Cooking a Dream

A play inspired by a novel by Shen Jiji

Director: Huang Ying

image

2 February 2016 - Performance

8.30 - 9.30 p.m.

 

This production has been organised in collaboration with the Embassy of the People's Republic of China in the French Republic, as part of Chinese New Year celebrations.

 

 

TICKET PRICES

Synopsis of Cooking a Dream

 

It takes a minute to recite a fair Tang poem

an hour to cook a pot of tasty millet

a century to experience a vacillating life

and a millennium to fathom a Chinese philosophy

 

Art embodies the character of a nation. It is also universal. It cannot show its originality and its particularity without the former; it cannot be understood and appreciated without the latter (ZHAO Tai-mu)

 

Cooking a Dream is an adaptation for the stage of a novel from Zhenzhong Ji (The Story in the Pillow), a collection of dream-fuelled tales that dates from the Tang dynasty. The traditional tale has inspired a fresh perspective on Chinese cultural identity. This poetic and contemporary production, which draws on the form of Xiqu (Chinese opera), weaves together tradition, modernity, and the mortal and spiritual worlds.

 

The curtain opens on a young scholar who laments his impoverished existence to a Taoist priest. When the Taoist elder offers the youth a pillow to rest his head on, he lies down, falls asleep and dreams an entire life… By the time he wakes up, the millet porridge is cooked. The pot of millet dictates the length of the performance, and the actors encourage the audience to enjoy its flavour and aroma.

Duration: One hour

 

Credits:

Starring: FU Weibo, DONG Wenliang, YUAN Yue, ZhANG Tian, LIU Zhengzhi

 

Production: Full Show Lane Studio 

Co-production and organisation: Association Hybridités France-Chine

Artistic Director: MENG Jinghui

Music: SHI Zhuohong

Producer: AN Ying

Set design: WU Wenchao

Lighting Designer: HAN Dong

Costume Designer: WANG Yan

Multimedia: CHEN Lei

Stage Manager: ZHU Bonan

Lighting Manager: WEN Xiaonan

Assistant Director: XING Hao

Administrator: SUN Weitong

Production and staging in France: WANG jing

Coordination assistant: XIAO Yue

 

Message from the Director:

Art embodies the character of a nation. It is also universal. It cannot show its originality and its particularity without the former; it cannot be understood and appreciated without the latter." With these words Zhao Tai-mu opened his famous 'National Theatre' (Guoju) article in a Beijing newspaper in 1926.

 

His assertion subsequently inspired the Guoju (National Theatre) movement that was spearheaded by China's European-educated rising stars of theatre, art and architecture, Yu Shangyuan, Liang Shiqiu, Xu Zhimo and Xiong Fuxi. Eighty years on, this seminal movement has lost none of its relevance. Guoju prompts us to rethink our traditional aesthetic and theatre techniques. In the process, we can glean insight into our own cultural identity and gain greater knowledge of ourselves.

 

Biography of the Director:

 

Huang Ying, born in 1978, studied biochemistry before enrolling in the Chinese Central Academy of Drama.  He already has 37 original plays to his name that span a staggering range of genres from art theatre to contemporary productions. He is considered one of the most influential Chinese directors of his generation. As a director he seeks to infuse experimental elements into a traditional aesthetic. As a guest of Tadashi Suzuki at the Festival of Asian Directors in France in 2013 and 2014, he created and staged two productions – Mademoiselle Julie and Macbeth – which have toured extensively in Asia.

 

About the company:

 

Full Show Lane Studio is an independent theatre company that was founded by Huang Ying in 2012. Its dozen members are artists and teachers who draw on the disciplines of theatre, Chinese opera, dance and music as they collectively breathe new life into the art of theatre and offer unusual and poignant perspectives on contemporary society.

Un rêve de millet

Pièce inspirée du roman de Shen Jiji

Mise en scène : Huang Ying

image

Auditorium

2 février 2016 - Représentation publique

20h30 - 21h30

 

Dans le cadre des célébrations du Nouvel an chinois, en collaboration avec l’Ambassade de la République populaire de Chine en République française.

 

TARIFS

A propos d’Un rêve de millet

 

Une minute suffit à lire un ancien poème chinois,

Une heure à cuire un délicieux pot de millet,

Un siècle à connaître les recoins de l’existence…

Un millénaire à dialoguer de la philosophie chinoise

 

L'art incarne le caractère d'une nation, il est aussi universel. Il ne peut pas montrer son originalité et sa particularité sans le premier, il ne peut pas être compris et apprécié sans le dernier (ZHAO Tai-mu)

 

L’adaptation théâtrale du roman Un rêve de millet, issu du recueil de romans fantastiques sur le rêve datant la dynastie Tang intitulé Histoire sous un oreiller (ZhenZhong Ji), s’inspire de cette réflexion pour offrir un regard nouveau sur l’identité culturelle chinoise. Cette création contemporaine qui s’inspire de la forme du Xiqu (Opéra chinois) est une œuvre poétique qui allie la tradition et la modernité, le monde réel et le monde spirituel.

 

Sur la scène, un jeune lettré a rencontré un taoïste, il se plaint de sa vie misérable auprès de ce dernier. Le vieux taoïste lui donne un oreiller, le jeune homme pose sa tête dessus, se couche, fait un rêve, sa vie s’écoule…Lorsqu’il se réveille : le millet est cuit. Le spectacle se prolonge autour de ce pot de millet, les acteurs invitant le public à en partager le parfum et la saveur.

Durée du spectacle : une heure

 

Equipe :

Avec : FU Weibo, DONG Wenliang, YUAN Yue, ZhANG Tian, LIU Zhengzhi

 

Production: Full Show Lane Studio 

Coproduction et organisation: Association Hybridités France-Chine

Conseil artistique : MENG Jinghui

Musique: SHI Zhuohong

Dramaturgie: AN Ying

Scénographie : WU Wenchao

Création Lumière: HAN Dong

Costume: WANG Yan

Vidéo: CHEN Lei

Régie plateau: ZHU Bonan

Régie lumière : WEN Xiaonan

Assistant de la mise en scène : XING Hao

Administration : SUN Weitong

Production et diffusion en France : WANG jing

Assistant de coordination : XIAO Yue

 

Quelques mots du metteur en scène :

L'art incarne le caractère d'une nation, il est aussi universel. Il ne peut pas montrer son originalité et sa particularité sans le premier, il ne peut pas être compris et apprécié sans le dernier,dit ZHAO Tai-mu au début de son article Théâtre de la nation (Guoju) publié dans le journal du matin à Pékin en 1926.

 

En s'appuyant sur cette revendication, YU Shang-yuan, LIANG Shiqiu, XU Zhimo, XIONG Fuxi et d’autres jeunes talents chinois en théâtre, art plastique, et architecture de cette époque et diplômés en Europe, ont lancé le mouvement du théâtre de la nation (Guo ju). Quatre-vingts ans plus tard, nous souhaitons revisiter ce mouvement,  car il a toujours un sens primordial aujourd’hui, il nous permet non seulement de réinventer notre esthétique traditionnelle ou technique théâtrale, mais aussi de mieux nous connaître nous-même et de retrouver notre propre identité culturelle.

 

Présentation du metteur en scène :

 

Huang Ying, né en 1978, a d’abord fait ses études en biochimie, avant de rejoindre le Conservatoire dramatique central de Chine.  Aujourd’hui il a déjà crée 37 pièces très variées, allant d’œuvres du répertoire à des créations contemporaines. Il est considéré comme l’un des metteurs en scène les plus influents de sa génération en Chine. Il cherche souvent dans ces mises en scène à croiser l’esthétique traditionnelle à des éléments plus expérimentaux. En 2013 et 2014, il a été invité deux fois par Tadashi Suzuki dans le cadre du Festival des metteurs en scène asiatiques, dans lequel il a créé et présenté Mademoiselle Julie et Macbeth qui ont beaucoup tourné en Asie.

 

Présentation de la compagnie :

 

Full Show Lane Studio est une compagnie indépendante de théâtre fondée par Huang Ying en 2012. Elle regroupe une dizaine d’artistes et d’enseignants interdisciplinaires : théâtre, opéra chinois, danse, musique, etc. Ces artistes travaillent de façon collective pour renouveler la forme du théâtre et porter un regard différent et pertinent sur la société d’aujourd’hui.