Alexandre Kantorow

Recital - Piano "nouvelle génération"

11 April 2016 at 8.30 p.m.

Within the framework of its Piano nouvelle génération cycle, the Fondation Louis Vuitton is delighted to invite the pianist Alexandre Kantorow to join the list of young prodigies who have already appeared on the Auditorium’s stage.

Aged just 18 Alexandre Kantorow has already played as a soloist with many orchestras and appeared at a great number of venues in France and all over the world.

For the Fondation Louis Vuitton, the young pianist presents a 100% Russian programme, with works by Rachmaninoff, Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky and Balakirev.

image

Date

Monday 04/11/2016 - 8:30 p.m.

Ticket price

6 concerts price - Piano "Nouvelle Génération"

Venue

Auditorium

Detailed programme

Pyotr Ilich Tchaikovsky — Scherzo à la Russe Op. 1 No. 1

Serge Rachmaninoff — Sonata for Piano No. 1 Op. 28

Igor Stravinsky/Guido Agosti — The Firebird

Pyotr Ilich Tchaikovsky — Extracts from 18 Pieces Op.72

Mily Balakirev — Islamey 


Duration: 1hr25

Biography

image

© Vincent Bourre

Alexandre Kantorow began his concert career at a very early age. When still only 16, he was invited to appear with the Sinfonia Varsovia during the “Folles Journées” in Nantes and in Warsaw, playing Rachmaninoff’s Variations on a Theme by Paganini. Following that, he was invited by Boris Berezovsky to give two recitals at his piano festival at Beauvais. He has also played with several orchestras, such as those of Liège, Picardy, Douai, and Orléans, as well as with the Orchestre Pasdeloup at the Philharmonie de Paris, the Kaunas City Symphony Orchestra in Lithuania, performing a varied repertory from Franck and Rachmaninoff, to Liszt, Saint-Saëns, and Brahms...


2015 is a busy year for this young virtuoso pianist. After a critically acclaimed debut CD, this year a second disc devoted to Liszt’s concertos, a repertory he is particularly fond of, was recorded with the Tapiola Sinfonietta of Finland for the BIS label. He will reprise the concertos several times this season, in particular in Osaka with Augustin Dumay, in Taipei, and on tour with the OLPL and the Orchestre de Douai, in Lille.


His passion for Brahms has led him to perform the Second Concerto with orchestra. Dedicated to a solo career, Alexandre nevertheless also enjoys playing chamber music, performing at many summer festivals, and likes to extend his repertory beyond its classical frontiers, with, for example, Addinsell’s Concerto (film music) and Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, which he plays in its original version with jazz band.

Alexandre Kantorow

Récital - Piano nouvelle génération

le 11 avril 2016 à 20h30

Dans le cadre de son cycle Piano nouvelle génération, la Fondation Louis Vuitton invite le pianiste Alexandre Kantorow à rejoindre la liste des jeunes prodiges qui se sont déjà produit sur la scène de l’Auditorium.

A seulement 18ans, Alexandre Kantorow a déjà joué en soliste avec de nombreux orchestres et s’est produit sur un grand nombre de scènes en France et dans le monde.

A la Fondation Louis Vuitton, c’est un programme 100% russe que le jeune pianiste nous propose, avec des œuvres de Rachmaninov, Tchaïkovski, Stravinsky et Balakirev.

 

 

image

Date

Lundi 11/04/2016 - 20H30

Tarifs

Lieu

Auditorium

Programme détaillé

Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski - Scherzo à la russe op 1 n°1

Serge Rachmaninov : Sonate pour piano n°1 op 28

Igor Stravinsky/ Guido Agosti - L’Oiseau de feu

Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski - Extraits de 18 pièces op.72

Mily Balakirev - Islamey


Durée: 1h25

Biographie

image

© Vincent Bourre

Alexandre Kantorow a commencé très tôt une activité de concertiste. A 16 ans, il a déjà été invité à se produire avec le Sinfonia Varsovia aux Folles Journées de Nantes et de Varsovie dans les Variations sur un thème de Paganini de Rachmaninov, et conséquemment Boris Berezovsky l’a invité pour deux récitals dans son festival de piano de Beauvais. Il a également joué avec plusieurs orchestres dont L’orchestre de Liège, de Picardie, de Douai, d'Orléans, avec l'Orchestre Pasdeloup à la Philharmonie de Paris, L’orchestre de Kaunas en Lituanie... Et ce dans des répertoires variés, Franck, Rachmaninov, Liszt, Saint-Saens, Brahms...


2015 est une année riche en activités pour ce jeune pianiste virtuose de 17 ans.  Après un CD accueilli très favorablement par la critique, cette année il a enregistré son deuxième disque consacré aux concertos de Liszt avec le Tapiola Sinfonietta de Finlande, répertoire qu’il affectionne particulièrement, qui est sorti sous le label BIS, et qu’il jouera à de nombreuses reprises cette saison, notamment à Osaka avec Augustin Dumay, à Taipei, et en tournée avec l’OLPL et l'Orchestre de Douai à Lille.


Sa passion pour Brahms l’amène à jouer avec orchestre son deuxième concerto. Alexandre se dédie à une carrière de soliste, néanmoins il profite des joies de la musique de chambre en y consacrant ses étés dans de nombreux festivals, et il prend beaucoup de plaisir à étendre son répertoire au delà de la musique classique en jouant par exemple le Concerto d’Addinsell (musique de film) et la Rhapsodie in blue de Gerschwin qu’il joue dans sa version d’origine avec un jazz band.