Lucas Debargue

Recital "Piano nouvelle génération"

 

24 March 2016, 8.30 p.m.

The Piano nouvelle génération cycle at the Fondation Louis Vuitton continues in March with the young pianist, Lucas Debargue. After solo debuts at the Mariinsky Theatre in St Petersburg, he was soon invited to perform at major concert halls in Russia, Italy, the United Kingdom, Canada, the United States, etc.

Now aged twenty-five, Lucas Debargue rose to prominence at the prestigious Tchaikovsky Piano Competition in Moscow, obtaining 4th prize, notably thanks to a sensational rendition of Ravel’s Gaspard de la Nuit. He was also the only candidate over the entire range of disciplines to receive the Moscow Music Critics Special Prize.

For the Fondation Louis Vuitton, Lucas Debargue proposes a programme of Mozart (Sonata K310), Chopin (Ballade no. 4), Liszt (Mephisto Waltz), and Ravel (Gaspard de la Nuit).

Date

Thursday 03/24/2016 - 8:30 p.m.

Venue

Auditorium

Detailed programme  

Domenico Scarlatti - Sonates 

Maurice Ravel - Gaspard de la nuit 

Franz Liszt - Sonate en si mineur

 

Biography

image

Lucas Debargue, piano


Born in 1990, Lucas Debargue began the piano at eleven at the Conservatoire de Compiègne under Mme Muenier.


Though immediately entranced by the virtuoso repertory, it was only ten years later, after earning a science-based Baccalaureate and a Bachelor’s degree in letters and arts (Université Paris 7 Diderot), that he started to consider studying the piano professionally.


After a year studying with Philippe Tamborini at the Conservatoire in Beauvais, France, in 2011 he had a life-changing meeting with Rena Shereshevskaya at the CRR in Rueil-Malmaison, which paved the way for his unanimous acceptance into the class of Jean-François Heisser at the CNSM in Paris, whence he graduated in 2015. Seeing him destined for a dazzling future as a solo pianist, Rena Shereshevskaya subsequently admitted Lucas to her own class at the École Normale de Musique de Paris Alfred Cortot to prepare him for the international competitions. With backing from the École Cortot and the Zaleski Family Foundation, these efforts were initially rewarded by 1st Prize at the 9th Concours International at Gaillard (France) in 2014, and, the following year, with 4th Prize at the fifteenth Tchaikovsky Piano Competition in Moscow, where he also became the only candidate in any discipline to receive the Moscow Music Critics Special Prize.


Lucas has since played in concerts with the world’s foremost philharmonic orchestras (under the baton of Valery Gergiev, Vladimir Fedoceev, Vladimir Yurovsky, Andrey Boreyko, Leonid Grin…) in the most prestigious halls in Moscow and St Petersburg (where he already appeared as a soloist at the Mariinsky Theatre on the initiative of Maestro Valery Gergiev), as well as in Italy, Canada, Chile, the United Kingdom, the United States, and elsewhere. He has moreover been invited to perform at the closing concert at the prestigious ‘December Evenings’ Festival, on December 30, 2015, at the Pushkin State Museum in Moscow.


A lover of literature, painting, film, and jazz, Lucas, whose approach is resolutely creative, is keen to promote more unusual music (Medtner, Roslavets, Maykapar…) and develop highly personal interpretations of a carefully selected repertoire.


Continuing to work with Mme Shereshevskaya at the École Cortot, next year he will present his concertist’s diploma and compete for the Prix Cortot.

Lucas Debargue

Récital "Piano nouvelle génération"

 

Le 24 mars 2016, 20h30

 

Le cycle Piano nouvelle génération continue à la Fondation Louis Vuitton avec en mars le jeune pianiste Lucas Debargue.

Après des débuts en solo au Théâtre Mariinski de St Petersbourg, il se voit rapidement invité à se produire dans les plus grandes salles en Russie, en Italie, au Royaume-Uni, au Canada, aux  Etats-Unis…

Aujourd'hui âgé de 25 ans, Lucas Debargue s'est récemment illustré au prestigieux Concours Tchaïkovski à Moscou en obtenant le 4è prix, notamment dans un éblouissant Gaspard de la nuit de Ravel. Il devient également le seul candidat toutes disciplines confondues à recevoir le Prix Spécial de la Critique Musicale de Moscou.

A la Fondation Louis Vuitton Lucas Debargue propose un programme autour de Mozart (Sonate K310), Chopin (Ballade n°4), Liszt (Mephisto Valse) et Ravel (Gaspard de la nuit).

Date

Jeudi 24/03/2016

Lieu

Auditorium

Programme détaillé

Domenico Scarlatti - Sonates

Maurice Ravel - Gaspard de la nuit

Franz Liszt - Sonate en si mineur

 

Biographie

image

Lucas Debargue, piano


Né en 1990, Lucas Debargue commence le piano à onze ans au Conservatoire de Compiègne auprès de Mme Muenier. Il se passionne rapidement pour le répertoire virtuose mais ce n'est que dix ans plus tard, une fois titulaire du Baccalauréat scientifique et d'une licence de Lettres et Arts (Université Paris 7 Diderot), qu'il décide d'envisager l'étude du piano d'un point de vue professionnel. 


Après un an d'étude avec Philippe Tamborini au Conservatoire de Beauvais, la rencontre en 2011 avec Rena Shereshevskaya au CRR de Rueil-Malmaison est déterminante: elle lui permet d’abord d'entrer à l'unanimité au CNSM de Paris dans la classe de  Jean-François Heisser, où il obtient sa Licence en 2015. Rena Shereshevskaya, voyant en lui un grand avenir de pianiste interprète, l'admet dans sa classe à l'Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris Alfred Cortot pour le préparer aux concours internationaux. Soutenu par l'Ecole Cortot et la fondation Zaleski, ce travail a pour résultat d'abord un premier prix au 9e Concours International de Gaillard (France) en 2014, et, l'année suivante, le 4e Prix à la quinzième édition du prestigieux Concours Tchaïkovski à Moscou où il devient également le seul candidat toutes disciplines confondues à recevoir le Prix Spécial de la Critique Musicale de Moscou. 


Il est depuis invité à jouer en solo et avec les plus grands orchestres philharmoniques (sous la baguette de Valery Gergiev, Vladimir Fedoceev, Vladimir Yurovsky, Andrey Boreyko, Leonid Grin…) dans les salles les plus prestigieuses à Moscou, Saint Petersbourg (où il a déjà débuté en solo au Théâtre Mariinski à l'initiative de Maestro Valery Gergiev), en Italie, Royaume-Uni, Canada, Chili,  Etats-Unis et autres. Il est notamment invité à jouer le concert de clôture au prestigieux Festival « Les Soirées du Décembre » le 30 Décembre 2015 au musée Pouchkine à Moscou.   


Passionné par la littérature, la peinture, le cinéma et le jazz, engagé dans une démarche résolument créatrice, Lucas tient beaucoup à faire découvrir des musiques rares (Medtner, Roslavetz, Maykapar...) et à développer des interprétations très personnelles d'un répertoire soigneusement choisi.


Travaillant toujours auprès de Mme Shereshevskaya à l'Ecole Cortot, il concourra l'année prochaine pour y obtenir son diplôme de Concertiste et le prix Cortot.