The Fondation Louis Vuitton took part in the European Heritage Days

Saturday 17 and Sunday 18 September 2016

For the 2016 edition of the European Heritage Days, the Fondation Louis Vuitton opened its doors for a free public event, offering an architectural and artistic immersion inside the glass vessel designed by Frank Gehry.

 

Visitors were be able to experience the full strength and beauty of the monument, through the in situ  work of Daniel Buren, entitled "Observatory of Light", and the exhibition "Frank Gehry, Fondation Louis Vuitton - an architectural journey", as well as workshops and guided tours .

 

Program of the European Heritage Days

image

Programme

Daniel Buren, "Observatory of Light", work in situ.

 

Designed to be an intimate dialogue between Frank Gehry's building - whose architecture arouses inspiration in artists - "Observatory of Light" spreads over all the windows, which are the building's signature features. The thirteen colours of the 3,600 window panes in the edifice reveal and mask ever-changing coloured shapes, depending on the time and  season.  Through this interplay of colours, projections, reflections, transparencies and contrasts, both inside and out, Daniel Buren presents the building in a whole new light.

 

Learn more

Opening hours

Saturday september 18th, 2015 11 a.m - 8 p.m

Sunday september 19th, 2015 11 a.m - 8 p.m

Ticketing

"Frank Gehry, Fondation Louis Vuitton, architectural journey", permanent exhibition

 

The exhibition, created with Frank Gehry's teams in Los Angeles, describes and explains the whole process involved in designing the building that is already recognised as a monument in Paris. Each floor of the Fondation develops a theme that helps visitors understand the building better: construction, materials, design, context (Bois de Boulogne and Jardin d'Acclimatation), Paris.

 

Learn more

image

© Gehry Partners, LLP and Frank O. Gehry - Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton / Martin Argyroglo

Workshops and guided tours for the whole family

 

Small guided tours and workshops were organised over the weekend and for the school pupils on Friday 16 September as part of the "Children of Our Heritage" programme. During the workshops, participants were have the chance to produce drawings with shapes inspired by the Fondation using stamps, transfers and stencils. The accompanying magazine "George Explores the Fondation" were also be handed out to children.

Learn more

image

OPENING HOURS

17 and 18 September 2016 2 pm to 6 pm (meet in the Auditorium) Free of charge, reservations not required

History of European Heritage Days

In France, the European Heritage Days are organised by the Ministry of Culture and Communication through the Heritage Management department, and implemented by Regional Councils for Cultural Affairs. Under the stewardship of the European Council and European Commission, they receive support from public and private historical monument owners, and benefit from the involvement of the Centre des Monuments Nationaux (National Monument Centre), the Villes et Pays d'Art et d'Histoire (Towns and Lands of Art and History), the Fondation du Patrimoine (Heritage Foundation), Vieilles Maisons Françaises (Association of Old French Houses) and La Demeure Historique (Association of Historical Residences).

La Fondation Louis Vuitton a participé aux Journées Européennes du Patrimoine

Samedi 17 et dimanche 18 septembre 2016

Pour cette édition 2016 des Journées Européennes du Patrimoine, la Fondation Louis Vuitton a ouvert ses portes gratuitement à tous les publics pour une immersion architecturale et artistique dans le vaisseau de verre conçu par Frank Gehry.

 

Les visiteurs ont pu découvrir le monument dans toute sa force et sa beauté à travers le travail in situ  de Daniel Buren "L'Observatoire de la lumière", l'exposition "Frank Gehry, la Fondation Louis Vuitton - parcours architectural" ainsi que des ateliers et des visites guidées.

 

Voir le programme des Journées Européennes du Patrimoine 

image

Le programme

Daniel Buren, « L’Observatoire de la Lumière », travail in situ.

 

Conçue en dialogue étroit avec le bâtiment de Frank Gehry - dont l’architecture appelle l’inspiration des artistes - « L’Observatoire de la lumière » se déploie sur l’ensemble des verrières, élément emblématique de l’édifice. Les treize couleurs qui recouvrent les 3600 verres du bâtiment font apparaître et disparaître des formes colorées toujours changeantes selon les heures et les saisons. À travers un jeu de couleurs, de projections, de reflets, de transparences et de contrastes, à la fois intérieur et extérieur, Daniel Buren offre un nouveau regard sur le bâtiment.

 

En savoir plus

Horaires

Samedi 17 septembre 2016 11h - 20h

Dimanche 18 septembre 2016 11h - 20h

BILLETTERIE

« Frank Gehry, la Fondation Louis Vuitton, parcours architectural », exposition permanente

 

L’exposition, réalisée avec les équipes de Frank Gehry à Los Angeles, décrit et explique l’ensemble du processus de conception d’un édifice déjà reconnu comme un monument à Paris. Chaque palier de la Fondation développe une thématique utile à la compréhension du bâtiment : construction, matériaux, design, contexte (du Bois de Boulogne et du Jardin d’Acclimatation), Paris.

 

En savoir plus

image

© Gehry Partners, LLP and Frank O. Gehry - Photo Fondation Louis Vuitton / Martin Argyroglo

Ateliers et visites guidées pour toute la famille

 

Des micro-visites guidées et des ateliers événementiels ont été proposés à des scolaires le vendredi 16 septembre dans le cadre de l’opération « Les enfants du patrimoine ». Ils se sont poursuiis tout au long du week-end. Lors des ateliers, les participant ont eu l’occasion de réaliser des dessins aux formes inspirées de la Fondation à l’aide de tampons, décalcomanies et normographes. Le magazine de jeux-médiation « Georges en expédition à la Fondation » était également distribué aux enfants.

 

En savoir plus

image

HORAIRES

17 et 18 septembre 2016 14h à 18h (Rdv à l'Auditorium) Gratuit sans réservation

Histoire des Journées européennes du patrimoine

En France, les Journées Européennes du Patrimoine sont organisées par le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, à travers la Direction générale des patrimoines, et mises en œuvre par les Directions régionales des Affaires culturelles. Placées sous le patronage du Conseil de l’Europe et de la Commission européenne, elles reçoivent le concours des propriétaires publics et privés de monuments historiques et bénéficient de l'implication du Centre des monuments nationaux, du réseau des Villes et Pays d’art et d’histoire, de la Fondation du Patrimoine, des Vieilles Maisons françaises et de La Demeure Historique.