From Architecture - Tarek Atoui

October 22 and 23, 2015

On 22 and 23 October 2015, artist Tarek Atoui will be presenting the third chapter of his music and sound piece, From Architecture, conceived in close relation to Frank Gehry’s building.

 

Throughout the summer of 2014, before opening to the public, Tarek Atoui and four sound technicians recorded the resonances and vibrations of the Foundation, compiling an important library of sound phenomena from the building. At the time of the Foundation’s inauguration in October 2014, this collection of sounds formed the basis of four live shows played by the artist and his guests.

 

In October 2015, Tarek Atoui will be moving into a new phase of From Architecture. To this end, the artist will incorporate a new, electronic instrument, which is linked to the Gehry building by its composite materials and which will seek to conserve the sounds recorded, as well as the recording methods of those involved, during the previous two stages. This “table-instrument” houses high-tech software which enables the artist (or another musician) to create different compositions and distribute them real-time throughout the actual architecture of the building, thanks to the 16 speakers placed around the venue’s spaces, including the outside.

Performances will take place the 22nd and 23rd of october 2015 at the Fondation Louis Vuitton with Tarek Atoui, Gaspar Claus, Uriel Barthélémi, Hélène Breschand, Carl Ludwig Hübsch, Susie Ibarra, Eric La Casa , Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe, Eve Risser

Copyrights

Conception : Tarek Atoui

Design instrument: Nicolas Paschal et Denis Roscian

Computing programming: Nicolas Déflache

Assembly and realisation instrument : METRANOR

Mastering : Stéphane Rives

Graphism : Goda Budvytyte

Photography : Martin Argyroglo

Sounds recorded in 2014 at the Fondation Louis Vuitton by: Eric La Casa, Frédéric Nogray, Stéphane Rives, Chris Watson

Production Fondation Louis Vuitton

Executive production: Polychrone

Coordination of the executive production: Anne Becker

(c) Tarek Atoui / Fondation Louis Vuitton, 2015

Performances will take place the 22nd and 23rd of october 2015 at the Fondation Louis Vuitton with Tarek Atoui, Gaspar Claus, Uriel Barthélémi, Hélène Breschand, Carl Ludwig Hübsch, Susie Ibarra, Eric La Casa , Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe, Eve Risser



Dates

Thursday october 22, 2015 3 p.m. - 3.30 p.m.

6 p.m. - 7.30 p.m.

Friday october 23, 2015 3 p.m. - 3.30 p.m.

7 p.m. - 8.30 p.m.

9 p.m. - 10.30 p.m.

Ticketing

Venue

Auditorium and outside

From Architecture - Tarek Atoui

22 et 23 octobre 2015

From Architecture 2015 - Le Diapason à réponse infinie (DRI)

Les 22 et 23 octobre 2015, l’artiste Tarek Atoui présente le troisième volet  de son œuvre musicale et sonore, From Architecture,  conçue en lien étroit avec l’ouvrage de Frank Gehry.

 

Durant l’été 2014, précédent l’ouverture au public, Tarek Atoui et quatre preneurs de sons ont enregistré les résonances et vibrations de la Fondation, constituant une importante bibliothèque de phénomènes sonores. Lors de l’inauguration de la Fondation en octobre 2014, cette collection de sons a fait l’objet d’une série de quatre performances en live jouées par l’artiste et ses invités.

 

En octobre 2015, il procède à une nouvelle activation de « From Architecture ». A cet effet,  il conçoit un instrument électronique inédit lié au bâtiment de Gehry par ses matériaux et destiné à conserver les sons enregistrés ainsi que les approches de prise de son des recordistes invités. Cette « table-instrument » abrite un logiciel informatique avec lequel l’artiste (ou un autre musicien)  peut créer différentes compositions et les distribuer dans l’architecture même par le biais de 16 enceintes, placées dans plusieurs espaces y compris à l’extérieur.

Performances réalisées les 22 et 23 octobre 2015 à la Fondation Louis Vuitton avec Tarek Atoui, Gaspar Claus, Uriel Barthélémi, Hélène Breschand, Carl Ludwig Hübsch, Susie Ibarra, Eric La Casa , Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe, Eve Risser

Les crédits  

Conception : Tarek Atoui

Design instrument: Nicolas Paschal et Denis Roscian

Programmation informatique : Nicolas Déflache

Assemblage et réalisation instrument : METRANOR

Mastering : Stéphane Rives

Graphisme : Goda Budvytyte

Photographie: Martin Argyroglo



Sons enregistrés en 2014 à la Fondation Louis Vuitton par : Eric La Casa, Frédéric Nogray, Stéphane Rives, Chris Watson

Production Fondation Louis Vuitton

Production déléguée : Polychrone

Coordination de production déléguée : Anne Becker

(c) Tarek Atoui / Fondation Louis Vuitton, 2015

Performances réalisées les 22 et 23 octobre 2015 à la Fondation Louis Vuitton avec Tarek Atoui, Gaspar Claus, Uriel Barthélémi, Hélène Breschand, Carl Ludwig Hübsch, Susie Ibarra, Eric La Casa , Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe, Eve Risser



Dates

Jeudi 22 octobre 2015 15h - 15h30

18h - 19h30

Vendredi 23 octobre 2015 15h - 15h30

19h - 20h30

21h - 22h30

Tarifs

Lieux

Auditorium et extérieur