Conversation between Kazuo Ishiguro, Stacey Kent, and Jim Tomlinson,

anchored by Guillaume Durand

 

Auditorium of the Fondation Louis Vuitton

Tuesday 14th April 2015 at 7 p.m.

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / Puzzle Eventainment _ Photo : © Fondation Louis Vuitton/Félix Cornu
image

Coinciding with the publication of the translation of Kazuo Ishiguro’s novel The Buried Giant (Le Géant enfoui), the Éditions des Deux Terres, the Éditions Gallimard, and the Fondation Louis Vuitton are delighted to be hosting an encounter between Kazuo Ishiguro, Stacey Kent, and Jim Tomlinson. The author of The Remains of the Day, who has also written many jazz lyrics, will here reveal a less-known facet of his work and talk of his love for music.


Punctuated by songs interpreted live by Stacey Kent and his musicians (Jim Tomlinson on sax and Graham Harvey at the piano), this exchange will present an opportunity for the artists to discuss the points of convergence and divergence that have marked their search for a personal approach to their art.


Within the Fondation Louis Vuitton’s auditorium — where Frank Gehry’s translucent forms dialogue with Ellsworth Kelly’s minimalism, — the three artists will be free to explore the open spaces of jazz, songwriting, and language, and address the question of artistic creation in all its forms.


 


         


Date

14th april 2015 - 7 p.m.

Ticket price

VENUE

Auditorium / Galleries closed

Conversation entre Kazuo Ishiguro, Stacey Kent et Jim Tomlinson

animée par Guillaume Durand

 

Auditorium de la Fondation Louis Vuitton

Mardi 14 avril 2015 à 19h

© Fondation Louis Vuitton / Puzzle Eventainment _ Photo : © Fondation Louis Vuitton/Félix Cornu
image

À l’occasion de la parution du nouveau roman de Kazuo Ishiguro, Le Géant enfoui, Les Editions des Deux Terres, Les Editions Gallimard et la Fondation Louis Vuitton proposent une rencontre entre Kazuo Ishiguro, Stacey Kent et Jim Tomlinson. L'auteur des Vestiges du Jour, parolier avec Jim Tomlinson, leur compositeur, de nombreux titres de la chanteuse de jazz, révèle ainsi une autre facette de son travail et son goût pour la musique.


Leur rencontre, rythmée par les chansons interprétées en direct par Stacey Kent et ses musiciens (Jim Tomlinson au saxophone et Graham Harvey au piano) permettra aux artistes d’approfondir les points de convergence et les différences de leur recherche esthétique personnelle.


Dans l’auditorium de la Fondation Louis Vuitton, où la transparence voulue par Frank Gehry dialogue avec le minimalisme d’Ellsworth Kelly, les trois artistes arpenteront librement les espaces ouverts du jazz, de la chanson et du langage et interrogeront la création artistique sous toutes ses formes.


 


         


Date

14 avril 2015 - 19h

Tarif

Lieu

Auditorium / Galeries fermées