As part of the exhibition 'Olafur Eliasson : Contact' A program proposed by Olafur Eliasson

Saturday february 14th - 7:30 pm

Screening : ‘Contact by Olafur Eliasson’ a film by Claire Denis

 

Photographed by Agnès Godard and Yorick Le Saux

Original Music by Stuart Staples

In Association with the Fondation Louis Vuitton

 © The Apocalypse Films, Alcatraz Films and Studio Olafur Eliasson

In 2014, Claire Denis and Olafur Eliasson connected for the first time to explore their fascination for phenomena not yet explained by science, like black holes, and discovered along the way a shared confidence in abstraction. From their dialogues emerged a three-minute film contemplating Eliasson’s artwork Contact and the feeling of infinity that its intense yellow light inspires. 

Denis's film premieres on 14 and 15 February at Fondation Louis Vuitton as part of the public programme accompanying Eliasson’s exhibition.

Duration: 3 minutes

 

Claire Denis is a French film director and screenwriter. She is also a professor at the European Graduate School in Switzerland and Femis in France. As a filmmaker she is best known for her style that emphasizes outdoor settings rather than shooting in the studios. Her films question love, desire while music plays a vital role.

 

 

Concert

Samuli Kosminen & Matti Bye ‘ Live at Fondation Louis Vuitton’

 

For the Fondation Louis Vuitton, Kosminen and Bye perform a concert that draws power from their shared background in cinematic, visual soundscapes. Staged in front of a view that opens to Olafur Eliasson´s extensive "Inside the Horizon”, the concert acts as an epilogue to Kosminen´s and Eliasson´s written collaborative sound composition.

Composers Samuli Kosminen and Matti Bye have made a name for themselves in the vanguard of musical innovation. Both Kosminen, originally a drummer, and Bye, a silent movie pianist, are known for pushing the sonic boundaries of their respective instruments through electronics and experimentation. Adventurous and sensitive, they express themselves through the delicacy and fervor of improvisation.



Samuli Kosminen: Prepared drums & percussion and live electronics

Matti Bye: Piano and live electronics

Price ticket

Your concert ticket give you access to the Fondation.

image

Samuli Kosminen is one of Finland’s top drummers/percussionists. As a musician, composer and producer, Kosminen has collaborated with numerous renowned Finnish and foreign artists such as the Kronos Quartet, Hauschka, Jónsi (from Sigur Rós), Valgeir Sigurðsson, Emiliana Torrini, Trey Anastasio, Death Vessel, Sasha Siem, Pekka Kuusisto, Matti Bye, WHS (a Finnish contemporary circus and visual theater group) and many others. He has been featured on over 80 albums. For the past decade his main collaborators have been the Icelandic band Múm and the Finnish accordionist Kimmo Pohjonen.Originally as drummer, now as an explorer of flea-market percussions, beat apparatuses, melody making toys, clonky machines and tuneful data processors, Kosminen has discovered new and strange dimensions of rhythm and sound. In collaboration with Olafur Eliasson, he realized a specific sound composition for Inside the horizon for the Grotto.


Perceived as a "soundscape", this composition is diffused through twenty speakers along the installation. Designed from recordings made in the artist's studio, the sound work oscillates between raw material, concrete and electronic music sound sometimes leaving visitors uncertain as to the real nature of what they hear. While the visitors move between the columns, space and sound meet through movement. Additional sound elements by Kosminen and Eliasson are audible at particular spots within the exhibition.


 


image

Matti Bye started his career 25 years ago composing and doing live improvisations to silent film and early cinema. Using similar methods and in light of his special sensitivity, while developing his experience face to face with the screen, he is now focusing on the music of contemporary film and tv productions.


This year Bye received several prizes including two nominations and winner of Guldbagge for the music to the Film, Faro, plus the Nordic film music price; Harpa. Matti Bye has also collaborated and written filmscores for Jan Troell, Maria Larsson’s everlasting moments, where he also received a Guldbagge for 2009.


He also recently made music for “Pictures from a Playground,” a documentary about Ingmar Berman, and for the comedy "One hundred man that climbed out a window and disappeared" (Centenarian). He is a regular solo performer and composer and also performs and composes with his ensemble for silent film festivals and screenings around the world. Bye significantly contributes to the exploration of the alchemy between sounds and images. www.mattibye.com


 


 


Sunday february 15th - 5:30pm

Screening : ‘Contact by Olafur Eliasson’ a film by Claire Denis

 

Photographed by Agnès Godard and Yorick Le Saux

Original Music by Stuart Staples

In Association with the Fondation Louis Vuitton

 © The Apocalypse Films, Alcatraz Films and Studio Olafur Eliasson

In 2014, Claire Denis and Olafur Eliasson connected for the first time to explore their fascination for phenomena not yet explained by science, like black holes, and discovered along the way a shared confidence in abstraction. From their dialogues emerged a three-minute film contemplating Eliasson’s artwork Contact and the feeling of infinity that its intense yellow light inspires. 

Denis's film premiere on 14 and 15 February at Fondation Louis Vuitton as part of the public programme accompanying Eliasson’s exhibition.

Duration: 3 minutes

Concert

Elemental II (Solo for electric bass, 2004)
Composition: Eliane Radigue - Performance: Kasper Toeplitz

 

In 2004, at the request of the bassist and electronic composer Kasper T. Toeplitz, the first instrumental work by Éliane Radigue, Elemental II, was recorded on the R.O.S.A. (Recordings Of Sleaze Art) label, which Toeplitz created specially for the launch of the work (the piece was then taken up by the laptop improvisation group The Lappetites, which she joined, participating in their first album Before the Libretto on the Quecksilber label in 2005). Since then, she has devoted herself to the creation of purely acoustic works for instruments.

This is the meeting point of her previous electronic output and her later acoustic work - the bass is an instrument conceived here as a passage between two worlds. Since its performance in Paris at Festival Cités Soniques/Sonic Cities on 24 January 2004, Elemental II has been played more than thirty times around the world (including Mono:ton Festival EMS Stockholm, Sonic Acts Festival Amsterdam, Huddersfield Festival UK, Red Cat Los Angeles, etc.) and contributed significantly to the rediscovery of Éliane Radigue's works.

2 CDs were issued on the R.O.S.A. label and distributed by Metamkine: one in 2004 and the other in 2011.

 

Price ticket

Le billet du concert donne accès aux espaces de la Fondation.

Éliane Radigue started working with musique concrète in the 1950s as a student of Pierre Schaeffer at the Studio d'Essai.

In 1967 she was Pierre Henry's assistant and took part especially in the creation of his Apocalypse de Jean. Her first compositions already differed from the principles of musique concrète: instead of clashing with sound objects, this music involved superimposing held notes (bourdons or drones) that unfold, working first with audio feedback, then synthesisers. The ARP 2500 model was her main tool in more than thirty years of solo work, during which she patiently composed long minimalist works: Geelriandre (1972), Psi 847 (1972), Adnos (1974). In 1974, she converted to Tibetan Buddhism and subscribed to the teachings of the master Pawo Rinpoche. After a break, she returned to her musical compositions with works such as Adnos II (1979), Trilogie de la Mort (1985-1988) - a triptych marked by the death of her son Yves Arman– Jetsun Mila, and L'Île Re-sonante (2001), her latest work on tape. Since 2004, the date of her composition Elemental II for electric bass (with Kasper Toeplitz), Éliane Radigue has devoted herself exclusively to instrumental work, which is an extension of her electronic work without any aesthetic break. For the composer, who has always worked alone, the close collaboration with performers during the composition process was a revelation. In June 2011 in London, Sound and Music paid tribute to all her works (source: Festival d'Automne à Paris, 2013).

image

The composer and musician (computer, electric bass) Kasper Toeplitz developed his work in the no-man's land between 'academic' composition (orchestra, ensembles, opera) and the electronic music, or 'noise music'. Kasper T. Toeplitz developed his compositions based on dense, unfolding sound material; electronic architectures that are studies of time, the immobility or clamour, that can be written for instrumental groups or computers played as a distinct instruments. The use of computers has led him to work in other fields (image, light), applying to them the idea of silent music, or even to work in close collaboration - and directly - with other artistic disciplines, especially contemporary dance.


He has received several prizes and distinctions in the academic field as well as numerous public, radio or electronic music studios commissions, such as Ircam, GRM , GMEM, CRFMW and EMS. He also works with experimental or unclassifiable musicians such as Zbigniew Karkowski, Tetsuo Furudate, Dror Feiler, Art Zoyd, Éliane Radigue, Phill Niblock, Francisco Lopez, Z’ev and Ulrich Krieger, as well as artists in other disciplines, such as dance and video. The dance/music collaboration with Myriam Gourfink has lasted for more than fifteen years and includes more than twenty-five joint works, the most recent being Souterrain (2014), Abois (2013), Déperdition (2013), Aranéide (2013) and the next work Almasty (February 2015).


His discography includes more than fifty titles.  All these recordings are distributed by Metamkine.com


www.sleazeart.com

Dans le cadre de l’exposition Olafur Eliasson : contactSur une proposition d'Olafur Eliasson

Samedi 14 février - 19H30 - Projection et concert

Projection: ‘Contact by Olafur Eliasson’ un film de Claire Denis

 

Photographie: Agnès Godard et Yorick Le Saux

Musique originale de  Stuart Staples

En association avec la Fondation Louis Vuitton

© The Apocalypse Films, Alcatraz Films and Studio Olafur Eliasson

 

    En 2014, Claire Denis et Olafur Eliasson se sont rencontrés pour la première fois autour de leur fascination pour les phénomènes encore non expliqués par la science, comme les trous noirs, et se sont découvert une affinité commune pour l'abstraction. De leurs dialogues, a émergé un film de trois minutes portant sur l’œuvre Contact d’Eliasson et le sentiment d’'infini que la lumière jaune intense inspire.

Le film de Claire Denis est présenté en avant-première le 14 et 15 Février à la Fondation Louis Vuitton dans le cadre du programme public qui accompagne l'exposition Eliasson.

Durée : 3 minutes

 

Claire Denis est une cinéaste et scénariste française. Elle est professeure à l’European Graduate School en Suisse et à la Femis en France. Cette cinéaste est connue pour son style qui privilégie les décors extérieurs. Son penchant cinématographique questionne l’amour et le désir où la musique occupe une place essentielle.

Concert : Samuli Kosminen & Matti Bye ‘ Live à la Fondation Louis Vuitton’

 

Pour la Fondation Louis Vuitton, Samuli Kosminen et Matti Bye interpréteront un ‘live’ issu de leur passion partagée pour les paysages sonores visuels et cinématographiques.

Avec vue sur l’installation Inside the Horizon d’Olafur Eliasson, le concert agit comme un épilogue à la composition écrite en collaboration entre Kosminen et Eliasson.

Les compositeurs Samuli Kosminen et Matti Bye se sont créé une réputation dans l'avant-garde et dans les musiques expérimentales. Kosminen, batteur à l'origine, et Bye, pianiste de films muets, sont connus pour repousser les limites sonores de leurs instruments respectifs par l'électronique et l'expérimentation. Aventureux et sensibles, ils s’expriment à travers la délicatesse et la ferveur de l'improvisation.

Samuli Kosminen: batteries préparées, percussions et électroniques

Matti Bye: Piano et électroniques

 

Tarif

Le billet du concert donne accès aux espaces de la Fondation.

image

Samuli Kosminen  est l’un des meilleurs percussionnistes de Finlande. En tant que batteur percussionniste, compositeur et producteur, Kosminen a collaboré avec un éventail de musiciens finlandais et étrangers, aussi bien rock, pop, que jazz ou électro  tel que Kronos Quartet, Hauschka, Jónsi (from Sigur Rós), Valgeir Sigurðsson, Emiliana Torrini, Trey Anastasio, Death Vessel, Sasha Siem, Pekka Kuusisto, Matti Bye, WHS (a Finnish contemporary circus and visual theater group) etc. Il a sorti plus de 80 albums. Pendant ces dix dernières années, il a principalement travaillé avec les groupes islandais Múm et Kimmo Pohjonen. Batteur à l’origine, il explore maintenant tous les types de percussions, et cherche à découvrir de nouvelles et étranges dimensions en termes de rythme et de son. Il est essentiellement connu pour ses collaborations avec le groupe islandais Mùm et ses hybridations hautement personnelles entre batterie acoustique et beats électroniques.


Il a réalisé, en collaboration avec Olafur Eliasson, la composition sonore de Inside the horizon, commande installée et réalisée spécifiquement pour le Grotto. Perçu comme un « paysage sonore», cette composition est diffusé à travers une vingtaine d’enceintes disposées le long de l’installation. Conçue à  partir d’enregistrements réalisés dans l’atelier de l’artiste, cette œuvre sonore oscille entre matière brute, musique concrète et sonorité électronique laissant parfois le visiteur incertain sur la nature réelle de ce qu’il écoute. Tandis que ce dernier se déplace entre les colonnes, l’espace et le son se rencontrent à travers ses mouvements.


image

Matti Bye a commencé sa carrière il y a 25 ans en composant et en improvisant en direct au cinéma muet et au cinéma des premiers temps. En utilisant les mêmes méthodes et grâce à une sensibilité unique, ainsi qu’en développant son expérience en face à face avec l’écran, il a réussi à apporter une attention aux musiques des  productions cinématographiques et télévisuelles contemporaines.


Cette année Bye a reçu plusieurs prix, dont deux nominations, et a remporté le Prix Guldbagge pour la musique du film Faro, ainsi que le prix Harpa de la musique de film nordique. Matti Bye a également collaboré et écrit les musiques des films de Jan Troell, Everlasting Moments de Maria Larsson, pour lequel  il a également reçu un ‘Guldbagge’ en 2009. Il a récemment écrit  la musique de « Pictures from a playground », un documentaire sur Ingmar Bergman et celle de la comédie " One hundred man that climbed out a window and disappeared» (Centenarian). Il compose et interprète en solo régulièrement ainsi qu’avec son ensemble dans des festivals et des projections de films muets à travers le monde. Bye contribue de manière significative à l’exploration de l'alchimie entre sons et images. www.mattibye.com


Dimanche 15 février - 17H30 - Projection et concert

Projection : ‘Contact by Olafur Eliasson’ un film de Claire Denis

 

Photographie: Agnès Godard et Yorick Le Saux

Musique originale de  Stuart Staples

En association avec la Fondation Louis Vuitton

© The Apocalypse Films, Alcatraz Films and Studio Olafur Eliasson

 

    En 2014, Claire Denis et Olafur Eliasson se sont rencontré pour la première fois autour de leur fascination pour les phénomènes encore non expliqués par la science, comme les trous noirs, et se sont découvert une affinité commune pour l'abstraction. De leurs dialogues, a émergé un film de trois minutes portant sur l’œuvre Contact d’Eliasson et le sentiment d’'infini que la lumière jaune intense inspire.

Le film de Claire Denis est présenté en avant-première le 14 et 15 Février à la Fondation Louis Vuitton dans le cadre du programme public qui accompagne l'exposition Eliasson.

Durée : 3 minutes

Concert : Elemental II - Eliane Radigue/ Kasper Toeplitz

 

Elemental II

(Solo pour basse électrique, 2004)

Composition : Eliane Radigue

Interprétation : Kasper Toeplitz

En 2004, à la demande du bassiste et compositeur électronique Kasper T. Toeplitz, est créée la toute première œuvre instrumentale d’Eliane Radigue, Elemental II, enregistrée sur le label r.o.s.a., label que Toeplitz crée spécialement pour l'édition de cette œuvre. La pièce est ensuite reprise par le groupe d'improvisation sur laptop, The Lappetites qu'elle rejoint en participant à leur premier album Before the Libretto sur le label Quecksilber en 2005. Depuis, elle se consacre à la création d'œuvres pour instruments purement acoustiques



Tarif

Le billet du concert donne accès aux espaces de la Fondation.

Éliane Radigue s’initie à la musique concrète dans les années 1950 en devenant l’élève de Pierre Schaeffer au Studio d’essai.

En 1967, elle est l’assistante de Pierre Henry et participe notamment à l’élaboration de son Apocalypse de Jean. Les premières pièces qu’elle compose alors marquent déjà une distance par rapport aux principes de la musique concrète : plutôt que d’entrechoquer des objets sonores,cette musique se constitue par superposition de notes tenues (bourdons ou drones) lentement évolutives, réalisées d’abord avec des larsens, puis au synthétiseur. Le modèle ARP 2500 sera son principal outil de travail pendant plus de trente années de travail solitaire au cours desquelles elle compose patiemment des œuvres minimales, souvent très étendues dans la durée : Geelriandre (1972), Psi 847 (1972),Adnos (1974). En1974, elle se convertit au bouddhisme tibétain et suit l’enseignement du maître Pawo Rinpoche. Après l’avoir brièvement laissée de côté, elle reprend sa production musicale avec des œuvres comme Adnos II(1979), La Trilogie de la Mort (1985-1988) – triptyque marqué par le décès de son fils Yves Arman–,Jetsun Mila (1986) ou L’ÎleRe-sonante (2001), sa dernière œuvre sur bande. Depuis 2004, date de composition de Elemental II pour basse électrique (avec Kasper Toeplitz), Éliane Radigue se consacre exclusivement à un travail instrumental qui prolonge sans rupture esthétique son œuvre électronique.Pour la compositrice, qui a toujours travaillé seule, l’étroite collaboration avec les interprètes durant le processus de composition est une révélation. En juin 2011 à Londres, Sound and Music a rendu hommage à l’ensemble de son œuvre.(source festival d’automne 2013)

 

image

Compositeur et musicien (ordinateur, basse électrique), Kasper Toeplitz a développé son travail dans le “no man’s land” entre la composition “académique” (orchestre, ensembles, opéra) et la nouvelle musique électronique ou “noise music”. Kasper T. Toeplitz développe des compositions basées sur des matières sonores denses à évolutions lentes ; architectures électroniques scrutant le temps, l'immobilité ou le fracas, pouvant s'adresser à des ensembles instrumentaux ou bien à l'ordinateur joué comme un instrument à part entière. L'usage de ce dernier l'amène à travailler dans d'autres domaines (image, lumière), leur appliquant l'idée d'une musicalité silencieuse, ou encore à collaborer en implication étroite – et en direct - avec d'autres disciplines artistiques, notamment la danse contemporaine.


Il a reçu plusieurs prix et distinctions dans le domaine “académique”, ainsi que de nombreuses commandes d’État, de la Radio ou de studios électroniques comme l’Ircam, GRM , GMEM, CRFMW, EMS. Il travaille également avec des musiciens expérimentaux ou inclassables comme Zbigniew Karkowski, Tetsuo Furudate, Dror Feiler, Art Zoyd, Éliane Radigue, Phill Niblock, Francisco Lopez, Z’ev, Ulrich Krieger… ainsi qu’avec des artistes pratiquant d’autres disciplines, la danse et la vidéo. La collaboration danse/musique avec Myriam Gourfink dure depuis plus de quinze années et comprend plus de 25 créations communes, dont les plus récentes sont "Souterrain" (2014) "Abois" (2013), "Déperdition" (2013), "Aranéide" (2013), ou encore la prochaine création, en février 2015 "Almasty".


Sa discographie comprend plus d'une cinquantaine de références.Tous ces enregistrements sont distribués par Metamkine.com


www.sleazeart.com