image

The collection comprises a constantly evolving body of works that naturally falls into four categories: Contemplative, Pop, Expressionist, Music & Sound.

The collection can be explored through events at the Foundation and elsewhere. Online, the collection is presented in the same way. All artworks that have been displayed since the Fondation opened can be viewed on the website - currently 217 pieces by 87 artists.

 

Conceived with a long-term vision of engagement with a wide public, the collection is essentially made up of artworks that date from the 1960s to the current day. It is structured around the stated aims of its founder, Bernard Arnault.

The Fondation’s collection does not expect to rival the objectivity or comprehensiveness of a public collection. It hopes to share with visitors the emotions and questions that can be generated by art, and the latter’s ability to break the rules and reframe our perspective of the world. The collection is naturally divided into four categories: Contemplative, Pop, Expressionist, Music & Sound.

The Fondation does not want to ignore the context of the collection’s history or the diversity of its forms, languages and expressions. It aims to reflect both the breadth of the constantly expanding realm of creativity as well as the turbulent and rapidly changing reality of our world, which challenges our thinking. Its purpose is to pursue an open exploration in terms of both geography and ideas, echoing their vibrations with a subtle undercurrent of critical reflection.

Show more Show less

image

 

Vivante, en constante élaboration, la Collection s'organise naturellement autour de lignes sensibles qui dessinent quatre directions : Contemplative, Popiste, Expressionniste, Musique/Son.

La Collection se découvre au fil d'évènements à la Fondation ou hors-les-murs. Sa présentation en ligne adopte le même rythme, y sont répertoriées les œuvres dévoilées depuis l'ouverture de la Fondation, soit aujourd'hui 217 œuvres signées par 87 artistes.

Pérenne, conçue dans une optique de transmission à un large public, la Collection est essentiellement constituée d'œuvres créées à partir des années 1960. Elle se construit sur la base de partis pris affirmés et souhaités par son fondateur, Bernard Arnault. 

La collection de la Fondation Louis Vuitton ne vise pas l’objectivité et l'exhaustivité d'une collection publique. Engagée, elle vise à faire partager les émotions et questionnements provoqués par certaines œuvres dont le pouvoir de « casser les règles » réinvente un rapport au monde. Pour le faire, elle s'organise naturellement autour de lignes sensibles qui dessinent quatre directions : Contemplative, Popiste, Expressionniste, Musique et Son.

La collection ne veut rien ignorer de l'histoire dans laquelle elle s'inscrit, ni de la diversité des supports, des langages et des expressions. Elle tient compte de l'ampleur d'un champ en expansion constante et des turbulences d'un réel aux prises avec de multiples mutations accélérées et provocantes pour la pensée. La prospection la concernant se veut très ouverte, tant sur le plan géographique que sur celui des idées, dont elle souhaite répercuter à chaud les vibrations, non sans un arrière-plan de réflexion critique.

Lire la suite Replier le texte