#FLVfromhome : Christian Boltanski

Current exhibition - Wednesday 1 July 2020

With the understatement of minimalist art and the powerful emotions of expressionism, Christian Boltanski’s work is rooted in an existential and essential relationship with the world, with which everyone can identify.

 

Life and death, memory and forgetting are at the heart of his practice. Initially taking the form of reconstituted objects and grotesque sketches featuring himself, Boltanski began to record ordinary lives in 1969 – his own and those of anonymous people – using family photographs. Taking on the fictional role of ethnographer, he created fake biographies that connect individual and collective experiences. DIY, cut-outs, stacked cardboard or rusty metal boxes, piles of clothes, shadow and light and projected images are among the resources he drew on to make his emotive installations, some temporary. The allusion to historical tragedies is transcended by a wider consideration of the fragility of human life.

 

 

Intially conceived as an installation in the desert of Atacama in Chile, Animitas is an hommage to religious shrines.

 

Christian Boltanski, about Animitas (2014)

(3 min. 30 s © Fondation Louis Vuitton / Audiovisit – 2018)

The essential

Wednesday 1 July 2020

Share

Become member

Make the Fondation one of your favorite places!
Skip-the-line pass, exhibition previews, invitations, dedicated phone line…
Discover our Y-pass, Family-Pass, and Collector membership programmes.

Exhibition
related event image
Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster #FLVfromhome

Like Pierre Huyghe and Philippe Parreno, with whom she has been linked since her student days in Grenoble, the exhibition is Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster’s preferred medium. Relive her interview with Elisabeth Lebovici. 

Wednesday 8 July 2020
Exhibition
related event image
Open Space #7 Jean Claracq

Open Space is a programme dedicated to the most contemporary expressions of creativity, which invites national and international artists to create specific projects.

From 23 September 2020 to 3 January 2021



Exhibition
related event image
Cindy Sherman at the Fondation Louis Vuitton

The Fondation presents the most substantial Cindy Sherman exhibition to be presented in Europe over the last 10 years with 170 works from 1975 to 2020. The exhibition will cover her entire career, with a particular focus on pieces produced since the early 2010s, as well as some previously unseen works.

From 23 September 2020 to 3 January 2021

#FLVchezvous : Christian Boltanski

Exposition en cours - Mercredi 1 juillet 2020

Conjuguant la sobriété de l’art minimal et la puissance émotionnelle de l’expressionisme, l’œuvre de Christian Boltanski s’enracine dans une relation existentielle et essentielle au monde – en laquelle chacun peut s’identifier. 

 

La vie et la mort, la mémoire et l’oubli sont au cœur de son travail. D’abord sous forme de reconstitutions d’objets et de saynètes grotesques dont il est lui-même l’acteur, puis par le recours à des photographies de famille, il entreprend, dès 1969, de rendre compte de vies ordinaires – la sienne et celle d’anonymes. Empruntant la position de l’ethnographe dont il simule les présentations, il fait le lien, dans ses fausses biographies, entre expérience individuelle et dimension collective. Le bricolage, le découpage, l’empilement de boîtes d’archives ou en métal rouillé, l’accumulation de vêtements, les jeux d’ombre et lumière, la projection d’images sont les moyens simples qu’il utilise pour réaliser des installations, parfois éphémères, chargées d’émotion. L’allusion aux tragédies de l’histoire est transcendée par une considération plus générale sur la fragilité de la vie humaine.

 

Initialement réalisée sous forme d’installation dans le désert d’Atacama au Chili, Animitas rend hommage aux autels mémoriels.

 

Christian Boltanski, à propos d’Animitas (2014)
(3 min 30 s, © Fondation Louis Vuitton / Audiovisit – 2018)

L'essentiel

Mercredi 1 juillet 2020

Partager

Devenir membre

Faites de la Fondation l'un de vos endroits préférés!
Coupe-file, Avant-première, Invitations, Ligne dédiée...
Découvrez nos programmes Membres YPass, Family Pass et Collector.

Exposition
related event image
Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster #FLVchezvous

​Comme pour Pierre Huyghe et Philippe Parreno, avec qui elle est liée depuis ses études à Grenoble, l'exposition est le médium de prédilection de Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster. Revivez l'entretien de l'artiste avec Elisabeth Lebovici. 

Mercredi 8 juillet 2020
Exposition
related event image
Open Space #7 Jean Claracq

​Open Space est un programme dédié à la création dans ses expressions les plus actuelles. Des artist​es nationaux et internationaux sont invités à imaginer un projet spécifique dans le bâtiment de Frank Gehry.

Du 23 septembre 2020 au 3 janvier 2021



Exposition
related event image
Cindy Sherman à la Fondation Louis Vuitton

La Fondation Louis Vuitton accueillera le premier événement consacré en France à Cindy Sherman depuis son exposition personnelle au Jeu de Paume en 2006 : l’exposition « Cindy Sherman à la Fondation Louis Vuitton » (initialement prévue du 2 avril au 31 août 2020). 

Du 23 septembre 2020 au 3 janvier 2021