewardship of Blanche d’Harcourt, the Academy's director, and with the participation of Julien Szulman and Agata Szymczewska, former students at the Academy, the selection committee seeks out new young talents from the major European conservatories and international competitions to take part in auditions throughout the year. Then the final group of students is named by Seiji Ozawa, the artistic directors and the teachers.

 

Teachers

The goal of the Academy is to hone the skills of the most talented young instrumentalists, which can only be achieved by working together and respecting the high standards of the very best teachers. In order to do this, the Academy employs teachers, all of them performers, whose international reputations come hand in hand with many years of musical teaching experience. They include Pamela Frank, Nobuko Imai and Sadao Harada.

 

Academy

The quartets are formed based on mutual affinity, as a result of discussions among Seiji Ozawa, the teachers, the instrumentalists and the artistic department, taking into account the style, tone and temperament of each musician. Students work with each of the teachers in turn, in the presence of Seiji Ozawa, in conditions that foster the transmission of unique expertise.

 

Concerts

Seiji Ozawa leads all the students for open rehearsals, to which he invites the public from Rolle as well as guests of the Academy. A series of concerts given in prestigious venues such as Victoria Hall in Geneva or the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris and the “Seiji Ozawa Hall” in Tanglewood, MA, USA completes the work of the Academy. A concert is also presented for residents of the Fondation Aigues-Vertes.

 

During the year

The artistic team shows outstanding commitment and advises young musicians, while the Geneva office oversees the organization and management of the Academy.

image

Seiji Ozawa

 

"Teaching is like a drug! Once you start, you cannot stop. Working with young musicians at a very high level fills me with joy. "

 

Seiji Ozawa has had an extremely impressive career. He was born in China to Japanese parents on 1 September 1935. But the Toho music school in Tokyo was where he trained in Western music. His first master, Hideo Saito, conferred to him the basic essential techniques, which then allowed Ozawa to travel to Europe and the United States, the origins of the Western music repertoire he had studied.

 

In 1959 he was awarded First Prize in the Besançon Competition for Young Conductors. From that point, his career took flight. Charles Münch invited him to conduct the Boston Symphony Orchestra in Tanglewood. Then Seiji Ozawa received teaching from Herbert von Karajan in Berlin before intensifying his training with Leonard Bernstein, a man who Ozawa calls a "genius". Bernstein had Ozawa join the New York Philharmonic Orchestra for its tour in Japan.

 

During his "American" years, Seiji Ozawa directed the Toronto Symphony Orchestra from 1965 to 1969, before being appointed conductor of the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra in 1970, a position he held until 1976. He fulfilled this role while being the official conductor of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, which he led until 2001.

 

Back in Europe, where he was musical director of the Vienna Opera from 2002 to 2010, Seiji Ozawa went on fostering his ties with Japan. He founded the Saito Kinen Orchestra in 1984 as a tribute to his teacher Hideo Saito.

 

The orchestra brings together instrumentalists from the most prestigious Western orchestras every summer for the Saito Kinen Festival in Matsumoto. In parallel, twice a year the Maestro leads the Mito Chamber Orchestra, which was founded in 1990 and features around thirty top level musicians.

 

The musical education of young artists is the focus of all his efforts. Seiji Ozawa is responsible for founding several academies: the Ozawa International Chamber Music Academy Okushiga and the Ongaku-Juku Academy in Japan, as well as the International Music Academy - Switzerland (IMAS) in Geneva, which has been known since 2011 as the Seiji Ozawa International Academy Switzerland.

 

Ever loyal to his audiences, Seiji Ozawa devotes his immense talent to his legendary performances, which make him one of this century's greatest conductors.

Sadao Harada

Teacher

 

As the founder and mentor of the Tokyo String Quartet that he has led for 30 years, Sadao Harada has established a worldwide reputation and has collected countless awards as much for his exceptional technical mastery as for the dynamism of his performances.

 

He started out studying music with his father, and at the age of 11 studied music with the master Hideo Saito. He then became the youngest cellist in the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra. Later he joined the Juilliard School in the United States, and in 1969 founded the Tokyo String Quartet. Since 1999 he has pursued a very intense international career as an acclaimed soloist, sought-after teacher and renowned chamber music performer.

 

image

Seiji Ozawa International Academy Switzerland

 

Masterclasses

 

16 avril 2016

image

 

 

 

 

AUDITORIUM

Le 16 avril 2016, la Fondation Louis Vuitton a accueilli à nouveau la Seiji Ozawa International Academy Switzerland. Au programme, une masterclasse publique de quatuors à cordes dirigée par Sadao Harada et une répétition publique en orchestre sous la direction de Seiji Ozawa.

 

Calendrier

 

Samedi 16 avril 2016 - Masterclasses publiques

- 16h-18h, Direction Sadao Harada : Quatuor à cordes

Brahms, Mendelssohn, Tchaïkovsky

 

- 18h30-19h, Direction Seiji Ozawa : Orchestre de chambre

Bach, mouvement lent du concerto pour deux violons

Seiji Ozawa International Academy of Switzerland

 

"Il est fascinant d’observer combien les jeunes artistes progressent en très peu de temps.”

Seiji Ozawa

 

Passionné par l’enseignement, Seiji Ozawa a fondé en 2004 à Rolle près de Genève l’International Music Academy – Switzerland, connue depuis 2011 sous le nom de ‘Seiji Ozawa International Academy Switzerland’.

 

image

L’idée de Seiji Ozawa

Pour Seiji Ozawa, la pratique musicale de la musique de chambre et du quatuor en particulier est essentielle. Le quatuor, selon Seiji Ozawa, est l’essence même de la musique. Les compositeurs y donnent le meilleur d’eux-mêmes, sans rien de décoratif ni de superflu. Travailler un quatuor à cordes permet d’aller au plus profond du style et des intentions de son créateur. Cet apprentissage constitue une étape nécessaire pour que de jeunes virtuoses deviennent des artistes de premier plan.

 

La sélection

La sélection de ces musiciens appelés à pratiquer leur art au plus haut niveau est rigoureuse. Sous la tutelle de Blanche d’Harcourt, directrice de l’académie, et composé de Julien Szulman et d’Agata Szymczewska, anciens étudiants de l’Académie, le Comité de sélection choisit tout au long de l’année dans les principaux conservatoires et concours internationaux européens des jeunes talents pour participer aux auditions. Puis, le groupe final des étudiants est défini par Seiji Ozawa, la Direction artistique ainsi que les professeurs.

 

Les professeurs

La mission de l’Académie est de transmettre aux instrumentistes les plus talentueux de la jeune génération ce qui ne peut résulter que d’un travail collégial et d’une exigence acquise au contact des meilleurs enseignants. Pour cela, l’Académie réunit des professeurs, tous interprètes, dont la renommée internationale s’accompagne d’une longue expérience de l’enseignement musical. Ainsi Pamela Frank, Nobuko Imai ou encore Sadao Harada.

 

L’Académie

Les quatuors se forment par affinité, sur la base des échanges entre Seiji Ozawa, les professeurs, les instrumentistes, et la direction artistique, en tenant compte du style, de la sonorité et du tempérament de chaque musicien. Les étudiants travaillent à tour de rôle avec les professeurs, en présence de Seiji Ozawa, ce qui assure la transmission d’un savoir-faire unique.

 

Les concerts

Seiji Ozawa dirige l’ensemble des étudiants au cours de répétitions publiques auxquelles sont conviés le public de Rolle ainsi que les invités de l’Académie. Une série de concerts, donnés dans des salles prestigieuses telles que le Victoria Hall à Genève ou le Théâtre des Champs-Élysées à Paris, le “Seiji Ozawa Hall” à Tanglewood, Ma, USA  clôture les travaux de l’académie. Un concert est également offert aux résidents de la Fondation Aigues-Vertes.

 

Pendant l’année

Très investie, l’équipe artistique conseille les jeunes musiciens, tandis que le bureau de Genève veille sur l’organisation et la gestion de l’Académie.

image

Seiji Ozawa

 

« Enseigner est comme une drogue ! Lorsque vous commencez, vous ne pouvez plus vous arrêter. Travailler avec de jeunes musiciens de très haut niveau me remplit de joie. »

 

La trajectoire de Seiji Ozawa est celle d’une fulgurance. Né de parents japonais, il voit le jour le 1er septembre 1935 en Chine. Mais c’est à l’école de musique de Toho à Tokyo qu’il se forme la musique occidentale. Son premier maître, Hideo Saito, lui donne les bases techniques indispensables qui lui permettent ensuite d’aller en Europe et aux Etats-Unis, là où s’ancrent la tradition et le répertoire de la musique occidentale qu’il a étudiée.

 

En 1959, il obtient en le Premier Prix du Concours de Direction d’Orchestre de Besançon. Dès lors, il prend son envol. Charles Münch l’invite à diriger l’Orchestre symphonique de Boston à Tanglewood. Puis, Seiji Ozawa reçoit à Berlin l’enseignement d’Herbert von Karajan, avant d’approfondir encore sa formation auprès de Leonard Bernstein. Celui-ci, que l’élève qualifie de « génie », lui fait partager la tournée de l’Orchestre philharmonique de New York au Japon.

 

Lors de ses années « américaines, Seiji Ozawa assure la direction musicale de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto de 1965 à 1969, avant d’être nommé chef de l’Orchestre symphonique de San Francisco de 1970 à 1976. Il accomplit ce mandat tout en étant chef attitré de l’Orchestre symphonique de Boston où il imprime sa marque jusqu’en 2001.

 

De retour en Europe, où il est est directeur musical de l'Opéra de Vienne de 2002 à 2010, Seiji Ozawa n’en cultive pas moins les liens qui l’unissent au Japon. Ainsi, en 1984, en hommage à son professeur Hideo Saito, il fonde l’Orchestre.

 

Saito Kinen, qui réunit chaque été dans la ville de Matsumoto des instrumentistes nationaux appartenant aux plus prestigieux orchestres occidentaux pour le Saito Kinen Festival. Parallèlement, deux fois par an, le Maestro dirige le Mito Chamber Orchestra créé en 1990 qui regroupe une trentaine d’instrumentistes du meilleur niveau.

 

L’éducation musicale des jeunes artistes est au cœur de ses préoccupations. Seiji Ozawa est ainsi à l’origine de plusieurs académies, l’Ozawa International Chamber Music Academy Okushiga et l’Académie Ongaku-Juku au Japon, ainsi que l’International Music Academy – Switzerland (IMAS) à Genève, connue depuis 2011 sous le nom de ‘Seiji Ozawa International Academy Switzerland’.

 

Fidèle au public, Seiji Ozawa offre son immense talent lors de ses prestations légendaires qui le consacrent comme l’un des plus grands chefs de ce siècle.

Sadao Harada

Professeur

 

En tant que fondateur et mentor du Tokyo String Quartet qu’il a animé pendant 30 ans, il a acquis une réputation mondiale et a récolté de nombreuses récompenses tant pour sa maîtrise technique exceptionnelle que pour le dynamisme de ses interprétations.

 

Il étudie tout d’abord la musique avec son père et, à l’âge de onze ans, suit une formation musicale chez le maître Hideo Saito. Il devient ainsi le plus jeune violoncelliste de l’Orchestre symphonique de Tokyo. Il rejoindra ensuite la Juilliard School aux Etats-Unis et fondera en 1969 le Tokyo String Quartet. Depuis 1999, il poursuit une carrière internationale très intense, comme soliste ovationné, pédagogue sollicité et chambriste renommé.

 

image